Mauna Kea house rental - The pool & terrace at dusk looking back on the upper deck, lanai & Master Suite
The pool & terrace at dusk looking back on the upper deck, lanai & Master Suite
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Mauna Kea House Rental Photos and Description
3700 Sq Ft W/ 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10 & A Private Pool

On the makai (ocean) side of the highway at Mauna Kea Beach Resort in Fairways North.....

Say 'Aloha' to your personal paradise at Mauna Kea, Hale Ke'oke'o - White House - By The Sea. This beautiful, modern home on the sunny Kohala Coast of the Big Island boasts a private lap pool and pool/guesthouse. Located behind the gates of the prestigious Mauna Kea Beach Resort, overlooking the North Fairways of the Mauna Kea Golf Course, our home is located on a quiet cul-de-sac and showcases stunning Pacific Ocean, Maui, Kohala Mountain and Mauna Kea Golf Course views from nearly every room.

Multiple outdoor spaces are available for your enjoyment as well as a gourmet kitchen, interior open air courtyard, marble outdoor shower, dry sauna and private pool. Every one of the four bedrooms has it's own flat screen TV; three bedrooms have an adjoining bath and the fourth adjoins to the peaceful courtyard - that's three Master Suites! Three bedrooms are in the main house and the fourth is in the pool/guesthouse. The guest house is located on the private pool deck and is the perfect spot for in-laws, nannies, older teenagers, young adult children or the fourth couple in the group. The guesthouse has a queen bed and sofa bed, so can sleep up to 4 people. A floor plan is available for your review - please ask!

Spread out within this open concept island home as there is lots of space for everyone to enjoy, with a living room, dining room, kitchen/bar, family room and large deck for sharing time together. There is also a private lanai off the living room, an inner courtyard with chaise loungers and an outdoor home gym area with yoga equipment, weights and a fan bike. There is ample room and seating for everyone around the pool deck for lounging in the sun or shade.

Located within the exclusive Mauna Kea Beach Resort, this gated community offers access to the best beaches on the Big Island - Mauna Kea (or Kauna'oa) Beach and Hapuna Beach, as well as two world class golf courses, the Robert Trent Jones Sr designed Mauna Kea Golf Course and the Hapuna Prince Golf Course through The Club at Mauna Kea privileges. Seaside tennis courts, pool and beach service, incredible snorkelling and boogie boarding, a 2500 square foot fitness center and multiple restaurants are only a minutes walk away. Endless ocean sports and activities are available for your enjoyment.

The crescent shaped, natural sands of the Mauna Kea Beach is consistently ranked one of the best on the island and in the world. Public access to the beach is limited to 30 cars and the spots fill up by 8 AM daily! While you relax in our White House by the Sea, access to this incredible beach is all yours, any time of the day or night.

Enjoy Sunday Brunch, weekly luau's, spa services, yoga and fitness classes or Manta Ray viewing at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. Tour the Big Island from the perfect location, either by car, helicopter or boat or just relax on your lanai and enjoy the serene ocean views from this premier island residence.

Whether traveling as a family with children or on an adults-only getaway, this Hawaiian retreat offers all the space, privacy, views and amenities you'll need to kick back and relax or entertain in style. The Kohala Coast enjoys some of the best weather in the world with average temperature in the 80's and less than 8 inches of rainfall annually. All only 30 minutes north of the Kona Airport.

Why be stuck in a hotel room for hundreds of dollars a night when you can enjoy all the pleasures of your own Hawaiian home? The money you will save on food alone will astound you! Let the expansive interior and outdoor spaces of our home offer you an unforgettable Hawaiian vacation experience. Stay a week, stay a month, our Hale Ke'oke'o at Mauna Kea will be a dream come true for you as it was for us....

No smoking and no pets please!

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of five from Calgary, Alberta, Canada that has vacationed in the Hawaiian Islands for many years. It is our dream come true to own a small piece of paradise and a privilege to share it with others. The property was built in 1993, the year we were married and vacationed on the Big Island. We are thrilled that fate has allowed us to acquire this amazing property as we celebrate our 20th Anniversary in 2013.

Shannon Low purchased this house in 2013

Mr. Rockefeller, who developed the area in the 1960's, said it best: 'A great beach deserves a great hotel'. The Mauna Kea Resort and Beach are hands down the best on the Big Island. Perfect sand, ocean views and manicured tropical landscaping make this location absolutely stunning. You will never want to leave!

Access to the exclusive Mauna Kea Beach, which is limited to the public, and the enjoyment of the many amenities of the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel make our home the perfect pairing of private retreat and resort living. The home boasts an excellent balance of modern sophistication and Balinese living to perfectly capture the spirit of the islands. Beautiful wood and marble flooring with custom-cove wood ceilings adding to the luxurious furnishings. The multiple outdoor spaces and expansive views of ocean, Maui, mountain and golf course make this property truly spectacular. Secluded a notable distance from the highway, the property is quiet and peaceful. Driving into your expansive port-cochere and entering the formal yet inviting entryway, you will be welcomed by the warm island breezes and soothed by the always sunny Kohala weather. Sublime.

Below is a short list of the many awards given to the Resort:

*World's Best Awards, Travel + Leisure, Top Resorts in Hawaii, July 2013

*Best in Market, Forbes Travel Guide, July 2013

*Best Luxury Hotel/Resort, Hawaii Magazine, Readers Choice Awards, May 2013

*World's Best Hotels, Travel + Leisure, T+L Top 500 List, 2013

*Readers' Choice Award, Hawaii Magazine, December 2012

*Reader's Choice Awards, American Registry, Top 50 Resort, August 2012

*World's Best Hotels, Travel+Leisure, 2012

*Best Hotels on Big Island #2, Best Hotels in Hawaii *#12, US News and World Report, January 2012

Top 500 World's Best Hotels, Hawaii, Travel + Leisure, January 2012

*Top 20 Hawaii Resorts, Best in the World, Conde Nast Traveler, November 2011

10 Reviews of Property 465851 in Mauna Kea, Hawaii

Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful Stay at Mauna Kea, Hale Ke'oke'o - White House - By The Sea.

Wonderful Stay at Mauna Kea, Hale Ke'oke'o - White House - By The Sea.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed at this property for 9 days in Nov/Dec 2013. We stayed there with some friends and 5 kids between the two couples. We had an amazing time. The place was beautiful and in immaculate condition. It is actually nicer in person than on the pictures, which is hard to believe! Although, the place only had 3 bedrooms in the main house, there was plenty of room for all of us and lots of room for the kids to run around. The gourmet kitchen was great and so spacious for all of us. The lanai off the dining area was perfect and we ate every meal outside. It was so nice to sit out there and listen to the birds singing and just enjoy the peacefulness of the area. The location was also really good and allowed us to explore both the central and northern part of the island. It was also close to so many different beaches which we went to everyday. The Mauna Lea beach was definitely one of the nicest and to be able to make use of the resort services came in really handy. The Concierge service was great and Lisette was so helpful. She helped us make numerous reservations (ziplining and swimming with dolphins) and made sure that we had everything that we needed. This house was so well equipped and had everything we needed to make our Big Island visit memorable. The owners of the place were fantastic at corresponding with us prior to and after our visit and provided a really good visitors guide/binder upon arrival. I would highly recommend this property to anyone that is looking for an amazing property, in a beautiful setting (right on the golf course and really close to the ocean).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the glowing review of our White House by the Sea!
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Tucson,Az
5

Everything you can possibly hope for and MORE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at The Whitehouse for 8 days in January with 2 other couples. We were met by the agent who walked us through the house & gave us information about everything we needed to know. We were immediately impressed! She was lovely and the house was even more spectacular than it's photos! The house is completely stocked, there truly is nothing missing.....even soap, Kleenex, shampoo, conditioner, sunblock, skin moisturizer!! The kitchen is equipped with every necessity plus more! Condiments and spices made cooking easy as did the top shelf appliances. We were so fortunate to have been able to spend time at this lovely property and to have dealt with such responsive and kind owners and ,of course, being able to use the facilities at the world famous Mauna Kea Beach Hotel added to our fantastic stay. Five stars don't seem enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, I am overwhelmed. As always, I am thrilled that your vacation at the White House was superb!!! Thank you for the great feedback on the amenities provided - it's wonderful to know that they're appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We rented this house for our annual New Years Hawai'i trip. We could not have picked a more beautiful place to stay. The house is absolutely breath taking as well as being well maintained and equipped. We were fortunate to get married on Mauna Kea beach during our stay and it was great to be able to stay within the resort. We loved it so much we have already reserved two weeks for our next New Years trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You got MARRIED!?!!! Congratulations!!! That is absolutely wonderful and I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed our home and the Mauna Kea resort. What a marvellous backdrop for a wedding. You should have told me so that I could have arranged for a wedding gift!! Mahalo for booking your next Big Island New Year's trip at the White House by the Sea!! I can still make amends with a 1st Anniversary gift…..
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

Best Vacation Stay Ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I organized a trip with 4 of my best friends for 10 days on the Big Island for a "milestone" birthday. When I found The White House, I knew it was the one for us. I was not proven wrong!! I have never stayed in such a beautiful, welcoming, well-appointed home. Shannon thought of everything. We shared meals in the beautiful kitchen, cocktails on the sunset deck and enjoyed movies and shared playlists on the state of the art media center. Memories were made that will last a lifetime. I cannot recommend this property highly enough! The pride that Shannon and Corey take in this home is evidenced in every square foot. The photos very accurately depict the beauty of the house and grounds. Looking at them again today made me a little sad....I wish I was there right now!!! Thank you Shannon, I hope to return soon. All the best to you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for those kind words!!!!! I really appreciate hearing that the details we have looked after were noticed and enjoyed. Moreover, I am just so pleased that your vacation at the White House by the Sea was so amazing. I certainly hope to host you again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Alberta, Canada
5

10/10 first class vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thanks Shannon for our week at your fantastic house!
If you are thinking of booking here, you don't have to worry it is every bit as good as advertised. Everything you need to have a great day at the beach is provided and it is all first class stuff. Chairs, umbrellas boogie boards its all there. World class golf next door, and a beach 2 minutes away, the location can't be beat. Best weather on the island, didn't see a cloud the whole week until we drove to Hilo.
Just read the other reviews, they say it all, just unpack, grab a cold drink and relax in paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We have worked very hard to create an experience for our guests that is first class, with all the amenities they would need to relax and enjoy the Big Island! I'm so glad you had a wonderful time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Calgary, Alberta
5

The Perfect home for Rest and Relaxation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A lovely and spacious home within a short walking distance to one of the best beaches on the island. Very well appointed home that even included water toys for the kids. Home owners and their island rep. were very helpful and accomodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear! The Kauna'oa beach at Mauna Kea is the reason we love to vacation on the Big Island. I"m thrilled that you had everything you needed. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the White House by the Sea!
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
USA/Japan
5

Mauna Kea is the Best of the Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a really great vacation last week at your White House. Your house was absolutely beautiful, more than perfect and beyond all our needs hence our vacation was full of delights with our families. We had a chance to visit other resorts but all our family members agreed that Mauna Kea is the best of the best. We enjoyed the beach, swimming pool and Manta restaurant very much as well. We just wanted to say thank you for the beautiful White House. We hope we come back next summer! Thank you once again and we appreciate your hospitality at the house.
Owner's Response: So happy that you enjoyed our White House by the Sea! We are fortunate to have the amazing Mauna Kea Resort as the backdrop to our Big Island Paradise! I would be honoured to host you all again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

ULTIMATE HAWAIIAN VACATION...BEYOND OUR DREAMS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have just returned from the best vacation of our lives...and Hale Ke'oke'o - White House - By The Sea...was everything pictured and more - A STUNNING VACATION HOME (MORE THAN 5 STARS)! This vacation home exceeded all of our expectations and more. We stayed with our adult children (26 & 30) their significants, and a family friend. This house was perfect for us. Each of us had private space, but most important, we had more fun as a family than ever. Thank you for your hospitality, and attention to every detail!

Many days started with time at Mauna Kea Beach, which we quickly discovered is one of the best the Big Island has to offer. We truly enjoyed the perfect location for exploring all the Big Island has to offer, from Volcano National Park hiking, Rainbow Falls and Akaka Falls, Kiholo Bay (a special secluded black-sand-beach just minutes away), our helicopter tour, to a Mauna Kea summit hike. Each day was topped off by everyone gathering in the kitchen and on the FABULOUS patio, talking about our adventures, laughing and making memories that will last forever.

There was absolutely nothing that we thought of or could have wanted that wasn't in the house. This house has everything in your own home...and much more. The pictures don't do it justice, because without a full house, you can't experience sitting on the patio or around the kitchen with your kids, talking and laughing. This is the perfect location for us, and I am certain that everyone who stays here will experience the gracious hospitality of the owners (Low Family), the meticulous and friendly attention of the manager (Lisette), and an absolutely wonderful vacation! Mahalo!

Over Paris, London, Italy, or Spain...we can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We have worked very hard to create an amazing vacation experience for our guests - stunning home fully appointed for our guests use, meticulous property management and a world class resort and beach! Mahalo!!! I'm thrilled that your family had an awesome vacation - truly one of life's treasured memories.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

Had an Awesome Trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I wanted to say a final thank you. We had an awesome trip and the effort you put into preparing your beautiful home for visitors was very apparent.

We always felt at home and had everything we needed for a fantastic vacation. We loved the beach accessories and made use of them as we spent most mornings at the Mauna Kea beach. We also used your tips on what to do ( farmers market, hawi, chartered snorkel boat in kawaihai). If you haven't done it you should flume the kohala irrigation ditch.

Finally the kitchen was amazing as we cooked most evenings and had everything we needed. Thanks again and all the best.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fairways North, Private Home with Guesthouse and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465851vb
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Francisco, California
5

Stunning Property in Amazing Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your beautiful property in Mauna Kea - reality is even better than the amazing pictures shown here! Truly a spectacular home, lots of room for us to settle in and relax, in a world class resort! Favourite activity was relaxing on the upper deck and enjoying the ocean and mountain views! Thank you again for your attention to detail and the warm concierge welcome. We will definitely be coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4