Swan Lake house rental - View of the lake from the deck in the summer.
View of the lake from the deck in the summer.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Swan Lake House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6-8

This cozy little house sits right on Indian/Barnabee Lake. This lake is a quiet no motor lake that offers swimming, (with large floating dock in the center) boating, catch and release fishing (Trout, Bass, Pike). Great little fire pit is lovely on a cool night or any time you feel like a toasted marshmallow!

The house has a wrap around deck, is well decorated with a fully stocked kitchen, clean linens, and for your enjoyment, a canoe, row boat and paddle boat are available.

Ideal for a private couples get away, a small family retreat, or a group of friends to kick back and relax. Stay at home to BBQ or go into town for some fine dining and shopping. Play at home or go out and explore the nearby trails, rapids, and quaint little towns. There is plenty of parking for you and your guests.

This house has been in our family for 25 years and we purchased it from our in-laws in 2008 because they were selling and we couldnt let it go. We have four children who all grew up swimming there, skating there, skiing nearby, hiking trails...growing up like we wanted them to, in the great outdoors...spying on birds, snakes, deer and rabbits. At the same time we had all the comforts of home as we are not quite the 'rustic' types.

Rose Russo purchased this house in 2008

This property is great because it is SO EASY! The lake is literally off the back deck. The house is virtually maintanence free. Everything is on one floor (except for the ping pong table and foosball table in the basement along with the washer and dryer) The basement is unfinished but great in a pinch when you need to be inside.

The view of the lake from the living room, kitchen or dining area is terrific in every season at every time of day. Its a great place for summer BBQ and partys or winter festivities and skating.

12 Reviews of Property 477780 in Swan Lake, New York

The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Hello! the Russo's cabin was exactly what we wanted. It perfectly fit six of us and we were lucky enough to get 6 inches of snow the day we arrived. It has everything that it advertised and anything that we would have needed for a quick weekend in the woods. We would definitely come back. thanks Rose!
Owner's Response: So happy to hear that...glad it warmed up for a nice cozy stay.
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Simply fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed here in November, so we didn't get to enjoy the lake, but the view was awesome. The ice build up on the shore just added to the beauty of the lake.
The house was very clean, comfortable and welcoming. And the peacefulness was just what we wanted.
Even thought the wind was howling all night, the house stayed nice and toasty, which was a very pleasant surprise when we woke up in the morning and the temperatures were below 20 degrees.

Thank you for sharing your house with use and for making our trip so hassle and stress free.

Leon L.
NJ
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are very welcome, Happy Holidays
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
New York, New York
5

Amazing Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This trip was perfect! My girlfriend went up for a weekend with a couple of friends and we had a blast! The house was clean and plenty big, with a great family room for hanging out, and Rose made sure that there were plenty of amenities available. We cooked on the grill, took a paddle in the canoe and paddle boats, sparked up the wood stove, made s'mores around the fire in the fire pit, and even played a couple rounds of ping-pong! I would absolutely stay here again - no hesitations.

One note - the owners ask that guests carry out their trash to the local dump, just a mile or so down the road. The dump is actually a recycling center and recycling is FREE (trash $4), so be sure to separate your trash to save money and, you know, the planet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the tip on the recycling. Love this planet and I will pass that along to our guests!
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Everything was as advertised or better. Cannot wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yay! We like PERFECT. Always hoping our guests get what they were expecting. (Of course, hopefully more)
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
4

Beautiful house, beautiful lake.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a fantastic Labor Day weekend at the Russo's home on Barnabee Lake. We spent almost all of our time on their perfectly laid-out, expansive deck. Except for when it rained and we'd head downstairs for some ping pong. Very comfy living room and spacious kitchen. Lots of fun splashing and floating on the lake (you have to walk out a bit to get to the deep part). The photos don't do this place justice. Thanks Russo family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you...I think we need a new photographer. (I can say that because I am the current photographer)

Hope you come again.
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
4

Great little place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My brother and I stayed for a couple days with our kids for a "family get together" and the house and lake was just right. It was clean and spring fed, but no so big that we worried about the kids. The lake was lovely and its size and closeness to the house turned my son (age 11) into "Huckleberry Finn". We all enjoyed the view from the porch and swimming in the clean water, but my son loved it. He swam to the float, took the canoe around the lake and fished off the dock. My niece (age 8) loved the rope swings. The house was clean and just the right size for us. I would have given this nice little place 5 stars if not for the fact that the road was close enough to hear the traffic. It wasn't terrible, but did take a bit away from the experience. The owner - Rose was easy to get in touch with and seemed happy to make sure we were ok and enjoying ourselves - which we did. Would definitely think about returning.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you...we used to have some huge beautiful evergreens at the end of the lake by the road but through a judgement error, they were removed and now we have replanted ... We hope in the near future they will do their job in blocking the road even more.

So happy to hear about your Huckleberry Finn, brings back memories of my own sons.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Lakeside Cabin Ferndale NY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was the perfect weekend get away! Beautiful location. Close to Bethel Woods (concert venue). The house was pristine and the owner allowed the use of her row/paddle boat. Very relaxing to spend the day on the lake. The lake at night was beautiful! My teenagers also enjoyed the property! The house has everything you need! We will be returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Being one of our very first reservation, it was very important to us that you enjoyed your stay. We are very happy that you did. The location of the property being so close to Bethel Woods has been a huge benefit for us as well. We hope to have you return. Thank you
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Perfect fit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A perfect house on a quiet lake. Great deck and all the comforts of home, with plenty to do for the kids. Wish we were there longer to continue exploring Sullivan Co. The owner was very responsive, and a pleasure to work with. We've already recommended the house and would definitely return! Thank you.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: thank you so much...so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Sullivan County is a wonderful county to explore...we look forward to your return.
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

A great cottage on a lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family had such a great time at this cottage.It was as wonderful as all the descriptions and pictures.Clean, cozy, and quiet. It's right on the lake, and just waking up and having coffee on a deck overlooking the water was amazing. If you're looking to simply get away for a few days, this would be the perfect place for a retreat. We will be back for sure.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you...that is exactly what we're hoping that people find here. A beautifully quiet peaceful getaway. No frills, just clean and simple.
business
The Russo's Cozy Home on Barnabee Lake in the Catskills
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477780vb
914-980-1956
Swan Lake Catskills
5

Week of relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I truly enjoyed my stay in your lakehouse; the house was superclean (I had brought my linens but didn't use them because the beds were so fresh and clean), the deck was wonderfully appointed (the pictures on line should include the deck more it is a wonderful feature of the house I practically lived on the deck and little dock for the week) there was plenty of things to do with fishing gear, 2 paddleboats, a canoe and row boat and my dogs enjoyed swimming to the floating platform and retrieving sticks from the water. I had great weather so we didn't use the ping pong and fooseball table. The owner was very helpful in answering all the questions I had before my trip. I only wish that there would be garbage pick up since taking the garbage to the nearby dump in the car was unpleasant.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I do have to update the website and more pix of the deck is a nice recommendation. I'm sorry abt the inconvenience of garbage but thankfully the dump is close by. We will consider other options.

We are so pleased that your stay was pleasant and relaxing! Please consider us another time...we are a year round wonder!