Waipio house rental - living room
living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Waipio House Rental Photos and Description
Plantation House, 3 Bedrooms + Screened in Lanai Daybeds, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Hale Hamakua Guesthouse - Your Entrance into Legendary Waipio Valley has arrived

45 minutes from Hilo Airport, 60 minutes from Kona Airport. Hale Hamakua Guest House is a historic plantation home right on the main street of downtown Honokaa recessed behind its own 8ft walls into a lush private compound with modernized amenities and beautiful ocean view. Hale Hamakua Guest House is your base camp for accessing the legendary Waipio Valley, with its beautiful sandy beaches, waterfalls, and lush tropical rainforest. This property also offers day stays in Waipio Valley, see owner listings to see where you'll be staying for the day should you choose this option (contact Jaqui directly for details).

1 Full bedroom w closet, 2 single set bedrooms, 1 Queen studio w bathroom. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, Blue Ray CD/MP3/ipod player sound system. 1 electric stove, 1 refrigerator, 1 mini fridge, coffee makers, coffee grinders, toasters, blenders, microwave, cloths washers & dryers, dish washer, ceiling fans

The house is in walking distance to all of downtown including the farmers market, post office, bank, groceries, and more.

Hale Hamakua Guesthouse is set just off the main road and is nestled in a bamboo grove with tropical fruit and nut trees throughout our one acre property, including tangerine, lime, banana, avocado, macadamia nuts, and more. The local yoga studio next store has regular Hawaiian massage, hula classes, and can get you hooked up with a number of different Waipio Valley and Hawaiian cultural functions and Outings.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 471866 in Waipio, Hawaii

Discover a world of adventure
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Discover a world of adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471866vb
+ 4156236491
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Baiting Hollow, NY, USA
5

Cozy, well-equipped house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The house was absolutely spotless, fully applianced and very comfortable. There are more brand new linens and towels then you could use in a month! The washer and dryer are brand new and work better than mine at home. The kitchen has a coffee grinder (nice touch!), microwave and a coffee maker, dishwasher, too. Kitchen had a fully stocked spice rack and salt and pepper but I'm sure leaving anything else behind would cause an ant field day so be prepared to do some shopping. There are limes in the back yard and avocados in the side yard by the laundry room. The avocados will scare you to death when they fall from the tree and land on the roof!
You definitely need a car if you're considering staying in Honokaa. Everything you need is in walking distance but to get anywhere outside of town, you need a car. We loved being able to cook at home but had great meals at Il Mondo and The Landing in town and at Solimene, Red Water cafe, Kalbi and Aka Sushi in Waimea. in Waimea the Chinese restaurant was okay and the Paniolo restaurant food was fine but the bathrooms were unacceptable! The only things we missed having at the house were beach chairs, a cooler for day trips and a grill. For those who need it (we do!) the internet worked well and we had no problems with the cable tv even when it was pouring rain. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Discover a world of adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471866vb
+ 4156236491
Waipio Hamakua Coast
4

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Nice property. It was as described in the listing. It was very clean and well maintained. It was a great place to unwind after a long day of exploring the island. I would go back again. It is within walking distance to downtown Honokaa. There are a couple good restaurants, Grandma's and Mondo in town. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Discover a world of adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471866vb
+ 4156236491
Waipio Hamakua Coast
bellevue, wa
5

great place, highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Lovely house, very comfortable, clean, had everything you could want, lots of sleep and bed options, fantastic screened sun room, reading, etc. fast internet, good TV and DVD player, kitchen had new, high quality things. We loved our stay there, especially since Honokaa is such a perfect sized town with the grocery store across the street. Waipio is just 10 miles down the road and Hilo just 40, and Waimea just 15, so a very central yet quiet location. And, to boot, it is a very nice bargain!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Discover a world of adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471866vb
+ 4156236491
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

So Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed this spot and miss it. My husband and 18 year old son stayed here for 10 days in late August/early September. I could have happily spent my whole vacation on the sleeping porch, feeling the tropical breezes. Only 3 of us in the place meant we had plenty of space to get luggage out of the way, could pick our favorite bed and shower (the walk-in with a sink is so nice), had plenty of dishes, etc.

We have family in Honokaa, and I have a soft spot for the town. This location was really handy, a 2-minute walk from the Malama Market grocery, and an easy distance to wander to and from Honokaa's little downtown. Eating options are few in Honokaa, but it’s about ½ hour from Waimea (aka Kamuela) where there are more restaurants, 45 minutes from Hapuna beach, an hour from Hilo and 2 hours from volcano if you drive leisurely. Honokaa's movie theatre is beautiful, and Waipio Valley is nearby.

We found the house comfortable, clean and cheerful, a great place to wake up. On the sleeping porch, the frogs and crickets, wind in the bamboo and occasional pig snort are amazing at night (you're really in the tropics!). You’ll get a little road and neighborhood noise out on that porch, and want a 2nd blanket even in summer - for those who like fresh air and a peaceful scene that porch was heavenly. The view is lush and green with a patch of distant ocean right in the center.

The kitchen was well stocked for what little cooking I wanted to do. The TV cable/satellite didn’t seem to work (which was a net positive for us) but internet was good. We didn’t bother calling the manager about anything, so maybe cable would have worked if we’d gotten instruction. Our cell phones only worked near the front wall of the house, or the front porch. The place could use some reading lamps, but that’s a common failing with rentals. Parking is tight but traffic is light, so no problem. The Holistic Arts center is close but quiet and the people are nice.

I got enough lilikoi (passionfruit) from the backyard to have on papaya every day with extra to put on ice cream.

It took a lot of persistence to get the reservation for the right days, and communication from the manager was so minimal that I was worried about whether we actually had the place and whether it would be at all as advertised, right up until we arrived, but it turned out really great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7