Reykjavik cottage rental - Terrace
Terrace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Reykjavik Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom cottage in rural location, sleeps 6

A beautiful, comfortable and cosy cottage located at the end of Skorradalsvatn in the valley Skorradalur with a stunning view over the lake. This is a heavily grown area with lots of hiking possibilities for the whole family. The cottage has two bedrooms, one with a double bed (150 cm) and one with two single beds (bunk bed 80 cm), a Loft with some mattresses. Kitchen with good facilities, dining area and the living room, TV, VHS, old functional radio. WC/shower.

The terrace (15sqm) is a on three sides of the cottage with garden furniture, so you´ll be able to catch the sun from early morning until sunset. Above the cottage is another patio with a play house for kids and a swing for two.

There is a parking place by the road. Right beneath the parking place there is the waterfront, a beautiful place to relax, play or fish. The cottage is in the middle of the hill and there is quite a walk up the hill but very worth the while.

Borgarnes and Snæfellsnes: Day-trips to Snæfellsnes, Breiðafjörður (the island of Flatey) and the southern part of the Westfjords show the best Iceland has to offer; amazing landscapes, countless hiking trails, boat trips and whale-watching to name a few.

The town of Borgarnes is only a 30 min away where you'll find all necessary services; medical service, supermarkets, gas stations, restaurants, banks, pharmacy, liquor store, museum etc.

There are many public pools with hot tubs in the area. Ideal to visit after a busy day of activity in this beautiful area.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 485302 in Reykjavik, Iceland

Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Lovely, romantic, relaxing honeymoon.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Myself and my wife have nothing but great things to say about our stay here. I will try to keep the review factual and not too long but I could say so many nice things!

Gréta the lady who owns the cottage is lovely, gave us lots of information before we arrived and was a great help while we stayed there for our honeymoon. She even got in touch to check we were ok when a small blizzard hit the local area.

The cottage is a small but perfectly formed lodge/cottage looks exactly like the pictures. Very cosey and lovely views of the mountains and lake from the balcony.

The local area is really quiet, just a few other cottages and mountains and a massive lake and waterfalls just a short walk away! the surrounding area is gorgeous and you are not too far from Reykjavik(1.5hr).

The are so many lovely things to do in the surrounding areas and we only wish we had longer to do them all. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing holiday in Iceland then we would really recommend staying here, perfect if you are a couple of small family.

We would suggest getting either an estate or 4x4 with winter tyres as some of the roads are a little bumpy in Iceland and you should be ready from some windy roads! but if you looking for a bit of adventure it all becomes part of it and you soon adjust your driving after a few days!

Cottage was really clean and well maintained. It has everything you need, you may want to bring a portable DVD player if you want to watch DVDs.

Things we did that maybe worth looking at;

We drove over the mountains to see the Geysers what a drive that was! gorgeous scenes every corner you take.

We went pony trekking in Reykjavik which was lovely.

We went scuba diving and snorkeling at Silfra which was great fun.

All these activities did not take long to get to, but you can take longer routes and take in the scenery if you want.

I think that is everything, just one more big thanks to Gréta for helping make our honeymoon so special.
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Wonderfull

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay at Greta´s cottage was wonderful. The cottage is very beautiful, clean, completely well-equipped and very well decorated both inside and outside in the terraces. The house and the surroundings (cottage amenities, lake, forest) were very relaxing and we enjoyed very much all the days we spent at the cottage. Although we were only two, the cottage is perfect for a couple with young children because there are several facilities for them. We would repeat again the wonderful days we spent at Skorradalur and in all Iceland.
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Very nice cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed in the cottage for 1 week, my husband, son and myself. It is a very beautiful cottage with verything you need. The way to the next shop is quite a bit away, but when you are in Isaland you need time anyway.

Thank you for a very nice time in island!
Nicole
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Quit and peacefull

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I went to Iceland with my 2 boys 14,12 years, a trip for boys in 4 days.

The cottage was very cozy with a fantastic view on mountains and the lake.
We did barbecue a lot, remember to shop before arrival, the nearest supermarket is 35km away from the cottage.
It can be recommended to rent a 4wd jeep even though it is easy to get to the cottage without, but you will be able to come places where you can be all by your self, and some sheeps. we did fantastic trips driving on hills, by lakes and passed small rivers.

We went to see geysers, caves and waterfalls, big succes, All reachable
within a 1½- 2 hours.(in car)

If you want to get in contact with the nature and stay in a quit peacefull place,
this is it!
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
Brussels, Belgium
5

Travel to the heart of nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The owner greeted us with kindness.
The house is easy to reach by cons must rent a car. The view is magnificent.
It's very clean and very pleasant. A functional home as well as 7 to 3.
The house is cozy and nicely decorated.
It is a real face to face with nature, a haven of peace. For restaurants and other local discoveries must be curious and explore the beautiful surroundings. If a supermarket is very located.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
London, United Kingdom
5

Beautiful remote cottage with lovely views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I spent nearly two weeks at this lovely cottage on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The cottage is cosy and really nicely decorated, with all the things you'd need for a self catering holiday. The deck has stunning views and there's lots of outdoor furniture to allow you to make the most of being out in the fresh air. The town of Borganes nearby has all the amenities you need including two supermarkets, and a fantastic museum called the Settlement Centre where you can get a delicious lunch! We'd highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country cottage with a spectacular view in west Iceland, 80 min from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p485302
+354 06996706
Reykjavik Iceland
Finland
4

Peace and quiet in a cosy cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A small cottage but still roomy thanks to a great planning. Nice attic, big terrace around the house, and through the big windows you have a great view over the lake. The furnishing is comfortable. A fireplace would be a lovely atmosphere maker and would even keep the cottage warm when needed.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1