Cow Hollow apartment rental - I am so excited you are here!!!
I am so excited you are here!!!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cow Hollow Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1125 Sq Ft Top Floor gem! Gorgeous views 1 Queen, 1 Full, one bath, deck w/BBQ

This two bedroom converted attic apartment with private deck sprawls the entire top floor of a nine unit building built in 1909 on the corner of Scott and Filbert in Lower Cow Hollow. It is a well loved jewel with northerly views that will take your breath away.

There is a 3 floor walk up to this quirky, low ceilinged 'penthouse' filled with colorful art and antiques. So, if you have bad knees, are a basketball player, crave beige or blank walls look elsewhere. This is not a typical rental, but our home when we are in town.

All of one's cares literally go out the window once you step into this magical world. The typical responses are 'I want to live here! 'Why don't I live here!' 'Why Didn't Daddy buy this for me!!!'

There have been many modern upgrades since 1909 that make the living experience free and easy. The kitchen is equipped to make any cook happy. There is wi-fi, a Bose CD player with iPod dock, wireless printer/copier, a 32 inch flatscreen, DVD player, Apple T.V. with streaming HBO and Netflix. Outside on the deck, there is seating for 8 and a Weber Genesis BBQ.

There are also so many restaurants nearby that do take-out and two grocery stores with sophisticated prepared menus that if one doesn't feel like cooking there are great options.

The apartment has an open floor plan with two private bedrooms. The Master has a queen size bed and the guest room has a double. Both beds have pillow top mattresses, lovely cotton sheets and goose down comforters. It comfortably sleeps 2 to 3, however in my opinion, the apartment is best enjoyed by two... two VERY responsible, non-smoking adults without pets or small children (too much is too tempting) who enjoy ethnic eclectic and have a sense of humor.

The views and the location are spectacular. Please look at the pictures carefully.

I try to tell the real story, so there are no surprises.

For the minimum amount of impact on the other residents, the minimum rental is one week and longer stays are encouraged. For stays beyond a month there would be a price break. There is some flexibility, but if possible, Check In Day is Saturday at 4:pm and the Check Out Day is Saturday at 10:00 am.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Bethesda, Maryland in a family that valued education, social work, art and travel - more or less in that order! After getting an MA in religious studies, I married and moved to California. I taught art for years in the Bay area while raising two children. My daughter now runs a sailing school in Sydney, Australia and my son is an artist living in Mexico City. I am remarried to an artist and living in Deer Isle, Maine.

Hillary Becton purchased this apartment in 2002

I bought this property because the moment I walked up the final flight of narrow stairs I fell in love. The view, the old world feel, the safe and charming neighborhood and the warmth of the other owners made buying in easy. It is a delightful magical place.

Now that we live in Maine full time and can only visit a few weeks out of the year, I have decided to make the apartment available on VRBO.

Sitting out on the deck in the morning sun drinking coffee, listening for the wild parrots and looking out in any direction is just Heaven... Or sitting in the living room in the late afternoon watching the waning light sweep the city and then burn into the windows over in the Berkley Hills... Or just watching the weather and listening to the fog horns and all the dynamic activity on the Bay... is captivating. Sometimes it is hard to peel away from the view to go to that museum opening, but one of my favorite cities in the world is waiting right outside the door.....

10 Reviews of Property 458884 in Cow Hollow, California

New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Hong Kong
5

Charming Quirky Cottage Feel - Very "Tales of the City" type feel

Charming Quirky Cottage Feel - Very "Tales of the City" type feel
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great apt in a great area of town. It's a walk-up but a very easy one, with a wide staircase down below, and fun attic garret stair for the last floor. Decorated extensively with colorful, fun art, rugs and pottery. Beds are super super comfy, with down pillow toppers and down duvets! Easy walk to restaurants, shops and the Marina Green and Chrissy Field Beach are easily walkable for anyone remotely fit. Amazing views of the GG Bridge, Sausalito and Angel Island. Great deck, been having morning coffee out there and even in the fog, it is sheltered enough to be comfortable outside.

Only thing I didn't consider is the ceiling height. Fine for me (5'8") but my husband (6'4") was worried he was going to wack the lights (he didn't) and he said it was a tad bit challenging to use the loo (standing up). Anyway, none of those issues for me or my daughter.

Kitchen was well stocked. We didn't use most of the appliances, but they looked in good condition. Shower had good water pressure, didn't try the bathtub. Washer and dryer are downstairs (communal) and worked well.

Owner was super easy to communicate with and really went the extra mile with us, letting us check in at 1am because of a late flight. I had told her we would just book a hotel room near the airport as it was so late, but she organized for someone to meet us and let us in.

Overall, if you are looking for something with a boatload of charm, fanciful art and great views... this is your place.

Would give it 3 thumbs up if I had that many thumbs!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ah yes, the toilet for the men is a bit of a challenge!!! If one is willing to sit, I think it is easier, but I don't really know....
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Maine
5

Unique and awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
As the listing says the views are OUTSTANDING! The place was very comfortable and fun to be in. It was clean and decorated well. After arriving and marveling at what the inside had to offer we went out on the deck and were soon visited by the parrots that gathered in the treetop nearby. Although there are many things to do within walking distance and public transportation is very accessible we found just spending time here was a vacation in itself. Truly fun place to be!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
5

Million Dollar View and Convenient Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I stayed here for a romantic vacation with my partner, and we were surprised at how much we enjoyed just hanging out in the apartment. We cooked everyday, enjoyed the constantly changing view, and took time to read and relax in this comfortable -and quiet- environment. Within just a couple blocks, there are grocery stores, good restaurants, MUNI buses that go all over the city, and Golden Gate Transit buses that go to Marin. It was a dreamy get-away, and I would definitely recommend this place to couples looking for a hassle-free, easy vacation. And the view is truly spectacular!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love having such enthusiastic guests, who not only appreciate the apartment, but take advantage of everything this great city has to offer.
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
5

Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is such a relaxing place to stay in San Francisco. The view is just incredible and waking up every day overlooking the bay will put you in an instant good mood. The neighborhood is quiet but within walking distance to everything you'd want - restaurants, shops, movies. Whether you're visiting the city for the first time or consider SF your home away from home this is a perfect spot for vacations with friends, couples and small families with older children.

Hillary and the other house tenants are very friendly with lots of great suggestions. We will definitely be back!

Highly, highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love having you stay in our apartment! You take such beautiful care of it and obviously love it as much as we do. You will always be welcome!
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
portland, Oregon
5

perfect weekend, amazing place...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
my girlfriend and I had a great visit in Hillary's deluxe apartment in the sky! there are a million great things we could say about the unique, incredible place but we like to think it's our special place! all kidding aside, this apartment is ideal for a couple looking to enjoy the perfect basecamp for all the amazing things SF has to offer. if you're going to SF to be a tourist and spend your time down on fisherman's wharf and the piers.... you might want to try the holiday inn. if you're looking to immerse yourself in the heart of a great neighborhood filled with great restaurants, shops, and local hangouts.... and best of all have a 300 degree view of the bay and some of the most beautiful sunsets you'll ever see from your own private deck while sipping your evening glass of wine? well, this is the spot for you.

I will say we are a pretty active couple and did quiet a bit of exploring... hiked and bused to golden gate park for a music festival... hiked the hills of the city to check out the views and crooked street (Lombard)... took a run along the bay from the Marina to Golden Gate Bridge (2 miles each way from the Apt)... we could go on an on...

We cannot wait to go back! Thank you Hillary!

Other notes: Hillary and her caretakers were really great to work with... and everything was easily coordinated. The staircase to the apt is narrow and tight for those who don't get around well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always so happy when visits here take on a magical quality. Your photo from the deck said it all. Thank you!
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
5

San Francisco vacation rental in great area with views to die for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Hillary's vacation rental was fabulous! Everything we needed was all right there to feel right at home! The rental is filled with interesting artwork and trinkets. The patio was perfect for enjoying wonderful views of the Bay from the Golden Gate Bridge over to Alcatraz and beyond! It is in a very quiet neighborhood and in the perfect location for walking to so many great shops and restaurants! I was in heaven! I use to live in San Francisco and knew that the address of this vacation rental was perfect, but the views were even better than I was expecting! I would stay here again and hope its available when I head there for my next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
5

Bohemian Royalty Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This wonderful getaway has an unbelievable view of the bay. We spent many relaxing hours by the grill watching the boats pass by the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. The neighborhood is quiet but also filled with restaurants and shops and is walking distance to the Palace of Fine Arts and lots of great parks. The space itself is nice and relaxed, a petite penthouse bungalow filled with wonderful artistic flair and a small but perfectly well-appointed bathroom complete with a clawfoot tub (or shower). Huge windows fill the main room with light.

This neighborhood is very nice and mellow. You are guaranteed to have a relaxing time and eat very well. If you come with a car there are several public parking garages just a few blocks away. Like most of San Francisco you'll need some comfy walking shoes and can't be afraid of a few hills.

While we didn't have any complaints, it is an old house so you need to watch your noise levels at night so you don't disturb the other tenants. The bed in the master is so comfy that we didn't mind going to bed early, though it did make waking up harder. The owner and caretakers are very nice and have lots of suggestions for places to eat around the neighborhood. We especially recommend A16, Blackwood and Home Plate.

Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Boston, MA
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Great Great location. Cooked out every night, spent more time on the deck then in bed, with those views ! Two good size bedrooms, real nice living 7 dining areas, great building, very quite and the people living in the building were very friendly and helpful. All the eateries and shops were a short walk to Chestnut St and the Marina and the Yacht Clubs (America's Cup racers right there !) a few blocks further.
The apartment was very clean and very comfortable, we have no complaints except we should have stayed longer !! Will definitely return here for another visit soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Angels Camp, CA.
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great view and location! Very unique and whimsically decorated apartment. Clean, comfortable and very quiet. Short walk to Presidio, Crissy Field, Union and Chestnut St. shops. Too many greats restaurants to mention!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New Listing! Outstanding views of the Bay! Bohemian Two Bedroom!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458884vbi
(207) 348-6108 (Maine, USA)
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cohasset, Massachusetts
5

Romantic hideaway. Perfect for a second honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I loved our stay at this romantic hideaway with a European flavor. Whimsically decorated, you enter another world when you step into this light-filled space with 270 degree booming views of San Francisco Bay. Although centrally located for shops, restaurants and sightseeing, the apartment is very quiet and is situated on a street of elegant homes. The roof deck provides added enjoyment.

The apartment has all the amenities including luxurious comfortable beds. You will leave feeling truly rested and relaxed after your stay in this unique property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1