Buggerru - Cala Domestica villa rental - Scivu and (nude) Piscina beaches are just 10 minutes (6km) away from the house
Scivu and (nude) Piscina beaches are just 10 minutes (6km) away from the house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Buggerru - Cala Domestica Villa Rental Photos and Description
4 double bedrooms with terraces (sleeps 10), 4 baths, spacious modern kitchen

a Danish architect has built her family dream house overlooking the Mediterranean Sea & Sunset yet hidden from tourists by green mountains of Iglesias. This cute stylish dry stone and wood house, ideal for 2 families, was completed in 2012. Beautiful rare dry-stone villa, modern inside (Artimede, Michele di Lucchi, Eames, Wegner, Knoll, Jacobsen, Ingo Maurer, Ergo Focus...) and free from concrete and chemically treated materials. As it sits halfway on a hill (175m above the sea) it benefits from a constant breeze even during the hottest days of the year. Mosquitoes are rare. Independently controlled ventilation. A swimming pool would be an offence to the Sardinian beaches just 5min drive. The house has 4 bathrooms : 2 inside +2 outside ; 4 double bedrooms, each with terrace access, and sleeps up to 10 persons. Shady carport for 3 cars generates plenty solar energy. If you like what you see, then we'd like to see you.

Great evening meals at home or next door: Our wonderful neighbours just 400m up the road cook the best meals in the valley every night at 20h. Call early Agriturismo Fighezia at 3480698303 (Francesco) to reserve. Corpious diner cost 25€/person including everything : wine, dessert, espresso and limoncello or mirto.

Young perfectionist Luca opened his Trattoria Sole della Luna located halfway between the beach and our house. The food is delicate and servings just keeps on coming. When in Italy do as the Italians, just eat from 21h30 'till 01. Luca cooks both lunch and dinner, closed Sunday and Monday, so he can also keep his body tanned ;-) call Luca at 3478846310

On the Beach, you eat well at l'Ancora : try Zuppa di Cozze, Black spaghetti, Spigola and Dorade... and their wine selection is the best in the valley Call 078154903

Start your vacation in the water: This unspoilt SW corner of Sardinia is best discovered from the sea. Tony has a boat for 8 people and took us out for a 4h evening ride from 4-8pm. Pan di Zucchero is a 200m high roch in the sea where rock climbers challenge themselves (it is ready with croches, so just bring your gear). The water is bluer than blue. There are cool grottos and natural 'jacuzzi's to be enjoyed.... and nobody knows, but Tony. Call him at 3483634026 (approx 25€/person). If you have sailing licence you can rent RIPs with 40 or 100HP from ShardanaAdventures.com for 100-220€ per day. Call Lorenzo at 3395631141 in Buggerru. He is also the surf guru and teacher and speaks fluently French and English

A 1 day sail trip around isola San Pietro, starting from Portoscusu is also worth 300€ up to 10 persons. We saw the tuna catching area and lunched in the beautiful bay we the Falks nest. The skipper can provide freshly harpun caught lunch or sail you to Tunisia in just 16h. We recommend CarloforteSailCharter.it who has several boats in various ports 3472733268

7km long 'grotto Su Mannau': this is the wildest and most dangerous experience I've had so far. 7 hours under ground with lauches, real headlight, cliffs and clean water springs. I was particulary scared after 3h when the guide lost track of the 'sala vergine' and we had to go through tiny holes, slide around cliffs and got water into the rubber boots. But now that I survived, I'll be happy to do it again. Especially when you come back onto the turist path while some young female guides and public glance with admiration at 'Indiana Jones' returned to life.

More Details
Hide Details

Danish born couple (architect and wine merchant) having lived in San Francisco, Wales, Hamburg, Paris, Bordeaux and since 2004 finally rediscovered and settled in Italy in Montepulciano (Siena) and Portixeddu Sardinia where they produce biodynamic olive oil, trade wine, design and architecture

Anna & Jakob purchased this villa in 2010

After holidaying 15 years in Cap Ferret/Arcachon on the French Atlantic coast; Mallorca, Sicily, Hydra... and Cote d'Azur we immediately fell in love with the unspoilt South West corner of Sardinia. Even in July we are the only NorthEuropean tourists on the huge beaches.

No where else in Europe can you find such vast beaches, wild mountains and crystal clear Sea at 25.C. The season is at least 180 days, yet the cost of living is like in 1950s. We love food and we love cooking (and authentic wine). Our mission is to support the diversity of nature. Think Global, eat/shop local... and the Sardinians need your business.

20 Reviews of Property 458806 in Buggerru - Cala Domestica, Italy

Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
average rating of 4.894737 based on 20 reviews
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Peaceful paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a beautiful house with a fantastic location - if you want a some calm days by yourself on a secluded property with excellent views. You are at the same time close to fantastic beaches and nice villages with adequate shopping possibilities and charming restaurants.
Longing for a re-visit!
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Simply and truly wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Cool, Nordic style in hot and sunny Sardegna – a perfect retreat facing the sea and mountains. The house is beautifully layed out, interiors and exteriors top design chic but with warmth and plenty of personal charm.
Everything here just emanates Peace, beauty and joie-de-vivre. Who could wish for anything more?
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
4

Fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great place with a lot to do and see, super food and just a great place to relax
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Peace in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
we love you house, that lives up to more than words and pictures... and a great coffee machine and grinder. We hope to come back
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Fantastic house in peaceful area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This beautiful house was a great base for us discovering Sardinia. In a peaceful area, close to a really nice beach, with small towns and restaurants nearby, this was perfect for our family of 4. We had 2 great weeks and can't wait to come back.
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are happy you enjoyed it and hope to see you again
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Love You and Leave You

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Four friends spread far and wide around the world came together this Spring in Iakob and Anna’s magical community.

Weary from our long journeys from Jakarta, London, and Washington, we drove from the Cagliari airport on a cloudy, overcast day not knowing what to expect. The first part of our road journey from the airport was flat and unremarkable, which shifted dramatically with the change to the beautiful coast of Southwestern Sardinia. We met the caretakers, David and Lilly, at the bar in Portixeddu for the transfer of keys and once-over of the house. As soon as David welcomed us by asking us to stay for a drink with his eternal laugh, our anticipation receded into content calm, and our remarkable Sardinian journey began.

We each could write a novel about the joyful and warmhearted week we spent in Portixeddu and Fluminimaggiore. The second day, one of us began a conversation, “When we come back next year…” The community brought us into their homes, shops, and hearts from the moment we arrived, and they similarly communally came to bid us farewell over a long afternoon of wine (and grappa and vodka and limoncello and mirto). From the beauty of the landscape to the style of the house to the unending plates of authentic food to the graciousness of David and Lilly’s assistance, which quickly grew into a genuine friendship, we spent ten days that will fill a lifetime of smiling storytelling.

I have recently begun training in meditation. It’s no coincidence that when I sit down every day to meditate, the first image I have when I close my eyes is the porch of this villa overlooking its valley. Step-by-step, I imagine the easy hike to the beach at Scivu, then the lambs flocking on the road to the water, later the walk down the cliff to the beach, and finally, I bring myself back to the feeling of the white Sardinian sand under my feet. Though I have traveled all over the Earth, I return to this place to quiet my mind because it’s unlike no other.

Thank you, Iakob and Anna for your diligence and professionalism in the arrangments. If you may allow us one constructive criticism, payment by credit card would make the logistics of payment far easier. And to David and Lilly, we were loath to “love you and leave you,” but we’ll be back again for many more happy memories.
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful and poetic comment. I shall immediately follow you in meditation and look forward to sharing sandy feet, lamb and mirto... Om
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

A superb retreat among the wildflowers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We all loved the villa. True to the photos, the villa is very bright and airy. Very comfortable, clean and well kept. We loved the clean modern design. The owners want to take good care of their place and it shows.

We really lived life well here: the first night the villa caretakers, David and Lilly, not only met us to hand over the keys and walk us through the house, but they also got us fresh fishes from the fishmonger, so fresh they were a cinch to make into a delicious zuppa di pesce. This was also only possible because David and Lilly had also taken the time and care to stock the fridge/pantry for us in preparation for our late afternoon arrival time. The rest of the week, we continued with many more home cooked meals -- they showed us where to source fresh produce in town and fresh meats from the charismatic butcher. All that good food was downed with wines and champagnes we had brought and also those that were already stocked at the villa.

We spent many hours in the living, dining areas, deck and kitchen enjoying the company of our small group friends over good food and wine. It doesn't hurt that there is a gorgeous view from the villa, perfect for watching the sun set over the hills and into the sea. We were also lucky in that it was cold enough in the evenings to fire up the hanging fireplace too.

We also left the villa, of course, and enjoyed empty beaches and long walks in the beautiful countryside. We ventured into neighboring towns/villages too and found the people to be exceedingly welcoming. We enjoyed eating out at L'Anchora and other nearby restaurants not just for the excellent long lunches and dinners, but also the friendly company of locals. All in all, our time at the villa and on Sardinia's beautiful southwest coast, was made exceptional in large part due to the people we met there, such as David and Lilly. Thank you! We plan to make it back.
Owner's Response: wow, thank you so much for these kind words... you are absolutely right. Our compliments to your clever eye. Please come back, Anna Helene & Iakob
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

We loved the house - a very special atmosphere

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We enjoyed the stay very much - we loved the house, it has a very special atmosphere. The beaches are really outstanding, we were only struggling with one disappointing local restaurant. But this was made more than good by your two cleaning ladies Marilena and Paula - they are really jewels and so warmhearted apart from doing a wonderful job. We had them every third day which made the holiday most relaxing.

This is a very special place and was ideal for our vacations. We stayed with 4 adults and one 3 years old. All of us enjoyed the house tremendously - it is having a very special atmosphere and we relaxed immediately. Outside and inside dinners were perfect and the nearby biological agriturismo offers a really good alternative for those who don't want to cook. The area is not at all touristic which is amazing seen the quality of the beaches. I have never seen such clear sea water in Italy.
Eating out in the local restaurant was a disappointment - this is the downside of a non touristic area. And trips to interesting places meant at least 30 min drive through empty mountain landscape with many curves. Summary: ideal holiday for families with little children, maybe difficult for teenagers as nothing to do in the evening. Very kind owners and caretakers. The local cleaning ladies made us feel at home. Angelika
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Top sophisticated simplicity in Sardegnia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
It is rare that you find yourself in one of those spots where nature and the interior are in perfect harmony. Being able to take a hot shower outside your bedroom with no one overlooking you , but you however get to overlook the curvy mountains and valleys that earlier on in the day led you down to to the almost empty beach. You feel cleansed from all uneccesary mess and everywhere your eyes wander wether it be inside or the amazing terraces around the house - you are pleasurably filled with blissful peace and calmness. The house is so beautifully and stylishly decorated, and has just the right amount of personality a holiday home requires. It also allows you to be on your own if you choose to be, and leave the kids unattended whilst taking a nap ( no swimming pool thank god!). - all in all breathtakingly nature, stunning surroundings, sophisticated simplicity , a holiday that made me feel rejuvenated and inspired me to redecorate my home when I returned.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private Designer Villa with undisturbed Views to Sea & Mountains, 5min. to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p458806
+39 333 1312359
Buggerru - Cala Domestica Carbonia-Iglesias
5

Wild nature, elegant and intelligent house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
January in South Sardinia is all kind of weather and temperatures from 0-25°C. At night it gets pitch dark and cool, so we enjoyed the hot bathroom floors, the turning fireplace, cooking wild boar and whatever the superfriendly local hunters gave us. One of our guests jumped in the sea... The house is cleaner than the pictures and fitted with plenty of smart devices, mountain bikes, but where was the key for the scooter ?
PS Thanks for the wine : 6 Mura carignano was super
Helpful votes: 4/4