Sunol cabin rental - The Treehouse
The Treehouse
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Sunol Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Cabin in the Woods

Slip back in time and relax amongst the rustic setting and the 200 year old live oak trees. Isolate yourself from the world and escape. Listen to the rushing waters of the creek or chirping crickets while partaking in the gorgeous wine barrel hot tub. Read a book while the smell of redwood plank walls surround you. Sit on the deck with some wine and cheese and listen to the birds and breathe the fresh air scented with nature. Curl up in the quiet sitting room with a novel or sprawl out on the inviting king size bed in the cozy and quiet solitude of the master bedroom.

Don't let its rustic charm let you think that you are in a shack and totally off the grid. The 2,000 Sq Ft. Treehouse includes satellite TV with premium channels, high speed internet (wired and Wi-Fi), large modern gourmet kitchen with a Wolf gas range and upgraded appliances, a wine barrel hot tub and a full luxury bathroom with large walk-in shower.

If you want to stay close, the town of Sunol has Bosco's Bones and Brew, a restaurant and saloon featuring 'Bosco', the famous dog mayor of Sunol, plumbed, mounted on the bar and serving Bosco's Brew in only the way a dog can. On the way, stop at Elliston Vineyards and sample some of their award winning wines. On the weekends, partake in breakfast or lunch at Sunol Railroad Cafe' or catch a steam or diesel locomotive from the Sunol train depot into the historic town of Niles to explore the silent film era. Hiking and bike trails are minutes away in the Sunol and Pleasanton Ridge Regional Wildernesses.

You will most certainly see deer and turkey on the 2.9 mile drive to the Treehouse. The road literally forces you to relax and unwind as you drive under the canopy of trees...all fitting for when you walk in the front door at the end of the day.

More Details
Hide Details

We were both born in the San Francisco Bay Area - less than 20 miles from the Treehouse. We have always appreciated the deversity, culture and variety the San Francisco Bay Area offers. Although there is a multitude of activities and things to do in the metro area, the cabin provides us an escape from the normal 'rat race'.

Richard and Janet purchased this cabin in 2009

Sunol is a unique town. Steeped in history, the town was once a stop on the famed Transcontinental Railroad. Although the tracks have been decomissioned from freight use, the station and tracks are used for weekend public train rides between Sunol and the old silent movie town of Niles. The town became famous in the early 80's by electing a dog as 'mayor' - not once, but TWICE.

Feel like you are camping in the woods...while living in luxury. Isolated enough that you can decompress...but close enough to be in Silicon Valley or San Jose airport in 30 minutes or less. Stoneridge Shopping Center is 15 minutes away. Paragon Outlet Mall is 20 minutes away. 2 golf courses within 10 minutes. Hiking is literally in your back yard. Two (Fremont or Pleasanton/Dublin) Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) stations are 20 minutes away and can get you to downtown San Francisco in 45 minutes.

11 Reviews of Property 455382 in Sunol, California

Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
nr. San Diego CA
5

Perfect Bay Area GetAway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cabin is secluded and quiet -- a few miles access, to be sure, but a welcome escape from the traffic and crowds of the Bay Area. The site is a well-shaded canyon with good food, restaurants and shopping about 8-10 miles away. The facilities comprise a older cabin that has been very well modernized, including appliances, beds, etc., so that one instantaneously feels at home. Many of the small cooking ingredients, spices, flour, crackers, etc., are there to be used as part of the owner's larder. As a VRBO, it is highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
5

Great for a small team retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I took a team of 8 (including myself) and this place worked great. The owners were super friendly, walking me through to make sure I knew how to use everything, where the switches were, etc. They did everything they could to make us feel at home, so we could enjoy ourselves. The deck is awesome, the area is gorgeous, the kitchen is sweet...a great place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
Milford
5

Relaxing Retreat in the Trees

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Treehouse is the hidden jewel of Sunol!
When we arrived Richard was waiting to give us a tour to go over everything, and tell us a little bit about the history of the house and the surrounding area which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was a beautiful property and just perfect for our group. We were hosting a mini-reunion/ retreat and we we all fit very comfortably and could spend time together; whether we were outside sunbathing on the beautiful deck, relaxing in the wine barrel Jacuzzi, talking a bike ride on a nature trail, or cooking together in the kitchen. We especially loved the modern touches such as the kitchen appliances and the downstairs bathroom with its rain shower head.

The area nearby had a great restaurant that Richard recommended to us. There were towns nearby with fun places to walk around, grab ice cream, and just be a tourist for a day. In short, a great place to stay, you won't want to leave it! Clean, well maintained, and tranquil. Also a fantastic price! You can tell that the owners really care about you enjoying your stay there.

Many thanks to Richard for creating a beautiful place to get away and relax!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
5

An Incredible Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
An incredible place to stay. Richard met us when we arrived, gave us the tour and made us feel very welcomed and at home. The house was very clean and had a great many things to enjoy. For our group of 9 people, we all fit very comfortably and could take the time to connect and enjoy ourselves. We had a difficult time getting out of the house as it was so great. I have already recommended this to friends and look forward to returning. A great place to get away, reconnect and feel gratitude. Many thanks Richard!
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
5

An Incredible Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is an incredible place to stay. Richard met with us when we arrived, gave us the tour and really made us feel welcomed and at home. We had a group of 9 people and the house was perfect for us. We had a hard time getting out of the house as it was so comfortable and relaxing; just what we were looking for. The house was very clean and well taken care of. I have already recommended this house to friends/ family in need of a terrific place to stay and hope to return. It was heavenly. Many thanks.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
Maricopa, AZ
5

Relaxing and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This property worked extremely well for our visit with family in Fremont, CA, and the home was so relaxing that we extended our stay an extra night. The owner was very helpful with suggestions and everything in the home was well thought out. We have stayed in several vacation homes over the years and this one seemed to have all the little conveniences of home all provided. The setting is so pretty too. It really looks like you are "in the trees." We have a large family and we were very comfortable. It is nicely located, being close to all the things that the city provides, yet in a setting that makes you feel like you are miles away from the city. We will definitely be back the next time we visit my brother.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
Monterey
5

A Great Time Had By All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I stayed at the Tree House last weekend and had a wonderful time. We chose the spot because it is almost exactly halfway between Monterey (where I live) and Sacramento (where they live), and very easy to drive to. The house is beautifully crafted with modern appliances, and the living room has been converted from the original log cabin. We especially enjoyed the huge stone fireplace, which the owners stocked with logs for our arrival.

This is the place to come if you want to get away from it all. For our family it wasn't about location per se; we just wanted to be isolated and enjoy each other's company for the weekend uninterrupted. We played board games, went to Bosco's Bones and Brew (HIGHLY recommend), and Elliston Vineyards for some complimentary wine tasting (both just a 5 minute drive down the road). There is also a pretty path at the end of the road which takes you along a creek under gorgeous tree canopies.

Finally, the perks of the house include a hot tub and an awesome deck for enjoying a bottle of wine. Everything in the house (bedding, appliances, office, kitchen) were extremely clean, with a hotel-like quality. The house has high speed internet, a brand new computer you can use, and it's own cell tower so you have full service during your stay. On our arrival, Richard (the owner) walked us through the house and was extremely helpful, answering any questions we had.

I would highly recommend this house if you need a weekend to rest and relax...it would be especially good for young families as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
Glendale, AZ
5

Perfection!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My time was too brief - only a day to spend at the cabin in the canyon. The doormat starts the experience - Relax, you are at the cabin. Such beauty and the ability to stay at the last minute was such a treat to an amazing weekend! I will definitely be a repeat customer. Highly recommend the cabin for any conceivable retreat. You know you are entering a slice of heaven on earth as you begin the winding drive to the cabin. The water in Sinbad Creek still trickling. Just magical. Simply magical!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
Romeo,MI
5

Tree House in March

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent a delightful week at the Tree House during the last week in March while our family of five was visiting relatives in Livermore, twenty minutes away. The house is located about 2.5 miles up a winding road that follows a river into the canyon. The location on a beautiful wooded hillside looking out over a creek was very unique; you do feel like you are in a tree house! The house, like many in the area, has grown from the original small cabin. The original cabin is now the comfy living room and the house was developed in stages up to and including a very modern lower level bathroom with a heated tile floor, instant warm water, and heated towels. The house has many electronic features, including a computer, printer, cable TV’s, and door lock systems. Verizon cell phones work well because of a booster station in the house, other cell service is not so good. The kitchen is very well equipped and modern and the large dining room table serves many people easily. The upstairs bathroom is still in the 1970 style but with the very nice downstairs bathroom, that was not an issue. Several steps up to the front door and the stairs to the lower level are narrow and curved so that may be an issue if you have any mobility issues. There is plenty of parking. We enjoyed walking up the road to the head of the canyon and then into the surrounding recreation area. It was still a little cold when we were there, so we did not use the deck and hot tub features. The outdoor space was very inviting with several seating areas and we would have liked to use that area more. The owner lives close by and was available to address any problems we had. All in all, the Tree House was great place to stay. Our family from the Midwest enjoyed our weeks’ vacation stay and would not hesitate to return again in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Relax in a Tranquil, Secluded, Rustic Getaway with a Modern Twist
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455382vb
510-552-0048
Sunol The Bay Area
United States
5

The romantic surprise weekend - perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I am happy to be one of the first two guests to rent the Treehouse. We arrived on February 15, 2013 with a check-out of February 17, 2013. We needed two days to drive back to Phoenix. The accommodations are perfection. No detail was missed. We were greeted to a fresh chilled bottle of wine and two glasses in the refrigerator. Before we left we bought a local wine and put it in the refrigerator for the next guests. On our last night we realized we needed one more day. We called the owners, they discounted the rate, and we stayed on more night. The beauty, the tranquility, sitting on the deck listening to the water in Sinbad Creek, perfect weather, one must experience this beautiful cabin that renders one feeling as though they are in a home away from home. The beautiful winding road to the cabin, scenic, and serene - one knows they are entering a very special place, so close to a major city yet so isolated. There are so many places to see and things to do that if you can spend a week at the cabin I highly recommend it. This was a romantic getaway for two, and indeed the most amazing of all I have experienced. The owners are so easy to work with and are always looking for feedback so they can improve. I have no feedback other than I am coming back as often as possible. :-)
Helpful votes: 10/10