The views of the sea are spectacular and the the villa is tastefully furnished. However it is isolated and a 15 minute drive to the shops, restaurants and beaches in El Campillo. There are 2 very small shops within 1km but they had very limited expensive stock. There is nothing to do in walking distance.
The villa is not suitable for 8 adults - three of the bedrooms have en suite facilities but the fourth bedroom has to share the facilites of one of the other bedrooms. A downstairs wc could be used but this kept getting blocked. The ensuite bathrooms upstairs do not have any doors thus no privacy. Plus the showers do not have any doors or curtain and the water went everywhere. Thus we had to mop up all bathroom and bedroom floors after a shower. The floors are tiled and when wet are dangerous. There were no hooks/rails for towels.
The first level terrace appears to belong to a separate apartment which the we understand is for the owners use and any food drinks etc need to be brought down from upper level. It is not user friendly.
The pool lights came on at 10pm which was too late as it was dark at 7.30pm. Throughout the week there was a sewage smell pervading the outside area thus on occasions, making it unpleasant to site outside. Most of the locks on the doors were difficult to use.
It is the first of many villas that we have rented that did not have a welcome pack on arrival and all the cupboards were bare. Thus we had a 20 minute drive to a supermarket to stock up on essentials. For late arrivals this would be difficult. This is also the first villa that has not provided a cleaning service and we were given a list of things that had to be fullfilled before we would have our deposit returned. In essence we had to clean the property including pool area. We would not recommend this villa to our friends.
Owner's Response: Dear customers
I'm very sorry to hear that your holiday was a disappointment... although in all those twelve years we never had negative comments...
On the website, we've clearly mentioned the distance to all locations in the neighbourhood. The villa is located in a residential area. We always recommand a car to our guests but there's even a busstop at 50m...
The villa has 4 bedrooms with double beds and 3 bathrooms. In total 4 toilets! 2 toilets are fully separate, 2 toilets are in the new ensuite bathrooms upstairs. We don't understand why you mention that the villa is not suitable for 8 persons... We even had to install an extra bed for free on your demand!
The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms are fully renovated, following the newest design with strong and decent materials. All our guests were very enthusiast untill now...
The floor in the bathrooms and the bedrooms is an expensive tile, wood design, specially composed to avoid slipping when it's wet.
One detail we will take care of: a hook or rail to hang the towels.
On the first level, there's a lounge terrace as explained in the description, and as shown on the pictures. In total there are 2 big terraces, 1 fully covered and 1 half covered on the level of the diningroom and kitchen. Beside that, there's an outside kitchen and a terrace beside the swimming pool!
The problem with the pool lights is already solved: you only had to send an sms to our housekeeper and everything would be arranged immediately.
Concerning the smell, we asked for information to our neighbours: yes, there was one night a problem in the full area, I'm very sorry for that...
The locks , we will check as soon as possible, thank you for the information.
On your arrival, we provide a bottle of whine, good quality. We never promised a welcome pack...
The villa is fully clean on your arrival and will be cleaned after you've left! We only ask to leave everything in a decent way and to empty the dirtbags...
We never ask to clean the pool area, only to take your mess and to put all the furniture on the original place!
We hope you will find your taste in future.
Did you find this review helpful?