Asheville house rental - New construction, 2 car spaces in the drive, just blocks away from the park
New construction, 2 car spaces in the drive, just blocks away from the park
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Asheville House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom, A Park Lover's Dream. 1470 Square Foot

This is your destination for convenience and modern day accommodations. Interested in seeing more of Asheville? Yes, there are the mountains , the Biltmore and the hip downtown scene , but this spot is near it all PLUS just a short distance to the French Broad River park and Carrier Park. At the park, fish along the 3rd oldest river in the world or kayak. Bike or walk the greenway trail that continues all the way to Hominy Creek Park. Let the kids enjoy Carrier Park's massive playground. Guests are welcome to visit the WNC Arboretum for free with our membership pass http://www.ncarboretum.org during your stay.

Grab a beer at the notable Wedge Brewery http://www.wedgebrewing.com , just on the other side of the river. And be sure to get some food at The Junction, White Duck Taco, Clingman Cafe or the President's favorite, 12 Bones Smokehouse all very near the property.

Many working art studios and galleries are also in this area named the River Arts District. Pink Dog Gallery, The Flood Gallery, Clay Space, The Asheville Glass Center and welcome guests to tour.

When we're visiting Asheville and the weather is nice, we spend a lot of time outside, on any one of the 3 porches that overlook the backyard.

Guests can build a campfire in the backyard next to the creek. The home was designed for family and guests to visit with includes plenty of private space as well as an open kitchen and living area.

Relax in the many options for outdoor seating, with great backyard views. This home is perfect for families or friends to visit Asheville, and be near to cool local spots like the park, river and River Arts District scene.

It is a spacious 3 Bedroom home with 2 queen beds, one full mattress futon bed and 2.5 baths . Two bedrooms have a large flat screen, with satellite channels. The home’s 3 level floor plan and large outdoor decks on each level, give guests the feeling of a modern day tree house when dining al fresco amongst numerous large trees surrounding this custom built home. The home has three separate stories, each accessible by stairs: the lower level has the master bedroom and master bath; ground level or first level has the kitchen; living area and a half bath; upstairs has 2nd bedroom; full bath and office with tv and futon.

Newly constructed in 2012, it is a healthy built, energy efficient home, with stainless steel appliances, front loading washer and dryer, walk-in shower and bathtub, hardwood floors, luxurious carpets, colorful rugs, beautiful granite counter tops, with abundant natural sunlight. The home has central air and heat, with a separate thermostat on each floor.

The home sits on a gently sloping hill, surrounded by trees, and adjoins a stream and natural meadows.

36 Moore Ave is a fantastic west Asheville location. The French Broad River flows through Carrier Park just blocks away, which joins the French Broad River Park by way of an extensive greenway trail. Here you can enjoy walking, running or riding a bike. Carrier Park has a large playground, a picnic area and also is a great spot to put a kayak or canoe in the water. If you brought your dog, the French River Park has a dog play pin area. The home offers two hybrid bicycles, as well as two helmets for you to ride around the area. On warm days, the French Broad River is great for a swim and to enjoy a float with inner tubs provided at the house.

In addition to the parks, this location is 1 mile from the River Arts District, Asheville’s premier gallery and working artists’ studios area. Historically a warehouse and railroad yard district, now the River Arts District is to home of some of the best artists in the region and country. Sculptors, ceramic potters, painters, fabric artists, fashion designers, and creative minds welcome you anytime to visit them in their galleries and studios. Some of the best barbeque in the region can be found at 12 Bones. Have a well-crafted beer at the Wedge Brewery, and bask in the afternoon sun with many locals, while watching the train cars slowly roll by.

Venture away from the river 1.5 miles, towards the heart of the thriving, quant west Asheville center, Haywood Road. Boutique shopping, breweries, bars, music venues, restaurants, café’s, holistic treatment centers and a grocery store are just a few minutes away.

Downtown Asheville is also 1.5 miles or just 10 minutes away, while Biltmore Estate entrance and Bent Creek Recreational Area are 15 minutes. Access the Blue Ridge Parkway easily from 36 Moore Ave. and head north or south on the Parkway, just 6 miles away.

More Details
Hide Details

Welcome to our Asheville home. We purchased this home in January 2012 after owning a town home in Black Mountain for 2 years. We are both native floridians, visiting Asheville /Hendersonville for summer camps and family vacations when we were children. Asheville was our summer getaway of choice. We raised our children in So. Florida and moved to Carrboro, NC (near Chapel Hill) in 1999, 13 years ago.

Larry and Susan Powell, owners; Sarah Nie, reservation manager purchased this house in 2012

While many of our neighbors and friends flock to the coast, Asheville continued to be a favorite getaway. At this time we are moving from Carrboro to a downtown Durham loft as our primary residence. I would not be surprised if Asheville turned out to be our primary residence in the future. Why be in the Triangle, when you can be in the mountains.

We bought our current digs in West Asheville about a year ago. Most of our days in Asheville begin with a walk to the French Broad River Park. Just a block away from the house, how could you not. One of the many things in Asheville I never get tired of.

We love going to art galleries, which there are plenty of here, finding too much we love and cherish, ending up purchasing a few. Art is undoubtedly worth it when you can enjoy it on a daily basis.

Hiking and biking at Biltmore, the NC Arboretum and along the Blue Ridge Parkway, all a short drive are some of our favorite activities.

Lunch at the Piscah Inn on the Blue Ridge Parkway is spectacular. It is just about a 30 minute drive from the house. We went there as children, we went there when our children were at camp in Hendersonville, continue to have lunch there periodically and i anticipate many more lunches there, looking forward. The food is definitely good and the view while dining is priceless.

Kayaking and tubing on the French Broad are also activities, we just can't get tired of. Downtown, the River Arts district, and West Asheville are normal outings, after we catch our breath from whatever preceded that particular day. Of course sitting high up in the trees on one the decks in the back of our home over looking the meadow and creek with a bottle of wine is fine way to end the day.

Enjoy our home, enjoy Asheville and surrounding areas, it will grow on you for sure, sorry or pleased to tell you. You never know, it could end up your primary residence also.

thank you,

Susan and Larry Powell

9 Reviews of Property 455373 in Asheville, North Carolina

2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
average rating of 4.571429 based on 9 reviews
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Daly City, CA USA
5

Wonderful Westside Accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely home in such a wonderful location. The 3 bedrooms were large and very comfortable, even the futon in the third bedroom. Having a bathroom on each level was very helpful. The kitchen was well-appointed and easy to cook in. The main living area fit all 4 of us comfortably, with even room for a large puzzle! A small downside was eating indoors at the counter; it was somewhat uncomfortable because of the height of the counter (it was a bit too cool to eat outside when we ate late and in the morning), and the electric grill didn't give the best results for us, despite its convenience. There is a charcoal grill and charcoal available down below, however. The art and decor was lovely, so fitting for the area. The owner was very prompt in responding to a small issue we had on arrival, and was a pleasure to deal with, as was the reservation agent- all very helpful and accommodating.
We enjoyed all the decks, as the late afternoons and early evenings were perfect for sitting outside enjoying the pleasant weather. There was a fire pit (even a bundle of firewood for us to use) down by the creek. We loved being able to walk down to the French Broad Greenway for our daily walks along the river, and the owner included use of kayaks and inner tubes. There were all sorts of amenities within a few minutes driving time: grocery stores, restaurants (warning: 12 Bones Barbecue is only open to 4), the River Arts District; other attractions such as Biltmore, NC Arboretum (even a pass to get in to this wonderful place), Downtown Arts and the Blue Ridge Parkway were all easily accessible. Dinners downtown at Posana's (all gluten-free!) and Curate were highlights and highly recommended.
This lovely home in such a good location made our stay in this beautiful part of the state even better. I would recommend it to anyone visiting this lovely city. Thanks for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
St. Simons Island, GA
2

Beware

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Pros: clean, well organized, convenient to downtown Asheville and parks
Cons: bedrooms not on ground level as stated in earlier description provided by the owner, but upstairs and on lower level. contstruction behind house going on 8:00 a.m. - 8:30 p.m six days a week (decks were virtually unusable during our 2 week stay). Not a peaceful retreat to come back to after activities. LR extremely small and not good lighting for reading. Since we couldn't use the decks this was very disappointing to us. Not a good place for dog to potty. Weeds and broken glass along roadside made it unsafe. Mud pit below master deck too dirty. Going to the park worked for daytime potty, but not nights or early mornings. Owner told us that some of the neighbors wouldn't mind, but which neighbors would mind, and which wouldn't, we will never know. We ended up boarding our dog for several days since this property was so uncomfortable. Highly recommend Sparky at Play to any pet owners coming to the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We were very disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with your stay in our home.
This is the first review we have received that was less than excellent. My wife and I take pride in 36 Moore Ave and we make every effort to make the home as inviting, and clean as we would want it to be for ourselves when we are there or how we would expect a vrbo rental to be if we were the guests.

Asheville has had an exceptionally rainy summer, causing the ground to be over saturated.

We apologized for the unforeseen intermittent excavating near the house. We corresponded, gave you a partial refund for the inconvenience, which you accepted graciously.
We offered to make an effort to rent it to another party and give you a additional refund , which you declined.
The house is marketed as a small 3 level, 3 bedroom 2 bath home. There is no specific mention that the master is on the main level, and there was no inquiry on what level the master bedroom is on. Mind you, the lower level is still considerably above ground with it's own deck. If you required a home without stairs, this should have been something you confirmed prior to reserving the home.

It is unfortunate regarding the construction for the days you were there. The decks were accessible early mornings and late evenings, some of the nicest times of day in the summer.

I don't know what to say, regarding your dog. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this house for a party with a small pet. Your choosing to board your dog I find extreme, but certainly your prerogative. We have our dog there frequently, our daughters dog there and 3/4 of the neighbors have dogs of there own an nobody has issues with walking their dog.

Apparently it was not the right house for you, but to make such negative remarks about the home are not warranted in my opinion and contrary to about 15-18 reviews since we started making our home a vacation rental in march 2013.
Again, my apologies that the stay in our home was not to your satisfaction. I am leveling and mulching the entire front and back of the home this week and continue to make ongoing improvements to an almost new home we take pride in, which is in a great central asheville location.
Owners, Larry and Susan
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
West Palm Beach, Florida
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home is perfectly situated in walking distance to the river for great walks amd runs in the park. Downtown Asheville is so close, as well as loads of hiking opportunities. Loved all the near by fantastic grocery stores and more are coming soon (Harris Teeter and Trader Joes). We were there for three weeks amd the house was just perfect for my husband and me. We ate lots of good food at all the amazing restaurants - faves include curate, all souls pizza, early girl eatery, amd the corner kitchen. But honestly we didn't have a bad meal! Yoga in West Asheville, tennis lessons with a pro from downtown courts, 5K at Belle Chere, hikes all up and down the blue ridge ... We lived, worked, and played in Asheville and loved every minute. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Serenity, clean and neat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a beautiful, well appointed, clean house in a very serene setting, yet it Is close to Billtmore, downtown Asheville, and the arts district. We were two retired couples coming from a trip through Wi and Mi and wanted to go to the Biltmore. Having had lots of wonderful experiences with VRBO, we decided to look for a house to rent while we were there for three nights. While on route we were able to rent this wonderful home as the manager was very prompt and helpful in her responses. When we entered the house it looked exactly as the pictures showed, if not better. We LOVED the decks off of each floor and began and ended each day on those decks, enjoying looking out at the trees and listening to the brook and birds and watching the fire flies at night. This is a very neat, clean, tidy, comfortable, well maintained home that I would highly recommend to anyone. In fact we hope to come back to the area and would definitely rent this home again.

Our recommendations is the Earth Fare grocery store that the owner had left a map to, The Biltmore, the Bistro restaurant at The Biltmore was wonderful for lunch. We also loved walking around the River Arts District and had a great lunch at the White Duck Taco. These are not your ordinary tacos, in fact I didn't even notice an ordinary taco on the menu. Very yummy! Thanks for a wonderful four days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you for sharing your home with us this past weekend. It was absolutely perfect for us to get together and since it was so cozy and well kept we ended up spending more time there than anticipated. We hope to do business with you again in the future. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Do we have to leave ?

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Do we have to leave? That was our question all morning as we sat out on the back porch sipping coffee, eating breakfast, as we listened to the small babbling brook below. Needless to say we had an amazing Asheville experience thanks to our Host at 36 Moore Ave! Each day we had a new surprise, whether it was finding out just how close we were to the Biltmore, or that they had every hiking and beer drinking guide for the Western part of NC. And they were not lying, the Wedge Brewery was fantastic. Try their beer brewed with maple! Our stay was comfortable, clean, and unique. In fact, my wife and I may build the same type of home back in Columbus, OH! Very impressed with all the home had to offer...bikes to ride, kayaks and inner tubes for the river (which is literally just down the street), a grill for cooking steaks, and wi/fi, which was detrimental to us finding all we could about what to do in Asheville, We did not watch any TV, but I believe every room had a flat screen, a blue ray player in the main living area, and like I said, free wi/fi. The proximity to downtown was again, a surprise. Took no longer then 5 minutes to go checkout all downtown had to offer. Had a birthday dinner at The Lobster Trap with dessert at the French Broad Chocolate Cafe afterwards...my wife was happy! You will not go wrong with a visit to Asheville, but you can make it that much better by staying here. We will be back and will recommend this home to all our friends and family! THANK YOU!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Durham, NC
5

Loved West Asheville House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The description of the house is very accurate it looks even better in person than in the photos! Clean as a whistle, well maintained and comfortable. We were pleased with the west Asheville location which is an easy drive to everything in and around Asheville. I recommend using the arboritum pass (that comes with the house) and hike the trails. The house also has two mountain bikes. We took a bike ride along the river. The trail is about 6 miles up and back with nice places to picnic. We also went tubing. There is a river outfitters walking distance or if you dont mind carrying the tubes you can walk up river and float a few mile or two down. It was a nice way to cool off in the afternoon heat. We had no concerns and everything went as planned. I would recommend this property to others and would most definately come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Raleigh
5

Wonderful Asheville Home Close to Downtown

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My Family and I stayed for a week over Christmas, and loved this home! It was immaculately clean, with great, comfortable decor! The three story home has porches on each floor, making it feel as if you are staying up in the trees. It is a new home, with an amazing master suite, and all the comforts of home. The house was in a great artsy area, convenient to everything, and only a five minute drive to downtown. Great place to unwind and relax, perfect for experiencing everything Asheville has to offer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2012 Green Built Home In West AVL- 5 Minute Walk To Park & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455373vb
828.337.3362
Asheville Asheville Area
Chapel Hill
5

Chuck

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. House is beautiful, clean, and well equipped. Luxurious amenities. Location is very convenient to West Asheville shops and restaurants. The river nearby is within walking distance and is beautiful - even went tubing and walked back to the house! Would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3