Half Moon Bay farmhouse rental - McFarm - Pescadero
McFarm - Pescadero
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Half Moon Bay Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Here's A Place You Can Bring Your Horses On Vacation...

Warning --- it's not all green around here like in some of the pictures - we are experiencing a drought like never before... just so you know.

We offer accommodations for guests wanting a different experience in the countryside within reach of civilization.

One that includes rest, relaxation and possibly exploration.

One that could include horses - horsemanship and serious training or simple trail riding.

Bring your horses - let them romp too. (The grass is usually green through June).

There is a cozy two bedroom, two bath farm house decorated in an eclectic post modern way mixed with a certain country flair and a separate cottage with two twin beds and a pool table available.

This is a working horse farm - expect what comes with that... We are set up to accommodate your horses (up to 4) and we are set up to train all levels of horsemanship from the beginners to Grand Prix showjumping... talk to us if you are interested in training, lessons, horsemanship clinics.

This was a working farm for our family for the last 25 years... now it's an empty nest re figured for your enjoyment.

I trained horses here and raised kids - still do.

Kelly McKnight purchased this farmhouse in 1989

Why not experience what it's like to wake up to the sound of song birds... to the nicker of a horse and the crow of a rooster...? Get up do chores or not - sleep in and sit in the hot tub.

Bring your horses - where else can you do all this and get to the airport in an hour and the beach in 5 minutes...

Family friendly

Horse friendly

Great local surf spots

Best beaches

Great restaurant

13 Reviews of Property 475392 in Half Moon Bay, California

A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
average rating of 4.818182 based on 13 reviews
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Portland, Oregon
5

Perfect place for Spring Break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Absolutely loved our 3-night stay at this delightful refuge from city life. With my 6 and 7 year old grandsons (and without their parents) we had great fun exploring the farm, petting cats, catching bugs, listening to the noisy birds, watching a red hawk, and soaking in the hot tub.

It's a wonderful old farmhouse with a great layout that gives everyone plenty of space and privacy. The kitchen is well supplied and absolutely charming with the butcher block table in the center. The "perfect touch" was the levi jackets hanging in the entry/sunroom, even though we didn't need them.

The boys enjoyed using the baseball net to practice throwing and catching, and riding their bikes up and down the lane. We found the "soccer field" on the last day but had no time to give it a try. There was just so much to see and do we ran out of time. On that last day, we hiked up to the shelter structure and were delighted to see the graffiti art. I also discovered I had cell service up there (unlike at the farmhouse) so we took a selfie and sent it to mom and dad.

Thanks Kelly for sharing your wonderful farm and home. And many thanks to Paul for filling in so well for you. We absolutely loved being there and are already discussing when we can return. We might even invite "the parents" next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
5

Weekend Getaway at the McFarm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Whether you are looking to step away from the city with kids or act like one yourself, the McFarm is one of those rare places where romance is nourished robustly. Myself and the object of my affections rented the McFarm for what was essentially a first date in a long distance relationship. The plan was to go Hot air ballooning over Napa Valley but the weather was not as hospitable a host as Kelly, who is such a charming Show Horse trainer you will want to invite him to dinner. It rained the entire trip and there is no place I can call to mind that I would rather be isolated in. The fireplace, the vinyl record collection, the views of the horses and mountains are a perfect recipe for romance. We shared our first kiss there, and given the environment, it was one of the few movie moments I have had in my life. The small town nearby(Pescadero) is host to a deli that gives rise to the most amazing garlic artichoke bread, an coffee shop with as much personality as the McFarm. It is only 3 miles from the Ocean. If you stay at the McFarm you will fall in love with the place... with the person you are with, or if it has faded you will fall in love with them all over again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow!
Makes me want to check in myself!
Thanks.. we hope you will come visit again soon.
Best,
Kelly
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Redwood City, Ca. 94061
5

Great Getaway in Pescadero

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We three adults and 2 dogs stayed at McFarm March 1 and 2. The house is charming, spacious, and fun! It has a nice, big country kitchen where I enjoyed preparing meals.
Bedrooms and beds are very comfortable. We didn't use the hot tub, but it's a definite plus and well located. We really enjoyed seeing the horses too; the property is very quiet and peaceful. The house comes with a wonderful, eclectic selection of books and music....fantastic! We look forward to returning! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - please come again and let your friends know about us.

Thanks again for coming.
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Southern California
4

time out from life

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Kelly's ranch is a breath of fresh air. We needed a place to relax with our dogs and gather with some family members, and that is exactly what we got. If you don't mind a gently used sofa, the rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable, and charming. Our dogs got along well with the resident animals and we enjoyed our walks around the property. The beds were comfy, too. I have only a few recommendations for Kelly, and that would be to put curtains in the front bedroom and bath, and to fix the front door - it sticks pretty badly. Otherwise, we enjoyed your music, both recorded and your instruments, as well as the Jacuzzi and BBQ. I'm sure young kids would also enjoy the trampoline. The real selling points of this property are the serenity and the scenery, and you'd be hard pressed to find a better place for that.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
4

Excellent place for a getaway.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Some girlfriends and I spent an amazing evening at McFarm. The place has a lot of character, is very close to town and close to the beach. The hot tub is perfectly situated for watching the moon pass across the sky. The adorable and friendly pets were an added bonus. My only regret is that the previous renters damaged the record player. Kelly has quite the collection! I'm pretty sure there will be return visitors in the crew. Kelly was a great host — he was kind enough to make himself available for questions and help while also giving space and making it feel like the place was our while we were there.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Oakland, Ca.
5

The Perfect Quiet Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I fell in love with The McFarm! It was the perfect retreat for a much needed breather away from my busy life in the city. It had the exact simple and rustic homey charm I needed to focus on finishing my books. No bells or whistle, just peace and quiet set amongst the backdrop of grazing horses and epic wide open sky.

The owner was extremely generous in giving me my space as well as helpful in answering any curiosity questions I had about his amazing property. Even the animals were extremely welcoming. In the afternoons, I'd take walks on the property and was always greeted by a warm hello from a dog, or cat or a horse or a singing bird. At night, I enjoyed the solitude of chillaxing outdoors in the hot tub.

I highly recommend this down to earth sanctuary. It's perfect for those of you who aren't interested in fancy luxury but are looking for simplicity at its best. McFarm gives you the space and quiet to be yourself held in the arms of nature. And if you have kids, its the perfect home away from home. Trees, trampoline, horses and the great outdoors.

Super easy to get to, yet tucked away in the hub of Mother Nature. Only an hour and fifteen minutes away from the city and a few minutes away from the gorgeous beaches of Half Moon Bay. I will definitely go back again and again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
San Jose CA
5

Warm, welcoming and wonderful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I brought our horses and dogs to the McFarm for our anniversary weekend. It was just what we wanted, a getaway but not too far from our home in the Bay Area. We had some wonderful riding through Butano and Sam McDonald Parks...could easily have added some hiking and biking and beach days. Pescadero is small and sleepy but the people are super warm and friendly! Kelly is available and informative. The home is eclectic and comfortable, one of those places where you can do things or feel fine doing nothing at all. At night, it's great to hear the roar of the ocean off in the distance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Atlanta
5

Beautiful farm, gracious host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a great place to bring the kids - lots of space to run around, horses, friendly dog & cat on the property, close to the little town of Pescadero & beaches to explore. We highly recommend taking the hike to see the elephant seals at a nearby state park. Wish we'd have checked out the goat farm nearby...next time! Many thanks to our friendly host. We hope to return someday...
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

This place is really heaven.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
...we are definitely enjoying ourselves.
business
A Small Sleepy Sport Horse Breeding Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p475392vb
347-762-3353
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

I really enjoyed our stay

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Aug 20
Hi Kelly,
I really enjoyed our stay. The horses, dogs and your cat were/are so happy there. The space, the stars, the sound of the ocean crashing out there are beautiful every day. Thanks very much for your hospitality. It is a lovely place. Check out my pix on Facebook under Erin...