Fivizzano villa rental - Pool and sun area
Pool and sun area
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Fivizzano Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa - rural - 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms - sleeps 8 - 3 terraces

Villa Terra di Luna, is an exceptionally beautiful and spacious 18th century farmhouse. Five years was spent on the restoration of the house, additions were made and a pool and extensive terracing were created. This stone built farmhouse is composed of eighteen rooms – an entrance hall with cloakroom, a spacious split level lounge, a dining room, and a large kitchen, the second floor has three bedrooms and three bathrooms two of which are en suite. The barn comprises a bedroom with a shower-room en suite and a lounge/office, finally there is a wine cellar and a cantina. The house has been fitted to an exceptionally high standard utilising both outstanding taste and attention to detail. The architecture, interior design and the custom made furniture, is the work of the owner, sensitively balancing the original character and charm with the elegance and simplicity of contemporary and historical influences to produce a unique house.

** For further info see link below to owners website

Exterior Information: There are three paved terraces, the first terrace which is directly accessed from the kitchen has a dining area and large B.B.Q., it leads to the second terrace which is the main exterior dining area, a massive table with seating for up to 14 people has been built here, together with seating for relaxing before dining. The pool and sunbathing area, with its spectacular views across the magnificent Tuscan countryside to the snow covered Apennines in the far distance, include a pergola with a marble table and seating and a herb garden. Terrace three is to the far right of the house and is a quiet shaded spot with the amenity of a jacuzzi. The terraces and pool are served and connected by a series of gates and walled paths laid with marble pebbles and stones. At night the entire exterior is bathed in light. The property includes substantial land with olive trees, vines and a variety of fruit trees, a large walled garden has been created, which will in time serve the house with its produce

Communications & Publications: Terra di Luna in addition enjoys the facilities of:

worldwide satellite TV, wireless internet and an office.

Villa Terra di Luna has been the subject of numerous publications including:

Italia Viva 365; photographed by Karl Dietrich Buhler, published by DVA (2007)

Life and Style, photographed by Andreas Von Einsiedel, published by DVA (2007)

The Sunday Times (April 2007)

A.D. Italia (November 2006)

Glorian Koti (2005)

Karl Dietrich Buhler, 365 Tage (20. Mai) Gartenkunst - Landschaft - Garten, Poesie, published by DVA, Munchen (2005)

Futher Information: Villa Terra di Luna with its olive trees, vines, spectacular landscape and views of the Apennine Mountains is perfectly situated amongst the unspoilt peaceful meadows and gently forested hills of Lunigiana ‘the land of the moon’ Northern Tuscany, a region as breathtaking and beautiful as any in Italy. Lunigiana is renowned for its gastronomy cuisine and fine Trattoria’s; serving dishes of fresh, local and seasonal produce.

Market Days:

Fivizzano – Tuesday (morning),

Sarzana – Thursday (all day),

Castelnovo - Thursday (all day),

La Spezia – Friday (all day),

Aulla – Saturday (morning)

The picturesque ports and beaches of the Italian Riveria; Lerici, Portovenere, the Cinque Terre, Portofino and Forte di Marmi with their excellent seafood restaurants and fine wines are within easy and pleasurable reach.

Pisa, Lucca, Parma and Genoa are approximately 1 hr by autostrada, Florence and Siena with their wealth of art and history 2 hr.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 486890 in Fivizzano, Italy

Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
5

Wonderful retreat in Northern Tuscany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fantastic time staying at the Villa Terra di Luna near Fivizzano in Northern Tuscany, our first trip to Italy as a family of 4, with two children aged 7 and 4. The villa was incredibly spacious and full of character and you could see that the owner Michael had spent a significant amount of time restoring it and decorating it to a high standard.

It is located in a small hamlet of villas and is very quiet, but has wonderful views over the valley and towards the Apuane Alps.

The highlight had for us had to be the split level outdoor area which had a great BBQ and large, communal table near the villa with the pool and other areas lower down. The salt water pool was the main attraction, and the kids loved being in it at every opportunity. It had a large shallower area which made it ideal for our youngest to start to learn to swim. The surrounding area had enough loungers and shaded areas to suit all tastes which meant you could spend all your time in the villa if you wished without venturing out further. The fact that the pool was on a different level and gated off meant we could also keep the children safe when required.

Whilst the surrounding area may not be the typical Tuscan landscape, the local town of Fivizzano has a strong sense of community. We were lucky enough to be there to see "La Disfida degli Arcieri di Terra e di Corte" medieval procession and archery competition and the central square had a number of places to eat and drink both during the day and in the evening which have been commented on in previous reviews.

Further afield, the villa is ideally placed to visit the Cinque Terre, Pisa and Lucca.

As it was July when we visited, we obviously had warm temperatures in the high 20's and low 30's, however due to the mountains and general elevation the area can be prone to Summer storms which did sometimes knock out the power for a short period of time.

Finally, the owner Michael Playford was very helpful and helped to point out local attractions and places to eat and visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
5

Magical stay in Terra di Luna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a great time while at Michael's home. It was unfortunate that there was a cold snap and we were unable to fully enjoy the outside areas. The house is just as pictured, very comfortable with all the conveniences.
We did have a wonderful hike to the beautiful small village a short distance below. The countryside and mountain views are breathtaking.
The home was clean and well organized with a fabulous kitchen for chatting and cooking.
I would recommend this house if you are staying in Northern Tuscany.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Villa Apart

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We made a return visit to Villa Terra di Luna in June 2012, and enjoyed that week even more than our first visit a few years earlier. The villa is situated in a quiet hamlet and has the most stunning views of the Apuan Alps. They are breath-takingly beautiful at all times of the day, but never more than in the late evening as the sun sets, when the mountains seem to change in colour from white to grey to orange to purple and finally black - really stunning.
What sets the villa apart is the combination of its setting and the fabulous work done on the property itself by Michael Playford to make it a perfect place to use either as a base or in which to just laze around (and in) the pool all day. The air is crystal clear, there are occasional tinkles of cow-bells (attached to horses as it happens) and you occasionally encounter one of the local community doing some errands - its a perfect place to wind down.
The outdoor areas are very well thought-through and, inside, the house has a great kitchen and plenty of space for dining / relaxing, so its great to have really good cooking facilities. All of the bedrooms are very tastefully decorated and spacious.
For people who need it, a satellite dish delivers UK television channels, and there is wifi in the house itself.
The nearest town, Fivizzano was a significant place in the time of the Medici) and has all you need in the way of foodstores, pharmacies and so on and a brilliant pasticceria on the square run by the hardest working Italians known to man, the very efficient Ricci sisters - great cappucino and spremuta in the morning, and seemingly no end to the supplies of limoncello in the evenings.
The villa is very well-located for exploring northern Tuscany and southern Liguria - trips to the Versilia, Portovenere, Lerici, to the Cinque Terre, Portofino etc are all quite do-able as day trips. We have been going to the Fivizzano area for nearly 15 years now - discovering Villa Terra di Luna guarantees that we will continue to do so, just now in a lot more comfort and style than previously! A great house, in a great location.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The most beautiful, tranquil view you could ever

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
Hope all is well with you and yogi!
We have long awaited our trip to Villa Terra di Luna having read an article some 7 years ago in the Times magazine. As with everything, time passes and life is so busy that it wasn't until 2011 that we eventually booked our holiday for 2012 to Michael Playford's beautiful home, if only for one week. We arrived late on the Saturday evening, but having followed the directions we found the tiny hamlet of Vallazzana.
Michael had very kindly sourced the shopping list of which i had forwarded prior, knowing that the supermarkets would not be open at our late time of arrival. Once in Villa Terra di Luna and greeted by Michael we headed for a good nights sleep.
We woke with what can only be described as the most beautiful, tranquil view you could ever imagine. Every day we found something more to love about this wonderful place. We debated about eating out as Michael had suggested some local restaurants, but we all agreed that since we were only staying for a week we wanted to relax and enjoy the peace and there couldn't be a better view in any restaurant.
Whenever we go away on holiday, our bench mark is, that wherever we are going too has to be as good or better than we have at home.... We want to return this year but if all else fails we will return 2013.
Thank you again Michael.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Totally Relaxing!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We (eight adults) spent a wonderful week at Villa Terra di Luna at the end of October. Luckily the weather was perfect for a timeout and exploring the surrounding areas (Cinque terre, Pisa, Lucca…). In the evenings and in the mornings the well equipped kitchen was the meeting point for cooking and eating together. The beautiful living room got used very often and we were impressed by the modern design, furnishings and the remarkable views from the windows and terraces. Thanks to Michael, the owner of this small paradise, for his hospitality and kindness and last but not least to Yogi, the Yorkie bringing us so much joy nearly every morning. Hope to see you all again!
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

By far the very best holiday home

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We wanted to write to say a huge Thank You for our wonderful week, staying at your very, very beautiful villa!!!!! We all had an absolutely lovely time.
Every part of your amazing home is spectacular. It is by far the very best holiday home we have ever stayed in!
It is difficult to choose a favourite part of the villa, it is all so gorgeous! We loved the fabulous kitchen, with such fantastic equipment - an absolute pleasure to cook there! Everything one could possibly want was to be found! You have clearly put so much thought into what might be needed, and ensured that it is there.
The lounge is so beautifully furnished with such unique special pieces. All the bedrooms are very beautiful, the master bedroom has the most incredible view of the outside areas, the pool and the gorgeous mountains all around.
The outside areas are just truly incredible! With several beautiful sitting areas, and a brilliant, extremely large BBQ it was an absolute joy to eat outside! The pool was also fantastic, and so well maintained every day. We didn't want to leave the villa at all. Just enjoyed the very special surroundings and the very beautiful home!
The location of the villa is just perfect, a real retreat of peace and calm, but also only a short drive away from a lovely friendly town where it is possible to buy the things you might need. We loved the spectacular views of the Apennines at every time of the day. Watching the fire flies light up the landscape each evening was truly special.
We also really appreciated your very warm welcome, and all your kindness and helpfulness throughout our stay. We felt like we were staying in a real home and not just a holiday home.
And finally Yogi, your gorgeous little dog! We loved having his company and he made us smile so many times. He is truly an adorable little character. Leaving your beautiful villa was very, very hard, after having our very special week with you, and we all would love to have stayed with you for longer. We certainly all hope to return sometime soon!
With many many thanks and love to you and Yogi!!!
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Michael Playford promised us an unforgettable holiday – and that’s exactly what we had!
We stayed 2 weeks at Villa Terra di Luna from the end of August until beginning of September. This architecturally outstanding home is located in the region of northern Tuscany and the landscape is breathtaking.
The whole property, especially the extraordinary pool area was very clean and maintained daily by an adorable Italian lady.
We appreciated knowing the owner Michael Playford lived next door. He received us with kindness and hospitality and was always helpful in any way.
We mainly cooked our meals at the house using the beautiful well equipped kitchen.
Our most memorable souvenir goes to our three unforgettable dinners organized by Michael. A local young chef- helped by his charming wife- prepared outstanding dinners from local products which we enjoyed on the spacious terrace having a spectacular view over the Apennine mountains.
We are already missing the house and the nice people who cared for us- we will most certainly return !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
5

Wonderful timeout

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
For one week we stayed at the Villa Terra di Luna with our 5 Teenies and we had a wonderful time.The great outdoor area did invite us to barbeque almost every evening and we engoyed the silence of this lovely area. We all loved the interior design and the kitchen was also a great place to be.
Thanks to Michael, the owner of the house, we also found some very good restaurants in the area.
The property with the wonderful swimmingpool was very clean and perfectly maintained. We would recommend this property to everyone! Hopefully we can come back to spend another great time at this fantastic place with its magic view.

Franziska und Hans Achermann, Switzerland
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Hong Kong
5

Fantastic Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our week long stay at Villa Terra di Luna in July 2011 could not have been better. The villa is outstanding in every aspect. All that owner Michael Playford has written on his website to describe the villa as a home built and designed with attention to detail, elegance and comfort is entirely true. This is a fantastic property!

Our party consisted of 6 adults. The 4 bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. We all had use of our own bathrooms. The common rooms provide plenty of space for relaxation and the furniture is of a very high standard. We enjoyed time in the kitchen which is large, modern, well-equipped and became a focal point for our family gatherings. And, to top it all off, the pool, patios and gardens situated as they are within the large property to take advantage of the magnificent countryside, makes the overall northern Tuscanny experience at Villa Terra di Luna one that you will never forget - peaceful, breathtaking, wonderful! I give it a 10/10. Kudos to you Michael.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique, much published, luxury villa / private pool / spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p486890
+39 0585 926803
Fivizzano Massa Carrara
Washington DC, USA
5

Breathtakingly beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Villa Terra di Luna is quite amazing. From its situation on a beautiful mountaintop to the finishing in the house, it is truly beautiful. Our two favorite areas in the home were the outside decks and pool area and the amazing chef's kitchen. The views are amazing.

Just a few notes, especially for Americans. There is only one true shower in the villa (in the separate barn area). Also, the drive from Fivizzano to the villa in Vallazano is a bit windy and narrow, especially at night. But the views from the villa are so beautiful that the drive is worth it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1