Kailua Kona house rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom/2 Bathroom - 1400 sq ft of oceanfront living space

This beautifully restored oceanfront home has all the charm of yesteryear with the added conveniences and sustainability of today. Offered as a vacation rental for the first time in 2013, the view and location are spectacular. In 2014, The Guardian newspaper listed it as one of the Top Beach Houses in the World. Completely renovated, this updated home has hardwood floors, granite countertops, koa cabinets, stainless steel appliances, iHome docking stations, Bose outdoor speakers with connections for Android and Apple products (including iPhone 5), iTouch pre-loaded with Hawaiian music, wireless internet, full size washer/dryer, brand new cal king bedroom set, luxurious linens, hdtv plasma in great room and bedroom, gas bbq, Tiki Hut for afternoon drinks, teak lounges, etc etc. All lights are on dimmers so you can create your own environment and mood. There's even an indoor switch to light up the water at night to create your own private manta ray and eel show!

Located overlooking Kahaluu Beach, you are within feet of the best snorkeling on the island and will enjoy watching excellent surf action from your expansive lanai and deck. (If you do surf or stand up paddleboard, you can paddle straight out from the property and be in the break in less than 5 minutes.) During winter months, whales can be seen daily as they swim by.

Uniquely situated on a 9000 sq ft oceanfront lot, this property is a one-of-a-kind. You will experience complete privacy with expansive views up and down the coast. While there is so much to do on the Big Island, you will have a difficult time pulling yourself away from your home and the incredible views and sounds of the ocean. You will find this special place to be relaxing, rejuvenating and inspiring.

Upon arrival you will be provided with tropical flower arrangements, kona coffee, fresh fruit, homemade banana bread, etc. For bookings exceeding 14 days, a 'freshen up' cleaning will be arranged midway through your stay at no additional charge.

More Details
Hide Details

Married nearly 20 years, we share the passion for travel and exploration. We own a business in California and Australia, so Hawaii is a natural fit as a stopping off spot in between.

Ronald P. Herrema purchased this house in 2013

We have been blessed to have traveled to many parts of the world and have not found a location as special as this one. Extensive renovation has been done to make this home both luxurious and sustainable. Expansive panoramic views and the gentle sounds of the ocean create a very unique setting unmatched by anything we have seen in our travels.

You will not find a home as close to the water as this one! The sights and sounds of the ocean are mesmerizing. From the large lanai and deck you can watch surfers, paddle boarders and boogie boarders or jump in the water and experience some of the best snorkeling on the globe. Lighting up the water at night makes for a spectacular view.

19 Reviews of Property 474249 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Incredible Property and Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed our weeklong stay at Kona Moana Hale. The beautiful location on the northern portion of Kahaluu Bay can't be beat. The house is immaculate and very well maintained. The biggest "difficulty" of our stay was trying to pry ourselves from the large oceanfront lanai. Any closer to the water and you would be in it.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Review of Kona Moana Hale

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our time at Kona Moana Hale came at a perfect time. This was our last stop on a 2 month trip away from home as we toured New Zealand and several Hawaiian islands. We stayed at nearly 30 different accommodations during our trip and this home was by far the most peaceful, charming and comfortable. The attention to detail, cleanliness of the property and personal touches made our time here very special and memorable. Watching dolphins and whales on the lanai as we enjoyed our morning coffee or a glass of wine was a particular highlight. The property was immaculate and the listing photos/description accurately reflected all of the features and amenities. We would highly recommend this property and hope to return someday
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
edmonton, alberta,canada
5

senior

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I thought the setting and accommodation was superb! The listing photos were accurate, the property was newly renovated and immaculate. The owner, Ron, provided ample suggestions and advice regarding activities, restaurants etc. I would highly recommend this property to any couple! A vehicle is a must.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved every minute of the ten days we stayed at Kona Moana Hale! We were greeted with soft music, fresh flowers, fruits and banana bread....the furnishings and finishes were top-notch...the views sublime. The cottage is in a great location for exploring the island, but our best days were spent just chillin' on the lanai!

Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Denver, Colorado
5

Exceeding the Highest Expectations!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Having allowed two weeks to pass before writing this recommendation, we remain as enthusiastic about this property now as we were when we arrived for our 10 day stay. Kona Moana Hale was the cornerstone of our vacation. After a long day of travel, our late evening arrival into this beautiful, softly lit cottage with quiet music in the background was one of the most welcoming moments we have experienced in years of travel. That attention to detail by the owner/host demonstrated his obvious pride in and love of the cottage and was reflected throughout our stay in the quality of the design, decor and amenities available. From fresh flowers and candles to a well equipped kitchen and activities closet, the pleasure and needs of his guests were well anticipated! For us, the very large and private lanai was heavenly. Beginning each day watching the surfers paddle out at first light and ending each watching the sun set into the ocean was pure joy. And between those two bookends on the day, the location of Kona Moana Hale was perfect for accessing the entire west side of the island and its numerous hiking trails, beaches, golf courses, and other activities, not to mention the snorkeling right in front of the property and paddle boarding/surfing a quarter mile walk away. Many fine restaurants were nearby, but we chose the local farmers’ markets with fresh fish grilled on the lanai and a guaranteed sea side table for our dinners! The pictures on the web site and the accolades of other guests are an accurate reflection of this most unique property (recently featured in the Manchester Guardian Travel Section). Ron (the owner) is a great ambassador for and Kona Moana Hale is a great reflection of all that should be a Hawaiian vacation....Thank you, Ron!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Beach House Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
As these were our last few days on the big island, this was exactly what we were looking for. The photo did not disappoint, this place was everything the photos show and so much more. The location was perfection and it felt like our home, meaning all the needs of home were met. You have done a beauful job of updating your Big Island Beach House, everything was perfect. the only thing wrong was that we were not staying longer. Whoever was responsible for the décor..beautiful inside and out(so comfortable). Hope to be back sometime soon. We were there to relax and enjoy our last days in Hawaii and that's what we got. Again the location is ideal as you have access to all amenities within a reasonal distance even if you did not have a car. The "Big Island" is gorgeous. Thankyou
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

The perfect place for our elopement and honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
When we decided to elope and spend our honeymoon on the Big Island, we knew we wanted something special and unique - not the standard resort options. I was told (erroneously) by a travel agent that cottages for rent were very rare on the Big Island, but after doing online research, we kept returning to the listing on VRBO for Kona Moana Hale. When we arrived, we were thrilled to see it was beautiful, just like the photos. Ron made sure we had fresh fruit and local banana bread waiting for us, as well as a huge bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our upcoming wedding! Everything we needed was provided - all the appliances you could want, including a washer and dryer - as well as other things we couldn't have foreseen needing but were glad to find there - such as binoculars to watch the surfers off the lanai every day. Given the beauty of the cottage, we opted to have the photographer team come there first to take photos of us getting ready for our wedding ceremony, as well as the "big reveal". After our wedding on Wailea beach, the cottage was the perfect setting for us to relax and enjoy our honeymoon. When our departing flight was delayed, Ron generously offered for us to stay longer than our scheduled departure. We had a wonderful time and plan to return to Kona Moana Hale one day!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Just Like the Photographs!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The cottage is quaint, and it is exactly as described and shown online. From the moment you step into the cottage, you are surrounded by the ocean's beauty. The flower arrangements, welcome basket and Hawaiian music playing as you arrive immediately throw you into the spirit of Hawaii and all that it offers. It is very apparent the owners have taken a lot of time, care and effort into this cute place. The cottage is clean, fresh and equipped with everything you would need; but just as important, the owners are so helpful and so nice. They truly care that you enjoy their home.

We would highly recommend this place to any couple who wants to enjoy the Island. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Orange, CA
5

Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
When we opened the door to this oceanfront home we were blown away! The ocean view is absolutely breathtaking beyond words. The place is beautifully decorated and everything exceeded our expectations. From the fully equipped kitchen to the beach towels, snorkel gear, beach chairs, cooler, etc. anything you could need has been thought of and provided. In addition, it is immaculately clean. The description and pictures are more than accurate. The cottage is exactly what we anticipated and more! Everything about this place is perfect, especially the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep every night. We were amazed to see a pod of dolphins leaping and splashing in the waters right out front of the lanai!

We had lots of adventures planned on the island, but we could have spent the whole time at this incredible house. We did not want to leave! If you are planning a trip to The Big Island this is definitely the place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474249vb
714-357-6797
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego
5

Kona beach cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this property. The photos don't do it justice. The cottage is nicely located in south Kona just a few doors from a wonderful snorkeling and swimming beach with easy access to grocery stores and restaurants. The cottage has obviously been recently renovated with care and good taste. It is equipped with every convenience and was spotlessly clean and decorated with fresh flowers. The owner was very responsive to questions and even called to be sure we had arrived and found everything to our liking. We will miss sunsets from the lanai. We will definitely recommend this lovely beach cottage to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway