Vashon Island farmhouse rental - It's all about the light!
It's all about the light!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Vashon Island Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

Enjoy the Vashon lifestyle in this extraordinary, renovated farmhouse property. This sunny, view home on four acres of park-like grounds is a treat for the eyes and the senses. Entirely remodeled over the last five years, it features over-sized windows to take in the views of the Olympic mountains and the great afternoon sun, two full baths with showers and a claw foot tub, day rooms open to one another and to the view, a fully remodeled chef’s kitchen with induction cooktop and high end appliances as well as hundreds of details sure to appeal to the discerning guest.

In addition to a spectacular interior with high ceilings, luxurious baths, two good-sized bedrooms and total bedding for up to six, the house has a gorgeous ipe wood deck off the living room, facing the Olympic mountains. The deck is the perfect sunny spot to enjoy cocktails or dinner al fresco. The bones of the house may be vintage turn-of-the-century farmhouse but the soul of the home is very much the Vashon that people dream about.

This vacation home is nearly in the center of a four acre property gently sloping to the west towards Puget Sound. There is a two acre meadow below the home’s western face as well as manicured lawns with mature fruit trees in all other directions. It’s a perfect spot to enjoy the quiet of the island. Though private from its neighbors, the home is located just three miles from the Vashon village and ten minutes to the Seattle passenger and car ferries, making it not just relaxing but practical if you want to combine this piece of heaven with sightseeing to Seattle and beyond. It’s also an ideal spot should a guest wish to commute a bit. But once here, why would you?

Whether your passion is hiking, biking, kayaking or just walking the island this very special home makes a perfect base of operations. Even if you’ve just come back to the island to reconnect with family and friends, this place will immediately put you in the mood. You’ll likely wonder why you ever left.

More Details
Hide Details

We had been looking for acreage, sun, and views close to Seattle, but with the feel of a remote retreat. When we first saw this incredible property on Vashon Island, we fell in love with the westward sloping meadows and the 100-year-old Norwegian-built farmhouse, and we knew that we could transform it into the perfect getaway! Now with the house completely updated, a beautiful new deck and park-like surroundings, it's the ideal place to kick back and enjoy island life.

8 Reviews of Property 458807 in Vashon Island, Washington

Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Petaluma, CA
5

Classy Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Vashon Farmhouse is a gorgeous new place on a beautiful piece of property. We picked produce from the garden, lounged on the deck, watched TV on the big screen upstairs, brewed coffee and used lovely condiments from the kitchen, relaxed in the window seat, enjoyed the lovely soaps in the showers, could have used the brand new washer-dryer and were a 5-minute drive from town. We would definitely recommend this property. It lives up to its description and photos.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
New York, NY
5

A country retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were thrilled with our stay on Vashon. The house was everything it appeared to be online -- and more: immaculately maintained with beautiful vistas and a lovely vegetable and flower garden which the hosts share with their tenants. The house is elegantly furnished and fully appointed with fresh linens, plenty of dishes and glassware plus a kitchen equipped for a gourmet chef. Everything in perfect working order . Lovely deck for reading and taking in the view. An ideal location, too: peaceful and restful spot yet a short drive to the town and to the Seattle-bound ferry. We hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
5

Perfectly Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented this house for a week over July 4th and we were blown away. The pictures don't do it justice. The house is beautiful and perfectly appointed and the property is idyllic and so amazingly peaceful. It's on four acres but beyond those acres, there are more fields and the houses that are nearby are hidden behind trees, so you feel like you are really out in the country. The owners are incredibly helpful and gracious—I texted questions to them during our stay and they got back immediately. We will be coming back again for sure.
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle
5

Vashon Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Great Property. Mountain views were wonderful. Home interior is to die for. Very elegant and yet completely comfortable. Plenty of space and property for long walks. We really enjoyed our extended weekend here. We plan to be back in 2013.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Seattle, WA
5

Look no further...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have had the pleasure of staying in this lovely property on 3 separate occasions during different seasons. The home is one of the original Vashon farmhouses and has been lovingly refurbished to include modern touches that make it especially unique. It is peaceful and spacious with wonderful spaces throughout the house to lounge, entertain, and relax with a good book or a glass of wine.
There are beautiful views from every window in every room. The natural light within is soothing and warm. The property is located on the highly desirable Westside of the island and is surrounded by rolling fields. The deck faces west with one of the most treasured views, mountains and endless sky. This home is special and comfortable and you will feel at home as soon as you enter the front door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Mukilteo
5

Didn't want to leave!

Didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a wonderful week at this beautiful farm house in August 2012. It was so peaceful on the property, perfect for reading a book and soaking up the summer sun. We really enjoyed watching the sunsets on the balcony right off the living room. Once the sun goes down the stars really come out. We even caught a meteor shower! The house was clean and even nicer than the pictures could show. The owner was really pleasant to deal with and even recommended some restaurants on the island that were delicious. We would definitely recommend staying here and might even come back next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Bothell, WA
5

Island Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay in this beautiful home during a weekend getaway last June. The first thing we noticed was how spacious the property is; a gently sloping hill dotted with fruit trees gives way to a field of tall grass complete with a trail worth meandering. There is a fire pit at the top of the property which is a great place to watch the sunset and stargaze. The house has a beautiful, open kitchen anchored by an island. The design of the home is contemporary and welcoming and doesn't feel dated. We loved the beautiful deck outback and its views of the Olympic Mountains. We really enjoyed our all too brief stay in this home and are already planning our next trip back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny view home on Vashon's Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458807vbi
+1 2064995566
Vashon Island Puget Sound
Vashon Island, WA
5

A place with everything--sun, beautiful meadows, privacy and fantastic views and finishes!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I spent a joyous week here in the summer of 2012. In addition to great weather, we enjoyed cocktails on the beautiful deck with views of the lower meadows and of the Olympic mountains. And the Weber gas grill provided made for great barbecuing. We also had a fun time creating meals in a wonderfully equipped chef's kitchen. It had ample room for three or four of us to work simultaneously on appetizers, entree & dessert!

They had equipped a nice media room with a big flat screen TV and lots of cable & video options. In addition, there were self-powered speakers that I just plugged my iPod into and got to listen to my music!

We were in a good location for biking as this part of the island is close to Vashon town and not as hilly as the north and southern ends of the island. Yet the country roads were so peaceful and pretty! We also discovered a great kayak rental down by Burton. To round out our communing with nature, we had deer sharing the property with us--sometimes in the evening and at other times in the morning. What a cool place! I hope to come back with my spouse and another couple to do it all over again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway