Missoula house rental - Huge garden, paver patio, BBQ and deck, large fenced yard and cruiser bikes.
Huge garden, paver patio, BBQ and deck, large fenced yard and cruiser bikes.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Missoula House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath + Open Office/Bedroom/Loft + Workout Studio, Sleeps 8

The Rattlesnake house is a delightful blend of 1940’s charm and twenty first century ease. Nestled in the lovely lower Rattlesnake valley, the home features stunning views of Missoula’s iconic Mt. Jumbo and Mt. Sentinel. Enjoy morning walks through Greenough Park or an afternoon of hiking or biking in the Rattlesnake Recreation area. You will find the best of Missoula at your fingertips, including The University of Montana (within walking distance of Griz games), farmer’s markets, museums, fine dining, cafes and bakeries. The beautiful Rock Creek and Clark Fork rivers provides an opportunity for world renowned fly fishing, floating, swimming, kayaking and stand-up paddle-boarding. There are seven golf courses in the area. Additionally, this house is perfect for the out-door enthusiast with the Rattlesnake Wilderness just up the road. It is ideal for family gatherings, stress-free vacations, or a place to heal and relax after a treatment at St. Patrick Hospital.

This classy abode features a gorgeous back patio and grill, ideal for summer barbeques at foot of Mt. Jumbo. Enjoy vegetables from the garden and Italian plums in the late summer and early fall, all from the back yard. Come winter, curl up by the fireplace with a good book or play board games with friends in our the overstuffed leather coaches. On the main floor, you will take pleasure in a cozy living room, classic dining room and state of the art kitchen. Stay fit and healthy in the workout studio and entertainment room which includes a treadmill, flat screen TV, free weights, and yoga mats. The master suite features stunning bamboo floors and a slate multi-jet shower. Finally, enjoy a souvenir of the “last best place” by purchasing any of the 17 spectacular framed prints of the Missoula valley displayed throughout the house, taken by professional photographer, Tom Robertson.

More Details
Hide Details

Avid outdoor enthusiast, local dentist, pilot, professional triathlete. I grew up in Great Falls, MT, moved to Missoula in 2003, and fell in love with the town. I love to mountain bike, telemark and skate ski, hike, backpack, and garden. I would love to share the opportunity to experience Missoula with you with my well equipped house. Everything you need, all in one place.

Adam Jensen purchased this house in 2011

This house has convenient backdoor access to countless outdoor activities literally from the back door. Hike up Mount Jumbo (three blocks away), walk through the beautiful Greenough Park along the Rattlesnake River (three blocks away), run around the Waterworks Conservation area (5 minutes jog away), and mountain bike just up the road in the Rattlesnake Recreation area. Or sit on the peaceful paver patio, next to the large garden, while watching deer, elk, and hang gliders fly off of Mt. Jumbo. Inside is a home away from home, with a modern kitchen, propane BBQ, beautiful dining table, comfortable leather couches next to the cozy gas fireplace, Direct TV with Tivo, huge master bedroom with private bath. The new shower features a 6 jet and rainfall shower head panel and views of Mt. Jumbo, which is perfect after a long adventure outside, or even a workout in the convenient workout studio in the basement.

Remodeled in 2012, fresh paint, great new lighting, bright, open kitchen, new bathroom fixtures.

Hardwood, tile and bamboo throughout.

Multi-jet tile shower.

Pick fresh vegetables and Italian plumbs in the back yard.

Cruiser bikes for use included.

Amazing views, walking distance to downtown, food, grocery, the University of Montana.

Enjoy the art gallery inside from professional photographer, Tom Robertson with photos for purchase.

Workout studio in the basement, free weights, treadmill, ab ball, stretch bands, road bike trainers, and yoga mats.

Bike work bench with bike stand, tools and pump.

Paver patio, BBQ, deck and fully fenced yard.

Front loading washer and dryer.

Air purifiers in the bedrooms.

Off street parking.

10 Reviews of Property 451974 in Missoula, Montana

Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
5

outstanding place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place was great. Completely comfortable, nice things everywhere, close to everything you'd want in Missoula. I particularly appreciated the well-stocked kitchen. Every spice and condiment you could want, sharp good-quality knives (which I've never seen in a rental, anyplace), good cookware, etc. Can't recommend the place more highly!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and your family is welcome back any time!
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
Arizona
5

Great location & beautiful house.

Great location & beautiful house.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Three friends and I stayed at the Active Escape and had a great time. The home met all of our needs and the cruiser bikes were an added bonus. The location had great access to the University, Rattlesnake recreation area, and downtown. The house had all the amenities and was a great place for relaxation. I hope to be back soon! Absolutely love Missoula!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
United States
5

Perfect home base for a great week in Missoula

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Aiming for a week to unwind, visit friends, and satisfy family member's varied interests we found this the perfect accommodations. We hiked, skied, walked, biked, did a bit of climbing, went to a concert, a movie, shopped, and ate out about once a day (if you count runs to great Missoula bakeries). Convenient to bus lines and walking distance to town, we used the rental car less than half the days we stayed.

The workout room got used each day whether for yoga or dumbbell exercises, and the space in the house was arranged across the three floors in ways that made privacy, desire for music, TV movies, and different schedules entirely possible for the five members of our family from age 50 to 15. In the master suite we had complete quiet and privacy no matter what else was going on.

The house was pristine, hot water and water pressure excellent, the kitchen well-equipped, the grill was great, the bikes handy, the neighbors friendly, and we opted to look after the chickens and retrieve the eggs which was fun. Everything was as expected. The owner was very responsive before and during our stay and was a good connection to ideas about local options. Hope we will be back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Wonderful home and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house was perfect for our family 4! It's proximity to the trail systems and the university campus were ideal. The construction made it a bit difficult to get in and out but that's temporary. The deck and yard were perfect for hanging out and wildlife watching!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
Alberta, Canada
4

Marathon weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The location of the house was convenient. It was nice to walk one block and get to the trail to hike up to the "L". The house was clean and perfect for our family. We also took advantage of the bicycles to go to the park and downtown. We had a lovely time in Missoula and look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
5

Lovely house; great connection to the outdoors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hugely helpful owner, who was willing to answer absolutely any question at any time during the process. Our group of 5 adults and a child especially liked using the outdoor space; the fenced yard was ideal for our 21-month-old and everyone loved eating outside. Easy access to hiking trails and lots of other outdoor activities - so easy that we took the toddler partway up the mountain to watch fireworks on the Fourth of July, brought him back down asleep, and put him to bed without waking him. The kitchen is well equipped and it is possible to cook for a big group (we fed 8 people each night), appliances throughout the house are updated and simple to use, and there are thoughtful touches like bikes and helmets available. It's easy and quick to drive to Missoula's downtown area from here, but this quiet residential neighborhood was also a lovely place for evening walks. There's (an elementary school) playground very close by. We'd stay here again.
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
5

Home base for Man Week 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Perfect choice for mid life crisis therapy. We went mountain biking on many of the trails, all within a few miles of the house. Rafting trips are also easy. Close proximity to restaurants. Great house!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
Tacoma, WA
5

Accolades and Kudos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our experience was totally positive. The house was attractive and spotless, the location was perfect, and the chickens were a complete delight. It is a perfect size for two couples, lots of space, a terrific kitchen and a very nice television / surround sound system for watching videos. We'd stay here again in a minute, we all loved it. Adam was very pleasant and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Ed,

It was a pleasure to meet you. I'm happy you had a positive stay. I'd love to have you back.

Thanks,
Adam
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
5

april 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Former Missoula resident and family (2yr old and 3mo old children) spent a week here in mid-April. The house and overall experience was outstanding. The location is great for a variety of acitvities and close to downtown. The house iteslf was well-appointed and exceeded expectations. We definitely enjoyed the unique amenties - especially the chickens! Overall it was a wonderful stay and II recommend this VRBO without reservation.

Mike
Owner's Response: Mike,

Thank you for the kind review. It was great meeting you and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. You're more than welcome any time.

Adam
business
Active Escape in the Rattlesnake, Newly Remodeled, 1940's Charm, Garden, Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451974vbi
Missoula Montana
Manchester, NH
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We came out to visit our UMT student and decided that renting a house would be
more relaxing than a hotel room, and I’m SO glad we stumbled upon this house; It’s
AMAZING, as was the host.

The house itself was spacious, spotless and had everything (and I mean everything)
we needed, from cooking (they even gave us fresh eggs from their chickens!) to
sleeping; relaxing and lounging to working out. They even had bikes here to use for
an easy ride to downtown for some shopping, food and drinks!

And talk about location – it couldn’t be in a more perfect spot – there are endless
things to do. The neighborhood itself was quiet; Mt. Jumbo is essentially right out
the back door; Mt. Sentinel and UMT is right across the footbridge (maybe about a
half mile walk/bike); the Rattlesnake trail system is right up the road; downtown is only
about a mile away; a grocery store is right down the road as well; I could go on and
on…

Thank you so much – we’re already figuring out when to come back to visit and we’ll
definitely be booking this house again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Bri, thank you for the kind words. You are welcome back any time.
Helpful votes: 2/2