Half Moon Bay cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Half Moon Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Ocean And Harbor Views In Walking Distance To Restaurants And Other Activities

With a king and queen bed and one bathroom, this home provides the cozy feel perfect for spending some time on the Coast. Enjoy the evening sunset in the hot tub out back or cook yourself a homemade pizza in the outdoor pizza oven. Popular Sam's chowder house is a quick walk away. Ketch Joanne, Barbaras Fishtrap, and (Zagat rated) Mezzalua are also close by.

With gorgeous views of the Princeton Harbor and located on your own private bluff, this quiet, super comfortable and very clean home is perfect for that romantic getaway, quiet personal retreat, or for small families. This charming home is a great escape for any beach/coast lover. The home is tastefully decorated in a contemporary style with a soothing and warm laid back feel. Enjoy the spectacular Harbor and beach views from the cozy dining and living rooms.

Comfortable bedding, clean fresh towels and linen, a kitchen stocked with all the utensils required to make a tasty meal.

The home comes complete with washer and dryer to help wash away the day’s sand.

The backyard is large and has a stone oven for baking anything outdoors and is complete with a hot tub to enjoy the rich, colorful sunsets.

This home is perfect for a peaceful romantic retreat, or a fun family vacation. We are located approx 8 minutes from beautiful downtown Half Moon Bay, 30 minutes from San Francisco, 45 minutes from Santa Cruz and the Silicon Valley, and one and a half hours from Monterey.

Located near some of the great surf spots in the area, take your board and walk to the nearest beach. World famous Mavericks surf spot can be seen across the harbor through the telescope. Watch for the whales and the occasional dolphin from the dining room. Nearby you can walk to the Princeton Harbor for shopping, dining, kayaking, charter fishing, whale watching trips and local nightlife. Or visit downtown Half Moon Bay for a more unique shopping experience, only a 10 minute drive down the beautiful coastline!

We look forward to sharing our wonderful beach cottage with you. Pamper yourself and come experience all the wonders of Half Moon Bay and the beautiful coastal surroundings.

More Details
Hide Details

Licensed Real Estate Broker in California and Hawaii

Member of the National Association of Residential Property Managers (NARPM)

Lifetime of living in the Greater San Francisco/ Santa Cruz Bay Area

This is truly one of the most unique vacation rental properties on the Coast. The only home overlooking harbor on ocean side of highway!! Private retreat, but close to everything. Nothing else compares.

Walk to beach or restaurants. Activities like kayaking, fishing, surfing, sailing, hiking, biking, boating, kite boarding and shopping are footsteps from your door.

7 Reviews of Property 487948 in Half Moon Bay, California

Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Marin county
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved our stay at this cottage and would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Santa Cruz CA
4

The views and outdoor amenities are so worth it!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I wanted a romantic getaway close to home to give my husband as a Christmas present. The Emerald Cottage turned out to be the ideal location. Easy drive from Santa Cruz, right on the water with fantastic views. January 2014 in California feels like the best summer ever so we had wonderful weather for beach walks.

Do yourself a favor if you stay here, make time to enjoy the outdoor amenities at Emerald Cottage. The interior of the house is basic and adequate, comfortable beds, kitchen facilities, inviting living room. It's what's on the outside the makes this property shine. We took advantage of the hot tub, the outdoor oven, and the outdoor fireplace. It is great to find a weekend property with all these extras.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time! Hope you can get back soon to use the pizza oven some more :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Plano,Tx
5

Beautiful View!! Comfortable setting and condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The condo was great very clean and up to date. We enjoyed all of the fireplaces as well as the patio and the outdoor fireplaces. We'll be back for sure. Glen made the process quick and simple and was very available for all of our needs. Everything is really close by to where we could spend the day in the city and then head back to the quietness of this beautiful condo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Looking forward to having you back Leonard!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Boston area, MA
5

a seaside oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I have rented properties large and small, with and without kids, all over the world (MA, NH, ME, VT, CA, CO, LA, FL, HI, Canada, France, Italy, UK), and I can safely say that Glen was by far the most accommodating and helpful rental agent I have dealt with thus far. He went above and beyond before, during (and even after!) to answer our questions and find solutions to our requests and needs. I would rent from him again in a heartbeat.

As for the property, it was also a 5-star experience. The views are unprecedented - no pictures can compare, and it is an easy walk to shops & restaurants, but still a private retreat - very unusual! The space is large, well equipped and very comfortable. The yard is a treat and I think undersold in the listing. We loved it all!

It is hard to come up with any negatives, but I have found that the 'best' reviews are candid and include any drawbacks, where applicable.

In this case, I'd say that some guests might have trouble with the shower in the bathroom. My husband and I are both 5'7" or under, and *just* fit with our heads below the shower head. It was great water pressure and temperature, and the towels were both much nicer and more numerous than most other rentals I've been to - but, if you are particularly tall, this shower may pose a problem.

Also, the kitchen was a bit of a mix / contradiction. The cookware and tableware that are provided are very good quality (my husband is a chef), but while the dishes were plentiful (unusually so!), the cooking vessels and implements were relatively scarce. Also, the electric range worked well (but is very hard to clean!), but there was no oven - just a toaster oven. Also, I had to make tea in the microwave, which I've never been fond of. Lastly, there is a great full-size fridge/freezer... in the mudroom. It isn't far, but a bit awkward when cooking with two small children underfoot and who need to be kept away from the stairs between the two rooms. There is a small under counter fridge in the kitchen itself, but it is installed too close to the counter to open/close with ease. Of course, the pizza oven (a gourmet treat - we used it and loved it, and the results!) is an unusual addition / bonus - adding to my 'contradictory' impression of the kitchen as a whole. But - we ate well all week, and these 'negatives' only show how hard it is to find anything to complain about. :)

Also, the beds are very comfortable, especially the airbed.

We hope to return one day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments Heather. As a newer rental property we are striving to make everything as good as possible for our visitors. We have already fixed the fridge since your stay last week, as tenants had been rough on it pushing it too far under the counter. The extra sauce pan and teapot from our conversation are being added and we are going to raise the shower head with an extension. Looking forward to having you back again. Glen
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
4

Nice cottage with great views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were in the area for a group retreat, and rented the cottage mainly for overnight accommodation. I was pleasantly surprised when I first visited the place to check it out -- the pictures on vrbo.com were accurate, but being there was different. The views were great, and the place was just set up right -- I felt invited and relaxed.

The activities of our retreat were mainly at a nearby location, so we could not take full advantage of the cottage. But the relatively little time we spent there was pleasant and enjoyable. Everyone enjoyed the beautiful views. There was a beach nearby, and some of us stayed behind after the retreat to enjoy it. (We had made arrangement for late check-out.) The furnishings were good too -- one guest particularly liked the ceiling fans (the design reminded him of ship), and another slept from dusk to dawn in the comfy sofa. I slept one night by a window in the living room. I woke up when it was still dark, and bright stars were the first things I saw.

The cottage was by a harbor, and next to a parking lot. However, it was neither busy nor noisy -- the cottage sat on a big and elevated lot anyway. We could hear a fog horn all day and into the night, and that would be a minus to those sensitive to it.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying Patrick, hope you can stay again at your next retreat.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Granite Bay, CA/United States
5

What a View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The square footage of this cottage may sound small but the views are huge. And we had our choice to enjoy the harbor/ocean views from inside the cozy cottage or outside whether from the hot tub or from the three different comfortable sitting areas outside. Our family of 3 enjoyed the home, inside and out! The weather was perfect so we spent a lot of time outside and took advantage of being able to walk to the great restaurants and the paved trail along the ocean. The cottage is well equipped and very clean. We did not want to leave and can't wait to return! Also, Glen is awesome--we think he is responsible for the small airplane acrobatics show that entertained us upon our arrival!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: yes we go all out to both entertain and accommodate you! So glad your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Magnificent Harbor and Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p487948vb
650-260-4536
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Martinez, CA
5

Pleasantly Surprised HMB Visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Came into town for a family wedding and just didn't want to stay in any old hotel with windows that you couldn't even open...then I found The Cottage. Was a little tricky to find the first time...think narrow driveway between two towering trees merely steps away from the water. Whether sitting inside looking through a wall of windows or outside in any of the options provided, you'll love it. Didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pizza oven or either of the 2 fire-pits, not even the hot tub, but that's just reason to come back soon. Beds were comfortable, nice HD TV, clean...what more can a guy ask for? As my wife & I were walking along the waterfront...did I mention your closest neighbor, a block and a half away is a well-known chowder house...fishermen were cutting up their catch and people were lined up ready to purchase. If we weren't on our way to a wedding I know what we'd be having for dinner. Glen, thanks for being able to accommodate us and hope we'll see you again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you found us Brian. Looking forward to having you back again!
Helpful votes: 2/2