Madrid North chateau / country house rental - The watermill . view from the garden
The watermill . view from the garden
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Madrid North Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, sleeping 10 - 14 people

Whether you choose to relax along the river, or explore the surrounding countryside and famous cultural & historic sites, this large 17th century watermill is perfect for families and large parties of people who want to stay in a beautiful setting with stunning views. The main door down stairs gives way to a spacious living and dining room with fireplace and a fully equipped kitchen with an original firewood stove and oven. A modern hob and electric oven are also available. Between the kitchen and the dining room, the original mechanism of the watermill can still be admired. The living room gives access to a beautiful terrace, garden and a natural pool. The 5 bedrooms upstairs, all with en suite bathroom, sleep up to 10 adults and 4 children. The children have their “own” sleeping space on on the attic floors of the 2 duplex rooms. On the first floor there is another living and dining room with fireplace and a small kitchen, the perfect place to hide during the colder winter months.

The water of the watermill is not treated. Perfect for saneiary use but for consumption we will leave you bottles of mineral water. Due to its special location, on the banks of the river in a nature reserve, the watermill is equipped with a sceptic tank with special green filters. We kindly request our guests not to throw the toilet paper in the toilets but use the waste buckets instead.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 460452 in Madrid North, Spain

Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
average rating of 4.571429 based on 21 reviews
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

People and nature in perfect harmony

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you want complete peace and quiet and love to connect with nature, this is the place for you. This property is heaven for those who like a simple life; barbequing local produce on the terrace, going for long walks, enjoying the birds and butterflies.

The setting is breathtaking. We visited in early June when the wildflowers were at their best and the Guadarrama mountains still capped with snow. As you turn off the main road to Lozoya you enter a track flanked by wildflower meadows. You drive down to cross a tumbling river and there’s the Mill perched above it. The only visitors we had all week were a herd of friendly ponies from the neighbouring farm, and we fell asleep each night to the sound of rushing water. Only a stone’s throw from the back gate there is a Spanish ‘national trail’ – well signposted and easy to follow. Turn left to reach a mediaeval bridge, turn right to reach a Roman bridge – accompanied by the sound of cowbells and the rush of the river. All this less than an hour’s drive from Madrid!

Eagles, kites and vultures soar above you and the hills echo with cuckoos declaring their territory. Flocks of smaller birds (driven out of England by intensive agriculture) are still flourishing here. Watch out for the woodchat shrike perched on a branch waiting for a meal to fly by. If you’re lucky, you’ll see a flash of yellow in the garden as a Golden Oriole passes by, but more likely you will hear their flute-like song tantalisingly close.

Bedrooms are clean and comfortable, all with en-suite shower room (great shower pressure). If you prefer a bath, there’s one downstairs – don’t be put off by the tea-coloured water as washing in filtered river water is amazing and leaves your skin and hair super soft. The house has been tastefully renovated in keeping with its history, with many of the old mill workings retained as features. The two kitchens are simple and basic, but have all you need.

The owners are friendly and helpful and always at the end of a phone (no problem with mobile signal). They have helpful suggestions for trips – we recommend the palace at San Ildelfonso, go when the fountains are on (twice a week, usually). Rascafria is a charming town, great for a morning coffee and buying provisions and some interesting walks start just opposite the Monastery there. Segovia is also only an hour away over the mountain pass, and brim full of history.

We’re definitely coming back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
5

unique natural get-away to recharge our batteries

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We live a busy city life and we decided to take a mid-week to the Watermill to slow down, spend time on recharging our batteries, on restoring our relationship, enjoy being together.... sitting...in front of the fireplace....long conversations, it was very nice like we used to do. This place is inviting to connect to nature, prepare the wood for the fireplace, meditate, nice long walks, romantic restaurants, the day we stayed "home" we even caught 2 river trouts!

The old Watermill is very tastefully restored, good quality beds, the owner is friendly and reliable.

I can totally recommend it
Owner's Response: Dear Michael, thank you for your kind review. The watermill is indeed a unique holiday home and I think your words have captured the essence of the house very well. Connect to nature, family and friends and disconnect from the routine and stress of daily life....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
St.Louis
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Had a wonderful stay at Pattie and Lee's house. It was very private and the setting was beautiful. The house was immaculate, the kitchen appliances were first rate, and the beds very comfortable. There were all sorts of games etc. for entertainment. We had two toddlers and they enjoyed the pool and fishing on the dock. They even caught some fish. We hope to come back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
Taunton
5

Wonderful Rural Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My business had decided to setup a brainstorming session at this wonderful location. For once they got it spot on!
As a result of this experience I then returned with the family and some friends to spend an entire week. It was brilliant! Calm, beautiful, relaxing... mother nature at its best. With a couple of quaint towns nearby, and with Madrid not more than an hour away, you have everything you need.
The watermill itself has been restored with great taste, and always respecting the original structure.
I recommend it to everybody to wants a taste of nature.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
Isle of Wight
5

Blissful Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We spent a truly fantastic week at the Watermill. The Watermill has been very thoughtfully restored providing extremely spacious and comfortable accomodation with each bedroom offering its own character and all having the most glorious views. Our party ranged over 3 generations from a boistrous 3 year old to an energetic 82 year old and the Watermill catered for us all. The location means that you feel that you are truly in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by open space and glorious views, yet in no time at all you are back on main roads and able to speed into Madrid.

We were particularly impressed by the birds which we were able to admire - eagles were regular sightings and the beautiful Hoopo. The remarkable stork nests nearby made fascinating viewing. By the end of the holiday our 3 year old was able to identify each and has since shown a real interest in learning more about bird watching.

I can no recommend this wonderful location highly enough. To complete the delight Frank is one of the most welcoming hosts I have met since travelling through HomeAway.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
Madrid, Spain
5

Love at first site

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We've just come back from a 3-day get-away in one of the most beautiful areas of Spain I have ever been. My friends, and I, a group of 5 couples regularly go off on weekend trips together.

This I have to say has beenthe most gratifying trip we've ever done together. The house was incredibly comfortable for all 10 of us. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom as well as a living room on each floor in case you wanted your space.

What was absolutely amazing was the idilic, fairytale surroundings at less than an hour from Madrid! Some of us spent the mornings walking around the most beautiful green, hilly paths, full of flowers and butterflies, while others rode their bikes or made barbecues.

In short, we didn't want to leave! This is definitely a trip we will repeat! Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
Festus, MO. USA
5

Girls Weekend September 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Spent the past weekend at Andrew's Private Getaway for a girls weekend!!! First off this place is private but still close enough to get to wherever you need to. Pattie & Lee are the most wonderful down to earth people you could meet. So welcoming and helpful you feel like you are guests of theirs in every sense. Up...on entering the home the first thing you notice is how clean it is. Just beautiful and airy!! The kitchen has top of the line appliances, dishes, pots and pans, coffee maker etc. everything you need when renting a house that you usually have to bring or buy!!! The 5 bedrooms (yes 5) all walkout to the either the upstairs porch or the lower level deck and they all have top of the line bedding and tv's. The bathrooms are beautiful and extremely clean!!!!! The amenities are awesome 2 inground pools, a sauna, hot tub, 2 boat docks, shuffleboard, pool table, there is also an array of board games. We enjoyed playing games on the covered deck in the evening. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone and the house is perfect for large families everyone will have something to do.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
Wiltshire, England
5

Relaxing spanish experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I chose the Mill for me and my family (children aged, 9, 6 and 1) as it was just a short distance from Madrid where my husband had to spend a day attending meetings. The house looked interesting and promised to be quiet.... it more than lived up to its description. The house is fantastic and incredibly clean and so very homely and welcoming. We arrived at 1am and immediately felt right at home!
The 'pool' and lake are incredibly cold but everyone managed a dip over the week. The house would benefit from a heated pool but as Lozoya (local village) has a very good pool this is not a huge problem. Our 9 year old son enjoyed fishing and with his 6 year old sister they had lots of adventures in the garden and around the house. The wildlife in and around the garden is fantastic.
Big thanks to Frank for letting us stay in his beautiful Mill.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
New Jersey
5

Great Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My wife, three daughters and I had the most glorious two weeks at the Molino. The house was very clean and large enough to provide us personal privacy, and our own bedrooms and bathrooms. Marisol's artful touch is evident in the interior decoration. The surrounds are ideal - natural beauty on the banks of a pristine river!

The house was perfectly located for our day trips to Madrid, Avila, Segovia, El Escorial, and Toledo - all between 50 minutes and two hours drive. The small town of Rascafria is 10 minutes away and has wonderful restaurants (try Casa Juanito).

A great advantage is the coolness the location and house provide - during the torridly hot day the inside is wonderfully cool, and when the sun goes down the evening mountain breezes refresh the soul.

We had a spectacular stay and highly recommend this home to anyone considering a trip to the Spanish inlands!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful romantic Watermill on waterfront in natural park, 40 min from Madrid.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460452
+0034 616 498205
Madrid North Madrid Area
dorset
5

Off the beaten track

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
It is rare to find an oasis literally in the middle of dry central spain. we were 12 of all ages and mainly young and there is enough room to spread out in the garden, on the terrace, in the water. Good bedrooms for all and a basic kitchen area, part of huge downstairs lounge and diner. We all loved our two weeks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4