Ponto do Sol house rental - Casa do Retiro totally private and fenced
Casa do Retiro totally private and fenced
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ponto do Sol House Rental Photos and Description
South-facing, with 5 bedrooms, sleeps 10+2children, private and heated pool

The ultimate in Madeira self catering accommodation,this magnificent Ponta do Sol holiday villa can house as few as 2guests or as large as 10guests+2infants in cots.You have a heated outdoor pool,a jacuzzi,games room,large terraced areas and gardens (with/without shade) with sun loungers that provide well-deserved rest at the sound of birds chirping.Completed in 2008,it's owner has provided 5star luxury throughout -you will lack nothing!This luxurious,private,sunny villa is superbly equipped with accommodation on two floors offering exceptional comfort. The lounge and dining room are spacious with extensive windows leading to the south-facing terrace area equipped with loungers, dining table and chairs, BBQ and heated outdoor pool - perfect for indoor/outdoor living.An immaculate villa, beautifully maintained and superbly located-handy for the expressway,buses,restaurants,pharmacy,ATM,health center.Maid service is provided by friendly Mrs. Graça.Perfect for discerning holidaymakers.

How to get to Casa do Retiro?: First of all take the speed way (VR1) in direction to Funchal.

Near Funchal you'll find signage Ribeira Brava. Stay this way to Ribeira Brava. Arriving Ribeira Brava (in the end of the big tunnel) turn right and you'll find a roundabout. Take the first exit going towards to the center of the village. After entering Gesteiro's tunnel you'll find a second roundabout. Take the first exit right, in direction to Ponta do Sol. You'll enter another tunnel and you'll find a third roundabout. Take the second exit to Lugar de Baixo. Cross this village. After one more tunnel you'll find another roundabout Take the first exit right - Paúl da Serra Canhas. Cross this street untill you find the last roundabout. Take the fourth exit (Paúl da Serra Canhas) and after 4,6 km in the main street you'll find Santa Teresinha's monument, with 3 stone achs. After this monument, turn right and you'll find Casa do Retiro's gate on the right side properly marked.

PONTA DO SOL: Ponta do Sol is located on the south coast of Madeira Island, known for its sunny climate. Ponta do Sol has restored old buildings in a maze of quiet and welcoming streets. The calm and beautiful village situated in a steep valley with dense banana plantations The village of Ponta do Sol is one of the most picturesque of the island of Madeira and has incredible sunsets.

Located in Lugar de Baixo, Ponta do Sol, at an average altitude of 40 meters is the center of subtropical flowers. With 2 hectares of area it is the ideal place to grow and study subtropical plants. Lugar de Baixo is one of the most famous surf areas of Madeira Island.

More Details
Hide Details

Casa do Retiro was created as a Family business. Our passion is to receive travellers all around the world in our villas and welcome them and make them feel they're home! We work hard together to assure our guests have the most luxurius stays in the most idilic places - Madeira Island and Porto Santo Island.

We bought this land because our family grew there. The monument in front of our villa was built by our grand mother in order to honor all women who have breast cancer because herself survived after being diagnosed with breast cancer in a young age.

20 Reviews of Property 468902 in Ponto do Sol, Portugal

Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

A perfect house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A wonderful villa with beautiful furniture, very personal things from the family's history and every comfort you could whish for. The house is exactly as you can see on the photos. We were met by the owners who gave us an exceptional warm welcome. We got maderian wine and cake, a lot of delicious fruits and everything we need for the first breakfast. The daily housekeeping by Mrs. Graca was disreet and very efficient. The villa is perfectly located. The island is good for walking-tours, but sometimes it's difficult to find the way. We enjoyed very much playing golf (Clube de Golf do Santo da Serra and Palheiro Golf).
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your opinion about the villa and for taking the time to post it on the website. We are so pleased you enjoyed Casa do Retiro! It is so good to receive such appreciative comments from guests such as yourselves!
It is so important for us to know that everything was to your satisfaction and of course very important for our future guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha, Casa do Retiro
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

A little piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A fabulous house. Really well appointed throughout with many classy touches. Beautiful furniture, comfortable beds, superb kitchen and every amenity you could wish for. Tito, Christina and Martim make you genuinely feel part of their family. Mrs Garcia cleaned the house every day, to include replacing towels and linen.
Swimming pool and jacuzzi were well used as was the snooker table and beautiful outside BBQ - all wood supplied. To sit outside enjoying a BBQ meal in the evening in November was a pleasure.
Supermarket, restaurant, banks, pharmacy literally on the doorstep.
My wife had an accident and badly sprained her ankles. Tito and Martim spent 4 hours at the hospital with us to make sure we had all the support we needed.We were indeed part of the family for the week.
Beautiful island, beautiful people, beautiful house. Worth every penny!!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Casa do Retiro so much and we will keep working hard to improve the quality of our villas.

After the accident we had to look after you and assure you would have the help you needed so we had to stay there by you and support you the best way possible.

We looking forward to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha, Casa do Retiro
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

J'espère qu'au Paradis on y sera aussi bien!

J'espère qu'au Paradis on y sera aussi bien!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Ce séjour a été pour nous 10, un des plus agréables que nous ayions eus.
Nous tenons à remercier Cristina et Tino pour leur accueil si chaleureux et leurs délicates intentions.
Je tiens personnellement à remercier aussi, Beatriz pour le temps qu'elle m'a consacré à préparer ce séjour.
Le confort de cette villa est excellent. Sa situation parfaite, proche de tout et au calme.
Nous avons passé 15 jours merveilleux et nous conserverons un excellent souvenir. Nous serons vos meilleurs supports publicitaires pour encourager les gens qui recherchent une location sur l'île de Madère.
Encore un grand merci à toute la famille Noronha pour nous avoir fait connaitre le Paradis sur terre!
Christian, Annie, Richard, Marie-Claude, Daniel, Josée, Michel, Françoise, Alfred et Bernadette.
Owner's Response: Je vous remercie de vos paroles que chaud. L'opinion de nos clients est sans doute très important pour nous. Nous sommes extrêmement heureux que nous avions accompli notre objectif.
Nous allons continuer à essayer d'améliorer nos services. Nous voulons faire des vacances absolument inoubliable!

C'est toujours un grand plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau!

Sincéres Salutations,
Tito, Cristina, Beatriz, Martim et Amelia Cabral de Noronha
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Splendid house, excellent facilities, spacious and very well maintained environment. Fine hospitality, excellent communication , discreet and very efficient housekeeping. The house is perfectly located- bank, supermarket,restaurant, kids playground within very close proximity ,yet it is very quiet and private spot. We had a very warm welcome,complimentary drinks, fruits and cake and throughout our stay there anything we needed was taken care off immediately. The island is a beautiful place on the earth! You just must go and visit and if you decide to do so- we definitely recommend that you go and stay at Casa do Retiro! Thanks again to all of you - it was lovely meeting you!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a nice review and for choosing Casa do Retiro for your holidays. It was such a pleasure for us to receive you in our home. We are delighted that you enjoyed Madeira and Casa do Retiro so much.

We will keep doing our best to assure perfect holidays to our guests in paradise locations (Casa do Retiro Praia in Porto Santo Island - homeaway property number 810290 or Casa do Retiro in Madeira Island - homeaway property number 468902).

Looking forward to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

everything is perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I was looking for somewhere special to take my wife for her 50th birthday. Fortunately I found Madeira, and the wonderful owners of this place. We were greeted by the biggest, warmest smile you can imagine, and for our whole holiday their warmth and kindness shone through. The house is exactly as you see it in the photos and how it is described by the other reviews - it is perfect as you feel at home whilst surrounded by comfort and everything you need. All the little things are taken care of for you before you arrive - a wonderful welcome pack, including wine and madeiran cake and no need to go and buy wasking up liquid, sugar, salt and loads of other things as they are all there. I chose here not only for the swimming pool, jaccuzi, lovely grounds and spacious accommodation but also because my wife loves to sit and enjoy an open fire in the evening. The house was kept spotless for us and also stocked up with logs and timber and took care of all our needs.
If you think this may be the place for you, then look no further. Thank you to the owners for letting us into your beautiful home and leaving us with such wonderful memories to look back on.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We still remind about you. It was such a pleasure to meet you. It is really very rewarding to know that you enjoyed our house so much.

We really hope you can come back again and visit us!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

The Dream Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our weekend in Madeira was perfect thanks to this amazing property and having everything we needed at our fingertips. Beatriz and Tito were wonderful hosts, there whenever we needed them and very helpful. Plus they left us a whole bunch of fruit, wine and food that was above and beyond what we expected! We went with a group of eight young people and found it difficult to leave the house due to the heated pool, jacuzzi, pool table and outdoor BBQ. There was plenty of space, a supermarket very close by and the house was easy to find from the directions Beatriz gave us. I'd recommend it to any large group or family...it really has everything you need and makes for a dream stay in Madeira!
Owner's Response: Many thanks for choosing Casa do Retiro for your holidays and for your detailed review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Madeira and Casa do Retiro so much.

Looking forward to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

The perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We are just back in the real world from a perfect holiday. There is not much I can add to what the other reviewers wrote. Casa do Retiro is the perfect place to spend a paradise vacation. We stayed with the whole family (grandparents, parents and kids) and everybody was happy. There is nothing left you could wish for. What we found quite exceptional is that the owners did not only prepare a wonderful welcome for us, they picked us up from the airport and had been grocery shopping for us so that we could start our vacation right away and did not have to worry where to get food. We also enjoyed Senhora Graca´s daily house keeping and her friendlyness.
Thank you for the wonderful memories. We will be back.
Owner's Response: Many thanks for choosing Casa do Retiro for your family holidays and for your detailed review which will be of great help to future guests.

We always do our best to ensure that you are brilliantly well looked-after during your stay, even to the extent of providing some grocery shopping or picking our guests at the airport.
The maid service provided at Casa do Retiro by Mrs. Graça, who is very discrete, is included in the accommodation package and usually our guests find it a wonderful 5-star bonus. We are very happy she could help you.

Our goal is to provide dream holidays in paradise locations (Casa do Retiro Praia in Porto Santo Island - homeaway property number 810290 or Casa do Retiro in Madeira Island - homeaway property number 468902).

We hope to see you back here again soon!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha, Casa do Retiro
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

Perfect 5* Holiday Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Lovely villa located up the winding roads of Canhas. We were met by the owners, who gave us a typically Madeirense, warm welcome! We were shown around the villa, introduced to the maid, presented with our welcome gifts and then left to our own devices for the remainder of our stay.
The house was beautifully presented, clean and well maintained. The maid turned up every day, and cleaned everything! Bedrooms, bathrooms, the pool, the kitchen, she washed everything in site!
The pool, paddling pool and the jacuzzi were constantly used, we really liked the fact that you could lock the gates to the pool as we have young children. We made good use of the games room and spent alot of time there! The barbecue facility is lovely and we enjoyed quite a few espetadas. Our children enjoyed the garden and loved playing there. There is also wi-fi, which we found invaluable. There is plenty of room to park your car(s) and the villa is quiet, peaceful and secure.
There is a restaurant, supermarket, ATM's and a pharmacy literally 2 minute's walk from the villa.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we are a family of 5 with 2 young children and we cannot hold Casa do Retiro in high enough regard.
I think the one thing that sums up how much we enjoyed our stay here, is that my children are constantly asking me, "when are we going back to the holiday home?"
To the owners I say, congratulations on having such a beautiful home, we hope to see you again soon, when we next visit Madeira. Obrigado!
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Casa do Retiro and for your review. It is very gratifying to know that you and your family enjoyed the villa and the holidays. Casa do Retiro in Madeira Island (Homeaway property number 468 902) and Casa do Retiro Praia in Porto Santo Island (Homeaway property number 810290) exist precisely to provide their guests a dream holiday in idyllic locations. We work everyday to assure that our guests have everything they need.

We believe this review will help many other guests.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha, Casa do Retiro
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

Where a guest can be king

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
First of all, like the other reviewers, I also want to thank the family Noronha for their kindness and good help before and during our stay.

The furniture on the photos shows the old style of decoration in the house, it is old, but well maintained and since the whole house is in this style it looks nice.

We had a perfect vacation for 6 days on Madeira. The villa was our main station from where we rented a car to visited as much a possible of different parts of the island. I recommend car rental because you can decide when and where you want to go. We didn’t used public service. Location is good because supermarket and nice pizza restaurant is around the corner.

The villa was perfect! We used the swim pool, Jacuzzi, pool table, all the bedrooms, the showers and living room.

We stayed in the Villa with 6 men aged between 27 and 31. We all had separated rooms except 2 of us who stayed in single beds. Showers are good with temperature and pressure, also when used together.

I had very good e-mail contact with the contact person of the villa. I had several question about linen, towels, arrival time, etc... And every time within a day I received a answer.

During our stay we got out of firewood for the fireplace inside the house and the fireplace outside the house (great for barbeque use). I send a e-mail to the contact person and the next day we had new wood.

Finally the housecleaning service; each day our house was cleaned, showers, bedrooms, kitchen, dining and living were cleaned but our moved furniture stayed at our moved location witch was perfect! Because we moved chairs into a position that for us was more friendly. Our breakfast and dining dish was also cleaned each day. And more then enough fresh towels for shower and swimming each day

Concluded; Great villa with everything you can imagine and perfectly great cleaning service. All in service of a friendly family that consider their guests as kings.
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you were very satisfied with the house facilities particularly, the equipment and its cleanliness.
It was a great pleasure for us to receive you. We are delighted that you enjoyed Madeira and Casa do Retiro so much. Many thanks for your review about your holidays!
Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Luxury self catering, heated pool, jacuzzi, games room, BBQ, sunny gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p468902
+351 963337153
Ponto do Sol Madeira
5

place for great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Many thanks to family Noronha for the great holiday we had in the Casa do Retiro!
The house includes everything what is needed for a stay over a longer time. The house itself is tasteful equipped with beautiful old furniture and very personal things from the family’s history.
The technical equipment whatever you need, is completely available. In addition you will have in the house also a WLAN-access for permanent internet. The house itself is situated in a village-like environment and around you have access to all really needed things, like pharmacy, small supermarket or a bank and a cash machine.
The beautiful big swimming pool and the whirlpool we enjoyed as really big "add on" especially on hot days or after extended hiking tours. The ambient area is completed with a big barbecue (what can be used as fireplace), a nice garden and a "gaming room".
The house and all around is in very clean condition and a house maid comes everyday!
Family Noronha is taking care about all the wishes of their residents to make all things perfect for the stay in their holiday house and that you have these weeks on Madeira in mind for a long time.
We have enjoyed our weeks of vacation completely and can only recommend that lovely place for a stay on Madeira!
Best regards
Sabine and Holger
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comment.

It was a great pleasure for us to receive you. We are delighted that you enjoyed Madeira and Casa do Retiro so much. Many thanks and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Family Noronha
Helpful votes: 8/8