South Iceland cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

South Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful summer house frontline lake view, ½ hour drive from Reykjavik

Beautiful cottage (summer house) frontline lake view, only ½ hour drive from Reykjavik.

The living space downstairs is approx. 45 sqm. and about 35 sqm. upstairs.

Located by Lake Thingvellir (Thingvallavatn) with absolutely stunning view. Very peaceful and located only few meters from the lake and 10 minutes drive to Thingvellir national park, the first known parlament and designated as a UNESCO world heritage.

The house is a 2 story house with living room w/ fireplace, small kitchen, one small bedroom and one bathroom with shower downstairs. Upstairs is an open space with 6 single beds.

The kitchen has a refrigerator with a small freezer, small stove with oven, microwave, coffee maker, tea maker, toaster, blender, popcorn maker and everything you need for cooking. Gas grill/BBQ outside.

Towels and linen provided.

There is a radio with CD player, flat screen satellite TV with many foreign stations and DVD player in the living room.

Outside is a fairly big south west facing porch with garden furnitures.

The house is a non smoking house.

Among many other attractions are:

Gullfoss, one of top 10 most beautiful waterfalls in the world: 45 mins of driving

Geysir, the geyser and other minor hotsprings: 35 mins

The Blue Lagoon, a geothermal lagoon, one of 25 wonders of the world according to National Geographics: 1.5 hours.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 474242 in South Iceland, Iceland

Lake Thingvallavatn, stunning frontline lake view, 1/2 hour drive from Reykjavik
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Lake Thingvallavatn, stunning frontline lake view, 1/2 hour drive from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474242vb
South Iceland Iceland
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
5

The Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cozy, clean, comfortable cottage exceeded our expectations. We were a little late meeting our host but she was so gracious I almost called her 'mom'. Scenic views of the lake, mountains, farmland with sheep and horses was just the peaceful setting we were looking for. Nearby Mossfellbaer had 2 grocery stores, a bank, library, gas station and a cafe which we visited too often (chocolate was their specialty). Mountain hiking, sightseeing hot spots and Reykjavik all within an hours drive in any direction. The Blue Lagoon was just beyond Reykjavik but worth the drive (twice).
We highly recommend visiting this 'home away from home'....you simply can't go wrong.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank so much for your nice review Brian and Michelle. It was nice meeting you here and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in my little cabin. You are welcome back anytime. Kind regards from "mom"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Thingvallavatn, stunning frontline lake view, 1/2 hour drive from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474242vb
South Iceland Iceland
Bristol, Vermont
5

Beautiful Lake Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a beautiful, comfortable and traditional cottage this is. With its big windows onto the shore of Lake Thinkvallavatn, our kids commented it sometimes felt more like being in a boat than a house. It's so quiet and peaceful, the sound of the waves, meadow birds -- it feels serenely isolated and natural, no internet, no distractions. Our mornings and evenings centered around cooking and eating, reading, talking and relaxing. Our day trips were highlights of the vacation: Thingvellir, Geysir, Gulfoss, Laugarvatn, Hveragerdi, Langajokull are all fairly nearby, and our drive to Keflavik airport was just about an hour and a quarter. Terrific place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Tom and Elizabeth!
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here. You are welcome again anytime. Kind regards to all of you from Edda.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Thingvallavatn, stunning frontline lake view, 1/2 hour drive from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474242vb
South Iceland Iceland
Connecticut, USA
5

Very nice house right on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and two adult children spent a week at Edda's vacation house in early June, 2013. The house itself is sufficiently spacious with plenty of privacy between the two floors, and the lake view from the entire first floor is enchanting. Black-out curtains (they were provided) are a must for visitors not used to light nights. The property is in a rural setting, 20 minutes from the nearest food market, with sheep, lambs, and few horses grazing freely in the surrounding countryside. We lit the wood-stove every evening. The sitting room and kitchen/dining area furniture was solid and comfortable. We all found the mattresses comfortable to sleep on. The house was impeccably clean.

Incidentally, a week is nowhere enough to see the country from this fixed base, but good to tour the entire southern part, may be as westward as the Jökulsárlón (Ice Lagoon) region. All of us found the 3 hour guided visit to the bird sanctuary at Cape Ingólfshöfði very worthwhile. The Blue Lagoon on the other hand was built up to be a pricey, European spa, and although nice was not as authentic. (If you have long hair, avoid dipping it in the water, it took weeks for my daughter's hair to return to its normal softness.)

Iceland is a beautiful place with the nicest, kindest people. Definitely an excellent destination if you enjoy nature.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It sure was a pleasure meeting you Nilgun and family. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and you certainly are welcome back anytime. Kindest regards from Edda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Thingvallavatn, stunning frontline lake view, 1/2 hour drive from Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p474242vb
South Iceland Iceland
United States
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My only wish is that I could have stayed longer. The cabin strikes a perfect balance. It's an easy drive from Reykjavik, but is far enough out of the city to feel like you're in the Icelandic countryside. The house is small enough to feel cozy, but large enough to accommodate a group. The pictures don't do the view of the lake justice!

It's also well situated as a base camp for day trips. From the cabin I was able to do the Golden Circle, take trips to Skogar on the South Coast, and also visit the Blue Lagoon. It's a wonderful spot to come home to after a day of exploring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review Chris. It sure was a pleasure having you staying in the cabin and you are always welcome back anytime if you wish to explore more of our country. Hope you had a nice flight back home. All the best to you from Edda
Helpful votes: 2/2