Keaukaha condo rental - Come swim with me!
Come swim with me!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Keaukaha Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom 1 Bath (Sleeps 4) Condo Spectacular Ocean, Park, And Mountain View

E Komo Mai (Welcome) to our Hilo oceanfront condo, Hale Honohonu. Everyone knows that every Hawaiian home (hale) has to have a name! 'Hono'( for calm) and honu'( for sea turtle) are Hawaiian words that perfectly describe what you will discover just steps from your vacation hale--wonderfully calm water and tame sea turtles. Hilo is 'old-style' Hawaii. Although you won't find resort glitz and action here, we think you will like the fresh breeze off the ocean and an opportunity to explore Hilo at a leisurely pace.

Our condo is a corner, end unit which has a great view of the ocean and Keaukaha Beach Park/Carl Smith Beach park. On clear days, you can see Mauna Kea and smoke rising from the volcano in the distance. Carl Smith is the home of green sea turtles, very friendly creatures who often swim right up to visitors to say 'Aloha' (just remember that as visitors we respect their space and don't approach them, rather we wait for them to approach us). Our comfortably furnished lanai provides hours of viewing pleasure.

The sandy ocean lagoon is protected from the ocean waves by a natural reef. Spring water bubbles up from the lava formations. As a result, this is one of the Big Island's best snorkeling locations--sea turtles, wrasses and the humuhumunukunukuapua'a fish! Bring your own gear or use our fins and mask to explore this natural wonder. We have it on 'local' authority that the spring water has natural healing properties--believers or not, we always feel great after a swim! The park grounds are quite picturesque with brackish lagoons and open expanses of green grass--perfect for after swim lounging. Picnic ocean-side with our beach towels, chairs, and cooler.

Many visitors underestimate the size of the Big Island, and as a consequence, don't realize that Volcanoes National Park is well over 2 hours drive from Kailua Kona. However, the park is only 30 minutes from Hilo. There is so much to see and do on the East and South side of the island that is often missed in 'just a day trip' to Hilo. Waipio'o Valley, Akaka Falls, Hawaii Tropical Garden at Onomea Bay, Imiloa Planetarium, historic Hilo town, Liliuokalani Park, Coconut Island, Panaewa Zoo, Smithsonian connected Lyman Museum, Kapoho tidal pools(another outstanding snorkeling spot), and Mauna Kea observatories and visitors' center--are all close by.

After a full day of snorkeling or exploring the East and South side of the Big Island, settle into your comfortable king size bed and let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep. Our condo is a two bedroom, one bathroom unit. Each bed has a 2013 Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress set.

For those meals you wish to enjoy in your hale, there is a fully equipped kitchen. The Hilo Farmers' Market on Wednesdays and Saturdays is a great place to get local fruits, vegetables, cheeses, breads, salsas--the list is endless. For your dining pleasure, Hilo has a great selection of restaurants for a town its size--one of the best seafood restaurants is right across the street!

It would be our pleasure to be your hosts for your Big Island vacation. We live in Hilo, and personally manage Hale Honohonu, and love to assist our guests in planning a great vacation!

Mahalo, Glenn and Mozela Dundas

More Details
Hide Details

We are Glenn and Mozela Dundas. We joke that we are real estate 'magnets', not to be confused with 'magnates'! We purchased our first Big Island home in Oct 2011 in the rainforest above Hilo. Then, we fell in love with an oceanfront condo in Kona, then we fell in love with Hale Honohonu I, then we fell in love with Hale Honohonu II......

Mozela Dundas purchased this condo in 2013

We purchased our condo here because it is nestled in the lush surroundings of Carl Smith Park. This well-maintained beach park is home to calm waters (hono) and friendly sea turtles (honu). We swim and snorkel here often, and couldn't resist buying our condo, Hale Honohonu I, when it appeared on the market. When its sister, Hale Honohonu II, appeared on the market...well, you know the story.

Hilo is 'old-style' Hawaii--sleepy and local and our location epitomizes that spirit, that feeling. Hale Honohonu is perfect for guests who have a love of nature, a sense of adventure, and an aloha spirit. If you enjoy swimming, snorkeling, wildlife viewing, wave watching, reading, or taking it easy this is the place for you.

14 Reviews of Property 460890 in Keaukaha, Hawaii

Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
3

Nice, slow pace

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I liked it because it was close to town and the beach. Comfortable beds and has everything you need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Aloha M, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Location--check! Comfort--check! Everything you need--check! Slow pace--check! Rain, lava flow, fun-- out of my control! Best wishes, Mozela
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
5

Beautiful, Comfy, Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved our stay here for 9 days. While we stayed in an amazing fancy hotel in Kona for our honeymoon, our 5-year anniversary here in Hilo was even better!

The condo feels good and the bed is comfortable. Choice of flat or fluffy pillows a plus, as pillows on our travels are usually too fluffy for me! The view is amazing and a swim is just outside the condo. Evenings are filled with the sounds of Coqui frogs, ocean waves and rain. We stayed in the bigger bedroom, a comfortable king sized bed. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, though you'll need staples like oil, butter etc. If you want to chill there in the evening, you can watch cable, a dvd you brought, Netflix or Hulu (you can enter your own password if you have these at home). If you like to workout at home while on a trip, just roll up the carpet and it's a great hardwood floor and good amount of space (I did kickboxing with some dvd's I brought) and the condo is on the first floor so no worries about disturbing the neighbors! Close outside the front door are stairs, so no need to use the elevator. Cell phone reception is pretty good but not totally reliable and the Wi-Fi for internet is great.

I'm really glad we chose to stay in Hilo, as it was a central location for us to go up North, up to Mauna Kea, and down to the SouthEast point. This condo is also great for days you hang around town. Downtown Hilo, with all its great food, museums, farmer's market etc. is just 5 or so minutes away, as is shopping (local grocery store as well huge center with the usual - Safeway, Ross, Target, Walmart, Macy's, etc.).

Be sure to explore the bedroom closets, as I didn't discover the basket with snorkel equipment until our last day! There are also bags for grocery shopping you'll want to borrow.

Everything was great with no need to ever contact the owners during our stay, though they were very helpful, friendly and quick to respond with email questions before our trip. I am certain we will stay here again on our next trip to Hilo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
5

25th annivarsary vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This condo has the best location in Hilo. The view is wonderful and the condo was very clean and comfortable. I'm incredibly picky about beds and this one was very comfortable. The area is quiet and the jungle is a great place to walk at sunrise. We encountered a sea turtle in the lagoon who was very gentle and curious. The snorkeling was wonderful! We'll stay here again on our visits to Hilo. Thank you for a wonderful 4 nights!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
5

Great Location right beside beach with Turtles

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family stayed in this condo for 3 days after spending time in Volcano town. At first we were a little turned off by the location and looks of the building on the outside as it looks worn. This is not a hotel or located in the hotel strip, there it is not a manicured area of town. It is along the road of many beaches in a safe residential area. Once inside the condo it was a different story. It is obvious that the owners care about their condo and are very tentative to making sure you feel comfortable. We sure did! It was modernly designed and had everything we needed inside including clean lines and white towels. We walked 1 minute to the beach next door and snorkelled with the turtles. Make sure to bring swim shoes because it is a lava flow hard sharp beach (No sand where we were). Spent the next day exploring different sites around Hilo. If you are a seafood fan make sure you swing by SUISAN located off the man in road 5-7 minutes north. Excellent fish/ seafood market where you can buy your own and cook at home. Also there is a farmers market daily (or so when we were there) and then on wed and sat it grows huge with many jewellers and other vendors. But regardless of the day this is a good place to get some produce. We would stay here again no problem! Thank you Mozela for your help!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
Montréal, Québec, Canada
5

perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We are 3 women traveling for the 40 years birthday of one of us. We greatly enjoyed our stay in this condo. Every night we watch DVDs. We swam with turtles in the lagoon in front of the condo. The condo was very clean and very practical kitchen. You will find everything you need to make you a good dinner and a lunch for visiting the Big Island volcanoes. The beds are very comfortable ... the best of our trip to Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha G, So glad you had the "perfect Getaway" with your friends. The turtles and sunshine were great, weren't they? Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Hope to see you again, mahalo, Mozela
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
5

Great Hilo Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The condo borders one of the best beaches in Hilo and the general location was perfect for us. The condo was very clean and taken care of. We will definitely try to book this unit again the next time we return to Hilo. The owner was great and very easy to work with as well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
Sydney Australia
5

A nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We found the accommodation very comfortable with good sized rooms, a usable, well equipped kitchen and a pleasant view of the beach park next door. As advertised, there were sea turtles along the shore and the sound of gentle waves breaking through the night.

It's a short drive (about 10 minutes) from Hilo airport and close to Volcano National Park.
The wi-fi and TV worked well and the fans were adequate for cooling. The coin operated laundry just down the corridor was a real convenience. There was a little street noise one early one evening but things got quiet later on. There is easy parking and we had no hassles.

Hilo is a pleasant and quiet country town with quaint old style buildings but also modern shopping in the outlying shopping centre. There is a spectacular collection of minerals at the Lyman Museum in the centre of town. Hilo is not Honolulu, but that's a good thing if you're not looking for night clubs and all-night bars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Aloha W, Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and charming review. Seeing Hilo through our guests' eyes makes us appreciate our old-Hawaii style town all the more--aloha as it should be! We look forward to your return--a hui hou! Mahalo, Mozela
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
Amarillo, TX
5

Great Place, Nice View. We highly recommend it and would stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great place. Nicely decorated, beautiful floors and 2 spacious bedrooms with king beds. Great park just just out the door and more parks up and down the street. We really enjoyed having a wonderful screen door that locks and lets a delicious breeze through. Just a short drive from downtown Hilo. The kitchen is kind of tight for more than one person, but it has everything you need.

The condo is on the first floor but the first floor is not the ground floor. You are up high enough to have a great view of the park. There was also a good wireless internet connection included.

We did swim and snorkel. We also enjoyed the small woody area on the other end of the building. We saw a banyan tree, sea turtles and a monk seal. A lot of fun.

Owners helpful and key entry with combination lock worked great. We would highly recommend it and would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha D, Thank you for your kind and thorough review. It has been a great late summer, early fall for viewing and swimming with the turtles. We are glad that you were here to enjoy them! Thank you for leaving the condo as you found it--we hope you will visit again soon. Mahalo, Mozela
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
Sunshine Coast, Australia
5

Clean, Comfortable ... A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I spent a week here recently and could happily have spent more time. The apartment was everything that was advertised + some and Donna, the owner, made certain that our stay went trouble free. The apartment is extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean with comfortable sleeping and sitting furniture. Close enough to town to be convenient but far enough out to be quiet, it would certainly be top of our list for any future visits. The next door beach park is a gem ... take a chair, a book and waste an hour or two. And a bonus is the happy chirping from the nearby frogs as darkness settles.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Oceanfront, swim, snorkel, sea turtles!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460890vb
903-724-5063
Keaukaha Hilo District
Phila., Pa
5

Family Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great location, less then 10 minutes to the airport and town. Very clean and comfy, loved the beds and I am not usually comfortable in any other bed then my own. Looks exactly like the pictures with a great view of the water. If you are hungry the Seaside restaurant is right across the street and absolutely delicious. Love the geckos! Would stay there again without hesitation. Thanks for making our visit with our daughter a great time. We needed it. Lisa M.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha L., thank you so much for your kind words. Music to my ears--that our beds were so comfortable that our guests actually got some "rest" along with recreation on their vacation. Best wishes, mahalo, Mozela