Kailua Kona house rental - Spectacular Ocean Views
Spectacular Ocean Views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
"The Oasis" in Kahakai Estates with ocean view and fantastic lagoon pool and rolling grass lawn.

Central Air Now Included!

The soaring ocean views from almost every room will take your breath away at this luxury Hawaiian resort home Located in the award winning gated community of Kahakai Estates, this 3 bedroom, 2 bath home offers a free-form inground swimming pool and over 900 square feet of outdoor living space in the covered lanai. Open the oversized sliding glass doors from the Great Room and bring the outdoors in. Enjoy magnificent sunrises over Hualalai and gorgeous sunsets over the blue waters of the Pacific from your tropical outdoor oasis.

You'll enjoy the open floor plan of this spacious home with the large great room combining living room, dining room, and kitchen with granite countertops, breakfast bar, and stainless steel appliances. The great room comes equipped with a large screen TV with HD cable programming and free hi-speed wifi internet. The private, master suite with large en suite bathroom has direct ocean views and sits across the great room from the two guest bedrooms.The home is single level and there are no stairs.

This beautiful home sits on 1/2 acre of professionally landscaped property with royal palms, tropical plants, lava rock walls, and a sweeping grassy lawn. Private and secluded, yet only a 5 minute walk down a private bike path to Ali’i Drive. Walk or bike to White Sands Beach Park and Kailua Village where you can shop, dine at ocean front restaurants, take a sunset cruise or snorkeling tour, and find just about any tourist related activity. Enjoy some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island only minutes away at Kahaluu Beach Park or Honaunau Bay next to the Place of Refuge at Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park. This home is minutes from Safeway, Walmart, and Starbucks and only a 15 minute drive from the Kailua Kona airport.

This is the perfect place to spend time with your family and friends. Let our home become your tropical paradise away from home!

The spa is heated between 5pm and 8pm daily. Twins can be converted to King for $25 fee.

There is a 5 night minimum stay/10 during Ironman & Christmas season. This is a non-smoking, no pets property. Hawaii Tax ID: W25957341-01

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 474327 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
North Vancouver, BC
5

Fantastic location, home, ammenities.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The family who owns this home has gone above and beyond in making this a gorgeous place to stay. The location is perfect - spectacular, panoramic ocean view. Watch the whales breach every morning and the sun go down every night. The backyard is like your own private resort with flowers and birds galore. Gorgeous! The home itself is tasteful, modern and very clean. They have thought of pretty much every amenity and have not cheaped out. For example, the beach towels are thick and luxurious (we left behind a great beach chair for the next guests and the home comes with a cooler, boogie boards etc). We arranged for housecleaning mid-way through and Rose was wonderful. This house is SPOTLESS. The pool is beautiful and clean and the outdoor living space is to die for. We counted seating for 29. The only thing you need to know is that this home is in a beautiful gated community and therefore "real people live there" so if you are a large group that likes to party all night, I would say this is not the place for you as noise really travels. They like things to be quiet as of 10pm which was no problem for us but...if you are a large party, you might want something where the houses aren't so close together. We learned that the hard way the first night we arrived when we were outside at midnight, chatting with the hot tub on. We got a talking to by a neighbour (we hadn't read "the book" yet). Voices carry over hot tub I guess. Anyway, was not an issue the rest of the time because we were always so tired at the end of the night but thought I would mention as we felt bad. Again, hats off to the wonderful owners - this place is a jewel. We have rented three homes on the Big Island before and this is by far the best. And PS: we did not find it too hot with just fans on at all. No problem!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Lakeside, MT
5

Stunning property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Thanks to the owners for sharing such a beautiful place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Bellvue, WA
4

Beautiful Property and Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a beautiful property that is very well equipped. However, we did have a some issues. No hot water in the mornings, swimming pool lights and hot tub stopped workingafter first day, and the pillows and bedding while clean smelled badly.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Chevy Chase, MD
4

Kamilo House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property was absolutely gorgeous and we were very happy with the accommodations. We were told that the air conditioning would not be available, so we can't complain that we couldn't use it. Although, we were disappointed with misinformation we received from the management company regarding the elevation of the home. We specifically asked if it was high enough to not need air conditioning and that simply was not true. There were several days when it was hotter inside (80 degrees +) than out even with all windows open and all fans running.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
3

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The good...the house is on a professionally landscaped lot that offers unobstructed views of the ocean less than a mile away. The house is modern and decently equipped. Furnishings are tasteful, though not as luxurious as the property might convey. It's located close to town in a well-kept, gated community. The pool was refreshing...not too cold for November...and the outside lanai is most inviting.
The bad...and some won't have problems with these 2 issues. First, as someone stated in an earlier review, it gets hot in the house, especially in the bedrooms, even with the fans on. It was in the high 70's in the house every night at 9:00pm. (I'm sure it's quite a bit warmer in June.) And, the house does have central air conditioning. The owner chooses to not make it available, which is unfortunate. Given the high cost of energy in the Islands, this is somewhat understandable. But other owners have found ways to provide this comfort. The other issue we had was with the 2nd/3rd bedroom. We were 2 couples renting the house. The queen bed was located in the smallest (and warmest) room in the house. We would have found it more enjoyable had the twin beds been put in this room and the queen bed placed in the larger, airier room. As is, okay for families....not okay for multiple couples.
Now the ugly...the hot tub that wouldn't get hot. We all were looking forward to our first hot tub at sunset. Unfortunately, the hot tub would not get warm for us. When we called the Property Manager, Kona Coast Vacation Properties, one of their staff said they would take care of it right away. When we called the next day (after nothing had been done) we were told that the pool company would send someone out that night. We were also informed that the hot tub was on a timer and would only get hot between 5:00 and 8:00pm. We were also told that "no one promised the tub would be "hot". Unfortunately, the heater for the hot tub struggled to get the hot tub "hot" in the 3 hours that it was allowed on. The pool people were great and did what they could. However, when I spoke with one of the owners of the management company, his first reaction was letting me know he'd changed the ad so that it made no mention of the hot tub anymore (although it was still pictured).
I believe the management company was restricted by the owner. Regardless, this was a big disappointment. I'm wondering how all those with future booked reservations will like that cold tub.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate comments both positive and negative, as that is the only way for Kona Coast Vacations to improve. As the guest mentioned and according to previous reviews, a lot of guests will not consider AC and the spa temperature an issue. We have other homes that advertise AC which is reflected in the rates. Most people living in Hawaii do not use AC, they open windows and doors to allow the breezes to cool off the home. Many private pools have timers on their spas/plunge pools as part of the circulation system, they are on for a few hours which aligns with the sunset and shuts down in time to adhere to quiet time guidelines for the neighborhood. We are also sorry if you were not aware that the twin beds can be converted to a King. Please contact us if there are any questions or concerns regarding this or any of our managed properties.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Zurich, XX
5

Paradise holidays & ideal for family & groups ...

Paradise holidays & ideal for family & groups ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Paradise holidays & ideal for family & groups of friends

-very well equipped vacation home with awesome garden, pool & sunset view
-Convienient beds & bathroom, laundry facilities
-calm but very friendly neighbourhood
-need of car as outside of town
-missing recycling amenities
-very friendly, fast communicating & replying, uncomplicated office staff (rental process, open questions)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Home in Kahakai Estates, Kamilo House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474327vb
+1 808 329-2140
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Belmont, CA
4

Oct 20 - 25 rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Would given overall 5 stars if we had air conditioning...88 degrees was to hot and the fans did not keep the house very cool.
Helpful votes: 2/2