Kailua apartment rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

LARGE, SPACIOUS and SECLUDED! 700+ square-foot one-bedroom guesthouse, located near the middle of the 5-mile stretch of gorgeous Kailua Beach. Private entry through keyed copper gates. Fully furnished with air-condition and beautifully decorated. Enjoy quiet, tropical and modern island-style living in total privacy. Perfect for a romantic and private getaway or for a family vacation, comfortably accommodating up to 4 adults.

Listen to the soothing sound of the ocean waves throughout the night. Enjoy the wonderful breezes and mountain views. The “Kailua Wave” guesthouse is just half a block from Kailua's beautiful beach, voted one of the best beaches in the world. It is also in walking distance to one of Oahu’s secret gems, Kalama Beach Park, and also to the eclectic restaurants and shops of Kailua Town Center. Water sports enthusiasts will enjoy the proximity to one of the world’s most famous wind- and kite-surfing spots.

The bedroom has a comfortable queen-size bed, and the living room is fully furnished including a stylish sitting area with leather couch and a convertible trundle bed (two twins). For your entertainment we provide a flat screen TV and DVD player. High-speed internet access is included. The Kitchen has all the amenities including a full size refrigerator and microwave/convection oven. You will find an abundance of closet spaces throughout the guesthouse. A child’s travel bed /playpen can be provided upon request. Your own washer and dryer is located inside the guesthouse in a separate laundry area.

Outside of the guesthouse you can rinse off after playing at the beach or make the most of your own outdoor BBQ area with wrought iron table and chairs. Boogie boards, sand toys, beach towels and beach chairs are available upon request.

Keywords: Private Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 48730 in Kailua, Hawaii

Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 29 reviews
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
San Diego
4

Nice spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just stayed for a week with my wife and two kids (4 year old and 18 months). Great little spot, just as advertised. Walk to the beach was piece of cake, even with the kids. Lots of beach toys, towels, and boogie boards for kids. Also a pack-n-play, highchair, and some boards games/toys for the kids already there. We rented a wagon and that was helpful. Kailua is a mellow town with great beaches and nice home town feel away from the business of Waikiki and resort areas. We will come back to Kailua for sure.

Only two things I would change about the rental. There is little to no outside space to hang out. There is a small cafe table with two chairs outside next to the stairs, but not a place you would really sit and relax. The unit is on the second floor, above a garage. Second, we missed having a stove/oven for cooking. There is a coffee machine, toaster oven and microwave that all worked great. Lots of good options for food in town with decent prices, but it would have been nice to cook a full meal.

Owner was responsive and helpful. Unit was clean and looked the same as the pictures provided.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
5

Everything as good as advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a bit of a miscommunication upon arrival, and it was difficult to find our way in in the dark and a heavy rain. But Nikki did everything to make it right for us, and once we got in the door our week was fine. The apartment is very comfortable. The quiet, uncrowded beach 1.5 blocks away was the nicest we saw in all of Oahu. Simple cooking on the hot plates and with the microwave was not a problem. Kailua is a nice little town (unless you're looking for a party. We weren't). Access to Honolulu and the main tourist attractions is convenient. The neighborhood is residential. We feel we lucked out in booking this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was the perfect place for us. The check in/out procedure was seamless and the owners were very friendly.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again soon!

Nikki DeWitt
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
5

Awesome place and very near the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was the best place to rent out. It was our own independent apartment and was about 3-5 minutes away from the beach. Whole foods and safeway are about 1.5 miles away. It is a nice getaway place that is secluded for privacy and relaxing vacation. It has all the necessary amenities and is close to a number of restaurants and Kailua town center. It is also only 20 minutes from Honolulu if you want to go to a bigger city for dinner etc. The beach is also less crowded. I definitely recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
5

Great place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time here. The place was exactly as described. We loved catching the sunrise in the AM since the beach was so close. Also close to some great restaurants. Highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in kailua! I hope you can return soon to enjoy those sunrises! Aloha, Nikki
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
5

Kailua Wave is a nice place to stay at Oahu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Kailua Wave is a nice cozy place for a small family to stay at Oahu. It's convenient for beach access and drive around. It's close by the most beautiful white sand beaches with palm trees swaying over. Definitely I will recommend this.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our kailua wave guest house! I hope you can return soon to the beautiful white sand beaches and swaying palm trees :-) Aloha, Nikki
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
Hot Springs Village, AR
1

Was not as described

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The unit was very clean and had pretty much everything in it that you would need. What it didn't have was AC throughout the whole unit. Only in the bedroom. It was miserably hot, hot, hot. There was only one or two late afternoons that you got any air blowing through the front door. The unit is above a garage and the garage door is kept shut, so a lot of heat probably comes up. There was no sitting area, no table with chairs. If there had been, you would have been sitting between a 6 foot concrete wall and the stair wall. No place to sit outside and enjoy a cup of coffee or cocktail. You could not hear the ocean waves as you are at least a block and half from the beach. There is very little view as the windows on the front are up too high to see out of them without a chair. The other windows are too small to see much. It was so uncomfortable from the heat that we spent a night and most of the next day at another resort. We are from Arkansas so we are use to heat and humidity so that was not the issue. It just need AC and have a place to enjoy the outside without being cooped up in the unit. We were there for two weeks. I guess if you are only renting this place for a few days, it would be ok. But if you are planning a long rental, this is probably not the place.
Owner's Response: I was so sad and surprised to see this one star review. We strive to keep the apartment clean, well stocked, and comfortable for our guests. Unfortunately, we can't control the weather. There are days and weeks during the year when the trade winds die down - so, we provide stand up fans, ceiling fans, and an air conditioning in the bedroom to make sleeping more comfortable. I do encourage prospective guests to read through the other reviews that explain how comfortable the apartment is and how enjoyable their stay was with us. Much aloha! Nikki DeWitt
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
beirut lebanon
4

a great vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The appartment was located close to a very beautiful part of kailua beach. There was everything one would need, for beach or home, towels, shampoo etc, the extra blow up bed came in very handy as it allowed 3 of us to sleep in the room with AC. Nikky was very thoughtful in sending us fruits and local sweets, it was all great. The only down was the absence of a Lanai or a little terrace to stay outdoors, you don't really want to stay inside with the lovely weather.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
Canada
5

A Great First Vacation in Hawaii!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed here for a week with our seven-month old son and had a wonderful time. The listing description and photos were accurate, so there weren't any surprises once we arrived. This was my first time booking a vacation rental through VRBO, so I was nervous, but everything went smoothly, and Nikki was great at responding promptly to my questions and explaining the booking and checking in processes clearly via email. She was very accommodating, providing a playpen and high chair for us to use and also letting us check out late on our last day.
One worry I had before was that the apartment did not have a stovetop or oven. This wasn't a big deal. It's hot, so we didn't feel like doing any baking or roasting anyway. We used the hot plates, microwave, toaster oven and barbecue to prepare our meals and we ate just fine.
Kailua is a lovely town with a neat ambience, and we really enjoyed staying there. There are great places to eat and shop, two nice weekly farmers' markets, and there are many nearby beaches to visit. The beach near the apartment is more like a block and a half away, but it's very walkable and still very close. I'd suggest searching on Tripadvisor and Urbanspoon for suggestions of what to do around Kailua (and Hawai'i in general).
Everything we needed for the week was provided in the apartment: tons of linens and towels, soap/shampoo/conditioner, paper towels/toilet paper, spices, cooking utensils, etc. Leaving the screen door open with windows open created a nice breeze through the main area of the apartment, and then the air conditioner cooled the bedroom nicely.
The windows are high, so there isn't much of a view from the apartment, but this wasn't a big deal to us. We weren't spending time inside anyway except in the mornings and evenings.
I think the apartment is very reasonably priced and is an excellent place to stay in Hawai'i (much nicer than near Waikiki!) The tourist attractions are easy to get to from here via car and the drives from Kailua to elsewhere on the island are beautiful. Definitely a nice place for a small family to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious 1BR “Kailua Wave” Guesthouse, ½ Block to Kailua Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p48730vbi
(808) 223-3670
Kailua Oahu
Where do you live?
5

Comfortable, bright apartment with lots of nice extras

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved Kailua Wave guesthouse. It is well equipped with good bedding and towels, beach toys and chairs, a grill, and full sized refrigerator. We were visiting our daughter and were able to use the high chair and porta crib when babysitting our grandson. The apartment looks just like the photos on the webpage. The walk to the beach is not far, and there are lots of good places to eat in Kailua. The beach is beautiful and not too crowded--and that is a good compliment from someone who lives in North Carolina and is accustomed to Cape Lookout National seashore!
If you come for any length of time, do rent a car. The scenery on the drive north on Kamehameha highway is spectacular, as is the south shore along Route 72.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1