Portsmouth house rental - Street View
Street View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Portsmouth House Rental Photos and Description
Colonia Home In Pristine Condition With Water Views, Beamed Ceilings, Wide Pine

Located in the Historic District of Portsmouth New Hampshire, this 1780’s Colonial Style house resides in the North Mill Pond area. Take a trip back in time and experience a simple life style. Early mornings you can hear the tugs in the distant as they pull out of the harbor. The outside grounds have been carefully planted with every season in mind. The garden is actually featured in the 24th Anniversary Tour of Pocket Gardens of Portsmouth, only 1 of 12 to achieve this distinct privilege. Tucked away like a hidden gem is a Pennsylvania fieldstone stacked stone fireplace that has seen its share of fires. As you enter the house you can’t help but love the stained glass windows. This house has pumpkin pine wide floor planks that give it such character. The kitchen has granite counter tops, along with a farmers sink. Take a peek inside the large pantry through the French door. You and your loved one/s will enjoy casual dinners in the original beamed dining room. Complete with a gas log fireplace and don’t forget to check out the beehive built in oven. This fireplace comes complete with a tiny cupboard that I have been told was used for drying out gunpowder back in the day. The living room floods with sunshine with all of the six over six pained windows, the ceiling is also beamed. At high tide take a peek out the front windows to get a glimpse of North Mill Pond. In the living room, there is a very inviting wood stove in the fireplace for chilly nights. As you walk upstairs through the tiny center sea captains staircase you can’t help but wonder how many people have walked these stairs before you as you notice the worn treads. The two front bedrooms are cozy with nonworking fireplaces and period furniture along with flat screen TV’s for late night viewing. The back bedroom feels very inviting as it overlooks the gardens also with period furniture. The bathroom will transcend you back in time with its claw foot tub and hand painted surroundings. If you are a history buff or have a love of antique homes this is a must do. Portsmouth is a great vacation destination.

This home is on the edge of downtown Portsmouth NH. Walking distance too many restaurants, attractions, live theater and boutique shopping. Walk to Prescott Park, Portsmouth, NH and enjoy entertainment, such as live outdoor theater. Nearby beaches include; Great Island Common in New Castle NH (4 mile drive) and York Beach, York ME (13 mile drive). The property is an easy drive to other seaport towns, such as; Kennebunk Port ME, Ogunquit ME, Rockport MA, Newburyport MA and Gloucester, MA.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 477188 in Portsmouth, New Hampshire

1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
Makawao, Hawaii
5

Historical Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Absolutely loved this historical house. Excellent location to downtown Portsmouth and close on/off the highway. The manager, Teresa was very helpful and accommodating she even moved my over sized vehicle into a more friendly parking spot. I would definitely rent this place again in the future.
Owner's Response: So good to hear you had a great time in Portsmouth. We would love to have you back. Thanks for the wonderful review.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
5

Girls weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Absolutely stunning historic home! The property was even better than expected! It was a great location, just a short walk to the downtown area even in January during a snow storm. The property manager was very friendly and helpful she made us feel very comfortable the moment we got there. It was obvious how much the owner really cared for their home, every last detail was amazing. Would definitely love to go back and would highly recommend it to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear you had a great time, even in a snow storm. We would love to have you back again. Thanks for your outstanding review.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
Where do you live?
5

Portsmouth Getaway...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The house was a gem...all the charm and character of its' age but with all the amenities of the present. It was renovated and retrofitted with great attention to detail. The appointments were luxe - the comforters, towels, kitchen supplies - all 5 star. I can see this house being perfect for all seasons of the year. Being a brisk fall weekend the gas fires were a welcome touch. There is a fireplace in the yard and I can see guests enjoying the whole property, inside and out, in warmer weather.

Historic Portsmouth Center is just a brisk walk from the house and the whole coast is a short car ride away.

Hope to return in the not too distant future. A fabulous find!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Portsmouth. Its such a great harbor village with so much to offer. We love the great review of our Historic house. Your 5 star rating is so meaningful to us. Hope to have you back again in the future. Thanks...
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
New Cumberland, WV
5

WONDERFUL VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home. Every detail was exactly as described and I found myself wondering about the history of the house and just who had walked those stairs before me. Portsmouth and the surrounding area is just beautiful!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you can come back again. Portsmouth is a great harbor village to visit.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
NH
5

Historic home review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location, quiet but walkable to everything. Comfy beds, modern and fully equipped kitchen, wifi worked well, small but sweet and private back yard. Teresa went above and beyond call of duty to make sure all our requests were granted. Wonderful 1730s property thoughtfully renovated for modern use. Surf's and el Mediterraneo (get the seafood risotto) were great places for dinner. Walkable to shopping and Strawberry Banke (if you like to walk--we do.) Great not having to look for parking! Warning: there are steep narrow stairs to the bedrooms. We didn't have a problem, but not for elderly, handicapped, or carrying small children.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your family enjoyed Portsmouth and our house. Great to hear our property manager is doing an outstanding job. Hope to have you back in the future.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
lubbock,Texas
5

Birthday Celebration Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This propery was awesome. Portsmouth was great!!!I would rent again in a heartbeat! The pictures and description of the property were accurate. The staircase was very unique. It said you could walk to town but we always drove in. The property manager was sooo helpful and friendly. My sister-inlaw hooked us up to groupon deals. We took a whale watching cruise. A city tour in Boston. Ate some Lobster rolls. Went to watch a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. We were celebrating my brothers 60th Birthday. Friendly Toast was a retro style restaurant we ate for breakfast. Surf was another place we ate at on the water. Both were recommended and were YUMMO! We saw some foliage change. The weather was awesome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: So glad you and your family/friends had a wonderful time in Portsmouth at our house. No better way to celebrate a birthday.
Hope to have you stay again in the future.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Absolutely wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I highly recommend 1780's Colonial. Downtown Portsmouth is within walking distance and every day there was more to do, see and eat!! We loved the house. There is plenty of room for 6. It was very obvious that the owners cared about every detail. If we come back through Portsmouth, I would certain stay here again and plan to let my friends know as well.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Wendy, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you stay again in the future.
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
Miami beach
5

great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great accommodation And Location
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
Chicago
5

Tesserwell

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property is all it claims and then some! Gorgeous historic home, beautifully and comfortably restored without losing any of the colonial charm. Great location, out of the busy center but only by the shortest of walks. The property managers are very efficient and nice to deal with, meeting us at the property at the beginning of our time to make sure everything was as expected. Impeccably clean, well stocked kitchen, beautiful furnishings...couldn't have been better!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed the property and Portsmouth. Thank you for the review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1780's Colonial, Historic House, Walk Into Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477188vb
Portsmouth Seacoast New Hampshire
5

Such a lovely home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home was just lovely to say the least. We had such a lovely time in New England. The home is immaculately kept. The owners thought of everything when designing the layout. After a day out, it was so relaxing to come back to this home. We walked into town for dinner. We had dinner delivered to the home. And when we wanted to cook, the kitchen is completely updated so we were able to cook the freshest seafood New England had to offer. We will definitely will stay here again !!!!