Hawi apartment rental - Living room with heirloom koa furniture viewed from the study
Living room with heirloom koa furniture viewed from the study
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hawi Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 816 Sf, One Bedroom, Bath, Living Room, Study, Kitchen & 34 Ft Veranda.

Lei O Kohala is located in historic North Kohala, in the ancient ahupua'a division of Puuepa. Surrounded by several na pu'u (volcanic cinder cones), the hillside setting has unobstructed views of Haleakala, Maui across the Alenuihaha Channel. Bordering Parker Ranch on the west, the south and east sides are also undeveloped, giving the vacation rental seclusion and privacy. Puuepa is the site of the ancient Mo'okini Heiau (temple) whose origins date back 1,500 years ago to the first human migration from the Marquesas. Puuepa is also the birthplace of King Kamehameha the Great who conquered and unified the Hawaiian Islands. Decades later, St. Damien became the pastor of Hawi Sacred Heart Catholic Church before taking on his destined work of charity at the Kalaupapa Leper Colony on Molokai. Lei O Kohala is located near the old sugar plantation town of Hawi with its many shops, galleries and restaurants. 2 miles further, quaint Kapaau town is the site of the original statue of King Kamehameha. Continuing on the Akoni Pule Highway, you will end at the outlook overlooking breathtakingly beautiful and inspiring Pololu Valley. To the south of Lei O Kohala Vacation Rental, world class white and black sand beaches are as near as a short 20 minute drive. Up country Kamuela is located 30 minutes away. Kona International Airport is located 50 minutes away.

Enjoy your morning complimentary Kona blend coffee on the veranda while as many as 20 species of birds greet you with their songs. Sip your favorite wine on the terrace under the venerable whispering ironwood trees. Don’t be surprised if the curious Parker Ranch cattle come right up to the fence and stare at you! Or if the wild tom turkey leads his flock across the open pasture. Lei O Kohala is located where the rainy part of North Kohala ends, and the arid landscape begins. This climate transition frequently gives birth to incredibly gorgeous rainbows! And blessed are those late afternoons as the setting sun paints the sky with hues of gold, pink, orange and red. On a clear new moon night, step outside, look up and marvel at nature’s incomparable grand display of the Milky Way spreading across the star lit sky. Lei O Kohala is a place of beauty, peace and inspiration.

The guest suite is a spacious 816 sf, one bedroom, one bath, living room, study with full kitchen. It is a totally separate unit with its own private entrance. It is so self-contained that you wouldn't think the guest suite was part of the main house. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a bay window dining area. Step through the double French doors and relax on the 34 feet veranda with views of the ocean and Maui. The living room is furnished with heirloom heritage koa furniture and a pune’e (day bed) for lounging. The bedroom is appointed with a luxury Stearns & Foster pillow top queen bed and accented with Hawaiian design quilted pillows. Need internet connectivity? Sit at the Tommy Bahama desk in the study and connect to the free wi-fi or hard wire. 40” flat screen TV. Full range 2.1 speaker system to plug into your iPod. Choice Hawaiian CDs are available for your listening pleasure as are a cooler, beach towels, mats and sand chairs for your beach outings.

Since its recent start up in April 2013, Kohala Guest Suite has received wonderful guest reviews, all with 5 star ratings. Come, stay at Kohala Guest Suite and experience the Hawaiian Hospitality as it is meant to be!

More Details
Hide Details

Your host, Mel, was born and raised in North Kohala. As a vacation rental operator in North Kohala, he is one of an elite few who can make that claim. He learned the heart of hospitality from his parents who immigrated from the Philippines. Later he learned the business of hospitality at Cornell University. After a lifelong hotel career which took him to San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego, Puerto Rico, Boston, Anchorage, Kauai and Hawaii Island, Mel returns to the essence of hospitality as originally learned from his parents . . . giving from the heart.

After living in many parts of the country, Mel chose to return to his birthplace. It’s often spoken that one chooses to go to Kohala; Kohala is a destination. Unlike other locales, Kohala is set apart from the Mamalahoa Highway which encircles Hawaii Island. The isolated nothern geographical location and its warm residents give Kohala its unique sense of community unlike any other.

Lei O Kohala is about our ancestors, the melding of cultures, and the sacredness of the land. It’s about how we love and respect those around us and the environment we live in. Mel embraces these spiritual ideals and wants his guests to experience the Art of Hospitality in the old Hawaiian style and grace. He carefully crafted Lei O Kohala Vacation Rental so his guests will feel the peace, serenity and love from this special place in Puuepa.

17 Reviews of Property 465156 in Hawi, Hawaii

Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
Ucluelet, British Columbia
5

Hawaiin Hospitality at its Best.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Where to begin? So many good things to say! Mel our host is one of the nicest hosts ever. Very genuine and caring - makes sure you have everything you need. The suite is comfortable with a wonderfully comfortable bed, kitchen is nice as we like to eat in. A supply of coffee to get you started and the bonus of a hot breakfast delivered most mornings, when Mel is available. We had breakfast 8 out of 10 mornings. Not part of the rental but a nice little extra gift. The lanai overlooking the sea is where we spent many hours with morning coffee and a late afternoon glass of wine. The view is everchanging, with Haleakala on Maui visible some of the time. Amazing. This rental is 2 miles from the little town of Hawi, with some lovely galleries and restaurants. Very friendly little town. There are some amazing beaches within 20 min. drive, our favorite was Waimea Beach (or sometimes called 69) beach. Good snorkelling and lots of shady trees. Also famous Hapuna Beach. Poluli Valley with black sand beach is 10 miles up the road and worth a hike down. I could go on forever, but you should consider this rental when exploring the North of the Big Island. We will come back! All the reviews are accurate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My young daughter and I had a wonderful time at this property. The owner was very nice and his breakfasts are the best thing we ate during our entire trip. Nice views of the ocean. Very quiet. Nice bird watching. I would recommend to anyone looking for the exact opposite of a large resort.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Peaceful Kohala

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The pictures are property . The location is good for seeing the north side if the island. The owner was pleasant and helpful. he cooked us wonderful breakfasts each morning. I would recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

comfy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
comfy - the bird life is wonderful
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5

Everything we expected and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at this property for 13 nights recently, on our 5th trip to the Big Island. In the past, we stayed at Kailua-Kona and Captain Cook.

The property itself is spacious, clean, quiet, and has a very nice view from the long veranda to the ocean and across to Maui. The pictures on the site are accurate. The property is well back from the road, with virtually no traffic noise. The kitchen is adequate, with a good "dinette" area. The living room/study area is large and nicely proportioned. The bedroom and bathroom are is fine. Internet access and television services are fine. Free local and mainland phone service is available.

In our prior visits, we "saw the sights" on the Island. This property would not be that good for that, due to the long driving distances. But for a stay once you've done that, it is ideal.

Hawi Town is 5 minutes away, with nice shops, restaraunts and conveniences. Waimea is a beautiful 30 minute drive over Kohola Mountain. Its facilities are a step or two up from those you'll find in Hawi itself - which is not a "knock" on Hawi, as we found the facilites and people 100% A-OK. This property is closer to the better beaches on the Big Island that Kailea-Kona. Our driving times to them ranged from 25 to 35 minutes. Also, we took a very satisfacotry 5+ hour snorkle/dive trip (two stops) and whale watching excursion from the little port community about 20 minutes from Hawi. Beach chairs, mats, a cooler, towels and boogie boards are provided.

The property is part of Mel's house, which is a blessing in disguise. He is is a wonderful man - witty, friendly, well-educated, and not intruding whatsoever on one's stay. He brought us wonderful breakfasts on about half of the mornings (the other days he was away) and changed the linens and cleaned the unit twice (those things - catered breakfast, linen changes, and cleaning unheard of in our VRBO experiences).

Rating this property a "5" doesn't do Mel justice - he's a "10+". When we return again, it will be to Hawi and, Mel willing, his home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Peaceful location, excellent host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I stayed for 1 week, for business and pleasure. The home was well-maintained, very clean, and the host exceedingly gracious and thoughtful. An unexpected, and much appreciated, surprise was the delicious and creative breakfasts our host brought over every morning. What a great start to each day. We felt very pampered!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
4

Hidden Hideaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We needed a couple days to relax and re-connect and this was perfect. No cell service but does have internet. Bed was very comfortable, Bath dated but clean and functional as was the LR and kitchen. Lanai to start and end the day was perfect - even during rain under the wide eaves - with a lovely ocean view. The bonus was the delicious homemade breakfasts our host delivered to our door. We enjoyed the shopping and dining in Hawi (especially Bamboo) and "Paniolo" country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

As advertised, and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a bargain this place is! Pictures are accurate. The bed is really comfortable. Lots of books on the shelves; my boyfriend especially liked the Hawaiian dictionary! I loved the porch and watching the sunsets with a glass of wine, and morning coffee watching the geckos cavort on the Bird of Paradise shrubs in front. Vacation photos don't get much more colorful than a gecko sipping nectar from a Bird of Paradise blossom. Mel, the owner, is the sweetest guy. Directions to the place were easy to follow. He greeted us warmly, then informed us he would be making breakfast for us every morning. It was great! Just intercom him, and breakfast is hot and ready in less than 15 minutes. The home just has a good vibe about it that I really liked. And, woo-hoo! Good water pressure in the shower! Secluded, but not too much so. 10 minute drive to the best beaches on the island, AND the home is equipped with beach chairs, boogie boards, BIG beach towels, and a small cooler. Ice trays in the freezer so you don't have to buy ice. That reminds me, it was SO NICE to open the refrigerator and find it stocked with bottled waters and cans of fruit nectars. There is a dive shop at the harbor that rents snorkel gear, they stock prescription lens dive masks, and prices are reasonable. I would definitely stay here again, and am recommending to friends who are planning a Hawaiian vacation to do likewise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Amazing Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My Fiance and myself, stayed Sept. 15-18. Mel was an amazing host, he even offers breakfast in the mornings. The property was very clean and spacious, will defiantly return and recommend to friends. For the value, you its a bargain, trust me we stayed in many rental properties in Hawaii and Mel's by far ranks #1 on our list! the listing was very accurate as per description on site, the photos are very accurate as property appearance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kohala Guest Suite . . . Secluded & Private! Panoramic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465156vbi
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Spiritual Journey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed our stay. It's a beautiful area and the view of Maui is spectacular. Looking forward to our next visit and staying at Lei O Kohala. Hawi has some small shops and cafés that offer local art and wonderfully fresh food. The resorts and beaches of Kohala and Kona are not far. Just an hour to airport and Costco is on the way to Kailua Kona.you are also about 1 1/2 hours from Hilo. Each side of Hawaii has many different things to offer. The location is midway so access works well what ever your plans for the day happen to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2