Kerhonkson house rental - Daytime
Daytime
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Kerhonkson House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Roof Deck

Perhaps you Some recognize this iconic example of modern architecture that has been featured in film and advertisements. It is in the permanent collection of the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD).

The house has an open plan with forest and mountain views from all rooms. The bedrooms are furnished with mid century antiques.

High speed internet with ATT signal booster.

Minnewaska State Park has been recently expanded and will include a visitor's center and access to the legendary 'ice caves' that often have ice in the summer. This park is one of the state's greatest treasures and is 20 minutes away.

I am a designer and live in New York City. I am also a very active triathlete and travel to races most weekends during the summer.

Daniel Trimbach purchased this house in 2008

The area is full of outdoor adventures, hiking trails, secret swimming falls, farmers markets, and antique shops. I love it because the locals are very friendly and helpful. Also the road and mountain biking opportunities are endless.

If you feel like being pampered, the house is 20 minutes from the famous Mohonk Mountain House. They have a brand new world class spa and indoor pool.

When I first saw this house, I recognized it right away. It looks like it is floating in air. During the summer, the breezes gently pass through and mother nature is always putting on a show. During the non winter months, the roof deck at night offers an unobstructed view of the stars. It is at the end of a private road and abuts a New York State land preserve.

7 Reviews of Property 474399 in Kerhonkson, New York

10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The photographs are true to the house: it is a very functional, contemporary home with terrific light, wonderful views of the immediate forest and hills in the background, and very tasteful, mid-century furniture. The property is extremely private. The owner is very courteous and responsive and it was a pleasure to transact with him. Our stay was all-the-more exciting because of all the (harmless) brown bear tracks to follow through the snow. I enthusiastically recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

Wow-Haus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
It is one beautiful place, great views and total silence. You're totally isolated from everything but Mother Nature. Great setup, well-stocked but not a lot of privacy if you've got guests so make sure you are prepared for that—perfect for a two-some. Daniel is great, we had a bit of an issue with the heating but he was right on it and always available by email or phone if we had any questions. We're definitely heading back as soon as we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
5

Exceeded our expectations.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were looking for a place to stay while exploring the Hudson Valley and found ourselves not wanting to leave the house. This modernist home is cantilevered over a hill so you feel like you're up in the trees. We spent a lot of time staring at the panoramic views from the floor to ceiling windows. This place is not your traditional country house. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the modern conveniences and bathrooms all updated and clean. Wifi was super fast and extra touches like electric blankets and wind chimes made the experience great. Definitely going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
5

A Piece Of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful experience during our two night stay. We didn't want to leave.The photos shown accurately reflect this stunning property. The design is wonderful, the decor is beautiful, and the views are magnificent. The owner was very helpful and informative. It was our first experience with a vacation property rental. We definitely hit the jackpot. We would love to keep this gem a secret, nonetheless, we do highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
NYC
5

Summer 2013 Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A wonderful place to stay. One of a kind house, in a beautiful wooded setting. Modern design, well appointed/furnished, smart lay-out. Great views from the roofdeck! Very friendly and helpful owner. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great get away.
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
New York City
5

EXTRAORDINARY - WISH I COULD KEEP IT A SECRET

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The perfect romantic getaway. A gorgeous modern house in the middle of deep forest. We literally didn't leave the house more than once or twice during an entire week. Between the gigantic glass windows with their breathtaking view and the perfect roof deck with outdoor shower, you don't want to get out and explore any further. Bring tons of groceries, and stay put!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
10 Acre Private Preserve In The Catskill Mountains In Upstate New York
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474399vb
Kerhonkson Catskills
Queens, New York
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was one of the best vacation homes I have ever stayed in. Completely isolated, very modern home surrounded by the most beautiful forest. Spectacular views of mountains and the heavens from the roof deck. Huge windows surround the entire home. It's like having forest paintings hanging on the walls. Sit in the living room or dining area and watch yellow song birds feeding from hanging bird feeders while you sip a glass of wine. Shower on the roof deck? Yes you can. If you like to hike as I do your just a stones throw away from some of the best trails in NY. Great restaurants are a short drive to New Paltz or Gardiner.The listing photos don't do justice to this well maintained home. The owner is very easy to reach if you have questions. I would recommend this home to friends and relatives. " I'll be back "
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway