Charlottetown house rental - Our Home
Our Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Charlottetown House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 3 bathroom Luxury Home in Historic Downtown Charlottetown

With the latest modern comforts wrapped in the warmth of heritage, this century old Colonial Revival home has been restored to its original grandeur. Located in the heart of olde Charlottetown on a quiet residential treed street, it is one-half of a block from the harbour front with its beautiful boardwalk and stately park and only two blocks from Confederation Centre and Province House. This section of Charlottetown has walking streets nestled with stately old homes that tell a tale of bygone days. Only steps away are wonderful theatrical experiences; gallery beauty; and culinary delights. Charlottetown began and continues to be a city of diversity and culture.

Our 2000 square foot home has been totally restored during 2012 with a very conscious mission of maintaining the character of the Past but enhancing it to meet our modern life. The many rooms reflect history but nod to the future. The 3 bedrooms have 2 king and 1 queen bed; all bathrooms with latest design; sun filled kitchen with highest end appliances; garden room with latest entertainment devices; library with grand piano; and 5 fireplaces which reflect our desire to make the hearth the center of home for our family and for our traveling guests. The outside life of the house also is designed with historical pillared balconies and verandahs for quiet reflection and a good book while the backyard decks are ready for barbecuing and sunbathing.

Prince Edward Island is unique and this home embodies the same qualities. Our famous authoress, Lucy Maud Montgomery, pens it best in her poem 'Peace' when she ends this wonderful piece of literature with the words 'Why! I have come home!'

More Details
Hide Details

Hi Folks! We are Al and Sharon James. Sharon is from Prince Edward Island and Al is from Alberta. We met at the University of Manitoba-a long time ago. We have had varied careers in mental health, music education and tourism. We recently retired from operating a large family resort in Cavendish and are now enjoying being Nannie & Grampie to the little people in our lives. However, because we love PEI and have done tourism for 3 decades, we are making our Charlottetown winter home available to people who wish to experience a wonderful vacation in our beautiful city.

Al or Sharon James purchased this house in 2011

PEI has many wonderful places to live but for us on the ocean or in Charlottetown would be the 'very best'. So, since we have a summer shore front cottage, we found this wonderful historic property to develop as a winter home where we can experience city life. We love the proximity to beautiful vistas, walks on the harbour front, theatre and dining which are all so readily available here in Charlottetown. Also, since PEI is an Island, it isn't very far to commute to the country and to the haunts of our north shore seaside.

Our newly restored home has many features for your vacation. It is modern but nostalgic; has been refurbished with what we know visitors need for physical comfort; has four star hotel amenities; has art and designer qualities; has warmth of family and hearth -all of which are needed to make a vacation rejuvenating and memorable. We wish the same 'spirit of place' for all of our guests that this house gives to us when we come through its doors.

7 Reviews of Property 457406 in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Olde Charlottetown Century Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
5

Exceptional Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We booked this vacation home six months ago and the communication between Al and Sharon was excellent. When we pulled up to the house, we were truly amazed at the size and how beautiful everything was on the exterior. The flowers and the porch furniture and rockers made it so inviting. We walked in and found a home that Al and Sharon had renovated and decorated with the best of everything. Al stopped in to make sure we were all settled and if we had any questions. Showed us how to operate a few things in the house and off he went. Our days started with breakfast made at the house and off we went for a walk or a ride. From the master bedroom deck, you can see the water and catch a glimpse of a ship coming or going. So much was in walking distance. There wasn't anything else that we needed during our week stay. The neighborhood is very quiet and anyone we met on our walks invited us back to their home for coffee or tea that evening. We even had a pass for the National Parks which we did used. Restaurants, shopping, etc. are in walking distance.If we have a chance to visit Charlottetown again, this surely would be our first choice of places to stay. This home belongs on the cover Better Homes & Gardens.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a privilege to have you stay in our province, our city and in our home. Vacations are so important and we are very pleased that this was one which met your expectations and brought pleasure to you. We wish you health, happiness and another visit to PEI.

With best regards,
Al and Sharon
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
5

everything we expected and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The home was perfect and exceeded our expectations in every way. It is beautifully finished, exceptionally clean, fully equipped, and ideally located close to amenities in a peaceful neighborhood. Everything was ready when we arrived, and Al walked us through everything we needed to know. The beds were excellent, and bathrooms were modern and nicely designed. You can't ask for anything more.
We wished it was our home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you chose to stay with us while you had a wonderful family celebration. We hope that the good memories will draw you back to visit PEI many, many times.
Al & Sharon
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
La Grange, IL USA
5

Missing the experience already

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Sharon and Al have restored this home beautifully. Just the 2 of us were able to enjoy living in this "new" old home. The location is ideal for walking anywhere in town, and perfect for easy drives around the island. The area is absolutely quiet at night, which made for great sleeping in the amazingly comfortable king bed. All of the appliances are high quality. We enjoyed cooking breakfast at home, and some dinners, the kitchen is absolutely well equipped. The comfortable home has many rooms and porches to enjoy. One night we had a very unusual power outage which sent us all outdoors, and I enjoyed playing the piano, rocking on the porch, and chatting up the very sweet neighbors. Their raspberries were in season, and we picked a handful for breakfast every morning. The home is immaculate, bright and a pleasure to enjoy. The grocery stores are a 5 minute drive, and you can get local fish around the island if you want to cook at home. Strolling toward Victoria Park at night was so relaxing, as well as enjoying the many good restaurants in town. The owners are available for any questions, and their love for this property shines through. PEI is so charming, the landscapes and beaches are storybook like and it is so easy to drive around the island. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How great it was to have you folks visit our home and our Island! Thank you so much and we hope you can return once again.
Al & Sharon
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
Airdrie,AB
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
That is exactly how our family felt while we stayed in this beautiful home. The house was very comfortable for all six of us and for visits from our extended family that live on the island. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in and the rest of the house was also very well equiped. We really felt that nothing was lacking. Our children enjoyed playing in the back yard and picking handfulls of rasberries every day from the large bushes growing there. There are cosy corners all over the property that are great for culing up with a good book or enjoying a glass of wine on a warm evening. We especially enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch and the balcony off the master bedroom. Being able to walk through historic Charlottetown was an added treat, the house is in such a convenient location. Our vacation was all that we could hoped for and we look foreward to staying in this home again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful to have you folks visit and we'd love to have you come again. Thank you for staying in our home and being part of our wonderful neighbourhood. Al & Sharon
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
Brampton
5

Exceeded our Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were very fortunate that this beautiful century home was available for our family vacation to PEI. The pictures are a true reflection of how this home looks. It is obvious that the homeowners have take great care in renovating and restoring this home. The house is beautifully decorated, the beds were extremely comfortable, the property is landscaped very nicely and there was more than enough room for our family of five.
We appreciated that it was located downtown and we were able to walk to many of the sights in Charlottetown. My husband and I especially enjoyed stepping out in the evenings to have a drink at a restaurant/bar down the street. It was a short walk to Victoria Park where we enjoyed the magnificent fireworks display on Canada Day.
This is a 5+ vacation rental that I would most definitely recommend and also make a return visit to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was super meeting you folks. We are so glad that you had a great time on our Island. We hope you can come back again! Al & Sharon
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

St. Pete's companions

St. Pete's companions
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The home and property far exceeded the listing photos and our expectations. We were thrilled with the layout, ease of enjoying the home and property and the comfort of the bedrooms. The home is equipped with everything and more that a vacationer would need. The owners were lovely and answered every question. We could tell they take enormous pride in maintaining a pristine home and property. It is well within walking distance to everything in downtown Charlottetown, and we visited many of the nearby restaurants and shops. We would recommend this home in a heartbeat! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Olde Charlottetown Century Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p457406vb
902-393-9425/902-393-5937
Charlottetown Prince Edward Island
Edmonton, Alberta
5

I'd go again!

I'd go again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What struck us initially was how pretty the house was from the outside. The ambiance inside was equally as warm and inviting. We loved the kitchen with sunshine pouring in the large south windows. Lots of space to make meals together. The layout provided space to be with others in our party and space to be alone. The bed was very comfortable. We loved the neighbourhood grandeur and proximity to the heart of Charlottetown with it's great shops and restaurants. Close to the action but quiet nonetheless. We'd go again in a heartbeat.
We have an eye for detail. This place did not disappoint!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3