Keaau cabin rental - Enchanting Rainforest Hideaway on 2 private acres with no one else around.
Enchanting Rainforest Hideaway on 2 private acres with no one else around.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Keaau Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Spacious, Well Equipped Cabin

Enchanting Rainforest Hideaway

Beautiful custom vacation home on 2 private acres in a rainforest setting all for yourself with no one else around.

The house is romantic, peaceful and clean. Perfect for honeymooners, personal retreat, Eco travelers, yogis, adventurers, or anyone who just wants to get away from it all, but still be close enough to all that the Big Island has to offer.

We are centrally located in Puna, 15 miles south of Hilo, a few miles outside of the quaint town of Pahoa with all its restaurants and shops. Spend your days exploring the near by warm ponds, black sand beach, snorkeling, hiking, restaurants, waterfalls, Volcanoes National Park, current lava flows, Mauna Kea summit, museums, and much more.

You can relax on the over sized bamboo furniture in the large screened-in living room and hear the songs of the rainforests' birds and frogs as you look out onto the lush jungle landscape..

The bedroom has a comfortable queen size Sealy posture pedic mattress. High thread count organic linens are provided for your comfort. Hand crafted, custom double doors lead out onto the lanai.

The kitchen has a full size refrigerator, stove/oven, custom cabinets and tiles, pots, pans, toaster, coffee maker, blender, plates, glasses, bowls, cutlery, coffee and coffee grinder, tea, condiments and spices. Sliding glass doors lead out onto the lanai.

There's a phone, internet, washer/dryer, outdoor shower, BBQ, boogie board, snorkel gear, tent, guidebooks and other thoughtfully provided special touches to make your stay very comfortable and relaxing.

The art nouveau inspired bathroom features an antique clawfoot bathtub and a pedestal sink. Fluffy towels and bubbles are provided.

Drive onto the property and experience the enchanting elegance of the lush Hawaiian garden filled with exotic tropical plants, flowers, palms and bamboo. Very private, this your own personal piece of old style Hawaiian paradise. There is a small orchard and guests are welcome to enjoy the harvest when in season.

This house inspires relaxation, come join us for the vacation you deserve.

From $98.00 per night, $650 per week, $2,500 per month, depending on season, double occupancy, plus a $75.00 cleaning fee. 14% Hawaiian Transient Acommadation Tax is additional. Extra person $15 per night up to 4 people (children/ babies traveling with guests are considered additional occupants). Extra (air) bed and bedding available. Smoking permitted outside only. ****some terms do change for stays of 31 days or longer****

More Details
Hide Details

Fun loving couple, semi retired from the entertainment business, now living in the jungles of east Hawaii. World travelers, we spend most our days organic farming and building our rammed earth house. We live up the road from the Rainforest Hideaway on a separate property. Our friendly and well behaved dogs, Jackson and Frankie, often join us to greet our guests upon arrival. Andrew, originally from Australia, designs and builds custom homes and is a FEO Officer and tanker driver for the local Volunteer Fire Department. Connie is a wardrobe stylist and yoga instructor at a local yoga center.

Connie and Andrew purchased this cabin in 2008

The Enchanting Rainforest Hideaway is a unique and very private property. Located in a rare old growth jungle/rainforest area of Puna with many native and exotic plants and trees, yet still just a mile from the highway, 200 ft. off a paved road. (unpaved road is maintained and fine for rental cars) The perfect location to get away from it all but still be close enough to all the sights, restaurants and activites. Many other places you share the house or property with others. This is 2 acres all to yourself, beautifully landscaped with many extra touches to make your stay more relaxing and enjoyable.

Hawaii Island, aka the Big Island, was ranked number 7 as the World's Best Island destinations in Travel and Leisure magazine, Winter 2012. Come explore one of the planets' most beautiful islands for yourself.

14 Reviews of Property 464448 in Keaau, Hawaii

Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Anchorage AK
5

Beauty and complete privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The web description is true, with no overstatement !
This place is unbelievable, in the rain forest (yes, it does rain!).
Nicely furnished. The garden is magnificent. Complete privacy.
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
As advertised, pleasant stay, cute and nice home. Connie met us with the keys, provided instruction for the internet, and we didn't have any issues on our short stay.
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
5

A Retreat in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon; every single aspect was perfect! The property is absolutely beautiful with wonderful details in the d├ęcor throughout. Connie and Andrew were extremely accommodating and easy to work with and we are SO happy we stayed here -just wish it was for a little longer!

Property is close to Hilo, Volcanos National Park and lots of beaches. Connie and Andrew have a number of different guide books and other amenities to help make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Kihei, HI
5

Enchanting Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved staying here, it is by far the cleanest rental we have stayed at and it was so peaceful. We would definitely stay here and again and would highly recommend it to anyone. We both loved falling asleep to the sound of the frogs, taking outdoor showers, having full amenities, plus the added convenience to all the hilo side has to offer. It was just perfect for us. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Berlin
5

Beautiful Hawaii in a Very Magical Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was a very new way to experience Hawaii - this magical little house in the middle of the rainforest.
Imagine, you are sitting in your living room and still have the full camping experience (without the bugs) - here it is possible, because there are no glass windows just fly-screens. I can get quite loud though with the coqui frogs, but for us that just added to the whole jungle feel.
The house is well equipped, and individually decorated. It's a special place that reflects the love and care the owners invested in it - thanks again Connie and Andrew! The shower in the garden is a great place to start the day of wash off the dust and sweat of a long day.
The location is great for exploring this side of the island: You can explore Puna, north of Hilo, Vulcano and the National Park - it's all within one hour drive.
We can recommand the place wholeheartedly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you kind review. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and getting to know you, even tho it ws short. I must make 1 small correction tho. The bedroom does have glass windows and a locking door for security and temperature control. The rest of the house is screened for the full rainforest experience.
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
United States, Southern California
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We just wrapped up three wonderful days here. Secluded yet close to other parts of this bit of heaven on earth. Very clean. Very charming. Well thought out with great amenities. I hope to stay here again in the future. :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you guys for the kind review, you are always welcome back! With aloha and gratitude, C+A
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Alaska
5

Honeymoon in the Rainforest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed at the Enchanting Hideaway and it was fabulous! The hosts are very helpful and friendly, the amenities are awesome, the ambiance is romantic and the jungle effects are charming. This is THE BEST place we looked at on the whole island! A MUST stay if you can get a reservation! JulieAnn
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

5 Stars from this happy guest!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The rainforest hideaway was everything I wanted and then some! Andrew and Connie greeted me and made sure I had everything I needed before leaving me to total privacy. I loved the outdoor shower but couldn't resist the claw foot a few times. Four weeks in the Hideaway was four weeks in paradise! Thanks Condrew! Five stars from this happy guest!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect honeymoon location

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We recently stayed at Connie and Andrew's rainforest cottage for a week on our honeymoon in Hawaii. The pictures do not lie! The house is beautiful and you get to feel outdoors even when you are inside due to the open windows all over. The forest gives great privacy. The outdoor shower is amazing! The hosts are so nice. They can help with tips of places to go, what to see, where to eat and they can provide several great amenities. For example they organized for us to have a private holistic chef make us an outstanding 3-course meal at the house one night. On another night they coordinated for a masseuse to come give us a couples massage at the house. Connie and Andrew are just wonderful. One night we accidently locked ourselves out of the house and they were great about us just rolling up on them in their house to try and get new keys! The town of Pahoa is also cute and charming. There are so many great sites nearby, including the volcano, black sand beaches, lava heated tidepools, and more. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and cant wait to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enchanting Hideaway, 2 Private Acres In The Heart Of The Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464448vbi
808-966-4890
Keaau Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Connnie and Andrew were great hosts

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Connie and Andrew were great hosts and the hideaway was lovely. It definitely felt like we were Hawaii residents for a week. Hilo felt like a real place with real people living real lifes; not just a tourist spot. We ate lots and lots of papaya and explored the local Puna coast. We took in an indie movie and the Pacific Theater in Hilo and drank some awesome Hilo Shark coffee just about every day. We received a detail set of instructions about the cabin that included a list of possible "things to do". We made our way through about 1/3 of the list and are looking forward to coming back to do the rest!
Helpful votes: 1/1