Reykjavik cottage rental - Winter evening at our special cottage.
Winter evening at our special cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Reykjavik Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 seperate bedrooms .

This is a beautiful cottage within Reykjavík. You have BIG private garden with hot tub, barbecue grill, romantic fireplace and you are in Reykjaviks park area and it´s named Heiðmörk. Free WIFI- for e-mails and news.

Close by are the water reserves for the Reykjavík capital named Gvendarbrunnar,. This is Reykjavíks conservations area. Only 5 minutes drive you have one of the best heated swimmingpool in Reykjavík, you can see in one of the pictures. You are only 5 minutes drive to next super market. You are only 15 minutes drive to the center of Reykjavík. This is the perfect place to discover Reykjavík and drive for daytours in the country. Can´t get any better! This is new for rental and has never been rented out before!

Please enjoy!

25 Reviews of Property 480366 in Reykjavik, Iceland

REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
average rating of 4.68 based on 25 reviews
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Awesome holiday location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Lovely location which is very peaceful but still only a short drive to Reykjavik. Scenery from the house was amazing and we loved our trip.
The hot tub really made it special as we were out in it almost every night looking for the northern lights (unfortunately did not see them though). Was great to be in 41 degree water whilst its snowing and -6.
Outside shower was interesting. Really got the circulation going and was fun :)

We rented the Suzuki from Gestur for the 6 days which is a must. The 2km track leading to the house gets very icy in the winter and even with spiked tyres, driving slowly and in low range it still slips, so I could not imagine getting there with a bog standard road car.
4x4 was also useful getting to Pingvallir and Geysir as roads were also very slippy on the way.
Useful tip if you do hire the car from Gestur. On the Sat Nav go to Favourites and select House as this takes you straight there (we struggled to find location when trying to type in post code).

Also another tip regarding the fire. We just assumed that we used logs and kindle that was around at first but then found out that its best to go to local garage and grab logs wrapped in wax paper.

Whilst on the subject of tips here are some more:
- There is a hair dryer at the house so you don't need to bring one.
- Don't be tempted to pay extra at the Blue Lagoon for robe, towel and free drink (despite me saying this to my girlfriend). Its really not worth the extra money in my opinion as you are mainly in the water and could buy an extra 10 drinks despite the high prices.
- My girlfriend also recommends conditioner on your hair when going in the Lagoon. She didn't and says her hair feels like straw now.

The house was really nice and we would definitely come back again as there is so much more we would like to see.

Thanks to Gestur who was excellent with regards to communication and everything went very well with getting the car and getting into the house due to the clear instructions.

So overall a very special holiday made amazing by the excellent house and location of the house.

Thanks again Gestur.

Mark and Jo
Owner's Response: Dear Mark and Jo,
it was a pleasure to have you to come over to stay with us:) Hope to see you soon!!
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
London, United Kingdom
5

Would rate it 6 stars if I could DREAM COME TRUE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
SO many good points to note....

- Absolutely STUNNING location
- Easy access to Reykjavik and all sights/attractions
- 7 mins to 24 hr shop/ petrol/ fastfood
- Very comfortable beds
- Amazing large hot tub
- Easy payment and good communication with owner
- Warm, homely feel with cosy with log fire and leather sofas
- Big TV which we played movies from the laptop on (via HDMI)
- Loud and good quality sound system
- No neighbours to disturb or be disturbed by
- Free wi-fi works great

Before you book you should know:

- You will need a 4x4 to access it, our Jeep almost couldn't make it in the snow and ice even with spikey tires, all I can say is buy extra insurace for your Jeep!
- Shower is outside but we like that :)
- Stereo is radio and CD only but tune into 91.9FM and you won't need an iPod to have a party (Flashback FM with 90's Hip/Hop, Dance, Classics all day and night!)

Honestly, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Iceland, thanks Gestur and wife for letting us stay in your beautiful holiday home, would come back in a heartbeat :)

P.S. Northern lights we're insane!!! :D
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

New Years In Iceland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
WE can't say enough about our recent trip, we just got back last night and would suggest anyone that has considered a trip to Iceland to do it! The cottage was perfect for the 2 of us, it would have been a squeeze if there was more, simply because there is no room to put your suitcase! The outdoor shower was not a problem, even in winter, the trick is to jump in the hotub after! We arranged a car hire with Gestur, which was perfect as it was left at the airport for us. The GPS was a god send!. We ventured to Geysir and Gulfoss ( a must for the Lamb stew!) partied with the locals on new years eve and experienced the best firework display in our lives! Ventured to the blue lagoon new years day. (would suggest the basic package only as it was special enough just being there!) in the town near to the Blue Lagoon ( Grindavik) is a wonderful retaurant called the Salthusid that is worth a visit and much cheaper thean the Blue Lagoon restaurant.
We were lucky to see the northern lights on New years day to welcome the new year in, clear view from the cottage, just wish we had found the binoculars before rather than after! but I managed to get some great pictures. All in all, one of our best trips ever, we look forward to returning!. Thanks Gestur!

Maureen and Martin Cheshire
Oakville, Ont Canada
Owner's Response: Dear Maureen and Martin,
we were so happy that you saw the Northern Lights - and from the Hot Tub you have the best view in Iceland :)
Please come back soonest,
All the best from Iceland,
Gestur.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Can't wait to go back :)

Can't wait to go back :)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I cannot recommend a holiday to Iceland enough, and in particular a stay in Paradise Cottage is a must!! The cottage has absolutely stunning views, is so peaceful, relaxing, cosy, very comfortable beds, log fire, hot tub, wifi… everything you need for a lovely stay in Iceland. Hot tub was just perfect! I should also comment on the outdoor shower (as everyone else has!), and would say it wasn’t even an issue even though at home it would sound a bit odd but in the peace and tranquillity of Paradise Cottage it seems natural and is a great way to start the day :) If you go in the Spring/ Summer keep an eye out for the resident Maríuerla (Wagtail), so cute. Gestur was very helpful to us and changed over the gas canister that had run out within a couple of hours of us contacting him whilst we were at the Blue Lagoon, so it didn’t cause any disruption to our holiday. One other thing to mention is that the smoke alarm is very sensitive and will also activate the house alarm, would advise to have both windows open when cooking and if the alarm does go off I would contact Gestur or Arnar once you have reset it to make sure a quick phone call to Securitas is made… or you will receive a visit from Securitas (Securitas are very friendly, but it will just save them having to come out for a non emergency).

Iceland itself is truly amazing - hire a car and explore… in particular Jökulsárlón (glacial lagoon) will take your breath away and make sure you stop off at Seljalandfoss and Skogafoss on the way. Blue Lagoon, a typical tourist attraction, but just incredible (take your own towel and flip flops to save money) and also the many local heated outdoor pools are fab to visit as you explore the country… with hot tubs, steam rooms, big slides and all very clean and cheap at about 550 kr per adult, we particularly enjoyed the swimming pool in Borganes as it was very quiet and set in a good location with views of the mountains.

I could go on and on about Iceland and Paradise Cottage and how amazing it is, really did not want to come home.

Thank you very much to Gestur for the rental of your lovely home for a week :)

Gemma & Nick
Owner's Response: Dear Gemma & Nick,
thank you so much for your kind words :) we like to serve our guests and it was a great pleasure to be in contact with you :)
You are most welcome back anytime!
With Love from Iceland,
Arnar & Anna and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

What's not to love?

What's not to love?
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We feel that that we are now members of an exclusive group of people that have chosen Paradise Cottage for their ‘getaway’ to Iceland and duly fallen in love with the place. We arrived from England stressed and worn out and left invigorated and relaxed. As per all the other reviews Gestur stayed in touch with us before and during our trip and answered all our questions. He even had to rescue us on our journey from the airport to the accommodation! Note to others: … do not leave car lights on while you are in the supermarket! The cottage itself, blends beautifully into the landscape and has something to offer every season that Iceland has to offer (in a day!) from the log burner, the picture window, the FANTASTIC hot tub, the cozy bedrooms, the view, the garden, the location … the list goes on. A week was not enough. We would have no hesitation booking with Gestur again, visiting Iceland all over again and staying in this cottage. In short, we would change nothing other than we would have loved to stay longer and hope to return one day. We have beautiful memories to treasure a lifetime.
Owner's Response: Helen and Richard,
it was pure pleasure for us :)
Please come back!
Arnar and Anna and Gestur says hi.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Total relaxation :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a wonderful place. Hard to imagine you are only a 10 minute drive from Reykjavik when you are sat relaxing in the hot tub or living room with such fantastic views.....you cannot help but feel relaxed.
We stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed for longer as there are so many amazing things to do/see in the area. We hired Gestur's car which was brilliant and made things so much easier being able to pick it up/drop off at the airport and do things at our own pace away from the coach groups. Driving in Iceland is very easy provided you stick to the main tarmac roads.
As for the cottage, it was just what we needed...it was great to come back each night and relax in the hot tub and we made use of it morning and night. Don't let the outdoor shower put you off .... for someone who doesn't like the cold, I actually quite enjoyed showering outside and the water is very warm. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need and we ate at the cottage most times - Food at the bonus/netto supermarkets were reasonably priced, provided you looked carefully at the different choices. If you want beer, you need to go to a local off-licence as the supermarkets don't stock it, however it is easier to buy things in duty-free to take with you.
The bedrooms are small but the bed was VERY comfortable and for once we managed to sleep well whilst away.....probably also helped by the fact that there is very little noise around. The Wifi is OK, but only really suitable for checking emails and it took us a while to realise that the switch for the Wifi/Tv etc is one of the "light" switches just as you go into the living room.
Gestur was very helpful in the run up to our visit, answering countless emails with queries and it was a pleasure to meet him whilst we were there.
All in all it was an amazing break away - this time is was a romantic trip, but we enjoyed it so much that we would love to go back with our children as they too would love it and we would definitely stay in the cottage again.
If you are looking for peace, relaxation and some amazing views, look no further!
Thank you very much Gestur for letting us stay in your lovely cottage - hopefully we will be back.
Helen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
4

Lovely, warm, comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Look no further than this cosy, private cottage if you are planning to take in the many experiences and sights that southern Iceland has to offer.

Ideally situated for the short drive into Reykjavik or for hopping onto the '1' which is the circular main road that services the whole of the island.

The view from the cottage over the lake to the snow topped mountains in the distance is wonderful, especially first thing in the morning on a sunny, clear day.

Whilst the cottage is appointed with all of the home comforts that you might need, be advised that there aren't any wardrobes or drawers for you to hang/store additional clothes, so 'travel light'.

The hot tub is top quality and the outside shower is warm and invigorating and both became enjoyable features of the time we spent in the cottage.

Gestur is the perfect host and was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

A 4 wheel drive vehicle is essential (in our opinion at least) as the track from the main road to the cottage is rutted in places; and the 4 wheel drive vehicle we hired from Gestur was ideal.

So what are you waiting for? Don't hesitate, get the flights and Gestur's lovely cottage booked and 'Go explore Iceland'. You won't be disappointed.

Martin & Sue.
Owner's Response: Martin & Sue,
It was a pleasure :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
4

Perfect Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this cabin for our 5 day stay on Iceland. Really perfect location, kind of isolate where you feel alone with nature, and only a short drive from Reykjavik. We also rented a car from Gestur. He also helped us out with the questions we had during our stay (Like how to pay a parking ticket for example :))

The outdoor bathtub was exactly as great as we expected. This is the reason we chose this cabin and it really delivered :) Fantastic sitting there enjoying the view. We didn't see any northern lights though, better luck next time? :)

I would recommend this cabin to everyone. Yes, there is only an outdoor shower, no shower inside, but it didn't really matter that much :) Something to talk about.

Greetings from Norway!

Thomas & Janne
Owner's Response: Thanks Thomas & Janne,
we had a good time being in contact with you, you are nice guests :)
all the best from Iceland,
Gestur, Arnar & Anna.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

March 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wow what a fantastic holiday!!! The cottage totally suited our needs, it was homely and inviting - definately the right size for a family of four. The location was perfect just close enough to the city to enjoy all it has to offer while also feeling private and secluded. The jacuzzi was a bonus, please don't let the outside shower put you off. What made this accomodation special was the care and kindness shown by Gestur and his family who treated us like friends. During an unexpected snow storm Gestur contact us to ensure we were well and had food and was constantly available to give fantastic advise on what Iceland had to offer. we will definately being going back to paradise cottage.
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa,
it was so nice being in contact with you all :) you are friends.
Yes the outside shower :) I think many believe it cold - it is warm and good and right by the Hot Tub.-
Please come back :)
All the best from,
Gestur, Addi and Anna.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
REYKJAVIK CAPITAL- 'PARADISE, with HOT TUB,BIG' Garden,'NEW' for rental.!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p480366
+354 8560704
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Best place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I stayed at this house with friends for five days and it was amazing! The location is fantastic and the views from the living room alone were out of this world.

Highlight of the trip was seeing the northern lights from the comfort and warmth of the hot tub - much nicer than the tours where you spend hours in the cold hoping to see something. We were very lucky and got to see them twice in our five days!

The owner was really helpful and gave us plenty of advice on what to see and just general information about the island. We also rented a 4x4 from him, which worked really well for our trip as there is so much to see. It also saves a lot of money and time compared to the tours.



The outdoor shower was an experience - but created a lot of laughs and a talking point!

I would certainly stay here again if I was in the location again and have already recommended it to a lot of my friends.
Owner's Response: Hi Denise,
yes the Northern lights are just out the window, we have one photo from Tim a former guest that sent us it and it´s one of the photos now, most of the pictures of our Paradise cottage are now from former guests or as we like to say friends as you are now :)
Say hallo to all !
Hope to see you all again,
Best regards,
Gestur.
Helpful votes: 2/2