Madrid North apartment rental - San Lorenzo de el Escorial seen from the mountains
San Lorenzo de el Escorial seen from the mountains
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Madrid North Apartment Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom apartment 5 mins walk away from historic town centre & mountain walks

This lovely and well-equipped 3 bedroom apartment boasts 2 terraces from which you can enjoy the beautiful views over the mountain sierra while you dine outside. Its location offers the best of both worlds, as you are only 5 mins walk away from the town centre with all its restaurants, cafes, shops and local amenities; and 5 mins walk away from the woods and mountains. The apartment is on the top floor of a four storey building. There is off-street parking outside the building and the flat is on a quiet residential road. There is no swimming pool as such with the apartment, but there are two great public swimming pools in San Lorenzo de el Escorial: one is the sports' centre with an indoor pool and two outdoor ones (large one and toddler pool), and the other is the one at the golf course. The neighbours are all locals and very welcoming.

9 Reviews of Property 464368 in Madrid North, Spain

Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

Perfectly amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The place was perfectly located with an amazing view of the sunrise over Madrid. The little town is so cute and we really enjoyed walking to the Monestario and strolling in the gardens. Elisabet was very helpful and a pleasure to do business with. Thank you for opening your home, we loved playing Scotland Yard!
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
Netherlands
4

lovely place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed in the apartment with our 3 children (12, 14 and 16). We loved the apartment: It is tastefully furnished, all you need is present, it is clean, has plenty of space and also there is much to see in the area. Madrid is not too far away and easily reached by car. In other words, highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

Beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Continuation of my previous review.

The communication with Elisabet was excellent. She provided plenty of information and a welcome pack of information was available on our arrival with everything we needed to know. Elisabet dealt with all my e-mails quickly and answered any questions I had. She was a pleasure to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

Lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The apartment was lovely and clean but with a homely feel. I don't think there was anything else you could wish for. The balcony was good with a view of the mountains and nice to sit out and have a coffee or meal. We ate in the local restaurants and there were lots to choose from in the square and surrounding streets. These were only a short walk downhill so everything was convenient. The apartment is in a lovely quiet peaceful area. Would recommend to anyone, as it is only a short distance, just over an hour from Madrid and it is a lovely Spanish mountain village with beautiful scenery around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
Houston
5

The Ideal Retreat For Studying Spanish!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this beautiful apartment with my 2 daughters and 2 neices. The mountain views from the apartment are fabulous and so are the mountain hikes! The table on the balcony is ideal for morning coffee or evening tapas. It is a short walk to the beautiful village and to El Escorial. All of the conveniences are right there - a grocery market, pastelerias, restaurants, shops, etc. We especially liked the fact that all the locals are willing to engage in Spanish discussions and were very patient with us (unlike the bigger cities where people switch quickly to English). While plenty of people speak English in this town, the small-town pace allows for time to pursue conversations, not just transactions! The bus station is a short walk, so trips into Madrid were cheap and easy. We also drove to Segovia frequently using the autopista. While we had a car, it would be possible to function completely without one by taking the bus or train from Madrid.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
Verwood, Dorset, England
4

A comfortable and enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We spent a long weekend in the apartment and had a wonderful time. It is tastefully decorated, comfortable and has all that you would need for a holiday. It has a real family 'lived in' feel which makes it very welcoming. It is lovely to have balconies on both sides of the property, and even though staying in January, we were able to sit on the front balcony, enjoying the morning sunshine. Parking was easy and convenient. The apartment is in a good location - on the edge of the town, so quiet, but only a 5 minute walk to the centre. San Lorenzo de El Escorial is a lovely town -fun to wander around, many eating places and ofcourse it has the wonderful monastery which we enjoyed visiting. We also spent a day in Segovia which was easy to drive to. It is a stunning town with amazing architecture; the cathedral is worth a visit, the aqueduct is worth seeing, but for us the castle was the highlight - beautiful stained glass, fascinating relics and wonderful views from the tower. The apartment owners were very helpful, providing a wealth of information and making booking easy. We only wish that we had had longer to explore the area and would definately return to this lovely property. Thank you for making our short break so enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
UK
5

Home from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
If you want to escape the heat and noise of Madrid but don't want to stray too far this is the place for you.

Escorial is a nice place with lots of attractions and bars but it can get busy with daytrippers from Madrid. This apartment is within walking distance of the sites and town centre but is an oasis of calm and relaxation with great views from the "front" balcony. The property is very clean and comfortable and the kitchen suitable for preparing food bought at the local market just minutes away from the apartment. Eating simple fresh foot and drinking good local wine whilst looking out over the town and mountains from the balcony is a memory that will remain forever.

The living room has easy chairs and many books and the bedroom - with direct access to the balcony - is very comfortable. There is also a balcony at the back of the apartment, so you can seek (or avoid) the sun at all times of the day.

The hill up to the apartment and the two flights of stairs (no lift) can take it out of you - but at least you can justify the food and wine intake!
A further advantage is the proximity to the local bus station for direct and frequent transport from Madrid.The owner is extremely helpful and friendly and the arrangements for payment and key collection went without problem.

We spent 4 nights in the apartment in 2009 and have booked to return again in 2010 - this time for a full week.

Do yourself a favour - enjoy the superb atmosphere of Madrid but treat yourself to some time at this lovely apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
4

Peaceful, relaxing getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Even though it is the top flat, and there is a steep incline, if you're fit and healthy then it'll do you good and the views are magnificent - you can even see the monastery. We particularly enjoyed coming back to the peace of the village and sitting on the balcony after a long day in the centre of the busy Madrid.
The neighbours below were very friendly and always willing to help. The local restaurants are pricey but there are a few shops where you can buy basics so you never need to walk too far. The library in the apartment was thoroughly entertaining and kept us occupied. The living room and kitchen are relatively contemporary, whilst the bathroom and the furniture in the bedrooms are of a more original nature.
The property was clean, generally well-maintained and the owner is very hospitable and helpful - customer service gets 10/10.
Moreover, public transport is 10-15 minutes walk away and will literally take you straight to the Metro in the centre of Madrid in about an hour at a very reasonable price. If you do not mind plenty of walking and being an hour away from central Madrid then this apartment is generally ideal. 7/10.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Light and airy apartment with stunning views, in a declared World Heritage town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p464368
+44 01491612924
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

Séjour reposant dans un endroit trés bien situé.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Un appartement bien situé avec vue partielle sur l'Escorial permettant pour quelques jours de visiter des environs trés riches culturellement sans le souci d'une grande ville.
L'escorial est accessible sans souci à pied en 5 minutes, la vallée de los caidos en voiture en 10 minutes, Madrid en 30 minutes par l'autoroute ainsi que Ségovie qui mérite le déplacement.
Les restaurants et commerces sont accessibles à pied et plusieurs supermarchés en voiture en 5 minutes à peine.
Le centre ville est très vivant et le quartier où se situe l'appartement reste trés calme.
Les petits moins : troisième étage sans ascenseur et un micro onde qui serait le bienvenu mais pour le reste, tout le confort nécessaire avec lave vaisselle et lave linge, frigo, congélateur, terrasse confortable. L'Internet, en option, a été un plus pour des recherches rapides et Elisabeth met à disposition une documentation bien fournie pour tout ce qui peut faciliter le séjour (listes diverses pour le déplacement dans la région, les restaurants, les commerces, etc...). Toute la famille recommande donc cette location où on se sent bien intégré et comme chez soi.