Sooke bungalow rental - Living room (with a view over the deck to the water)
Living room (with a view over the deck to the water)
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sooke Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful 2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 4 Sleeps Waterfront Property

An architectural gem. Original design features of the house remain and combined with the spectacular view of the ocean, garden and forest combine to make this a very special property. The house has been carefully furnished by the architect owner (grandson of the original architect) to ensure a comfortable and relaxing vacation for couples or families. Fully equipped for a comfortable stay (linens, towels, kitchen supplies, kitchen appliances etc etc). Relax on the deck, the wood burning fireplace or one of the special seating areas located around the property on the walk down to the waterfront. Try fishing or swimming off the rocks, spotting eagles, seals and whales from the deck and waterfront. There are also all the amenities and activities (restaurants, museums, zip-lining, hiking, fishing tours, kayaking tours etc) available in Sooke and Victoria only a short drive away.

The house was designed by local architect Antony Burkart as a weekend house/retreat. Most of the original features remain including the unique copper leafed fire place and hand burnt/stained beams. The house is still owned by the Burkart family and has been furnished with high quality furniture and design under the influence of the grandson of Antony who is also an architect.

The house is set on a stunning waterfront property that is covered with trees and with views to the west across the Sooke Basin to the Town of Sooke. The landscaped yard includes beautiful flowers and trees as well as a fish pond with lily pads. In the summer it is possible to swim off the rocks as well as fishing and kayaking in the bay. Of course there is also lots of wildlife spotting - eagles, seals, whales, deer maybe black bears or a cougar if you are lucky.

5 Reviews of Property 455279 in Sooke, British Columbia

Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455279vbi
Sooke Vancouver Island
Washington, DC
5

Peace and tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I spent an amazing week in this house. It is comfortable, well-appointed and has amazing, breathtaking views. It is clear the property is loved and carefully maintained. There is some road noise, but aside from that it feels secluded and private. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the deck overlooking the water. Julie and Gerhard were attentive and delightful. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who wants to be surrounded by peace and beauty, yet close enough to many activities.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455279vbi
Sooke Vancouver Island
St. Albert Alberta
5

Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
5 STAR - in every way.
If you have ever imagined a perfect quiet get away then this is the place that will exceed all expectation. The Sooke House is so much more then a house, it is a home surrounded by beauty and nature. From early morning majestic fog over the water to watching the sun go down in the evening, Sooke has so much to offer. Adventure, relaxation, friends and family.....memories made. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455279vbi
Sooke Vancouver Island
Melbourne Australia
4

Waterfront House in Sooke

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our stay, the property was even nicer than we expected from the pictures, it was very comfortable and everything looked immaculate. The owner was very helpful with a few questions we had and we would highly recommend the property to others. We would have liked better access to the water, as we had not realized how steep and rocky it was, however, the views easily made up for it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455279vbi
Sooke Vancouver Island
Armstrong, BC
5

Bonnie Southern

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Four of us 60+ stayed 4 days here and it was enjoyed by all. It was just like the pictures reflected. Great views and sunsets. Nice big deck, flower gardens to admire. Enjoyed our walks thru the woods to the ocean front. Saw something different every time. Love the ocean life.
Pleasant 30-45 min drive to Victoria and 5-10 mins to Sooke with anything you might need.
Inside was clean and well maintained and updated.
Julia the owner was very understanding and answered our emails promptly. Gerhardt her father- in- law waited patiently for us off the ferry and briefed us on the place and left us a contact #.
We would definitely come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your nice review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the house, it really is a special place. We look forward to hosting you again.....
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Architect Designed And Decorated Waterfront House, you have the whole house!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455279vbi
Sooke Vancouver Island
5

A Cozy Cottage in an Amazing Locatoin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I stayed five nights in this cottage outside Sooke. It was everything we had hoped for and more. First, the obvious draw is the location overlooking the bay. The owners have done an outstanding job creating outdoor space in a setting that begs you to be outdoors. They have created a well-defined walking trail that leads to water's edge, and includes sitting areas on about four different levels. The area right around the cottage is full of gardens and includes a lily pond with running water. The extra large deck provides plenty of space for sitting, eating, or grilling while looking over the bay and at the beautiful sunsets.

Inside the cottage, the owners have updated most everything . . . modern appliances, clean space, and most everything you need to have a wonderful stay. The bed was super-comfortable and provided great sleep . , , sometimes hard to find in strange beds. Windows throughout the cottage provide views of the surroundings from every room.

Julia, the owner, was prompt and helpful in responding to emails. Gerhard, Julia's father-in-law, met me at the property and briefed me on the amenities of the place. He also checked in with me once during our stay to make sure everything was satisfactory.

I'd love to return to Sooke . . . and I'd love to do that tomorrow . . . and if I did, this place is where I would want to stay.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Helpful votes: 9/9