Keauhou condo rental - The lanai view. Just a few feet to the ocean
The lanai view. Just a few feet to the ocean
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Keauhou Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, With Panoramic Ocean Views, Gourmet Kitchen and a Huge Lanai.

*** For more details and more pictures, go to our website: www.BigWaveHawaii.com

or click the link at the bottom of the listing***

The Big Wave Penthouse is arguably in the best location on the Big Island. Consider this:

• Facing west, you're guaranteed a front-row seat every evening to a spectacular and colorful sunset. You'll think you're on a (very stable) cruise ship.

• You're literally feet from the ocean. Construction setback rules now preclude this for new developments.

• There are only 12 condo units per building and there are acres of greenbelt between and around them.

• You're well removed from Alii Drive, the busy main access road to all Kailua-Kona ocean-front properties.

• You'll be away from other developments. The Keauhou Surf and Racket Club is bordered on the north by Kahalu'u Beach and on the south by a golf course. Because of this low density, traffic within and around the complex is very light. And it's quiet.

• You'll be on the top floor, in a corner unit. Only the top floor units have soaring, 20-foot vaulted ceilings, very large lanais and sweeping ocean views.

• You're within walking distance of the Keauhou Shopping Center where you can find a grocery store, several fine restaurants and shops of many kinds

More Details
Hide Details

We've been frequent travelers to the Big Island, our favorite destination, and we've stayed in many houses and condos, but when we saw the Big Wave Penthouse we knew we would never see a better, more lovely place and knew we had to buy it. We hope you'll share this beautiful home with us and enjoy a bit of true Hawaii aloha spirit.

John and Linda McCluskey purchased this condo in 2012

The oceanfront view is incredible and we were impressed by the condo's location, in a gorgeous, impeccably landscaped, 14 acre sanctuary. Hawaiian royalty used to live on the grounds; they knew where the best location on the Big Island was.

It's close to everything but the property is tranquil, quiet and peaceful.

This a very large home. Including the lanai, there's nearly 1700 sq. ft. of living space. The wide-open floor plan and soaring, 20' ceilings makes it seem even larger.

Original Hawaiian art is displayed and 50's period furniture from well-know designers such as Paul Frankl, Paul McCobb and Heywood Wakefield is both beautiful and comfortable.

25 Reviews of Property 451476 in Keauhou, Hawaii

Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
5

Perfect Big Island location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wonderful Big Island location close to excellent snorkeling, boat cruises, grocery store, restaurants, etc., yet quiet, peaceful, and scenic location. Still, just a few minutes drive to busy Kailua Town. The condo was very well and beautifully furnished and had everything needed for a great vacation with an excellent view of the ocean where you may see whales and/or dolphins passing by. The owners have done their level best to ensure that guests had all the materials and information needed for the condo and its contents. They were extremely helpful in helping to prepare for our time in their rental property. There's only one glitch (no doubt out of their hands) -- there's no place to leave baggage before or after the rental period. But, for us, it was worth the hassle in exchange for a few days in the closest thing to paradise. It's hard for us to imagine a better place to stay while on the Big Island -- or any island in Hawaii for that matter. For our twentieth wedding anniversary, it was the perfect location to celebrate with good friends. If you don't feel you've got all you need here for a great Big Island experience, you probably won't be satisfied anywhere else. A standard few rental properties will achieve -- great job and sincere thanks John! Your dedication to creating the perfect island rental made our vacation an unmitigated success.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you Carl and congratulations again on your 20th anniversary. We hope we get the opportunity to host your 21st. Aloha and mahalo.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
Concord,CA
5

Big Wave is awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at Big Wave for 6 weeks and had a fantastic time. It is very well supplied with everything that you need for a great time on the Big Island. It looks just like the pictures on the website and the location can't be beat. Off the main road in a quiet condo development with a pool, tennis courts, BBQs, and the unit is right on the water. The owners are great and very interested in making your stay memorable. We were celebrating a 50th anniversary and enjoyed everything we did while we were here including swimming, snorkeling, boogie boarding, golfing, hiking, and just enjoying meals on the lanai watching the beautiful sunsets. There is a nice shopping center right up the hill with a good grocery store, CVS, movie theater and several restaurants. The best snorkeling beach on the island is within walking distance. We look forward to returning next year for more incredible experiences.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
5

Gorgeous ocean view and sound

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This unit had everything advertised and more. Fantastic location to walk 10 minutes to a snorkeling beach or for groceries. Pool was great when the beach was closed and tennis was great in the evening. You'll need a car for the rest of the island, but it was nice to have walking options. Beautiful attention to detail, gorgeous location, and great air flow through the unit, made it quite a vacation even for one of us that had to stay in the unit all day for a couple days. (Keauhou Urgent care only a 2 minute drive, near the grocery and great service.) John's attentiveness was prompt and personable. With the two bedrooms and bathrooms attached, I'd say it's best for 1-2 couples, or parents with one older child or two younger children. Our favorite food option: "Da Poke Shack."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your 5-star review. It's unfortunate someone in your party had to sample the Keauho Urgent Care but I can't think of a better place to recover than in the BigWave Penthouse. I hope your Christmas celebration wasn't dampened by illness. May all your travels be safe and enjoyable and, hopefully, will include another stay with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
BigWave Penthouse is an unbelievably beautiful and comfortable condo. Our family of 6, 4 kids 10-18 had plenty of room and the Wi-Fi and laptop were a plus. John was a great host and made sure everything was in order. The location is very centrally located, no congestion or noise and shopping is right around the corner. The view is quintessential “Big Island”. It was easy to fall asleep every night to the sound of the waves crashing on the cliff; a few times right on the lanai…morning coffee was a great way to start the day. There are so many things to do on Hawaii; it was great to come “home” to this beautiful place after a tiring day. We really didn't want to leave!!!!
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
Seattle WA
5

It couldn't be any better than last year. But it was!

It couldn't be any better than last year. But it was!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed in the BigWave Penthouse about a year ago and loved the place. I really didn't think it could get better but there have been many upgrades since we were here last. A big, comfy king bed is now in the master bedroom and a queen replace the two twins in the second bedroom (a much better arrangement in my opinion.) There are also a new front-load washer and dryer that replaced what I thought was a pretty nice apartment style stacked unit but the new ones are soooo much better. The condo was spotless and everything worked perfectly. What delightful place.

We got front row seats to some spectacular waves just before we left. What an excellent way to see them. I would guess 20-footers were crashing on the lava while we relaxed on the lanai and watched the show (not even any wind that day.)

We see that the calender books pretty far in advance so we're setting up for next year right now. Don't take our spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
Long Beach, CA. USA
5

Big Wave Penthouse Condo.....This Big Wave is the best I have seen.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very comfortable, very clean and stocked with all the items you will need for your stay.
The owners are very acceptable and only a toll free call away if needed...which usually is not needed because they have a binder with all the instructions for using all appliances and electronics in the unit . Lots of books to read and DVD's to watch. The owners have thought of everything that the guest will need. Best view I have seen.
The unit was very clean and secure. I really appreciated being able to have the three sliding glass doors to the balconies open all day and night. Being a corner unit gave us the extra side balcony which was great. Really increased the living area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
La Conner, Washington
5

Luxury bargain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We saw the pictures, we read the reviews, but it still knocked our socks off when we opened the door to possibly the best lodging we've been in, and we've been in a lot. First we noticed the tropical breezes wafting off the lanai into the spacious living room area. Just to the left is a well equipped kitchen with high end finishes and a Bosch dishwasher. I mention the dishwasher because you may want to dine in often and eat meals on the deck or screened-in lanai, listening to and looking at the surf crashing on rocks just outside. This is a vacation rental that you feel good about spending time in, it's that cool with its' perfect combination of modern and Hawaiian Retro design. The main bedroom is open to the living areas, but can be private by use of a good looking screen on a built-in slider.

It's hard to add anything that's not already been mentioned in other reviews like great location, amenities, design, spaciousness, and cleanliness (oh, it also has streaming Netflix and Pandora). Every rating, so far, is 5 stars. You'd have to pay several times as much for a comparable abode in one the luxury beach hotels on the Big Island. I recommend you book this unit, if it's available.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Bill for your kind words. I think you encapsulated the magic of the BigWave Penthouse and the Big Island. It's never been said better. Mahalo!
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
oregon
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What's not to love? This condo is just as described and pictured. Mornings and evenings on the lanai with the sun, watching the birds and dolphins. Walk to the beach to see the turtles in the morning. You're a quick drive to snorkeling and restaurants. We can't wait to return. Thanks John!
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your nice review. I can tell the Aloha spirit has worked its magic. We would be delighted to have you return and host you once again. Hope it's soon!
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
Portland, Oregon
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The luxury penthouse was as beautiful as the pictures and description in the listing. The location was great as it was close enough walking distance or a short drive to anything one might need. The condo afforded great relaxing views from both the front bedroom & living room. It was great to be able to prepare your food while gazing at the ocean. We were there for our wedding and when we opened the refrigerator there was a bottle of champagne and a lovely card congratulating us. What a kind and thoughtful gift. Thanks again! Thanks so much for your attention to your guests needs. We greatly appreciated it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha, mahalo and again, congratulations on your wedding. We're glad we could be a small part of your very special event. A year from now I can suggest an excellent place to celebrate your anniversary!
business
Cruise-ship close to ocean, Magnificent Corner Penthouse with 4,000 mile view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451476vb
+1 (406)594-2197
Keauhou Kona Coast
5

Ironman World Championship stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We absolutely LOVED the Big Wave Penthouse from start to finish! John was a delight to correspond with and made our rental arrangements easy & efficient. The condo was spectacular, and perfectly located to everything. Stunning sunrise & sunsets from the lanai made it difficult to leave, but we'll be back! Mahalo for sharing your beautiful home!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Kat & Kev. We're so pleased we could accommodate you for your Ironman experience and hope to see you back back again. Thanks for your kind words.
Helpful votes: 1/1