Gordes house rental - Gordes -- the house is two-minute drive from here
Gordes -- the house is two-minute drive from here
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Gordes House Rental Photos and Description
The house is purposely set up for TWO ADULTS ONLY per stay.

Quartier des Poulety is a wonderfully restored sandstone house nestled in a hamlet at the foot of the hill on which Gordes is built. With a 15-minute scenic walk uphill to Gordes, one of the four most beautiful villages in Provence, the house enjoys a secluded garden and tranquil Provencal village life. The conservatory provides a sunny location for dining and is adjacent to the well equipped, stone-walled kitchen and the cozy living room. Furnished with antiques from India’s colonial era, the house offers glimpse of the Luberon valley from many windows. The master bedroom on the first floor comes with a newly renovated shower room. Wake up to the sound of Church of Gordes bells from a king-size four-poster bed is a great way to start your day. With an en-suite master bedroom and an antique-filled study, the house is purposely set up for TWO ADULTS ONLY. Travellers looking for a peaceful break are most welcome in this serene, beautiful house.

We are both journalists, currently based in India. The house is taken care of by our lovely house manager who lives in the next village.

Joyce Smith purchased this house in 2007

10 Reviews of Property 458996 in Gordes, France

Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
4

Delightful holiday in a romantic setting

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My boyfriend and I, from Italy, spent one week in Provence last year. The holiday in this beautiful stone house is one of the best memories of 2013. The house was very well maintained and decorated with exquisite taste. I particularly liked the modern kitchen with dishwasher, which allowed me to spend more time relaxing after dinner.
The sunroom and the garden were two of my favourite spots with warm beautiful summer light in the early morning and late afternoon.
I was really happy to find wifi and very good reception in the house so that I could check emails and keep my friends posted on the daily trips to the neighbouring villages.
The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They welcomed all our questions and gave us plenty of information about the area when we needed assistance organising the holiday.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone for the beautiful location, the quality of the service, the facilities on offer and the activities available in the area. It's the perfect place for a couple (40+ y/o) looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday.
We would really like to stay in this lovely house again in the near future.
Owner's Response: Thanks Sara. We are pleased that you had a great time in our house and we will be delighted to receive you again in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thinking so fondly of your home!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I think of Gordes and your home so often... it is a joy I want to forever have linger on my tongue of memory’s delight! Thanks for sharing it with us. We look forward to providing outstanding references to other discerning quests if you desire. (USA)
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
5

Perfect quiet getaway for two

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I spent our anniversary week at this quaint and relaxing home. The house was everything the owners said and then some. We particularly liked the modern kitchen which made it easy to turn the fruits of our market adventures into a lovely cocktail hour snack out in the garden. It was also great to be able to go around the corner to get fine wine from the neighboring vineyard. Joyce and Phil provided a very nice list of local markets, favorite restaurants, and day trip tips. That extra information made our visit to Provence even more enjoyable than we had anticipated. The wonderful shower in the master bath was also a great feature, particularly after a long day walking up, down, and around towns. All in all, it was a great place from which to explore the beauty and tastes of the Luberon.
Owner's Response: Hi Craig - so glad to know you and Kate had a good time in Provence and enjoyed our home in Gordes. We happily accept your kind compliments, thanks! I am sure the happy memories of your anniversary week in the Luberon will stay with you in the years to come :-)
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
5

Beautiful home in a beautiful village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent a week in this beautiful stone house at the end of June. The inside was modern and clean and the location was perfect. It was a 15 minute walk uphill to the village of Gordes. We felt centrally located to all of the other beautiful villages that were a short drive away. We would check out each village farmers market and buy local foods, bring it home and cook dinner and enjoy it in the cozy courtyard. Definitely check out L'Isle sur la Sorgue's farmers market on Sunday. We did have a great dinner in Gordes one night at Le Cuisine du Chateau. We ate lunch at some great restaurants like Le Fournil in Bonnieux, Thym, te Voila in Apt and Veranda in Menerbes. You really don't have to leave the Luberon because there is so much to see and explore. Don't miss the village of Roussillon while you explore. We did find some great shops like Le Petit Duc (antique cookies) and Joel Durand (chocolates) in St. Remy. We also found great wine at Maison de la Truffe et du Vin in Menerbes. I would definitely recommend this house and location to friends and family. The owners were wonderful and accommodating. We will hopefully stay here again someday.
Owner's Response: Hi Demetra -- so glad you had a wonderful time in the house and in Provence! Thanks for the tips about restaurants and shops. We will check them out ourselves when we are in the house! :-)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Hard to leave!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Your hamlet was the perfect spot for relaxation, beauty and close proximity to other villages and areas of interest. Michael and I found it hard to leave and we would definitely recommend your property to others. Thank you very much for our comfortable stay in Gordes. Our expectations were exceeded. (New Zealand)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
4

A lovely home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We very much enjoyed our stay in this lovely property and found the owner very friendly, helpful, and easy to deal with. The property was clean and well-maintained, beautifully decorated, and with a well-equipped kitchen.
As we are in our late 60s we found the uphill walk to Gordes too challenging and so we missed being able to stroll out for dinners in the evening. However, the exellent kitchen was a compensation.
We arrived from the south, but directions to the property assumed arrival from the north. It would be useful to have both available.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi there -- we were glad that you enjoyed your holiday/the house and that the kitchen (which I am quite pround of) made up for not walking up to Gordes in the evening! Thanks for the suggestion and we will make the house direction clearer :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
San Miguel de Allende,Mexico
4

Wonderful Luberon Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We spent a wonderful month this past May exploring the Luberon yet another time. This is probably the best location we have been in for touring this beautiful part of Provence. The house is exactly as shown & we can agree w/the other reviews on the charm the house & garden offer. Gordes itself is very charming w/an excellent weekly market. Good to excellent restaurants abound throughout the region. Try using viamichelin.com to find Michelin recommended restaurants nearby. The site is free & quite helpful.
I would have given the property 5 stars had it not been for the lack of internet service. I was able to acquire in Apt an SFR 3G wireless card but the internet reception was not a very good solution due to the weak signal in the area.
The Cercle Cafe in Gordes did have free wifi as does the Library if you don't have to spend too much time online.
You will have in any case a memorable time in the Quartier & this luscious corner of France.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Ed and Martha -- we are very pleased that you enjoyed our house/Gordes and it was delightful to have guests like you!! Also many thanks for the tips for future guests in our house if they need the Internet :-) Though the house does not have Internet, signals for the blackberry and mobile phone emails in the house is good!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
Ontario,Canada
4

A dream holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
WE really loved your house & you have made it your home with the touches & mementos of the East combined with the modern amenities which make for comfortable living.The only pity is that we did not have more time to sit around in the garden & just veg out enjoying the ambiance of the surrounding environment as we spent most days exploring & enjoying the beauty of the scenery & the lovely hill-top villages for which Provence is justly famous.We enjoyed meeting your friendly & cheerful housekeeper.In short we had a wonder ful holiday & loved every moment of it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Don -- really glad you and Christine made the most of the Luberon and enjoyed the house!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
Santa Fe, New Mexico U.S.A.
5

Our Stay at Quartier des Poulety in LeTouron

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
During the month of September my wife and I spent 2 weeks in the Luberon at the old stone house called Quartier des Poulety in LeTouron, a small and peaceful hamlet lying just below the town of Gordes. This house is an ideally located home base from which to access many nearby interesting places and sights as well as beautiful old Provencal towns like Menerbes, Bonnieux, Roussillon, Gault, Loumarin and St. Remy; and even cities like Aix en Provence, Avignon, Arles and Nimes are only about an hour drive away We have rented many times in France, mostly in Southern France, and this house was the best of our rentals. Its owners have done a wonderful job of modernizing and equipping it with everything that we believe vacation renters like us would need. In advance of our departure to France they satisfactorily answered all of the questions we had about the house and its amenities. They also provided detailed directions to the house for the 1 hour drive to it from the Marseille-Provence Airport and information about restaurants in the area that significantly added to the enjoyment of our stay. In short the owners could not have been more accommodating and attentive to facilitating our rental of their house and making our stay there most pleasant and comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bernie -- we enjoyed communicating with you very much and were very pleased that our house lived up to your expectations and most of all, you and your wife enjoyed the Provencal holiday!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gordes -- Stonehouse for TWO. Walking distance of Gordes. No pool. No smoking.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458996
Gordes Luberon
Bochum, Germany
5

Excellent house with direct view of Gordes

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Beautifully furnished and very well equipped house (i.e. kitchen), ideally located to explore the Luberon region of the Provence, very spacious for two people, lovely garden with an old grown-in olive tree and very good outdoor furniture. From the bedroom nice view of Gordes which is in walking distance. Very friendly and welcoming owners, very smooth and uncomplicated rental arrangement, also very friendly French housekeeper.
Very easy to find the house with a good descprition of the location, also many many tips were given of sights to explore, restaurants etc.
We would highly recommend this house to anybody visiting the Provence who expects some luxury and a pieceful location for the holiday.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Nicole -- we are very glad you enjoyed our house and Provence, and it was a great pleasure to have you stay!!
Helpful votes: 4/4