Ramsgate apartment rental - Our apartment is on the top floor
Our apartment is on the top floor
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ramsgate Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Amazing roof terrace overlooking the beach and Ramsgate Coast

This property is located in the most magnificent crescent which boasts breathtaking coastal views. A romantic open-plan living space incorporates a kitchen and sitting room. The stylish new kitchen comes complete with a breakfast bar, a great place to enjoy your morning coffee. In the double room the king size Memory Foam bed is piled high with plush cushions. The twin room sleeps two more and the beds can be made up as a double at your request. At the front of the property are three large windows, each with a different view of Ramsgate’s beach and the English Channel beyond it. Ascend the stairs from the kitchen and you come across a magnificent roof terrace. From here, you’ll experience sweeping panoramic views out to sea and across the whole of Ramsgate. This stunning apartment is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the restaurants and bars.

Ramsgate for children: Full of places to visit for children of all ages, Ramsgate makes a fantastic destination for a family holiday. And with our accommodation so well placed, many activities are on your doorstep. There are plenty of Blue Flag beaches in the area, where you can be sure of safety, cleanliness and bucket loads of fun. One such beach is Botany Bay, a stunning spot nestled among cliffs, providing a perfect photo opportunity. Here, the kids can let off steam building sand castles, running up and down the dunes or paddling in the water.

Ramsgate Main Sands is another Blue Flag beach. A kiosk on the beach sells buckets and spades for the little ones, while the grown-ups can hire deckchairs and wind breakers. There’s often a merry-go-round, trampolines and a bouncy castle to enjoy as well.

Why not use your accommodation as a base to explore fascinating, diverse destinations nearby? Ramsgate is a gateway to some Kentish gems, London is just a short train ride away, and it couldn’t be easier to catch a ferry or the Eurotunnel to the continent. Dover is your best bet for a ferry to the continent. P&O Ferries and SeaFrance regularly leave for Calais, reaching their destination in roughly an hour and a quarter, making the experience a breeze. An alternative to Calais is Dunkirk, just two hours’ ferry ride from Dover with Norfolk Line. Here, visit the Musée des Beaux Arts, well known for its Flemish, Italian and French paintings, or discover Dunkirk’s maritime past in the Harbour Museum. And its famous belfries have earned the town the status of a World Heritage site. A little closer to home – just half-an-hour’s drive in fact – you’ll come across historic Canterbury.

Some Ramsgate history: The harbour was a chief embarkation point in the Napoleonic Wars. The town’s street names - La Belle Alliance Sq, Plains of Waterloo and Nelson Crescent for example – bear testament to Ramsgate’s involvement in this campaign.

During World War II, Ramsgate’s flotilla of ‘Little Ships’ was heavily involved in Operation Dynamo. Tiny vessels, fishing crafts and pleasure boats carried troops to, and evacuated troops from, the beaches of Dunkirk. Operation Dynamo brought 380,000 troops home with the much-loved Sundowner boat, sometimes seen in the Harbour, played a particularly heroic part, returning 130 men.

Ramsgate was ravaged by bomb damage, firstly by the Zeppelins in World War I, then by fighter planes of World War II.

Notoriously, the engine of a downed German Focke-Wulf 190 plane landed on 27 Wellington Crescent, decimating the property.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 470470 in Ramsgate, United Kingdom

Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
5

Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Stayed here for 4 nights with 3 of my best friends and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, it was an easy journey coming in from London and getting a cab from Ramsgate station was quick too. Access to the main town was easy, walking distance to Waitrose and there is an Aldi around 10mins from the apartment too.
Ben (the guy who manages the place) was so helpful in giving us all the information we needed about the area and things to do before hand which helped alot

The apartment is just as the pictures show it if not even better, very clean, very well decorated and thought out, the beds are very comfortable and the terrace is the place to be day or night it was a treat to be up there, the wonderful fresh air and views overlooking the Sea.

Our only regret is we didn't stay for longer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
5

Fabulous Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, toddler and I stayed here for 3 nights - we had smashing weather so fully enjoyed all Ramsgate and Broadstairs has to offer. The beaches, and restaurants recommend by Ben the owner were superb, as well as some our favourites in Broadstairs such as posillipo and Morellis ice cream parlour.

I thought the flat was very well thought out. The decor and finish was good quality, the beds very comfy and the layout really utlilised the space well. I cant think of anything in terms of the welcome pack etc which was missing for our needs - it was great to have dishwasher tabs washing powder bin bag etc. The upstairs space was fabulous and we had breakfast there every morning

Our son is nearly 3 and the flat felt safe for him - the terrace was well enclosed and the windows downstairs too heavy for him to lift - we thought it was perfect actually - we had a super relaxing time and walked to broadstairs 2 days out of the 3 with our son on his scooter-swam in the sea- ate in the Italian along from bon apetit one night and Posillipo another which is a favourite of ours. All round a super trip - thank you !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
4

Wonderful, special and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at this apartment during a fantastic week of sun in July. We had plans to do all sorts of activities in the area, but in the event spent most of the time on the balcony or on the beach which was most pleasant! The beach, which is so close, was clean, family friendly and good for swimming. It was a bit nippy for the first couple of days but warmed up during the week. We enjoyed a walk to Broadstairs where we had a coffee and a walk around the town before returning to Ramsgate. Went to Tracy Emin's exhibition in Margate at the Turner Contemporary gallery which was most revealing! The Turner Contemporary art gallery is a fine place to visit. The old town in Margate is worth a visit. Lots of good places to eat including the gallery. We ate at Bon Appetit in Ramsgate a couple of times and thought the food there was delicious. We explored the town and looked up the people on the Blue Plaques. Ramsgate has an interesting history.
The apartment lived up to its expectations and was up to a very good standard. It was so comfortable and well equipped. The apartment was spotless, it is full of natural light and has excellent views of the sea and the promenade - always something to watch! The beds were very comfortable and it was quiet and peaceful at night time. Food shops are accessible on foot. Although it is a bit hilly it is good for the exercise! Besides it was not that difficult. We tried to vary our routes back from the supermarket, visits to town, or Bon Appetit, which was when we saw some of the Blue Plaques.
Although we had extremely good weather, there is plenty to do in the area if the weather is not so good. Also, there is a good television with lots of channels, DVDs, internet access and the owners has left some fun games to play. Although a mixed town, Ramsgate has some outstanding architecture and was a very pleasant place to stay. We really enjoyed ourselves and the weather definitely helped. I would recommend this place to others.
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
5

Stylish Retreat with Stunning Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This flat has a wonderful location in Ramsgate and it's within an easy access from London if you're using public transport, like we did.

The open-plan kitchen and living room works well for a family and it has stunning views. The roof terrace offers even more breathtaking views over the sea.The rooms are light and airy and the overall decor of the flat is modern and stylish. The kitchen is very well equipped if you like to cook your own meals, which is what we did. The local Waitrose is a good place to shop your food. The Horse and Groom in the town centre is a wonderful pub to sit down and have a pint or two.

During our stay we visited nearby Broadstairs by foot. The walk along the beach is very nice. We also took the bus to Sandwich and Canterbury. The latter has so much to see that we had to go there twice! Sandwich is a truly unique little town with its medieval street plan and ancient houses. There's also a wonderful garden (The Secret Gardens of Sandwich) which is definitely worth a visit.

The manager is very helpful and friendly. He provided us with plenty of information prior to our visit and was available for help during our visit. Everything went well, so for us there was very little need to bother him.

I would recommend this holiday rental to families and couples. The steep stairs might be a bit problematic though if there are small children in the family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear that you found everything you needed in the apartment and had the opportunity and warm weather to enjoy the roof terrace. We hope you had a pleasant trip home and we would love to see you again soon. Warm regards. Ben
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
London
5

stylish place, fabulous views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This place really delivers. We were looking for somewhere for a brief stay in Ramsgate, and were rather casual about planning the trip, so didn't work up too many expectations. We were very pleasantly surprised. The apartment is clean, comfortable, and well designed, with a nice attention to detail, and the views of the sea through the three windows of the main room and from the roof terrace are spectacular. If the weather is right, as it mercifully was for us, you don't need to do much to entertain yourself for a few days other than look out of the window. We had one of those stays there where you are enjoying your time in the apartment so much that you are barely tempted to go out.

If you do, though, Ramsgate and the area have a lot to offer. We especially enjoyed the walk along the coast from Ramsgate to Broadstairs - a mile or so of empty golden beaches, with a truly picture-perfect miniature seaside resort at the end of it, which would be crammed with tourists if it was in Devon or Cornwall, but is strangely empty (in July, on a weekday) in Kent. Ramsgate is less bijou, but none the worse for that; we especially liked the area round the harbour and the architecturally very pleasing area around Spencer Square-Vale Square-St Augustine's Road. And the surrounding area seems very worth exploring - Sandwich is lovely, and Whitstable great for food.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
5

Two blissful weels

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I arrived here not knowing anything about Ramsgate or the apartment which my wife had booked. On arrival there were quite a few flights of stairs but the wow factor definitely hit us when we finally arrived on the top floor. The views have to be seen to believe, when you wake up the sea is bright and blue and in the evening it goes an amazing turquoise, beautiful. We went out on the roof terrace for breakfast most days, although it was quite windy so didn't stay out there for longer than 30/40 minutes. The bed was actually better than our bed at home and after a long first day the memory foam mattress was a welcome discovery. The apartment is very modern inside which we liked, absolutely no clutter anywhere. The kitchen is also very modern and in the open plan area at the front of the apartment. We did not do a huge amount of cooking but we found it to be well equipped. We loved Ramsgate and also went to Margate and Broadstairs, so much to do but we ended up relaxing in the apartment quite a bit even though I am sure there were lots of things we should have done. I would recommend this apartment for anyone who wants a great view and doesn't mind a few stairs to get it!
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
3

Erwartungen nur zum Teil erfüllt

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Sowohl die Buchung als auch die Anreise haben gut geklappt.
Positiv an der Wohnung:-Traumhafter Ausblick vom Wohnzimmer aufs Meer,
-zentrale Stadtnahe Lage,
-ruhige Schlafzimmer zum Innenhof
Negativ: -Dachterasse nicht gepflegt:alle Möbel mit Möwenkot
- verunreinigt, Tischplatte fehlte,
-Küche war nicht zur Zufriedenheit sauber:
- Wasserkocher total verkalkt und Kühlfach schmutzig
-Wohnung zeigt deutliche Abnutzungserscheinungen
Owner's Response: Es tut mir sehr leid, dass Ihr Aufenthalt nicht zu Ihrer 100% Zufriedenheit verlaufen ist. Es freut mich, dass Ihnen das Apartment im grossen und ganzen gefallen hat. Die Möwen sind wirklich ein Problem, trotzdem hätten die Möbel sauber sein sollen. Ich werde mit dem Reinigungspersonal sprechen. Das die Tischplatte fehlt, war uns auch nicht bewusst und das werden wir richtigstellen. Wir haben sehr hartes Wasser in Ramsgate und das ist problematisch für die Wasserkocher. Wir haben das ganze Apartment kürzlich renoviert und deshalb wundert es uns, dass die Wohnung Abnutzungserscheinung zeigt.

Wir sind Ihnen sehr dankbar für Ihr Feedback und wir werden die von Ihnen genannten Mängel kontrollieren und richtigstellen, damit die nächsten Gäste einen angenehmen Aufenthalt im 'Ancient Mariner' haben werden.
business
Stunning sea views in beautifully refurbished apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470470
+44 7999125613
Ramsgate Kent
5

Erholsamer Urlaub in wunderschöner Wohnung

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wir haben mit unseren beiden Kindern (13J. und 15J.) einen sehr schönen Urlaub in Ramsgate verbracht. Dank der Infos von Ben per mail, haben wir das Haus sofort gefunden und die vielen Tipps für Ausflüge waren sehr hilfreich. Ben hat sich hervorragend um alles gekümmert und uns auch persönlich kurz besucht.Lediglich eine Wohnungsnummer an der Tür wäre hilfreich gewesen.
Die Wohnung war sauber und gepfleget, wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt! Auf der Dachterasse hat man einen wunderschönen Blick über das Meer und die Stadt. Die Schlafzimmer liegen nach hinten heraus, so dass es sehr ruhig ist. Der Wohn-Eßbereich hat einen unglaublichen Blick über das Meer, beim Frühstück und sogar beim Kochen hat man Urlaubsgefühle pur! Man ist nur durch die Straße und eine Treppe vom Meer entfernt und auch die Stadt und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sind schnell erreicht. Danke Ben, für diesen schönen Urlaub. Viele Grüße Johannes und Bea