Sea Ranch house rental - Welcome to the Gewing House!
Welcome to the Gewing House!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 2.5 bathrooms with Ocean View

Warm and inviting two-story home on the ocean side of the Sea Ranch features spacious, light-filled living areas and a private sheltered garden. Picture windows on the second floor offer almost panoramic ocean views. Located on a quiet cul-de-sac, the house is just a few minute walk from bluff-top trails and bike paths leading to beaches, a marine preserve, swimming pools, and tennis courts.

The open kitchen/dining/living areas are upstairs along with a wood-burning stove. Cuddle up with a good book and enjoy the view from the comfortable built-in window seats or from one of two balconies. Watch hawks flying and whales spouting! Gaze out at hills and the blue water of the Pacific, while cooking in the fully-equipped kitchen that includes a Viking range, Jenn-air grill, and other amenities.

Sleeping areas and washer/dryer are downstairs and include two bedrooms with queen-sized beds and an additional room with bunk beds. Back windows look out onto the meadows with an array of birds and other wildlife.

A deck with a hot tub is located on the lower level. Share the private, sheltered garden in front with hummingbirds and butterflies. The house includes HD satellite television with DVR and free wireless internet service.

Guests have access to the property's three swimming pools. It's an easy walk from the house to the Ohlson Recreation Center with heated pool, saunas, tennis courts, and a sand volleyball court. A lovely beach is located just below the Center.

Thoughtful touches in design and furnishing, as well as the home's perfect location within the Sea Ranch, makes this an ideal spot for a vacation getaway. The room configuration is just right for two couples or a family.

We use a local rental agency for bookings in order to provide ease of cleaning, maintenance, payments and a place to call in case you have a problem when you visit. Please call Ram's Head Realty at +1 800-785-3455 or email manager for pricing and availability for the time frame you want (VRBO calendar is infrequently updated). Pricing can vary by time of year and promotions.

More Details
Hide Details

We are from the Bay Area and visit Sea Ranch often.

My wife and I fell in love with this beautiful place on a visit up the coast in the early 1970s. We owned a walk-in cabin in the woods first and then moved over to the ocean side of Highway 1, because we loved being able to walk along the bluff trails and collect driftwood at the beaches and drag it back to the house. I remember climbing up on the roof and realizing the view we would have if we built up! That's just we did when we renovated several years ago.

The design is simple, uncluttered and functional. Art from around the world lines the walls. The furnishings and amenities are chosen with care to ensure that visitors of all ages feel at home. Favorite activities for us include sitting on the deck with a good book, soaking in the hot-tub on a moonlit night, sharing the sheltered garden with hummingbirds, and watching dramatic sunsets from the picture windows.

22 Reviews of Property 460404 in Sea Ranch, California

Perfect Location - Gewing Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

great selection of books, CDs and movies

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
What a beautiful place to relax and enjoy friends and nature. We enjoyed the trails, the seals, and the wonderful views. Your selection of books, CDs, and movies was great also. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. We hope to be back next year.
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

perfect place to launch an adventure

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This beautiful house is the perfect place to launch an adventure -- the sea in one direction and the redwood trees in another. We've been walking like crazy and collecting things (mostly plants, some earrings), but mostly stopping to do our happy dances! Thank you! Thank you!
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Magnificent place

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have thoroughly enjoyed our week here after a long drive from Maryland. I have been coming to the Sea Ranch since the 80s, and my husband since meeting me. Your house is one of our favorites, after our first time here this week. Spectacular view, comfortably furnished. Loved the watercolors and the sunset from the bench atop the hill. Much gratitude to you for opening this magical place to so many over the years. We look forward to coming back soon. (From our guest book.)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our new favorite place

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely home. We have been visiting Sea Ranch for more than 20 years, and this is now our new favorite place. The views are exceptional and the natural visitors a real treat to watch -- especially the turkey, quail, and deer. (From our guest book.)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Best place, best location

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
You had us at the stars! After our first full day here, we fully realized how lucky we were. We couldn't have ended up at a better place, in a better location. We loved the view with the privacy, and your home was warm and comforting. There were little nooks and crannies for all of us. It was good for the soul. (From our guest book.)
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect Spot

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. My husband, son and I very much enjoyed the serenity and beauty of Sea Ranch this weekend, and your home was a perfect spot for us to take it all in. We will cherish our memories of this magical place. (From our guest book.)
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Amazing time

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an amazing time! The best adventures! Tidepools...starfish, sea urchins, sea creatures, abalone, and even an octopus in the tide pools. Great walks, seals, deer, and nightly visits from raccoons. We laughed, played games, cooked, listened to music, and enjoyed the amazing views. It was wonderful. Thank you. Thank you! (From our guest book.)
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Magical place

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved staying at your lovely home. Sea Ranch is a magical place full of beautiful nature and nice people. We enjoyed the views from the cozy house, all of your art and the nice layout of the home. We will be back soon. One question: Where is sea glass beach? It's on our list for the next visit. (From our guest book.)
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Idyllic home

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time at this idyllic home. We enjoyed the architectural design, all the natural light, and the views! We felt at home and so relaxed. We plan to come back every summer. (From our guest book.)
business
Perfect Location - Gewing Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p460404vbi
+1 800 785 3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Our favorite Sea Ranch rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Over the past 20+ years, my family has stayed in several houses at Sea Ranch and this is by far our favorite. It's a welcoming home clearly loved by its owners. The interior is tasteful, including art that is whimsical and beautiful from all over the world. Centrally located, it’s up on a bluff with wonderful views of the ocean to the west and a cozy, protected and secluded garden to the east that is rare at Sea Ranch (a delightful place for morning coffee or lunch). The window seats in the living room are very inviting – an enjoyable place to visit with friends, read, knit, daydream or nap. No need to worry if you forget a book or a game – there is an ample supply to choose from, including ones for children in the kids’ bunkroom. The openness of the upstairs living space (kitchen, dining room and living room) allows one to prepare dinner and still be part of the action. The dining table is large enough for a comfortable gathering, even if a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle is on one end. We were here for two days of solid rain and it still was cozy and light and thoroughly enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home and hope you return soon.
Heinz G.
Helpful votes: 1/1