Harlem apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description

If you're looking for the cheapest room,don't care about the size,location,view,safety of neighborhood then this is not the right place.$90/night for a single and $15 each additional guest guarantees a spacious private efficiency in a new 2 bedroom corner apartment right on the park.Room has refrigerator,microwave,coffeemaker. There are also utensils/glasses/cups/plates in the room for your convenience. You have use of the main kitchen at all times and share the bathroom.There is a dishwasher for any cleanup and the whole apt is air conditioned with WIFI.Full closet and 3 arced windows facing south and west for amazing exposure to Morningside Park/Cathedral of St.John the Divine.5 minutes walk to Columbia University.Full sized futon bed that can fold up into a couch during the day for even more area with a new air bed for a third guest/2 children.Although the room is non-smoking,I have access to the roof landing for smoker's convenience.Washer/Dryer on premesis.10 minute walk from Central Park and the Harlem Meer.This is one of the most desirable areas in upper Manhattan with our own new 'Restaurant Row'of Harlem/Morningside.The subway(b/c) is 2 blocks away and there is a fantastic supermarket(Best Yet) about 5 minutes (website hidden) is the apex of residential living with all the trappings of nightlife and convenience right around the corner.If you are culturally intrigued,you only have to walk 3 blocks to the best Sunday Gospel Churches and the African Market is not much farther.If your aspirations are for midtown/downtown,the train gets you where you need to go in 20 minutes.Please inquire as I do offer discounts for week or more stays.This is as close as you can come to having your own studio for a hostel price and you will want for nothing

Languages: Bahasa Indonesia, Deutsch, English, Español

School: Florida Atlantic University (music)

Work: Clothing retail in NY/Realtor in FL

About: Outdoor enthusiast and martial arts practitioner.Originally from FL moved to NYC 22 years ago.Still have family in Palm Beach County and have my realtors license.Lived for many years overseas as an expat in Bali,India and Thailand.Have done extensive traveling and enjoy languages and learning.Extensive experience in textiles and garment cottage industry.Have done most work on my homes myself.Married with a 2 1/2 year old son

Alex Meyer purchased this apartment in 2001

The area here is one of the last laid back residential feeling areas in upper Manhattan which had proximity to all the things I cherish(parks,museums,Columbia U).I wanted to be part of a neighborhood that has flavor and is growing with out being sterilized.Could'nt be happier in Manhattan

My apartment has many arced windows,roof access and a view to the Americas largest Cathedral right from the studio Bay window.The Park is directly across the street and Central Park a stone's throw.I enjoy that it is a new building with the old style charm from the outside without all the slapped together feeling you get in most affordable coops in the city.

9 Reviews of Property 477739 in Harlem, New York

$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Santiago, Chile
5

Cozy, clean and good location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed for 8 nights in this apartment and it we had a really nice time. Alex, the owner, is very helpful and friendly. He gave us great recommendations of places to visit and gave us a very warm welcome. It was a great experience! The apartment it's located just steps away from the subway and it's clean and cozy. Totally recommended.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Foster City
5

This is a Great Place to Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
When I arrived, I just got off the subway hauling my luggage to the apartment. I was a block away and (by chance), I ran into Alex driving in his car. (Total cool guy), he loaded up my luggage in his car and I was greeted by his, oh sooo friendly dog, sitting in the back seat! What made my visit worth the time and value was the location, the price and the unpretentiousness of the property and owner. Alex is very cool and knowledgable, with a wealth of information. Easy to talk to. I was visiting from the San Francisco Bay Area, (a week of auditioning), where I had an extra day to see more sights before I departed. I like free and he was able to give me ideas of free attractions some visitors fail to adventure to. Where some hotels have a mechanical, overpriced, sterile atmosphere, Alex's place is a great place that is cozy, clean, a home-away from home. The room had tea, instant coffee, instant oatmeal available and amenities, but Alex went to the store and brought back freshly ground coffee! The location is situated just right: not too far from restaurants, grocery, coffee shop, and transportation. At times, the family dog and his young son was a great comedic addition as well! I am grateful and lucky to have found the room listing. This place was '. . . just right!' I will surely visit again, . . . and soon!!
Owner's Response: Kathy, I can see from your writing how you have the thespian bend.I am happy you enjoyed yourself and you are the first to review without me requesting first.You would be welcome back any time and I would hope to be a part of a break-out experience for you here in the drama-nation.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Germany
5

Very nice Studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spend a wonderful week in New York. The Studio is not far away from Central Park, Subway, Restaurant or a Supermarket. We had everything we needed right around the corner. Alex was a great host. He took a lot of time to give us tips on, what you could do anything and which restaurants are the best. Alex is totally uncomplicated. He also speaks very good German, which was sometimes very handy. We can recommend the studio of Alex, especially if you do not want to stay impersonal in New York. We would love to come back.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Colombia
5

University professor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The studio is located in a really nice neighborhood, next to a wonderful park and near many restaurants and cafés. It is a very friendly area, The room itself has a great view to the park and is nicely decorated and very comfortable. But the best is Alec, the owner: cheerful, helpful, delightful. He gave me great advise on the New York life and scenes. Through him I found one of the best indian restaurants I have been outside of India. I had a great stay and wished it could have been longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Linköping
5

Good location, friendly host and fast communication

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Stayed with a friend for a week in Alex place. Found the apartment to be very well located, a few minutes from the subway and very close to parks and restaurants. We had the whole apartment to ourselves for most of our week in NYC but could get in touch with our host easily if we had any questions. Got good tips for places to visits and where to eat etc. Met Alex a few times and he was a relaxed and friendly host. Slept well in the bed and as this was in the summer the AC was a big plus. I definitely recommend staying here and would not hesitate to book with Alex again on future visits. Btw thanks for the delicious fresh Florida mangos!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
5

like visiting an old friend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our transit from Canada back to Australia. After a packed trip it was nice to be able to un-wind in our comfortable accommodation. Alex was very hospitable and more than willing to share his local knowledge of the area, he gave us a map with tips of where to go and an umbrella when it looked like rain. The room had everything you could have wished for, fridge, bed and air-conditioning and storage for our things. The apartment was clean and tidy and Lucky (Alex’s dog) was super friendly. It is on the top floor so we had a great view and we weren’t interrupted by street noise but there are quite a few stairs to tackle (although after the amount of Philly Cheese Steaks and Fried Chicken we ate, this was a good thing!). It is conveniently located near a subway, parks and some great deli’s. Museums are only a short stroll away and the Harlem Meer/Botanical Garden is definitely worth checking out if you want to kick back and see how the locals live. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to solo travellers, couples and people who want a good insight into the real NYC.
Owner's Response: Ditto to this freindly couple.Very open and warm-hearted.Would have them here again for any length of stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
5

Excelent location and great owner.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoy this apparment during our 5 days visit of NY. I have been looking for clean place close to Central park and subway for reasonable price. The experince was wonderfull surprise. Walking distance to best part of Central Park, 5 minut to subway, and probably the best food store I was shoping in just 5min walking away! Alex is great personality and after 5 minuts we have feeling we know for years. He give as valuable hints and advices for visit. Wifi conection is fast and was more important for us than I though / NYC using 3G and 4G at different frequencies than EU and "old " 2G do not have good speed./ Kitchen is well equiped /Alex have passion for cooking / and therefore cooking is easy. How important is air conditioning through summer in NYC we did not know . Outside temperatures were around 100 F / 40 C / during our visit and therefore propperly working A/C at his appartment save our lives. The whole building is maintained well therefore hot/cold water anytime is nice benefit. For picnick you do not have to walk to Central Park because you have nice park just in front of your window. M60 Bus stop at Columbia University give you direct shutle to La Guardia airport in just 8 minut walk / 2.5 compare to 50 US for taxi/. When we were leaving we know we will miss even more Alex than NYC because he take care about all aspect of our stay and always make sure we have great time. Thank you so much and I hope we will manage come back soon.
Jan
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
Pittsburgh, PA
5

A very nice stay in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I spent about 10 days in Alex's home, as I attended a conference at Columbia Univ. in June. It was a wonderful experience. Close to the Columbia's campus, to central park, to the metro. I had the all apt. for me on the week ends (as Alex was out), and he was a wonderful guest when home, taking me to the village for an incredible concert. Lucky, Alex's dog, is also a very nice buddy. The room is nice and clean, with a comfortable bed and the view on the park from the window is beautiful. The room is equipped with fridge, microwave, and it is a quite place, as none lives above. The neighborhood is also very interesting, on the south edge of Harlem, with a lot of small restaurants and shops.
I will definitely try to come back to Alex's place if back in NY.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$90 Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477739vb
917-517-5160
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great place to stay when visiting NY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our first time using this site and also visiting New York so I was a Little nervous about renting a place like this. I called Alex and talked to him directly and he was really nice and offered me all the necessary information I needed to know for our stay so we decided to book it. It was really easy to get there from the airport. Alex picked us up a couple of blocks away from the apartment since we were not sure where it was located exactly. The room has a beautiful view and it is in a nice neighborhood, it is just 2 or 3 blocks away from the subway station and also from Central Park so it is really easy to move around Manhattan. There is also a supermarket and other stores nearby so you can get almost anything you might need.

The room and the whole apartment were really clean, the bed was really comfortable and it had everything as described. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone visiting NY. We stayed over a week and had no problems at all. We had a wonderful time and Alex seems to know the city pretty well so he can advise you about different things you might want to know when visiting NY.
Helpful votes: 4/4