Hilo house rental - Gazebo front deck
Gazebo front deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
1 twin deluxe bedroom 1.5 bathrooms full kitchen, living, den, wet bar.

Aloha & Welcome to Hale Kawehi. We want to extend all of the warmth, charm and aloha that Hawaii has to offer by making your stay a memorable one. Located in the center of historic downtown Hilo, Hawaii, this is a well-appointed, kama'aina residence, very open, airy, Polynesian environment with many Hawaiian artifacts and other collectible treasures, 2,000, sq. ft., completely private with full amenities. This is a family estate; host lives on property in separate private quarters with separate private entrance. Free parking and free Wi Fi.

Located l.5 miles, walking distance to the old town featuring many restaurants, shops, bay front. A truly must stay oasis. 29 miles from active volcano and National Park. For golfers, the Hilo Municipal Golf course is just is 3 miles from rental. A perfect launch area for sightseeing . E Komo Mai...welcome. You may view website: Halekawehi.com. Host has an outside cat, Mr. Princess, that visits guests. So please consider this before booking.

Aloha. I am a kama'aina-indigenous Hawaiian, living in a tropical environment. My residence (hale) is ideally located in the heart of Hilo with lots of authentic Hawaiian artifacts and charm. My yard is lush with many tropicals, which I carefully planted. I was born and raised in Hilo, and this was my primary residence growing up so it is dear and special to me. I have lots of local knowledge and history of Hilo and its people. My grandfather was a senator and many of his senate bills that he introduced are still on the books today. I love traveling, hosting, cooking, entertaining, avid golfer, canoe paddler and hula. Hawaii has 12 months of outdoor weather. So come and enjoy my retreat. I believe staying here will be a very special experience reminiscent of old Hawaii. You will feel the mana....spiritual power.... E komo mai.....welcome.....

Kawehi Cochran purchased this house in 1938

Host was born and raised on this property. This is an authentic Hawaiian property and in a special setting. Every guest loves the experience and leaves with special memories of their visit to Hilo. See Halekawehi.com.

Guests will be surrounded by the Hawaiian culture. It is close to everything. The hale is equipped with everything a guest could possible want or ask for. Warmth, charm, lots of Aloha, FULL AMENITIES. Located 29 miles to active volcano, and the National Park. Minutes away from Imiloa Center, University of Hawaii and walking distance to the downtown area.

Three miles from the Hilo Muncipal Golf Course. Whale watching in Hilo Bay. It is very peaceful and in a tropical lush setting.

14 Reviews of Property 482878 in Hilo, Hawaii

Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
5

Very cozy and well decorated, large living area, peaceful neighborhood, responsive owner.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Very spacious and clean. Very cozy, decorated with a taste. Bedroom has screened windows, allowing open-air sleeping, which is great in HI. Outdoor area with table and lots of greenery, very private. Owner was very responsive and flexible, arranged late arrival. We ate a great papaya she had left for us, I think from her own tree. The only downside was that there were two separate small beds, so it's not very convenient for a couple. Some other travellers had complained of a cat smell, I would say it's minor and not a cause for concern. The cats are outside and they are adorable! There was a separate bin for recycling, kudos to the owner for doing that!!! I would come back here, I recommend it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Reno, NV
2

Not Clean

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The owner is lovely and informative about restaurants, groceries, sights. The house is as pictured in the photos. What you can't know from the photos is that it smells strongly of cat urine and it wasn't clean by my standards - grease in the cooktop and thick dust on Kitchen shelves and knickknacks. We left early and traveled around the whole island so it was still a fun time.
Owner's Response: Sorry about your unfortunate experience. The house is advertised with outside pets and says if your are allergic or sensitive to pets to consider this before booking. Pets are not allowed in the house so this was an extremely sensitive guest, which I understand. Also, the house is a very open, airy, Polynesian-stye setting and it is very clean. But because of the openness and trade winds, dust may sometimes settle overnight after each cleaning and this is noted in the house rules. As for the stove, I personally checked it. It is not a spanking brand new stove but it is clean and features a convection oven. Hope this helps. This is Hawaii; airy, tropical with trade winds, sun, rain, dust, combined with all its splendor and Hale Kawehi is enchanting. Mahalo.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
5

Great Hilo home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were warmly received and treated with fruit and homemade treats from the garden. This is a spacious open air living space. We cooked daily. Would have been happy to hang more, but there is so much to do on Hawai'i.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Aloha Ron. It was great having you and I'm delighted you enjoyed my Hawaiian Hale. Come again. I would love to host you again!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Portland, Oregon
5

Charming Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My wife and I stayed at Hale Kawehi for a few nights. It's a perfect vacation place for visiting Hilo, or exploring, if it's your first time in town. It would be wonderful for Merrie Monarch. The house is comfortable and attractive and very interestingly decorated. The lanai is my favorite part. We'll definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
5

Beautiful place to stay in Hilo.Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful time while staying here,It is exactly as shown in pictures.clean and comfortable.It's location in town makes it easy come and go to all local attractions without much fuss.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Aloha. Thank you for your visit. It was great hosting you and Brian. I will always remember you when I feast on lobster!!! You were great guests. Happy New Year and come visit again....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Victoria Canada
5

A Terrific visit.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was a wonderful base for exploring the Hilo area. The house is spacious and very well-equipped. It is very well set up for spending lots of time on the spacious and private lanai, which is just outside the kitchen doors and surrounded by Kawehi’s lovely garden. (There’s also a lovely verendah around the side of the house, with lots of comfie chairs.)We like good places to read at night, and there were several here, including a marvellous chair built for two. It has the feel of what it is, a family home that is full of many interesting historical objects. But as others have noted, the best thing about this rental is Kawehi herself. She is warm, engaging, and very generous. The fridge was full of papayas and bagels, and when we needed advice on restaurants, beaches, etc. she had all sorts of local knowledge to share. We were glad we decided to spend some time on the east side. Hilo is close to the volcano and the wonderful botanical gardens, and the string of beach parks south of town are first rate. Thanks Kawehi – you made this a very special part of our travels, and we hope to be back to see you soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Merry Xmas Jeremy And Georgie. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. It is always gratifying to know that my guests enjoy my Hawaiian vintage cottage. You were wonderful guests and I feel I have made new Canadian friends. Please come and visit again. That "papa chair" is beckoning you. Mahalo and fond memories.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
5

We loved Hale Kawehi! We sat in 7 different cozy seating areas in this lovely Hawaiian home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very comfortable. Private. Everything you need. Lots of special touches. So many beautiful things! Kawehi was awesome and easy to talk with. Location was great. Garden of flowers incredible! I would recommend this house to families but only it only sleeps 2. It was a romantic getaway for us even with twin beds!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Polly, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit at my Hawaiian Hale. It is always gratifying to know that guests enjoy this special family estate. Please come again and have a wonderful Xmas. It was a pleasure hosting you.
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Cupertino, CA, USA
5

Clean cozy house with a friendly host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My spouse and I spent three days at Hale Kawehi as part of our "baby-moon" trip and we had some truly unforgettable time there!
The house is beautiful, spacious and clean, full of aloha spirit and surrounded by paradise-like gardens and balconies.
It gave us a unique opportunity to experience the real Hawaiian living and yet have everything provided that we needed for our perfect vacation.
Delicious breakfast was waiting for us in the fridge every morning and the kitchen was equipped with all the necessary things that we needed for the occasional cooking that we did during the day.

A huge thank you to host, Kawehi, for a very warm welcome and for providing all the useful tips about Hilo as well as Hawaii in general and its culture!

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hale Kawehi and hope to return there soon!
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Munich
5

My Home in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
...after an exhausting flight from Europe I arrived in Hilo and received the most beautiful gift from the Universe: A stay at Kawehi's place :-) I was captured by the exotic charm of house, garden, terrace, bedroom, well, everything, the moment I arrived... I truly had "My Private Paradise" for the time of my stay! And all the unforeseen extras like a chocolate in a basket, a strawberry in a mango half, exquisite coffee beans, giving my a lift in the rain, introducing me to wonderful people... Everything shows the owner's great heart!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Hale Kawehi In Quaint Downtown Hilo, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p482878vb
8083458084
Hilo Hilo District
Taiwan
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The moment you arrive and are greeted by Kawehi it feels like this place exists purely to take you away from your every day worries. I found it impossible not to relax while chilling on the veranda or wandering through the lush garden. Kawehi was so helpful, she gave recommendations for local restaurants and activities as well as what not to miss during the rest of my stay on the Big Island. The fresh, local papaya and bagel/muffin that were provided for breakfast were an excellent way to start the day and Kawehi's own blend of Kona coffee was just delicious.
The apartment itself has everything you could want in a vacation rental. There's the living room area if you want to chat or spin some of the vinyl. The kitchen is a set up for cooks and has all the equipment you need for a gourmet meal or just a sandwich. Or if you want to veg out then there's the HD TV and recliners in the den. I found the veranda to be the perfect place to read a book and listen to the wildlife.
The property is convenient for downtown Hilo and also the main highway around the island so it's an ideal base for a little exploring as well as a great place to recover afterwards
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1