Dune Allen Beach cottage rental - Happy Mermaid Beach Cottage
Happy Mermaid Beach Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Dune Allen Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Located between Seaside and Destin in beautiful Santa Rosa Beach, Happy Mermaid is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath cottage that is part of a small neighborhood of only 75 cottage style homes called Old Florida Village, on the north side of 30A. A community pool directly across a private drive makes keeping tabs on those loved ones especially convenient and beach access is a short stroll (approximately 550 yards or .3 mile).

The property has a nice covered front porch that leads into the main living area which has a 40' flat screen HD TV, DVD & sleeper sofa. Queen bedroom, 32' flat screen HD TV & private bath. Dining area seats 6. Kitchen has granite counter-tops, stainless appliances & small bar. Laundry room with stacked washer/dryer. There is bedroom with 2 twin beds & shared bath. Another queen bedroom with shared bath.

Covered back porch overlooks natural preserve with small lake.

Old Florida Village is just a short ten-minute drive to Silversands factory outlet mall as well as all the family and adult activities of Sandestin. Across the street is Goatfeathers, a great seafood restaurant, and other great restaurants, shopping boutiques, summer concerts, artist fairs and continuous entertainment options at gulf place which is just a short walk. The quaint villages of Grayton Beach, watercolor, and seaside are just 4-8 miles down the beach highway. Old Florida Village is ideally situated within a quarter mile of 2 public beach accesses with clean public facilities and plenty of parking.

More Details
Hide Details

We first heard about this area by reading an article in Coastal Living magazine in 2010. We didn’t get a chance to visit until June 2012. We immediately fell in love with the area, particularly the sugar white sand beaches, and decided we had to have our own place in the area. By the end of the summer of 2012 we fell in love and purchased “Happy Mermaid”. It is our pleasure to offer our cottage as 'home' to vacationing families. We take great pride in our property and we are pleased when our guests have a wonderful experience staying in our home.

Dino DeNicola purchased this cottage in 2012

We selected 'Old Florida Village' because of its wonderful location and appeal to families! It is close to everything but not commercial or congested like the more urban areas. Traffic on 30-A is slow and easy! We hope it stays that way for a very long time.

As we mentioned earlier we take great care in our cottage and keep it impeccably maintained. It is wonderfully appointed and tastefully decorated. The cottage is immediately across the street from one of the two neighborhood pools. The best part is the cottage is within walking distance to two public beach accesses so you don’t have to worry about finding parking on those busy beach days.

9 Reviews of Property 477915 in Dune Allen Beach, Florida

Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Nashville TN
5

Happy Mermaid was the perfect place for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We were thrilled with all of the extras included with our stay at the cottage. The beds were comfortable and we loved having the DVD player. The teenagers used the Wi-Fi daily. The kitchen had everything that could have been needed and more! We grilled out burgers on the back porch and cooked breakfast almost everyday (saved money for those on a budget). Parking was convenient and being across from one of the community pools was also ideal. The cottage was very clean and so charming. The decor had such a beach feel creating a relaxing environment. The beach was a few short blocks away. Overall the Happy Mermaid exceeded our expectations. Much better than being in a condo - more private, comfortable and affordable. We were close enough to Destin and Panama City Beach, but far enough away to get a lot of R&R. This rental is a great value and we'll be back! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Tuscaloosa
5

New Favorite Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
AMAZING!!! I don't remember staying in a cottage so well manicured and decorated! This cottage had everything we needed! The location was perfect for us. We enjoyed the area so much we had no reason to venture to Destin OR Panama City! The area has everything needed like restaurants, shopping, bike rentals, etc. This should satisfy most, I would think! The neighborhood is the perfect family environment. Pool location could not have been better (right across the street). Beach access was easy! The description of the cottage and the photos are exactly what you will find! My family has been visiting this area for years, but I now have a new favorite area (Old Florida Village) and a new favorite cottage (Happy Mermaid) to stay. Thanks for sharing a little bit of your paradise with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Chicago
5

Hidden Gem in Old Florida Village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have been coming to Santa Rosa Beach for a number of years for our summer vacation. We have stayed in Old Florida Village many times, but this was the first time at Happy Mermaid. This is a wonderful beach house. The house itself was very clean, spacious and very well decorated. It had all the amenities that we needed. The owners added personal touches in the house that made us feel like we were back home. The kids enjoyed the pool that is right across the street. The beach is just a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk across 30-A with enough parking and bathroom facilities. We are already planning our next summer vacation at Happy Mermaid!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
5

Dream Come True!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was not only our first trip to the beach with our kids, but it was our first ever family vacation. I had such high hopes and wanted it to be perfect for my girls (almost 7 and 4). We drove up and the neighborhood was so quaint and peaceful. Then we stepped inside.... BEYOND MY DREAMS!!! The girls were thrilled with all the bright colors and beach decor, this mama was thrilled that it was classy and well done yet cozy enough I didn't fear my kids being kids. This was everything I hoped and more. Dino was readily available to even my stupid questions, which is part of why I was drawn to this property. They have a more vested interest than some realtor in an office to whom this is just another management. If possible we will be back. If you pick this place, you will not be disappointed. It is close enough to walk to the beach (although we drove because after a day of sun and water it was just enough too far that the trek back was rough for the 4 yr old), close drive to all of the beauty of 30A without giving up your day to drive. (We spent one day in Seaside, one day to Rosemary...etc.) This place is a gem and we could not have scripted a more perfect trip for our girls first vacation/beach experience than this!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Memphis, TN
5

Best Front Porch! Perfectly Appointed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my first stay in Old Florida Village. I have stayed in Seaside, Seagrove, Seacrest and Blue Mountain on previous trips. Stayed in Happy Mermaid with two friends for a girls' retreat. The home was perfectly appointed - there was everything we needed for 4 days. - more set up than any other home rental I have ever used. Games, every kitchen gadget known to man, soaps, toiletries, kitchen towels and bath towels galore! The owners checked on us via email and text just to make sure we had everything we needed. Excellent service!

Very well decorated, especially for a girls' trip. Coffee every morning on the front porch adirondack chairs. Enjoyed an afternoon thunderstorm under the tin roof of the very private back porch - overlooking a lake and private back yard. Very peaceful.

We had bikes delivered from Big Daddy's - can't beat that - $45 total for 4 days. We biked to the beach access on Spooky Ln every day- less than 5 minute ride. If you travel with children - rent a bike with a kid cart attached. The trip to the beach will be much more fun riding than walking - it's not a far walk at all for adults (no further than most homes in Seaside), but kids may get a little cranky. Gulf Place & Goatfeathers all within walking distance if you want to grab a bite to eat.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND this rental and Big Daddy's bike delivery... Excellent trip!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Il/Midwest
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were very pleased with "Happy Mermaid"! Loved the location, neighborhood, pools & easy access to the beach. 30A is a great location especially Santa Rosa Beach. Close access to lots of cute beach towns. It's a short drive into Destin if needed. The house was very clean & updated. The decor was fun & bright. We felt right at home. We live in a ranch so we are used to everything being on 1 level so it was nice to have this perk on vacation too. Check in was effortless! We loved having a key code. Didn't have to keep track of another set of keys for the week. It also avoids having to physically go into a realty office to check in. You just drive right up at check in time & key in. We had a problem w/wifi when we first arrived. Called Dino & someone came out immediately to fix it. He was great to work with & quick to respond. Great vacation! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Nashville, Tennessee
5

Awesome Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very well maintained, excellent condition and very clean. I could not be any happier with this rental. It looked nice in the photos, but even better in person. The owners have done an awesome job with decorating and appointing this lovely beach cottage. Enjoyed drinking my coffee in the mornings on the front porch in this quiet neighborhood. We have already reserved our time to return next summer.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Lovely Beach Rental Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time. The home and the neighborhood were awesome, and we were very pleased with the beach and the town of Santa Rosa. We had the best vacation in years. Everything in the home was in tip-top shape. It is absolutely amazing! Fresh and Clean and comfy. We love the way you've decorated it. Our little daughter loves the twin bedroom. Again, thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. We are definitely planning on coming back in the future.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Happy Mermaid-1 Story Cottage on 30A-Free WiFi-Short Walk to Beach-Great Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477915vb
+1 303-506-3442
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Kansas
5

Family Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great house, perfect for our family of 5. My wife and 3 daughters loved the decor in the house. Updated kitchen and gas grill were very nice at meal times. Words of wisdom I would share is that the house is too far from the beach to walk with kids and beach gear in tow and parking is limited. Think that I would rent a golf cart and bikes next time to make things easier.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1