Orange house rental - View of Atrium from Living Room
View of Atrium from Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Orange House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom 2 Bath Home with Swimming Pool

This home is a mid century modern work of art designed by the renowned German developer Joseph Eichler. Influenced by Frank Lloyd Wright and designed with the concept of 'bringing the outside in' this home is built around a 400 square foot atrium with walls of glass that showcase not only the beautiful atrium complete with fountain but also the tropical backyard with lagoon style pool. Six sliding doors allow easy access to the beautiful gardens that surround this home including a sliding door in the master bedroom which is only steps away from the pool. Fountains throughout the yards compliment the serene environment. Built in BBQ complete with refrigerator and sink for poolside grilling. Outdoor lighting brings the gardens to life at night. Peaceful and relaxing. This open floor plan home has been recently remodeled and includes bamboo flooring, kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. Wood burning fireplace surrounded by walls of glass located in living room. Master bedroom, complete with adjoining bathroom and walk-in closet, features Tempur-pedic mattress for support & comfort, maximizing a great night of sleep. Master bathroom features imported Italian flooring, bamboo vanity, Graff water fixtures, and large garden view window. Guest bathroom features designer vanity with black granite counter tops and Hansgrohe faucet, deep soaking tub enclosed with glass shower doors, contemporary flooring with matching black granite accents, frosted glass door for natural lighting and a garden view window. Beautifully furnished and decorated, modern with a touch of the tropics. Flat screen HD TV's in living room, master bedroom and 2nd bedroom. PlayStation 3 (all TV's) for games, Blu-Ray & DVD's. CD player in master bedroom and kitchen. 2nd bedroom has iPod. Majority of lighting has nighttime dimmers. Perfect for romantic getaways, artist or writers retreat, and family vacations alike. Very posh. Centrally located in the County of Orange this home is conveniently located to many Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Angel Stadium, Honda center and more. Close to beaches and mountains. Catch a few early morning waves at world famous 'surf city' Huntington Beach and then hit the slopes of Big Bear Mountain for some afternoon snowboarding (season permitting). Freeway close to Hollywood, Palm Springs, San Diego and the shopping and cuisine of Newport Beach. Plenty to see and do or to do nothing at all. Don't settle for a vacation home when you can have a vacation experience. Enjoy.

My wife fell in love with this house the first time she saw it and I was sold as well. I refer to it as the Wahine House (Wahine - Hawaiian for wife). Through a collaborative effort we put the finishing touches on this unique home. We had many happy years in this house and look forward to vacationing here ourselves in the future. We know that you will enjoy your stay here as well.

Unique neighborhood, currently being considered by the City of Orange as a local historic district. Centrally located in the county of Orange, close to beaches, mountains, deserts, sporting venues, fine dining, shopping, and amusement parks including Disneyland which is less than 5 miles away.

Very private. Large back yard and side yards surrounded by tropical foliage. Neighborhood consists of other single level Eichler homes, so there are no second story windows looking down into the yard. The front of the house was used as a backdrop for neighborhood scene in the movie 'Speed Racer' starring John Goodman and Susan Sarandon. Several books and articles have been written about these unique homes.

8 Reviews of Property 459695 in Orange, California

Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
5

Family time in California

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house and grounds are beautiful. We had a marvelous time. I did lots of cooking, great kitchen. Enjoyed the pool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
4

this is a relaxing space indoor and out. close to everything So. Cal has to offer

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Five generations of my family enjoyed Thanksgiving here. My son is a freshman at Chapman so we converged on Orange that week. Ages 2 to 90. Everyone loved this rental.
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
5

"Away from the Crowds; Close to the Action"

"Away from the Crowds; Close to the Action"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What an ideal setting for intergenerational interaction! This architecturally interesting home provided both space and comfort for three family units. 10 minutes from the action of Disneyland and 20 minutes from the beach, we could enjoy poolside conversation, outdoor meals, and serene gardens. We loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
5

Beautiful Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our group of architects and engineers had the pleasure of staying in this beautifully serene home for a month.
We were in California for the 2013 Solar House Decathlon. Our team worked 12-19 hours a day during the entire month. This home was a sanctuary for all of us. One of the architects did yoga outside every morning before his swim in the heated pool. The pool is cleaned twice a week and was a great perk. Despite being October we had days in the 90's. The home has 3 good sized bedrooms with substantial furniture and comfy queen sized beds. There is also a 4th room they call a den which has a twin trundle bed. Again that trundle bed was substantial. Our faculty were primarily male so bed size was important. The master bedroom has an ensuite with a large closet and private bathroom with a shower. The 2nd bathroom is a tub/shower combo. There is also a door in that bathroom that goes outside to the pool. The house has been beautifully upgraded with bamboo floors. The kitchen is very modern with a new large fridge.The kitchen was well set up with pots and pans and dishes. The dining room table was huge. This worked very well for our team as everyone was working on laptops. The house had free wifi. There are large flat screen TV's in the living room and two of the bedrooms. The private yard was a tremendous bonus. There was a large grill area including a fridge. The yard is L shaped and provides great privacy. People can be swimming in the pool or sunning in one section while others are sitting at the round glass table or BBQing in the other section.There is a guava tree in the yard and lovely flowers and shrubs. It is a beautiful property. There is a good size driveway as we were driving a 15 person van. The garage has been closed and holds the new, large capacity washer and dryer. ( which we used daily) When you enter the front yard there is a charming courtyard with a fountain and a table and chairs.There are two different air conditioners with programmable thermostats, one for the bedrooms ( in the farthest bedroom on the wall) and one for the main rooms ( in the kitchen near the entrance to the garage). It cools down a great deal in California at night so you may need to adjust the thermostats. The location is just off Tustin Road and convenient to many stores and restaurants (including a 24 hour Walmart) Drew was very accommodating to our group and we had a wonderful month in his home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
FRANCE
5

3 weeks relaxing and fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are french and we often travel to United States that we love very much and it's the first time that we rent a property.

Upon our arrival, we were enchanted by this beautiful property.
Drew and Georgia had planned for us welcome gifts and they had written all the indications necessary for the villa as well as for the city and surrounding area.

The villa is wonderful : modern, spacious, clean, very bright and very comfortable.
Everyting was organized for our convenience and we lacked nothing.
Any questions was resolved immediately.
Thanks Drew for your availability.

The beautiful garden, illuminated every evening, is very well maintained.
The lush vegetation surrounding the swimming pool is a real happiness.
And what a wonderful outside kitchen with BBQ!

In addition, we were very close to our daughter who was studying at U.C. Irvine.
It was perfect!

We left this superb property with regrets and sadness and we really recommend it to the french if they travel to L.A.

We will keep for a long time a wonderful memory of these holidays in this dream villa.

MILLE MERCIS DREW ET GEORGIA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
Las Vegas
5

Fantastic Fourth of July!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was one of our best vacations ever! We arrived a little early and Drew and Georgia were very accommodating. The house is beautiful and I agree the pictures do not do this house justice. We found everything that we needed from the kitchen to the bedrooms.

We were greeted with a special treat from Drew and Georgia which was much appreciated. They also had directions to all of the important places such as the grocery store, gas station and the mall along with a letter welcoming us to their home with instructions for the the very important TV and Wi-Fi.

We stayed a total of 9 days and most days we just stayed at the house and relaxed, we felt like we were home! The house is very open and spacious with beautiful views of the garden out back and the courtyard up front. We spent several nights playing games at the dining room table. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet. My husband and I went for a walk most mornings and the neighbors were all very friendly.

It is centrally located, Disnyeyland was not far at all and easy to get to, we also enjoyed the Santa Ana zoo and made our way down to Huntington Beach. It was absolutely beautiful and the weather was perfect. I am horrible with directions but I found it very simple to get where we needed and back.

The first few nights we needed to use the AC and it was wonderful and we were very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. We used the washer and dryer on several occasions and all the soaps and softners were provided.

We could not have asked for a better place to stay - Drew and Georgia are awesome!! We actually are looking forward to booking two vacations next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

THANK YOU DREW AND GEORGIA!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wow! Pictures don't do this property justice. The most peaceful and relaxing home we have ever stayed in to date and we usually stay in vacation homes while away. The home
Is decorated modern and beautiful and included everything we needed for put stay. Our children loved exploring the yard and swimming in the warm pool!
Everything was clean and fresh .Drew and Georgina had a welcome gift waiting for us as well as personalized welcome letter and included detailed directions to various points of interests.
All questions we had were promptly answered in detail. We could not have been treated any better or made to feel more welcome. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!
Next time! ....I would defenitely recommend this property
To another family or couple. Thank you Drew and Georgina for making our stay so enjoyable. It was a pleasure to come home after a busy day at the parks and games to relax and
Equally as awesome to just stay home and enjoy our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Modern House of Glass with Pool, Close to Disneyland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p459695vb
+714 273-7568
Orange Orange County
5

Perfect Vacation Home! Relaxing and Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed here four nights and it was a perfect getaway from everything - the property has this lush garden in a huge backyard that you could literally fall asleep in because it is so peaceful. And even when it gets dark, you can still enjoy the outdoors because many of the walls are big panels of glass - and it gives you the sensation you are free and not so bottled up inside four walls and a roof like a traditional house.

The pool was heated warm and was amazing. They have this pathway from the pool through a side garden direct to a bathroom door on the side of the house, so it is super convenient to go straight from a warm swim to a warm shower!

The big TV's on the wall with DVD's and Bluray's kept us entertained when we just wanted an 'in' night. Another nice thing is there is designer furniture throughout the house which adds a modern feel and made for comfortable accomodations. In the day, we mostly swam in the pool and they have a huge BBQ underneath a huge shade that makes it very enjoyable to grill - even in the hot afternoon! We also saw lots of hummingbirds and blue jays fly in and out the yard.

Everything in the house is well stocked so we began enjoying our stay immediately - the owners were very friendly and responded to our questions very promptly. I definitely recommend this vacation rental to anybody looking to try something different (glass house and postmodern) and peaceful. Me and my boyfriend agreed it was a bargain for what we got (as opposed to some of the other listings out there).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1