Joshua Tree cabin rental - Enjoy your coffee as the morning sun sweeps across your valley of boulders
Enjoy your coffee as the morning sun sweeps across your valley of boulders
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Joshua Tree Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Luxury guest house inside, raw virgin high desert outside

Not far from Joshua Tree National Park (near historic Pioneertown) sits the well appointed 'Gamma Gulch Guest Cabin' nestled deep within your own private valley of Boulders, Joshua Trees and Pinyon Pines bordered by miles of Protected Desert Wilderness with plenty of solitude and unlimited hiking opportunities. Perfect 'home base' for JTNP, Pappy and Harriets, Integratron, Noah Purifoy's outdoor desert museum, Desert Hot Springs and Palm Springs. Nicely appointed kitchen with spices, coffee and all the basics. Wifi, phone, dish TV and DVD player, and Bose music system with plenty of cd's or can be used with your mp3 player. Coffee maker, microwave, fridge, oven and all utensils. Guest cabin has a 16ft wall of sliding glass doors that look out upon your own private valley of Granite Boulders, Joshua Trees and Pinyon Pines. Weber 'Barbeque for Two' on site. Hot tub to soak in after a long day of hiking and perfect for lounging in to do some star watching. A path leads to a private eight sided meditation/yoga hut nestled in the boulders. Our guests repeatedly return from a day in JTNP and say they don't know why they went to the Park as the scenery at the Guest Cabin rivals the Park (without the tourists and traffic).

My wife, Sachi, and I (Dave) live in the main cabin adjacent to the Guest house. We both love the desert immensely with all it's solitude, wildlife and starry nights. As it turns out this guest cabin changed my life. I met my wife 5 years ago when she was a guest in the Guest Cabin -- she was staying in it to take advantage of the solitude and quiet of the desert while she finished her doctorate thesis in Buddhist studies. Sachi was a Bhuddist monk when she arrived at my guest house...saffron robes, shaved head. She'd been a monk for 21 years having ordained in Burma at the age of 19. Many of our guests find Saccavadi's story a very moving one. You can copy and paste : http://sujato.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/saccavadis-story/ or you can simply google 'saccavadi' where much has been written about this simple monk from Burma. I haven't a clue as to what Sachi saw in me but as karma?? would have it we soon fell in love. Been married almost 4 years now.

Many guests enjoy meeting Sachi and often times will accompany her on her daily hike...this can be a great opportunity to learn about the area as well as a chance to get to know this gentle wise soul from Burma.

That being said, please know it's our policy to greet you when you arrive, help you get settled in, and be available should you need anything...after that it's our policy to leave you alone so that you may connect with what we're sure you'll find an amazing piece of the desert

Dave and Sachi Bricker purchased this cabin in 1998

This property is quite unique. The population density of the area is extremely sparse which helps assure a connection with the natural environment right outside your door. The Guest Cabin, along with the main cabin is situated on a piece of land that is surrounded by hundreds, actually thousands, of government protected acres with direct access into the Bighorn Mountain Wilderness Area. The Guest Cabin is truly away from it all. You'll travel along three miles of dirt road to get to our place. When you arrive you'll instantly become aware that you are nestled in a private valley of some of the most beautiful Boulder outcroppings one could imagine, where Joshua trees, pinyon pines, and wildlife abound. An endless variety of birds are attracted to the dripping bird bath located on the deck right outside the 16 foot sliding windows that gaze upon the valley of boulders. Cottontail rabbits, antelope squirrels, the occaisional bobcat can be seen. On three occasions we've seen bighorn sheep in the backcountry and last year a bear with two cubs came strolling through...a rare site...perhaps... but I wonder how many creatures pass by when I'm not looking out the window!

The Guest House is ideal for those wishing to hike, birdwatch, and just be awed by the miles of magnificent rock formations. It's unlikely that you will see anyone while hiking the area. Just you and nature. Many of our guests hike to Black Mountain...the reward being incredible endless views and that feeling of accomplishment that 'I did it!'.

A hot tub offers sore muscles comforting relief and also serves as an ideal location to relax and watch a falling star or two. No city lights visible from here, we're designated dark sky territory.

We also offer a secluded meditation/yoga hut with padded carpeting and cushions for sitting on the floor or doing yoga postures. The hut has fantastic views with plenty of privacy and quiet -- conducive to listening to the song of a bird, the stirring of the breeze, a perfect setting for some quiet contemplation...

22 Reviews of Property 467588 in Joshua Tree, California

Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

High Desert Peacefulness

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Just a great place to experience the high desert. A very peaceful getaway. Awesome accommodations for two in the studio guest house. Owners are very gracious, helpful, knowledgeable about the high desert and just wonderful people. If you want to get in touch with nature and get away from the city life this is a great place to stay. We look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

the perfect private getaway surrounded by incredible natural landscape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were looking for an escape from the Chicago winter and this was the perfect place. It was completely private and surrounded in all directions with breathtaking scenery. Dave and Sachi were lovely hosts who respected our privacy but were available when we had questions about the area, making suggestions about places to eat and providing a map for a sunrise hike (do this!). The space was clean, comfortable with lots of extras that we weren't expecting including a bed outside for stargazing. As another review mentioned, it was even nicer than the photos. Joshua Tree National Park, Noah Purifoy's Outdoor Art Museum and the flea market in Yucca Valley are easy to get to and all well worth the trip. We ate at Crossroads Cafe, Natural Sisters and Pappy and Harriets which all had options for vegetarians. From the moment we arrived until we left three nights later we were so happy that we chose this place and would highly recommend it especially for a romantic getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

One of the best places I have EVER stayed...

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Dave and Sachi, I want to say to you two how amazing our stay was at your place. Seriously, it was one of the best places I have EVER stayed. As an architect, and as a human being, I can appreciate the attention to detail that you have put into your guesthouse and property. The bed outside, the hot-tub, the bench seats in the front of the house, the buddha keeping us company, the dimmer on the lights, the tables and chairs on the patio, the small privacy screens (with a cut-out to accommodate a tree branch outside of the Kitchen window)...I could go on and on. All of this created little moments for us that I hope linger long in my mind and heart. I saw the love that you put into your property and it was much appreciated and I feel blessed to have experienced it. I will recommend your place to anyone and everyone I know and hopefully, one day soon, we'll be able to come and visit again.
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Park like stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Everything was just right. We had a wonderful time. The place is amazing. The host is gracious. Can't say enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
Bel Air, Maryland
5

Getting away from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Spent 2 wonderful days in this perfect little hideaway, in the desert. A lovely studio guest house on the owner's property, but with complete privacy. The view out into the rocks is an amazing sight to see, especially at sunrise and sunset. Dave and Sachi are incredibly sweet, welcoming, and accommodating. The drive to Joshua Tree is about 15-20 min., but, you can literally wander around in the desert, right off the porch. Truly peaceful. Hope to make it back, someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Everything we hoped for!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Dear Dave and Sachi, We had such an amazing time here! The cabin and location was everything we hoped for. We will miss the beautiful boulders, Joshua trees, cholla cacti, and watching the birds, chipmunks, bunnies every morning from the cabin windows. We will never forget our Black Mountain adventure! We especially will never forget getting to know you both and your hospitality and generosity during our stay. Thank you so very much for making sure our stay at the cabin was the best experience we could possibly have. Hope that we get to come back soon!
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Silent Retreater

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Dave and Sachi were exceptional hosts in every way imaginable -- specific, available, warm, welcoming, respectful of our desires, and generous. The place has excellent amenities (clean water/heating), a full kitchen, a backyard of Joshua Tree wilderness, and a hot tub to rejoice over. It's also not far from town. I'll be back, guaranteed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

A Spectacular Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
From the moment I arrived and was welcomed by Dave and Saachi, I knew I found my go-to vacation spot. Every aspect of this guest house was incredible. The view out the back is awe inspiring, there is a definite sense of privacy and seclusion, and some of the best trail-less hiking I've ever experienced. A most memorable stay. No doubt 5/5 rating. If I could I'd rate it a 10/5 :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

One of the most peaceful weekends of our lives...

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you so much for one of the most peaceful weekends of our lives. We feel so lucky to have found you and so blessed to have spent time here. Everything from wandering freely through the landscape to laying under a truly dark sky are like nothing else we have ever experienced. Your place is so perfectly aligned with the natural setting -- we felt like this only when we were wilderness camping. We will treasure our memory of this place.
business
Boulders, Boulders and more Boulders (and plenty of Joshua Trees too!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p467588vbi
760-365-2122
Joshua Tree California Desert
Phoenix, AZ
5

Amazing time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Ari and I stayed a few days at this property...and wow! Even though Joshua Tree was closed because of the Federal Government shutdown, it was still an amazing time. The property is surrounded by beautiful boulders and BLM land. It was so peaceful. The cabin is so clean and well equiped. We were able to make meals, sleep outside under the stars, and relax in the hot tub at night. Dave and Sacchi were very welcoming. We went on a great hike with them. We will most certainly be going back. It was our favorite VRBO rental by far.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway