Thousand Palms cottage rental - Magic moment at the Casita...
Magic moment at the Casita...
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Thousand Palms Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Private Get-away, close to everything, yet away from it ALL!!!

Enjoy the tranquility of desert nights in your own private one bedroom house! Casita Sky Valley means, 'little house' and Sky Valley is the area where the house is located. Sky Valley is just 15 minutes from most of the Coachella Valleys Cities, yet gives one the true feeling of Desert Living. Our area is world famous for its HOT MINERAL WATER. The Casita has a private well fed hot mineral Jacuzzi spa! The Casita is equipped w/ all the modern comforts, Central Air, Tile Floors, New Kitchen Appliances, Huge Bath w/ Jacuzzi Tub, King Size bed, Two Covered Patios, one a Palapa overlooking a serene pond. Wi-Fi & Satellite TV. are also Included! If your looking for a totally relaxing get-a-way that also offers you close proximity to spas, golf, hiking, restaurants, shoping, casinos & entertainment this is it!

Retired Real Estate Broker, Live on a Date Palm Ranch next to the 'casita' and Grow Madjool Dates & Exotic Palms. Hobbies include Minature Arabian 'style' Horses, Landscaping & Rasing most of our own veggies.

Rick Olds purchased this cottage in 2011

Its a TOTAL PRIVATE GET-A-WAY. The sound of silence is amazing!

9 Reviews of Property 469333 in Thousand Palms, California

One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
5

Perfect get-away, close to everything, wonderful owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rick and Carter are the perfect hosts and have done everything to ensure this charming casita will exceed your expectations.

We have been renting on VRBO for almost a decade and this is now our new favorite place. The casita is very nicely decorated, clean, well-maintained and extremely comfortable. It is in a great location - easy to get to both Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park.

The things we loved:
Lots of areas to sit outside
A fire-pit with chairs
Our own private pond where we could feed the fish each morning
A palapa that was the perfect place to relax with morning coffee or after hiking
A hot tub with mineral springs water - no chemicals - the BEST hot tub ever
A well-equipped kitchen with good appliances
Good internet connection, wi-fi and cable - even a stash of videos
Quiet at night and great for sleeping
It is very private but you are close to everything
Rick and Carter - friendly, very helpful, easy to deal with and generally wonderful human beings

We had a great time staying here and would highly recommend this to anyone. Whether you come for a few days or a few months, you will have everything you need and you won't want to leave.







We had a lovely time
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Guests like you two make having a vacation property a gift. Come see us anytime you can. And THANK you for a wonderful time in return!
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
5

Why this casita is a tremendous place to vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Thank you Rick and Carter for the most wonderful two months we have ever spent on a vacation! The casita is peaceful, the acreage is perfect for dogs, and the experience of being in the desert was spectacular. The mineral tub was heaven and the perfectly equipped casita is a great place for lazy days and still close enough to everything the area has to offer. The owners can offer lots of tips and sightseeing ideas. They obviously love the area!
We so enjoyed meeting you and becoming friends..that doesn't happen in most vacation rentals, but who could resist the upbeat, caring and thoughtful people you are!!
We will be back in 279 days..who's counting?..
If you are looking for a memorable experience, look no further than this wonderful place..we have sand in our hearts not just in our shoes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
Los Angeles, CA
5

Peace and Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I retreat to this haven as offen as possible! The surrounding views from sun up to sun down and the star filled night sky are awesome. Special treat for body aches is the Hot Mineral Spring water jacuzzi tub, it's healing to the body, mind and soul! I look forward to returning in the off-season. The Owners are Super Nice... I want to live there!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You visits to the ranch make our lives even more enjoyable.
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
Where do you live?
5

Fred and Jean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We wish we could have booked this little gem for more than a week as we certainly didn't want to leave. We were looking for something other than a hotel or condo and couldn't have been happier with this casita in the desert. Not only is Desert Hot Springs minutes away, most places in the valley can be reached in about 15 minutes.

The owners cared for our every need and were the most gracious hosts one could imagine. The casita is clean, very well equipped, storage abounds and the full-sized washer and dryer are a big plus for those staying any length of time. The acreage is beautiful and the views are stunning. In the evening, we didn't wish to be anywhere else than sitting in the hot tub gazing at the stars and a full moon.

We will definitely return to this lovely spot...and stay longer next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Fred and Jean! We wish your visit had been for longer too. What gracious guest you both are! Thanks for everything, including helping to stock the casita w/ some better hangers for the closets.. You guys are a real Treat. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Have a warm, safe winter.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
5

Look no further.. this is the perfect desert getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Casita with our 8 year old son & big German shepherd dog. The owners Rick and Carter were so warm and hospitable, that we didn't want to leave at the end of the trip :-) Their home is on the property about 1/2 acre away and the 2 homes are separated by a fence. The entire 5 acre property is completely fenced in and very pet friendly. The pond is teeming with tilapias & my son had the most delightful time feeding the fish every day. He loved taking the miniature horses (bred by the owners) for walks around the property. The hot tub is divine and filled with water from the hot mineral springs 400 ft below the surface. There is plenty to see and do within 30 min drive from the Casita. We clambered up the rocks at Joshua Tree National Park, visited Pioneer Town and spent 1/2 day hiking in 1000 Palms Oasis. But on most days, we loved to stay home and enjoy the beauty and serenity of the views around us. The desert sunset is absolutely spectacular! We loved our stay at this beautiful desert oasis & will definitely come back to recharge often!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How could we have asked for better guests.. We sure enjoyed your time next door & hope you will come back. Loved showing your son how I work with the minis. Next time we will have to teach him how to ride cart w/ Sasha. Little Bear sends his love.. Thanks for making your stay so special for us!
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
5

PEACEFUL PARADISE - a beautiful private escape with wonderful owners and Pet Friendly!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place is amazing, a total hidden paradise. We spent a month here and didn't want to leave!

The photos don't do this place justice; you have to see it for yourself. The house and setting are beyond beautiful! You have a spectacular 360 view of everything - you can see the sunrise over the Indio mountains and the sunset over Bear Mountain. It's a spectacular sight. If it snows in the mountains you get to see snow-capped mountains all around you; it's breathtaking. We had clear a clear sky most of the time and we could see the Milky Way, so if you're into stargazing this place is awesome.

The owners are a pleasure to deal with, they took care of us and attended to everything we needed. They care about their property and go above and beyond to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

Sitting on five fenced acres, the house is a spacious one bedroom one bath stocked with a full kitchen and separate laundry room. It was super clean and it is very well maintained. The washer and dryer are full size. There is so much storage space - closets and drawers abound, so we didn't feel cramped. We were able to find a place for everything and live clutter-free.

The place is so pet friendly and pet safe. We brought our two large dogs and they loved it! There is a hot tub filled with mineral spring water from the well and two patio areas just outside the living room. This area is a large grassy yard with 4' fences. The perimeter of the property has 6' fences, so it's really safe.

There are so many things to do within a half hour. We hiked at Thousand Palms which is only 10 minutes away. We found so many great restaurants in Palm Springs (you must try Miro's). The owners gave us lots of tips and suggestions on where to go, like the Village Fest on Thursday evenings.

We highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a beautiful and peaceful retreat. We have already booked our next stay and will be back many, many times.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful month you spent at our "casita". So nice to meet such good people that LOVE their animals so much. Hope to see you VERy soon. Come back ANYTIME! THANKS AGAIN.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
LA
5

The desert's best kept secret!! WONDERFUL, PEACEFUL, PET FRIENDLY GETAWAY in the desert!!!!!!

The desert's best kept secret!! WONDERFUL, PEACEFUL, PET FRIENDLY GETAWAY in the desert!!!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I LOVED this place!!! Sky Valley is not as far as I thought it would be, its only about 20 minutes to Palm Springs or Palm Desert/Rancho Mirage. The setting of this property on 5 acres gave me the peace and quiet I was looking for, AND I was able to bring my 2 dogs with me, and they loved it!. THe place is completely gated. The house is great, immaculate and had everything I needed. Waking up in the morning enjoying the sun rise on the little terrace was so peaceful and just what I was looking for. The owners were great to deal with. If you want to try something different this is the place, SO much better than staying in the hotels where you hear everything in the room next door. I will be recommending this to my friends and also definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your rental of our Casita, Chuck.. Your visit to the ranch was so plesant. Come back soon! new lawn, Fire pit & a wonderful Hot Mineral Jacuzzi Tub were installed this Summer.. Nice additions.. SO nice to meet you and the dogs too!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
Lake San Marcos Ca
5

Great desert getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This house is very nice, and clean and the owner will go out of his way to make sure you are confortable.
The house has a large jacuzzi tub, and a separate shower, very enjoyable. The home/ furniture is very tastefully decorated. Kitchen is fully equipped, with large full size refrigerator and stove. This one bedroom home has a separate laundry room so you do not have to pack so many clothes.
We found the area to be quite removed from city noise. We will go back when we can and enjoy this again and again, and take our precious parrot with us next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you both for your rental of the casita! Come back soon, there are new additions, a yard, firepit & a wonderful Hot Mineral Water, Jacuzzi Tub! This time dont forget to bring your bird too!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
One Bedroom House w/ Mineral Hot Springs Spa, hidden in a Palm Grove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p469333vbi
760-413-0890
Thousand Palms California Desert
5

Perfect desert oasis guest house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Had a great time at this little treasure in the desert. The place is completely stocked with anything u will need to have a fantastic getaway and the host couldn't be nicer. I look forward to spending more time here in the future. Thanks rick!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you both Adam for making your stay a plesant one! Come back ANYTIME! appreciate the very kind words.
Helpful votes: 1/1