Parrottsville house rental - A view of Meadow creek mountain (in the distance) on the way to the home
A view of Meadow creek mountain (in the distance) on the way to the home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Parrottsville House Rental Photos and Description
CABIN / HOME on the mountain, with Forest, Wildlife And Mountain Views

Are you ready for rest and relaxation in the quiet mountains?

If your response is 'yes'; try this home located in the Cocke County Smoky Mountains--which is located 1/2 mile from the Cherokee National Forest away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Excellent home for multi-family, retreats, reunion, or any large group get together as well as smaller groups.

If you want to get away from it all to a place that is surrounded by nature, this is your place!

A large home nestled on Meadow Creek Mountain with a northern view towards Clinch Mountain. This is a spacious home that can accommodate from a couple to many people. This home was remodeled early in 2013 particularly on the lower level where the kitchen, dining and living room resides.

There are 4 bedrooms, a large living room, kitchen and dining room and completing the living room is a gas fireplace. Included is high speed wireless satellite internet, telephone and us long distance and satellite television.

For your added enjoyment of the outdoors. There are 3 decks one facing the national forest which is up the mountain, one facing north and one facing east with seating provided as well with a gas grill to cook and eat outdoors.

There is a campfire pit to enjoy a fire, roast marshmallows, roast hot dogs, or just relax by the fire.

There is plenty to do outside including hiking, nature watching, motorcycling, horseback riding, or and just riding in your vehicle an viewing the mountain scenery.

Nearby is zip lining, white water rafting, guided fishing tours, mountain biking, Blue Ridge parkway, shopping, sightseeing.

There are many attractions of which we are located centrally to visit including Dollywood, splash country of Pigeon Forge, Hot springs spa in North Carolina, Andrew Johnson historic museum in Greeneville, Newport, and Asheville, NC most within 45 minutes to an hour drive.

This home offers a peaceful getaway from the hustle and bustle of the tourist attractions. Go and enjoy the attractions for the day and return to a peaceful, relaxing country home.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a native of Jacksonville, Florida and lived and grew up there in the country until I was 36 and moved to Rome, Georgia which was hilly, but not the mountains. I moved to my home now Parrottsville, TN in 2002 just up the road from from the vacation home that is further up the mountain. I love the country and the mountains. I worked accounting for 31 years and since moving to Tennessee I have mostly worked carpentry, staining and painting. Thus, I purchased this house and have refurbished the lower level which encompasses the kitchen, dining room, living room and one bath. I have tried to make the level somewhat rustic and to have the feel of a cabin. I love the curvy roads to ride my motorcycle, the gravel roads and forest to ride a horse, and most of all I love the country lifestyle leaving the traffic and hustle and bustle of city life.

Loretta Carns purchased this house in 2013

I love this area and the people. I love the convenience to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Johnson City, Hot Springs, NC and Asheville, NC. There are 4 seasons here. There are views that have differences between daytime and nighttime views which also change with the seasons. I hope you will love the mountains too.

For people who live a hectic lifestyle this is THE getaway from it all. The cabin / house is nestled in the woods with few neighbors. You might enjoy a wooded morning or evening walk, or just to sit on the deck and enjoy the scenery, or by the campfire. Bring your motorcycle and enjoy the country roads and scenery through the mountains. Bring your horses and ride the trails in and around the national forest. This cabin / house is away from it all. Most of all there is quiet for reflection, enjoyment and peace for the soul.

8 Reviews of Property 464578 in Parrottsville, Tennessee

MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
5

4 families under one roof!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our siblings get together at this great facility. There were 12 of us total, plus a dog, and we didn't feel crowded once. The owner has wonderful amenities for the kids, a well-equipped kitchen and a clean and up-to-date interior. Everything was superb! The drive getting there was quite the adventure, especially coming in after dark - but it's well worth the seclusion and peaceful atmosphere!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Louisiana
5

Immaculately Clean Perfect Peaceful Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was my 6th rental through VRBO and by far the best experience! The WONDERFUL owner gave us personalized service by asking what our interests were and then leaving us "local" info on the counter. Nothing like the recommendation of a local. While there, we locked ourselves out of the house. But we had our cell phone with the owners number stored and she showed up in 5 minutes to let us back in!
This house was impeccablely clean!!! It was so comforting to be greeted by such an IMMACULATELY CLEAN and WELCOMING environment - I felt immediately at home! And speaking of home, the owner has stocked this place with all the comforts of home - movies, books and magazines, spice cabinet, condiments in the fridge, firewood, kids room with toys and high chair, small supply of laundry supplies, two coffee pots (1 upstairs and 1 downstairs).
The drive in and around this place has amazing mountain views so try to keep your eyes on the road.
The owner's description of the house and its location are very accurate. The house is VERY spacious so that it can accommodate a large group or just give a smaller group a lot of privacy. It is located outside of the hustle and bustle of the tourist trap of the Smokies, but close enough to enjoy a 45 minute to an hour scenic drive to spend the day in downtown Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. After being in the peace and tranquility of the Cherokee National Forest for 4 days, one afternoon in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge was enough for us. We couldn't wait to get back to the rental. We ate at a few of the local estblishments and went shopping in nearby Newport. The locals were so nice every where we went! After 7 days of staying in this piece of paradise it was very difficult to return home to the rat race. If you are looking for true rest and relaxation in a quiet woodsy environment, look no further! After vactioning in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge/Sevierville area for over 15 years we have found our go to spot in the Smokies!
(It should be noted for those who can not climb stairs that all the bedrooms are upstairs. However, there is plenty of room in the downstairs living room to put a cot/air mattress (out of the way), and there is a full bath downstairs.)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Burlington, VT
5

Our Best Sibling Reunion: The Best Vacation Home EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our rental in this “luxury” cabin started on 7/28/13 for a week long family reunion of 5 siblings and their spouses. There were no children who had to be entertained 24/7 so we took advantage of what this cabin and location had to offer. The description of the cabin on VRBO is good, but it doesn’t give a sense of the privacy and beauty of the location and home. Once you top the driveway, you’ll see a beautifully mowed lawn surrounding the house, making the location seem like parkland. There are lots of trees for privacy. The “Sibs” can get pretty loud during a reunion but with all the privacy, we didn’t worry about bothering anyone.

The house is huge with many areas where one can have a one-on-one conversation with a sibling. There’s also plenty of room for the full group to get together like in the kitchen and living room areas, outside on the decks, or around the fire pit.

The bedrooms are spacious and nicely decorated. There are futons available in the sitting areas of the upstairs level that can be used as beds or as areas for quiet visits.

The bathrooms are full baths with one having a Jacuzzi. This Jacuzzi was immaculate with no greasy film anywhere on the tub or jets (very unusual). Of course the other bathrooms were spotless! Our group was thrilled to have three full baths available with plenty of towels!

The kitchen is downstairs and is huge. There are two dining tables/chairs, and a bar/ bar stools (the bar was a great place to sit and visit with the sibling who had cooking duty) so we could sit and eat as a family. We didn’t watch TV, but there’s a huge flat screen TV in the living room, (near the kitchen) and other TVs in the bedrooms.

The wireless Internet was fantastic (worked perfectly). The free long distance was great. In some mountainous areas cell phone coverage can be sporadic, but free long distance kept us from being out of touch if we couldn’t get a signal.

We had no problem driving the mountain roads and ventured out quite often. The main road is paved with the road leading to the house nicely graveled. We visited Greeneville (interesting town), and most of the tourist spots in Gatlinburg. Everyone loved the Bush Bean Museum and Restaurant in Chestnut Hills.

This home is the cleanest and most well-maintained vacation rental! The owners are great to work with and offered such great customer service! They met us when we arrived which was a nice touch. We have such great memories of our visit! Believe me, we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
4

Great Place, Beautiful Views, Rough Terrain, 30 Minutes from Nearest Town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent six days at the White Lightnen Hideaway with 12 people (6 adults, 6 kids ages 1-12) and had a great experience! We chose this place because it was the best price we could find and the only one available near Gatlinburg at such a short notice. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how large and spacious it was--large master bedroom and a large, 4-car garage! The owner was very helpful and accommodating, giving us one day free and even getting a pack-n-play and high chair for us.

The drive to the house from the nearest decent-sized town (Newport--yes, it has a Wal-Mart and a great city park) is 30 minutes. The drive is beautiful with frequent sightings of deer, turkeys, and rabbits, but got disheartening when driving 1 hr. 15 min. to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, or Sevierville. And the driveway is very steep! Definitely would need a 4 x 4 in the winter.

Our activities included hiking the Appalachian Trail in Hot Springs, NC, going to Wild Bear Falls Water Park and Laurel Falls in Gatlinburg, white water rafting in Hartford, TN, picnic in the park in Newport, a movie night in the house, and smores at the campfire. We had a great time as a family!

I would recommend this house, but only to those who plan to stay there most of the time (group or family retreat) or who don't mind driving windy roads and rough terrain multiple times for extended periods of time. We probably drove the same roads 8-10 times there and back, which is fine if you are expecting it.

PROS: nice owner, fully stocked kitchen, wide selection of DVDs, large and spacious master bedroom, great jaccuzzi (not to be confused with a hot tub), great decks, outdoor pet fence partially covered, great gas grill with grilling utensils, great campfire set-up for smores, wild blackberries (great on ice cream), good hiking nearby.

CONS: lots of bugs outside (mosquitos, gnats, etc.), rained a lot (2-3 times a day in the summer), not much to do outdoors besides walking on gravel road, long way from nearest attractions.

In summary, great house, it's just a bit out in the boondocks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and the kind words. My home is excellent for small or large groups…the price is right and there is plenty of rooms; one doesn’t get the feeling of being crowded. Until we received this reservation, I hadn’t thought of the need for a high chair or pack-n-play. Of course parents coming with small children need a highchair, I am glad that we were able to accommodate by purchasing these items!
I would like to give my thoughts regarding a couple of things mentioned in the review. One is that my home is out in the boondocks. Some “luxury” rentals in the area have homes almost on top of each other. The homes are closer to the tourist attractions, but the down-side is lots of people, bumper-to-bumper traffic and noise. Guests have no privacy, must monitor “noise pollution,” and have a limited amount of parking for their vehicles (of course none of these are issues at my home). If someone actually desires this type of “close and personal” environment then my home would not fulfill their needs.

My home is in an area has all that nature has to offer. Guests can plan trips into the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas but then return to a home that offers room for fun in a peaceful, private environment. Parking is not a problem (you mentioned my 4-car garage) and worrying about “noise pollution” is never an issue. This home offers the best of both worlds…guests can drive to an area of “life in the fast lane” and then return to a home that offers peace and quiet, plus privacy. Some may take issue with a 30-minute (beautiful) drive to town, but there is a trade-off with having stores nearby and that includes lots of people, noise and traffic.
The review mentioned the rough terrain, windy roads and the steep driveway leading to my home. The roads to many of the “luxury” homes in nearby tourist areas are very rough, steep, and windy. This creates all kinds of traffic problems during the summer season as there are so many homes in one place and lots of people staying at those homes. Customers staying in those areas have complained in reviews that they were not aware that the roads would be windy, steep or narrow. I’ve thought that perhaps owners make an assumption that since guests are coming to a mountainous area, they would know the roads would be steep and windy. I try to be up-front about the roads as I don’t want my guests to be surprised.

Again, I thank you for selecting my home for your vacation and also for your review!
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Westlake, Louisiana
5

Mr

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Last minute vacation rental. The owner was wonderful. Did everything she could to make our stay great. Beautiful home. I would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a quite place to stay with all the luxuries of home.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Fruitland Park FL
5

Happy Camper

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Let me start by saying we had a lot of drama on this trip that had nothing to do with the home owner. She went well out of her way to help us in a difficult situation. The only reason we gave her a five star rating is because it didn't go up to ten. I know that when you rent a house it's usually about the house but the reason I mentioned her first is because I want you to know what comes with this beautiful house and that is an owner who cares about the needs of her guests. Now concerning the house, when I first looked on the Internet I was concerned about the house because it hadn't been rented yet and there was only 3 pictures and they didn't show much. We had the bright idea that we would have a party at the other house we were going to rent because we thought it was better.WRONG! If you are coming to Parrotsville or anywhere close this is your best choice. There are a lot more pictures up and even they don't do it justice. This house is magnificent and it is clearly obvious that she has designed it in such a way that you are lacking for nothing. Super clean and ready to house a large group. I highly recommend this house to everyone and I would absolutely suggest you stay here. If I ever come back to this area I will look up the White Lightnen Hideaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I appreciate your people leaving the house so clean. All of you were good guests.

Good Southern Hospitality is still alive and well, as I hoped my home was everything it could be for guests.

I hope you and your friends will return for a non working vacation in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Tennessee
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented this vacation home for our family reunion. We had 15 people, parents, children & grandchildren. Plenty of room for all of us & our dogs too! We had a great time, the kids loved playing outside and we did not have to worry about the traffic! Very peaceful and quiet, at night we sat out on the large deck and just looked up at the stars, beautiful! We also built a fire outside in the fire pit and roasted marskmellows, the kids loved that! We also drove to Gatlinburg one day, it was fun but it was nice to get out of all that traffic and come back to this home for some quiet. The house was clean, the owner was very helpful and answered all our questions. I would highly recommend this place and we will return for another great vacation in the mountains! Can't wait!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
MEADOW CREEK MOUNTAIN CABIN / HOME - **PET FRIENDLY**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464578vb
4236234858
Parrottsville Tennessee
Greensboro, NC
5

Excellent Cabin in the Mountains!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My extended family of 7 adults and 5 children stayed here for 5 days and loved it. This is by far the best experience we have had on a vacation. The house is spacious, clean and has a nice view! We enjoyed hiking the mountains, exploring the nearby areas and even enjoyed meeting some of the neighbors, who were very friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi tub was very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing and activities. A great " home base" for exploring other nearby areas of Tennessee. We highly recommend this cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2