Vilano Beach house rental - The Surf Shack Vilano 2/1 Vacation rental near St. Augustine, FL
The Surf Shack Vilano 2/1 Vacation rental near St. Augustine, FL
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Vilano Beach House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4) Just Over A Block From The Gorgeous Beach.

Nestled in the treetops, just over a block from Surfside Beach Park, the 'Surf Shack Vilano' offers you and your family a refuge.

Enjoy meals alfresco on the deck of this upstairs, open floor plan home. The large yard is lush with tropical and native plants, and has plenty of room to kick a ball around. Hunt for sea treasures (like pre-historic shark teeth) along our shell covered beach.

The home is so airy and bright - You'll love leaving the windows open to enjoy the salt air and hear waves crashing on a high surf day. Enjoy high speed internet while Osprey and Pelicans fly by, and be amazed by the local shore-fishermens' catch.

This house is only a few blocks, then, over the bridge to St. Augustine - You could bike there, or dolphin watch during your venture via the (bike friendly) water taxi at our famous fishing pier. Vilano Town Center is 6 blocks away (restaurants, bars, gas, salon +) A neighborhood park featuring tennis, and basketball courts and a playground is 1 block away.

Enjoy the beach-town lifestyle, kick off your shoes and relax!

read our blog for local tips and tricks: http://surfshackvilano.blogspot.com/

'like' us on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SurfShackVilano

key words: private home, beach vacation, beach house, St. Augustine vacation rental

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Hawaii and married a Minnesota boy. A 'Snowbird's' life was the best of both worlds, so off on the house hunt we went! Hawaii (alas) is such a long plane ride from Minneapolis, that we compromised on sunny Florida. We fell in LOVE with St. Augustine when my parents and brother had moved there around 2000, and with the 4 hour trip (driving included,) it was the perfect spot to escape MN's harsh winters! My family has since moved back to Hawaii, but we still visit Vilano / St. Augustine every chance we get.

Surf Shack Vilano purchased this house in 2010

Vilano Beach offered the layed back beach-lifestyle I grew up with - similar to a small town atmosphere, the neighbors all smile, wave and talk to you, you can walk to everything you need, and the sea treasure hunting on this beach is AMAZING!!- Everything from gorgeous, huge conch shells, to shark teeth, to ship wreck items.

The stars and sky are glorious at night, and we love drifting off to sleep with the windows open. We are very close to the St Augustine attractions, but feel like we are in another world once we cross back over the bridge - Our Oasis.

Location, location, location! The house is close to the beach, without suffering the noise of A1A. I adore walking and biking with my family around the island, going to the neighborhood park, then swimming at the beach! We are just over the bridge from the excitement of St. Augustine, yet it feels a world away. Multi tasking a bike ride or walk (down the beach or over the marsh boardwalk) with grocery shopping is always better than the alternative! I also love this property because it is so airy and bright. The open floor plan is great for the whole family to converse in.

15 Reviews of Property 470095 in Vilano Beach, Florida

Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
5

New Mexico visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Surf Shack was a perfect fit for our stay in Saint Augustine. We have stayed on Vilano many times over the past 15 year and once again we were not disappointed.The neighbors and neighborhood are quiet. My wife is a walker and did 5 to 6 miles every morning at an early hour. She particularly liked the Boardwalk just a few blocks away adjacent to a small marshy area. Surf Shack gives easy access to the beach(2 blocks) and to downtown Saint Augustine, just a few minutes drive. To the north there are great natural attractions to see and trails to walk adjacent to the Inland Waterway. We would definitely recommend the stay to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to review! I'm so glad you and your guests had a great trip and were in a familiar location. Glad to hear your wife enjoyed the lovely boardwalks. I hope you stay at the Surf Shack Vilano on your next trip to St Augustine - happy travels! - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
san diego, ca, usa
5

Surf, sand, fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great, comfortable home, close to everything. I walked to the beach every morning for sunrise with my coffee in hand. I flew out of JAX and found the "goodbye Florida drive" up A1A wonderful as well. I will recommend the Surf Shack to all visiting St Augustine!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: aww yes, coffee + sunrise is my favorite way to start the day as well! Thank you for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your time, including the beautiful drive up A1A - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
4

Hope to Return Soon

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Super comfortable home for small group (2-4) at a reasonable price. Convenient to beach, shopping & site seeing. Wonderful to have excellent internet service, TV with good selection of channels, plenty of kitchen equipment. Owner & manager are responsive to emails, calls & questions. We stayed in this home for a month in both 2012 & 2013. Hope to return in 2014!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to review! I am so happy that both of your stays at the Surf Shack Vilano were comfortable and pleasant. Have a wonderful holiday season, we look forward to your next stay! - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
Boise, ID
5

Best St Augustine Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the "Surf Shack." The home was very clean and had more than everything for my family's convenience! The location was perfect to watch the sunrise on the beach, and to relax after shopping in St Augustine. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joy, I'm so happy your plans turned into a great vacation! Thank you for your feedback, your family is always welcome back. - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
United States
5

Super fun! Relaxing! and close to the Beach! Can't go wrong!

Super fun! Relaxing! and close to the Beach! Can't go wrong!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I stayed 4 days at Surf Shack Villano and have nothing to give but rave reviews. First and foremost, it's within a short walk to the beach, a little longer walk to the grocery store, and a fun bike ride to downtown St. Augustine. The porch is a beautiful place to sit and look at the stars at night. The inside decor is super cute and homie and the gardenscape is beautiful. My friends and I never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood even at night. I can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review - I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip! Our town is so fun to explore, it always makes me happy to hear that a guest has brought a bike along to experience it sans car. Hope to have y'all back again sometime - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
Minneapolis, MN
5

Time of my life!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I stayed at this cute little beach house with a few of my favorite people for a long weekend away! This house is so cute! It's a few steps from an amazing beach and a great bike ride away from the cutest town I have ever visited in the US. I would recommend this house to anyone wanting to stay in St Augustine! It's adorably decorated and has a great balcony to relax and have a few drinks on! It's a must!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at The Surf Shack and love St A! Hope we can have you back again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great location, close to beach, clean, everything you need is there! Great proximity to all the St. Augustine historic sites! G, if you do want eat value!! Would highly recommend, especially to those who do not want the crowds, although if you do want the crowds, Annastatia Beach and St. Augustine Beach are just a couple of bridges over, with great views! Thank you for welcoming our family to your Beach House!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aww Judy, thanks for the great review - I'm glad we were able to host your " Ladies Trip " at the Surf Shack! It sounds like you had a great time and it was easy to get around town. Please think of us again next year :-) - Kira
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
5

Great Beach Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed the beach get-a-way with the kids and house was great and met our needs. Enjoyed being able to walk to the beach and just a hop and a jump from Publix and marina.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review - I am thrilled that your family enjoyed your trip! We are busy making improvements to the property (as I type as a matter of fact) We hope to make each stay at the Surf Shack even better than the last :) Have a great summer, we hope you come again - Kira
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
5

Fun beach house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Super clean, super comfortable. There is a great public park just a street away where your kids can play. The house is clean, comfortable, and very conveniently located to all Vilano and St. Augustine has to offer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to send a review - I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! It's important to me that our guests feel welcome and carefree at the Surf Shack, I hope to hear from you again! - Kira
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Time to Relax, relax, relax. Walk to the Beach, explore St Augustine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p470095vb
9043100773
Vilano Beach St. Augustine Area
Orlando, FL
5

Fun Father/Kids Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I took my son and his best friend (both 12) for a 3 day trip to the St Augustine area. We enjoyed the Surf Shack alot. Compared to other vacation rentals and hotels in the area, I thought the price was very fair and the "shack" was very comfortable for the 3 of us. The proximity to the beach, Publix and neighborhood park was great.
We brought our bikes and found the extra space in the laundry room great for keeping them handy for a quick ride. It was nice to let the boys run down to the park and/or beach while I caught up on some much needed R&R. There was alot to do and see nearby. There must have been an airshow going on, because we had free entertainment watching antique airplanes whiz by as we sat on the deck. On another day, we decided to bike over the bridge to the "Fountain of Youth Park," and quickly realized that you can actually hear the cannon blasts from the park at the house. (At one point, I had the boys keep time to them!)
We have a long list of things we'd like to do on our next trip and will plan on staying here again. Thanks
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How wonderful, thanks for taking time to tell us about your trip! I'm glad you were able to enjoy your vacation - bringing your bikes along was a great idea, there's so much to see within biking distance. We'll look forward to seeing you again! - Kira
Helpful votes: 1/1