Vancouver studio rental - View from sitting area to entrance & garden
View from sitting area to entrance & garden
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Vancouver Studio Rental Photos and Description
Self contained open plan studio with vaulted ceiling & skylights.

The detached contemporary studio is located at the rear of our house.

Built in 2007 the modern design is open plan. approx. 500 sq. ft.(46.5 sq.m.) & contains a queen bed, queen pull-out sofa bed, dining area, kitchenette & bathroom with shower.There is a flat screen TV with cable connection, a DVD/Blue Ray player, internet/WiFi connection.

Parking is unrestricted on the street & smaller vehicles can park behind the studio.

The neighbourhood is quiet & there are lots of pleasant walks around the residential areas & to various parks.

Roger & Holly & their two sons have lived in the Mount Pleasant area since 1996 & purchased their house in 2001.Originally from the UK, Roger moved to Vancouver in 1980 & has built a freelance career as an architectural photographer. Holly is in the medical profession & is originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba.

roger brooks purchased this studio in 2001

We originally rented this property & later had the chance to buy it. Prior to this we lived not far away & wanted to stay in the area because it is a great neighbourhood for raising a family.We were attracted to the heritage style of our house & knew it had great potential. It was built in 1910. The detached studio at the rear we built in 2007.

There aren't many unique detached places available for vacation rental in such a centrally located area. It is just like being in your own house with a garden!

7 Reviews of Property 457566 in Vancouver, British Columbia

Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
5

Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This has been a wonderful place to retreat to after a day of intense learning.
It has been such a pleasure and privilege to stay here and experience and explore Vancouver.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Owen Sound
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Roger & Holly, your Soma Cottage has been a great place to relax after spending wonderful days with our new grandson. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Love the cathedral ceilings! Nice & light & airy!
Great location!
Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Melbourne, Australia.
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved our stay at Soma Cottage. Upon moving from Melbourne, Australia to Vancouver, Canada, we found this gem online and booked a month at Soma cottage while finding out feet in Vancouver. Roger and his family were accommodating and helpful the whole way through the booking process and while we stayed at the cottage. The accommodation was perfect, it had all the necessitates and more. The accommodation is cosy, neat, beautifully appointed and was bright and comfortable. The Television and included Wi Fi was incredibly useful and generously provided. The main street shops are great, close walking distance to bus, sky train and good coffee shops (a big deal when visiting from Melbourne). Restaurants and general services were close by and great for foodies to enjoy. Recommendations are Sushi on Main at General Public. Coffee at the local JJ Bean satisfied our caffeine cravings. Roger was most helpful and attentive, and was a real help to us offering advise and recommendations. I could not recommend this place more, it was perfect for our needs. The pull out couch was also quite comfortable and easily accommodated some passing through guests of ours.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were more than happy to make recommendations about restaurants, coffee shops & shopping in our neighbourhood of Mount Pleasant and make guests feel at home & welcome. We are less than one block from Main Street, which has now become one of "the" areas for boutique shopping & unique one off stores. The restaurant selection is fabulous & very diverse.
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Lakefield,Ontario
5

Peterborough,Ontario

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Fantastic place to stay in Vancouver! Very close to downtown and very much like home. Thanks so much as we enjoyed the visit with our son.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We often accommodate families visiting loved ones in our neighbourhood. We've seen lots of grandchildren visit the studio at various times! Our location is great for access to public transit & for getting downtown.
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Vancouver
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I recently moved back to Vancouver and stayed at SOMA Cottage for a month as I settled back into the city. This was the perfect place to stay while getting organized. The neighborhood is quiet and close to a lot of good food and shopping. Public transportation is easy to go wherever you need. After a long drive across the country, I was greeted by Roger and settled in with fresh flowers, a spotless studio and all the amenities that one would need for a short or extended stay. Thank you so much for making my transition smooth and enjoyable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We enjoy making people feel welcome & like to add little touches in the studio like fresh fruit, flowers, etc. It makes the studio feel more like home!
business
Unique studio in vibrant neighbourhood centrally located .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457566vbi
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

My stay at SOMA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
SOMA Cottage felt like paradise after a long bout of international travelling and the stress of planes, trains, buses and sometimes questionable taxis. I relaxed immediately in the clean, cozy atmosphere of this thoughtfully decorated and detailed space. It was very clean. It contained everything I needed to cook a snack or a meal, and the t.v. and wifi worked beautifully. It was very quiet, but close to Main Street and all its interesting stores. I highly recommend this lovely place. I found it very private , but if I required anything, Roger and Holly were very accommodating hosts. I would highly recommend SOMA Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This was the second visit by Jane & we hope to see her again! A number of our guests are repeat visitors & they really enjoy our central location. A car really isn't necessary to get around the city. We happily advise guests about places of interest in & out of the city. The area we live in is quiet & peaceful - hard to believe you're in a large metropolis!
Helpful votes: 2/2