We read all the reviews, and thought that this would be the ideal place to stay for our second visit to wonderful Amsterdam. We had good e mail contact with Joop, and knew he would be away for a few days, no problem. His partner was to be there until thursday.
We arrived in the cold, wet conditions, and had been notified as to where to find the key, again, no problem.
First impressions were disappointing, as the few steps down into the apartment had not been swept in a long time. The apartment seemed quite OK , not sparkling, and we unpacked and went out for the rest of the day.
Provisions that were left for us were really good, but the microwave oven was very dirty, even some food debris left in there, and I didn't clean it, so never used it. The bed is comfy, but it was unseasonably cold, and the one slightly small duvet was inadequate.
A kettle and toaster would have been very welcome, for warm snacks, particularly in the cold weather.
The location is really very good, and we walked almost everywhere.
Unfortunately the weather was bad for our stay, which can't be helped, so we went on several trips-(the kind on a bus, not in a coffee shop).
We will not be returning to that apartment, nor recommending it to friends.
We left on Sunday morning, having never met Joop or Tom.
Owner's Response: Dear Elspeth,
We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't satisfactory. I'd like to respond to your points. Regarding the steps and the microwave: we have put an emphasis on this now for the cleaning instructions. The steps are swept weekly, by the way, but they get dirty because the street sweepers blow rubbish on the steps. Regarding the duvet: we could have provided you with another duvet right away if you had asked us. When it comes to not having met us, this is actually the first time this happened and we are sorry about that. When we have guests we always talk to them, give them tips, and we make sure one of us is around. Because of business trips and urgent things in Brussels, both us were unable to host you personally.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?