Carmel Highlands house rental - Welcome to Peace Cove! We hope you will enjoy...
Welcome to Peace Cove! We hope you will enjoy...
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Carmel Highlands House Rental Photos and Description
Rustic Home On 1 Acre W/ Panoramic Ocean & Highland Views. Sleeps 4 To 14.

Relaxed & casual. Rustic with a quirky charm – Peace Cove is a great place to meet with friends and family in one of the most beautiful spots on the California Coast.

Peace Cove sits on a bluff in the Carmel Highlands perched above rocky seashores with stunning views of Point Lobos and ocean sunsets. 4 miles south of Carmel-by-the-Sea, and on your way to Big Sur, it is the perfect place to stay and explore Monterey Bay, Carmel Valley, & the Big Sur Coastline!

It is also the ideal solution for extended family & friends' accommodations when you plan your next celebration at the Highlands Inn.

Sleeps from 4 & max 13. We recommend mid-size groups of 4-10.

Features:

* 3 Bedrooms (includes 1 mid-size loft), and an additional youth-size loft.

* The Living Room & Great Room provide separate gathering spaces which visitors can relax in while enjoying the coastal views. The Living Room has stunning panoramic views; The Great Room opens to the Sunset Deck and also provides views towards the ocean.

* A cozy eat-in Kitchen with morning sunlit views of the forest and towards Point Lobos.

* Dining Room with Fireplace & ambiance.

* Morning and Sunset Decks. Panoramic views towards ocean, canyon, & hillsides.

* Expansive natural outdoor spaces on 1 acre of private & lush wild landscape.

* On-site parking for up to 4 cars, & easy access to Hwy 1.

* A one minute stroll to dining at the Highlands Inn’s California Kitchen & 5-star Pacific Edge Restaurant. No need to drive!

* Visitors will enjoy Peace Cove's privacy and sense of freedom; one sees private stunning & expansive views of nature.

* The house is comfortable and the feeling is rustic, like a spacious cabin. Air conditioning is opening the windows and doors. The lifestyle is closer to nature with homespun comforts.

The beauty of its natural setting combined with easy convenience makes Peace Cove the perfect vacation retreat to enjoy in groups! Share happy moments together with family & friends, be it a reunion, vacation, wedding, or simply a memorable getaway. We hope that you love Peace Cove as much as we do.

Note:

?This is a private residence, not wheelchair accessible to the main floor (shortest path is 5 wide steps accessible), and infants & toddlers should be supervised at all times. This home & its surroundings feel wild and natural, and it is full of wildlife. Attention & caution should be used on the premises for the benefit of its natural residents and Peace Cove visitors.

We also have wonderful and discreet long-term tenant living in a separate unit under the house and behind the garage.

More Details
Hide Details

Patrick is from Sanary, France; Karen is from the Bay Area. Having grown up on the French Riviera, and the California Coast, we both have a deep love for the ocean and nature. On a short vacation & exploration, while driving past Carmel on the way to Big Sur, we both fell in love with the Carmel Highlands. It was our dream place - plain & simple. Somehow the magic of this area - it is magical you will see.. is healing and simply deeply moving. The coast just south of Carmel is pristine and for us, the most beautiful place on earth! When we found Peace Cove, we could see that the house was in need of work, however we loved the site, its orientation, and with the background sound of waves and distant seals barking, we imagined the stone path and secret garden we would create. Hummingbirds came close and hovered near us, teh Monarchs flew around us, the giant squirrel that lives in the canyon visited, the crows observed us from the giant pine tree & oak. We felt we had a welcoming party! For us, there is something deeply healing about the area in general and this place in particular. You can be stiller, you can think more clearly, you can feel deeply, and you can leave feeling filled with light and pure energy..

15 Reviews of Property 474388 in Carmel Highlands, California

Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Peace Cove Guest Review (from air__b)

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a wonderful experience at Peace Cove. The house was very well suited for our large part, 7 folks with the need for 4 separate sleeping areas. The house was immaculate and everything we could want had been anticipated. It felt much like staying in a 5-star property as there was everything from welcome goodies to bath amenities, extra towels, blankets. Even things like binoculars to enjoy the ocean view, a docking station for our own music, current magazines. These special little touches made our stay so enjoyable. We did not want to leave when our check-out day came along....
The bedrooms were just perfect for our mixed party: grandparents, ourselves with kids and uncle. The kitchen and eat-in area was a perfect setting for some fun breakfasts. The dining room was extremely cozy and welcoming; we spent many evening hours there, just talking and enjoying family dinners. The 2 living rooms were more than enough space for all of us and were another perfect place to hang out, relax and enjoy the fabulous ocean view and sunsets.
One night we barbequed on the front deck and then enjoyed s'mores by the outdoor fireplace. There were plenty of blankets to curl up in fireside.

Karen was very responsive to a couple questions we had and immediately got back to us with specific answers. An extremely attentive host, Karen masters the art of hospitality. We are planning to make Peace Cove our yearly family reunion spot!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Peace Cove Guest Review (from air__b)

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a wonderful, perfect place!
Peace Cove couldn't have been more peaceful and better located both for access to Carmel and to beautiful Big Sur (a short drive away, definitely recommended). The house is absolutely stunning, quiet, incredibly comfortable, equipped with anything and everything we might have needed, and the views from the windowed corner in the main living room are just breathtaking, especially the sunsets!
Karen was great at communicating, checking in and out was a breeze, and she was just a great host (we really appreciated the little useful notes around the house).
We definitely recommend Peace Cove, and wish we'll be able to be back, and stay longer!
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Berkeley, California, USA
5

Rest and Revive

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Peace Cove is a balm for the soul, a poem of a property. My young daughters and I arrived with hopes of freeing our minds of day-to-day routines and cares. We got much, much more: privacy and quiet, restorative ocean and forest views, beautiful and comfortable bedrooms ideal for both naps and deep slumber, a fun kitchen that rang with our laughter, delicious nights in an atmospheric dining room, and gooey fun before the outdoor fireplace where we made s'mores nightly. The girls actually laid down their electronics in favor of hide-and-seek and beach walks...a modern miracle. We intend to return again and again. I cannot wait to introduce our extended family to Peace Cove and make staying there a family tradition.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
5

Christmas in Carmel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 10 stayed here for the week of Christmas and just loved it. The owners had lights up for Christmas and special touches to give us the feeling of the season. We enjoyed lots of extras like wine and chocolate candy, wood for the outdoor fire pit, fluffy warm bedding, and gorgeous sunsets. They provided all the condiments and more: cereal, snacks, juice, coffee, in addition to shampoo, conditioner, and lotion in their upgraded bathrooms. When the handle on the toilet broke, they promptly fixed it. Their comfortable home is centrally located and it was easy to see all the popular sights in the area. We all would like to come back here someday soon.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
San Francisco, CA, USA
5

Perfect Corporate Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Can't say enough about this place, it was spectacular! Immaculately presented, all the creature comforts were thought about, including everything needed for the cozy fire pit. This was the prefect destination for my team's strategy offsite. Plenty of room, great views, fresh air, and only minutes to world class dining in Carmel (if you decide not to cook). It was fun, productive and bonding. Very secluded, vista from the outdoor fire pit was incredible. We enjoyed it into the early morning hours. I will be going back with my family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
5

Wonderful vacation home in an amazing setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was my first experience with VRBO and I was a little apprehensive at first, but I decided to go with the other reviews I saw for this property. I must say the photos here do not do any justice to the beauty of this lovely home and the location. It's situated perfectly on top of a hill overlooking the pacific, close enough to Carmel (5 mins drive) and even with a Hyatt property nearby it feels completely isolated and peaceful. The house itself is decorated with a lot of attention and it feels just like the home you need in the woods - rustic but yet with all amenities. The kitchen was stocked with almost everything we needed to cook a meal (except ofcourse the perishables). I had a lot of plans to visit the places nearby and hike in Big Sur, but this home made me spend more time indoors and I want to come back soon, and enjoy a longer vacation.

Will definitely come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Bay Area California
5

Whale of a Labor Day at Peace Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
When we arrived at Peace Cove we had wood in the patio fireplace ready to light and a nice bottle of wine on the dinning room table. This wonderful house was very comfortable and easily accommodated our party of three families with seven kids. On Labor Day we really enjoyed Whale watching from the great room windows overlooking the ocean. I would highly recommend Peace Cove for a great family getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Bossier City, Louisiana USA
5

A Beautiful Home In Carmel Highlands!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I stayed 2 nights in Karen and Patrick's beautiful home. It was our first time to rent through VBRO and we had a great experience! The VBRO listing information and attached photo's are accurate. This home was exquisite! There was plenty of room for our group of 8 and we used this as our home base while exploring the Big Sur coastline. Everything in the house was immaculate and it was decorated so beautifully! We spent a lot of time in the evenings on the deck by the out door fireplace admiring the views of the ocean. The area around the house is landscaped beautifully and we felt that we had a lot of privacy. Karen was so helpful in answering our questions and stayed in contact with us during our stay to make sure all was well. We highly recommend this home and plan on staying here again on our next trip to this part of California!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Seattle
5

Carmel Quaint meets Big Sur Funk!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Carmel Quaint meets Big Sur Funk! I have been blessed to marry into a large long established Italian Carmel/Monterey family. Lucky for me about 30 years ago my father in-law moved north to Washington State, where I met my Lovely Wife. Since then we go back as often as possible, 3-4 times a year. Aunts and Uncles and friends fight over who we are going to stay with. With the wedding of one of our nephews in Carmel, and the influx of relatives from all over the country, we decided to get our own place for the Washington contingent. When I saw Peace Cove on VRBO I could hardly believe it. We have seen and admired it for years on our morning runs and evening visits to the Highlands Inn. It is a Landmark. The location, location, location, is perfect. It is a huge beautifully landscaped completely private property right next to one of the Monterey Peninsulas top destination resorts. The web pictures, while very good, do not do the actual views justice. The house itself is as advertised; very open large public spaces, and plenty of beds spread out through the house which makes it perfect for large groups, to be precise, eleven of us this trip. Three generations. The three bathrooms are very spacious and made pre-wedding dressing a breeze for the six women in our group. The special touches that Karen and Patrick provide make it seem more like a very close longtime friend is letting you stay at their very special vacation home as opposed to someone trying to make a buck off a place they don’t use much. They are very gracious hosts. I would highly recommend a stay at Peace Cove to Carmel newbie’s or long time visitors such as ourselves. When the occasion arises in the future that we need a place to stay we will definitely be back. We all Loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Pristine Nature & Ocean Views Next To The Highlands Inn In Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474388vbi
+1 650-851-2412
Carmel Highlands Central Coast California
Bellingham WA USA
5

Memorable weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property is accurately described and as charming, and well maintained as anyone could wish. Nine of us from 72-13 years of age were comfortable and able to enjoy being together as we attended a wedding and spent time with family in the area. We made good memories and hope to come back again. I would recommend it to anyone looking to experience the best of the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1