Russian Hill apartment rental - Living room features a sleeper sofa for two people.
Living room features a sleeper sofa for two people.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Russian Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Centrally Located Sf Flat, Sleeps Up To 6

This charming 2 bedroom Russian Hill flat, in an Edwardian building built in 1907, is the perfect location for your San Francisco get-away. The building is located on a quiet street in the delightful Russian Hill neighborhood that is full of old world charm, and is conveniently located near many of the wonderful sites and flavors that San Francisco has to offer:

1½ blocks to cable car (Hyde Street)

Less than 10 minute walk to historic North Beach

Less than 10 minute walk to bustling Chinatown

Less than 10 minute walk to Polk Street cafes and shops

3 minute cable car ride to Lombard St

5 minute cable car ride to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman’s Wharf

Imagine waking up in this classic San Francisco flat deciding what to do with your day. You could go to a North Beach bakery for cappuccino and a pastry, followed by a walk to Coit Tower and Washington Square. Or you could head to Chinatown for Dim Sum, go souvenir shopping on Grant Ave followed by a traditional foot massage. Maybe you want to go to a coffee shop on Polk Street followed by an afternoon of window shopping at the many boutiques on Polk and Union streets. Or maybe you’ll take the cable car to Fisherman’s Wharf for a seafood brunch followed by a ferry boat ride to Alcatraz.

About the flat:

The master bedroom has a king size bed and bay window, decorated with art deco accents. The second bedroom has a queen size bed, original pocket doors that open to the living room, and is decorated with authentic California Plein-Air paintings.

The living room has a brand new, super comfortable pull-out sleeper sofa that sleeps two people. There are hardwood floors throughout the flat.

The newly renovated kitchen has beautiful original tile work from the 1920s as well as many contemporary conveniences, including a new dishwasher and microwave. I love to cook and I’ve stocked this kitchen with all the cookware, vintage dishware and cookbooks you need to make your own feasts if you so desire.

In classic San Francisco fashion, the bathroom and toilet room are separated. Both have original tile from the 1920s as well as vintage art deco mirrors.

Amenities include:

• Washer and Dryer in unit

• Complimentary coffee and tea

• Bedding and towels provided

• Shampoo, soap and blow dryer provided

• 50' HD Cable TV and high speed wireless internet

• Telephone with free domestic service

• Small outdoor yard with gas grill

• iPod docking station

• Parking in the garage below the flat is available for an additional $30 per day

Since this flat is located on a hill, if you don’t like the idea of walking up or down a hill you may want to consider renting a car or staying in a flatter (but not nearly as scenic or convenient!) area of town.

San Francisco is a great town for walking, but if you want to drop into a gym or attend a yoga class, there are several facilities close by.

No smoking anywhere on the property, including the outdoor backyard and the front steps.

More reviews here: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/734839

More Details
Hide Details

I moved from my native country of Japan to the Russian Hill neighborhood of San Francisco over 20 years ago and I plan to stay here forever. I truly love San Francisco and Russian Hill in particular. I manage my own art business and love collecting and restoring antiques. I also love traveling, wine tasting, hiking, visiting museums and galleries, cooking, and checking out new San Francisco restaurants and coffee shops.

I am passionate about respecting and maintaining San Francisco’s old world charm. I personally restored this property, keeping as much of the original details that I could while creating a comfortable atmosphere with modern conveniences. I want guests to have an authentic San Francisco experience, and hope the space I have created will make you feel at home.

Because I have lived here for so long, I can provide guests with tips on sites and local restaurants that are off of the beaten path. I can also recommend neighborhood walks that expose guests to the historic and cultural charm that San Francisco has to offer. Since I often go to Napa and Sonoma, I have many recommendations of wineries that you may want to visit.

I am proud of my adopted city and my home and want to share them with you. I hope that you can experience all the wonders of San Francisco that I am so lucky to enjoy everyday.

More Reviews here: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/734839

30 Reviews of Property 455734 in Russian Hill, California

Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
average rating of 5.0 based on 30 reviews
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

The best VRBO rental ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family of 5 loved this flat. It was adorable, comfortable and absolutely fitting with the beautiful San Francisco environs. The owner literally thought of everything. I have used VRBO to rent 8-10 vacation places, and this location and flat is hands down the best place we've ever stayed in. Every detail was perfected, and Kenji was a perfect host. The location is great, and you are in walking distance or cable car to almost everywhere you'd want to go. We're going back, for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Vancouver, BC. Canada
5

BEAUTIFUL Flat in a Great Neighbourhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family and I arrived early in SF but Kenji was there to greet us with hot tea and a warm smile. He is his flat personified! He welcomed us with a tour of his lovely flat and an extensive portfolio of SF information. If that's not the way to start your vacation I don't know what is. I was travelling with my husband and two 11 year olds and a 9 year old. They enjoyed their stay at Kenji's as much as I did. One day, they even walked all the way from Fisherman's Wharf to the flat without too much whining! We liked the fact that it was close to the cable cars and there were many local restaurants nearby as we ate dinner out every night. We had a car but only used it to visit the GG Park and the Presidio. It was nice to be among the locals and not to be surrounded by tourists all the time. We had too much of that in Fisherman's Wharf. We did manage to make use of Kenji's kitchen as we had breakfast at the flat every morning. We shopped at Trader Joe's which is nearby.

Amenities were top notch such as the flat's décor(Japanese inspired), luxurious bedding (I want that duvet!), Japanese toilet (kids loved that) and the on demand hot water (husband loved that). There were little touches as well such as the full bottles of shampoo/conditioner/body wash, liquid detergent for washer, coffee, tea and lots of towels. I can't say enough good things about the property and about Kenji. He really loves SF and he can't wait to tell you all about it. We followed almost all his recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing secret spots and weren't disappointed.

Thank you so much for opening up your home and city to me and my family. Our trip to SF will hold fond memories that will include you and your beautiful flat.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Awesome Flat in Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful San Francisco flat. Kenji was an excellent host and the accommodations were superior. Kenji greeted us upon our arrival...slippers were waiting at the door and we were quickly offered green tea while he reviewed the extensive materials he has prepared to help guests plan sightseeing activities etc. The flat is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood within walking distance of many of the key sightseeing attractions. We felt very safe walking in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed the local restaurants. There are also several vantage points close to the flat that offer excellent views of the city. While we spent most of our time in San Francisco exploring the city the apartment amenities were appreciated when we finally took a break. The flat is well appointed with lovely furnishings and the sheets and towels were definitely luxurious. The teenager travelling with us tested the pull out sofa and gave it a great review. We also appreciated the complimentary bottle of wine and fine chocolates! We even found time in the evening to read some of Kenji's many books on San Francisco. Based on our outstanding experience we can highly recommend this rental!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

AMAZING SAN FRANCISCO FLAT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family had an amazing vacation in San Francisco, and our stay in Kenji's flat made a big difference. Indeed, the past reviews I read were all "on the spot"! Having a firsthand experience of Kenji's warm hospitality, (from the welcome tea, tour of his place, restaurant tips and other suggestions, handwritten note in a card, ghirardelli chocolates and a bottle of wine,)..... added to the overall positive experience of our San Francisco vacation! I would definitely recommend this flat to my friends who will visit San Francisco. The beauty and warmth of Kenji's flat surely made up for the coldness of SFO when we were there. I especially like the added extra of a washer and dryer (complete with detergents) which we made good use of. San Francisco is a walking city..... and Kenji's flat is ideal for walking to many interesting places. We walked to China town, to many nearby restaurants, to the crooked Lombard street, all the way down to Civic center. You could walk all the way down to Marina and the Fisherman's wharf. Since there were many of us, taking a taxi back to the flat was a good option. But for my other adult children, the walk back was a good exercise.

We hope to stay longer when we visit San Francisco again..... and hopefully, Kenji's flat will be available!! Thanks again Kenji! Till we meet again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Everything just perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We - a family of four stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas 2013. The flat is indeed very nice and clean - recently remodelled and the original style is well maintained with tiles and most likely ? original hard floors with a beautiful look. Great atmosphere.

The street is quiet too - just a few neighbours drove by. I enjoyed sitting by the window - with a cup of coffee watching people passing by. In the morning my daughter spent some time sitting outside at the front door with a cup of tea reading. We parked the car in the garage and walked to Union Square, Fisherman’s Warf, restaurants and shops.

We dined at a nearby Spanish tapas restaurant - excellent and inexpensive. We biked the Golden Gate. In the morning before we went to Tahoe we enjoyed jogging by the shoreline to Golden Gate. OK - the weather was perfect too, but this flat deserves all the positive reviews.
Everything just perfect - which also includes communication before booking and the information we got from Kenji at the arrival about restaurants, museums, parks, shopping etc.

I definitely recommend this flat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

A warm welcome and a pleasant stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The owner communicated clearly before and during the stay, and even helped us plan some of the details. The flat was clean, bright, and comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Tokyo/Japan
5

I enjoyed the total freedom as if I were living in my own apartment. This is the life of a SF!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The owner’s attention to the needs of the guests was thoughtful and appreciated. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in San Francisco and the apartment was a big part of it.
Some of the things I liked about the apartment were the separate bathroom and toilet, a coffee maker with different kinds of coffee, a washer and dryer with detergent, free cable TV, free WIFI service and free domestic phone calls. More than anything, all the rooms are very clean and decorated very classy. It may have something to do with the owner being Japanese. In addition, various and everyday spices are also provided for in the kitchen. So you can always do some shopping at the nearby supermarket and cook for yourself. This could be very economical for long-stay travelers. After a busy day of sightseeing, there is nothing better than relaxing with some nice Californian wine and food of your choice.
Another great feature of this apartment was the instant and unlimited access to hot water. Usually, homes overseas use hot water tanks with a boiler to heat it. This can lead to hot water running out after the second or the third person showering. In fact, I have personally experienced this and had to limit our shower times. However, this apartment has the same boiler system as used in Japan. I was very pleased to know that I could take a hot bath whenever I wanted and for however long without worries of running out of hot water.
Finally, the location of this apartment is and the view of the city from the apartment is unbeatable. I chose this place considering its accessibility and proximity to must see places. In fact, it was within walking distance to most of central downtown tourist spots in the guidebook. And, if I wanted to give my feet a rest, there was always the cable car to take me to and from the apartment. In addition, there is a street of restaurants and bars just one block from the house and most of these restaurants deliver. China town and Italian town were also close. As a side note, I felt very safe and I didn’t see nor have any unpleasant encounters with the city’s homeless in my neighborhood.
The apartment also features parking space at an extra charge for those traveling by car or just renting one during the stay in the city. There is also a propane-BBQ set in the backyard. This is definitely something you cannot do when staying at a hotel or B&B’s.
All in all, my first vacation rental apartment experience was very satisfying. Looking forward to renting this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Family trip to San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our time we spent at Kenji's beautiful apartment couldn't have been more wonderful. We're a family of 5 and the accommodations were perfect. The location at the pinnacle of Russian Hill was ideal, within walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see and do - the kids loved riding the cable car a mere block and a half away. It was such a relief to come back to an actual home as opposed to a hotel room after a long day of walking and sightseeing. The apartment is immaculate and beautifully decorated with comfortable furnishings and personal touches throughout. We didn't end up cooking as much as we'd anticipated, but if we had, the kitchen was extremely well-stocked. Kenji was a very helpful and kind host, providing us with loads of information about restaurants, walking tours, museums, etc. Added bonuses are the laundry room and parking spot (which was worth every penny)! We loved our visit and can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Australia
5

Exceptional accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This property allowed us to explore San Francisco easily because of it being central to transport (cable car) and the CBD. It become our home away from home and offered an outstanding level of cleanliness and comfort. Our host was so warm and obliging.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic Russian Hill Flat in SF!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455734vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Wonderful Apartment in a great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, daughter and I spent 6 fabulous nights in San Francisco and it is all
thanks to the wonderful apartment we stayed at in the Russian Hill, Pacific Heights area.
The apartment was absolutely everything it was listed as and had all the amenities
we needed right on our doorstep. From the moment we contacted Kenji to organise
booking and paying for the apartment to meeting him on our arrival was easy and
organised. Kenji met us and showed us how everything worked in the Apartment.
He has wonderful information on all sorts of tourist things to do, restaurants to eat
in, etc. Nothing was too much trouble for him and no question left unanswered.
I would highly recommend using his apartment for your stay. It is clean, spacious,
and very well maintained. We will be returning to the Bay area again as our
son lives there and will hopefully be able to stay at this lovely apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway