Hakalau bungalow rental - Located just steps away from cliff side. Unobstructed views of coastline.
Located just steps away from cliff side. Unobstructed views of coastline.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Hakalau Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Exclusive Oceanfront 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom

We are renting our Ohana (i.e. guesthouse). The unit is attached to our home, but is very private and doesn't have any shared walls. It is separated from our home by a breezeway and large Lanai. The unit has it's own private entrance and covered parking in attached carport. Ohana is 1000 square feet which includes: 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, living room, dining room and kitchen (see photographs for more interior details).

Our one-of-a-kind property is conveniently located with a private driveway and gate directly off Hawaii Belt Road (Highway 19). The home is surrounded by 3 acres of tropical flora, including fruit trees, palm trees and fishpond with no other home in sight. Extremely private, yet easy to find and located just 12 miles from historic downtown Hilo. This one bedroom, 1 bathroom unit boasts an open floor plan with unobstructed ocean views from the bedroom, the kitchen, the dining room and the living room. It has new bamboo and tile flooring throughout, new granite slab countertops and sinks in the kitchen and bathroom. The unit has all the basics for preparing simple meals including an outdoor gas grill. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and streaming Netflix or just kick back and read a book in this peaceful and private setting.

More Details
Hide Details

We are originally from California, but have always had a love for Hawaii. I spent childhood vacations visiting my grandfather in Maui and we've been coming to the Big Island to visit my father since he retired here in 2000. My husband and I are both dentists in the US Navy.

Our managers, Sandy & Bob are very attentive and live about a mile away if you need anything during your stay.

Sandy & Bob Nutt purchased this bungalow in 2012

My husband and I bought this home from my Father who lived here for 12 years. He bought it from the owners who built the house on property which they acquired in the plantation era. Historically the property was the site of the Wailea Sugar Mill which closed in 1944.

For us, it was all about the view. We love waking up to beautiful sunrises over the water and seeing waves crash along the rugged coastline. Maybe we're biased, but we honestly feel like we've seen a lot of homes in our area, even other oceanfront homes, and we've yet to find one with a better view.

We hope you will come stay and fall in love with it like we have!

13 Reviews of Property 490553 in Hakalau, Hawaii

Oceanfront Cliff House
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Beautiful Cliffhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Beautiful guest house overlooking the ocean. Great value for the amazing view and amenities. The sunrise was spectacular from the living room. It was fun to watch the surfers and hear the waves crash against the rocky shoreline. Bob and Sandy were great to work with. They made a point to stop by and make sure everything was okay on the first day of our visit. Thanks Bob and Sandy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Very private location. Spectacular views. Perfect location for relaxation and sightseeing.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Pictures of this property were exactly as shown. Rental was cleaned to perfection, and a lot more spacious than anticipated. Owner did an excellent job of giving us clear directions, process to access the property, and a long descriptive list of sites and activities to do in the area which proved to be very helpful. This property is about 13 miles from the town of Hilo itself, making it private and quiet. Property is at water's edge with a spectacular view. Not far from the Volcano National Park, about 3 miles from Akaka Park, giving you an opportunity for a walk in the forest to view two memorable waterfalls, and only a mile from Kolekole Beach Park (almost missed this one it was so close). Would HIGHLY recommend this property to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

LOVE IT HERE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Fantastic place to stay! The house was perfectly clean, very comfortable and updated. The view is spectacular, watched a pod of whales every morning-calves were breaching! Met up with Sandy at the gallery-she is extremely nice and I'm sure if we had any issues, I'm confident she would have taken care of them. Have been to various islands and always stayed VRBO, this is one of our favorites! Thanks Sandy (& Bob), we will see you again!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Beautiful house that really is on a cliff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Beautiful house that really is on a cliff overlooking the ocean. Very secluded and private - however there is some road noise due to the proximity to the highway. Updated and very comfortable. New gas grill and very large lanai. No cable or satellite tv – Netflix streaming and Pandora music are available. Some DVDs provided. Very good wifi connection. Cell phone reception iffy - unit has a land line. More than enough room for two. Whale watching from cliff every day. An excellent value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Fabulous Accomodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Kolekole Cliff House was wonderful! It provided a great ocean view, with whale sightings daily right outside of our window. Very clean and spacious. The sound of the peepers lulled us to sleep each night, while the sunrise and the birds chirping woke us each morning. Would highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
Horseshoe Bay, TX
5

A Magical Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I went to Hawaii to rest and watch the whales. The cliff house was perfect. The house and property are just as described and pictured in the listing. I often found myself just sitting with coffee or a drink and staring at the views. Open your eyes to beautiful sunrises as soon as they break the horizon. Enjoy walking the property with morning coffee viewing the plants and waterfall. The crashing of the waves against the cliffs is hypnotizing.

Watching the whales from the yard or right from your living room is spectacular. One morning we watched 5 full breaches. It was difficult to leave the house each morning to enjoy all the activities that are very close.

We have had many vacation rentals around the world and are usually ready to move on at the end. This was one place we were very sad to leave.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

ABSOLUTE RELAXING PRIVACY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved waking up every morning to a awesome sunrise without even having to get out of bed! This private property on the ocean was an absolute hide-away and we hated to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Simply Paradise on the Hilo Side

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We just loved the Cliff House on the Hilo side of the Big Island. The views from the front windows and expansive front lawn were simply amazing -- overlooking the cliffs and right on the ocean. We watched surfers below us and were awed by the beautiful sunrises. Loved doing Yoga on the front lawn! As the sun set, we sat on the outside lawn and heard the symphony of the coquis.

The location was great and easily accessible to fabulous places on Hilo side including Akaka Falls, the Botanical Gardens, Hilo and Volcano.

Sandy and Bob were great providing easy to follow directions, wonderful insights and everything we needed! We would recommend it and look forward to staying again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Oceanfront Cliff House: E komo mai. Nou ka hale.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Admittedly, I’d banned VRBO for almost a decade after a horrible experience in Maui (image a leaking burlap tent crawling with bugs, which had been advertised as a "romantic yurt," and you get the idea). I found the Oceanfront Cliff House on a just-for-fun search while planning a last minute trip to the Big Island. I really didn’t believe that it could possibly be as nice as all the photos made it out to be, especially at such a reasonable price; but it was exactly as advertised, if not better! ::imagine a newly remodeled modern interior uncluttered by Hawaiiana kitsch:: This house is the perfect place to base your explorations of the Big Island. After long days of sightseeing, you can relax on the lanai & feast on meals made from Hawaiian grown foods (a KTA grocery, which is a local chain, is a short drive away). ::imagine a coqui chorus, tiki torches, & tuna steaks searing on the grill:: The entire ohana unit has spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean silhouetted behind gently swaying palm trees. ::insert smoldering lava sunrises & the lulling sounds of the pounding surf:: The manicured grounds make this place a tropical oasis ideal for picnicking or lounging idly with a book; so, if you are on the Big Island for business, you can still enjoy the aloha ambiance without ever leaving your own personal wifi cloud (cell phone coverage is spotty here, but you will be provided w/ wifi & a local number). Hawaiian island accommodations are usually moldering tiki-tacky units, hippie hostels, or soulless resorts filled with the type of visitors that never venture beyond the tour bus. The Oceanfront Cliff House is where you should stay when you want to pretend that you have finally retired in style! ::imagine winning the lottery, tossing your suits & ties into a volcano, and living Aloha:: Most attractions are less than an hour's drive away & day trips can be made to the leeward districts. The unit has many amenities, but does not include access to on-site laundry facilities. Since the Hilo district is on the windward side of the island (rainforest climate), hand-washed items will not dry readily; so, pack accordingly. AC is not needed. Sandy, the local owner, is very friendly and attentive; so, there will be nothing for you to worry about during your stay. My security deposit was refunded the day I left. ::imagining you booking up all of the available nights & me pressing my face to the cast iron gates despondently:: Mahalo nui loa, Sandy & Bob! A hui hou kakou..!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Oceanfront Cliff House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p490553vb
+1 808-963-6160
Hakalau Hilo District
Costa Mesa, CA
5

Private and very expansive property with amazing views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Stayed at the Cliff House mid November 2013 for our stay on the Hilo side of the Big Island. Located about 20 mins north of downtown Hilo, the property is surrounded by amazing plants and water. On site behind the locked entry gates are various fruit trees which adorn the massive property (has two separate raised hills for overlooks and a pond/stream). Just below the property are waves crashing on the cliffs that made for great background noise along with the many birds and other creatures of nature. The open glass design of the living room provided amazing views although it was overcast the entire trip. Wi-fi was a very nice addition to our stay as well as the availability of the owner's online video account through their TV. All in all a very nice place to stay when visiting Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4