Heredia cottage rental - Lotus House at Casa Metta
Lotus House at Casa Metta
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Heredia Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Luxury Container Home In The Mountains Of Costa Rica

This is a precious guest house on a 3 acre estate. The owners live on the property. This is the only guest house. There are dogs, cat, chickens, rabbits, iguana, birds, saltwater pool, sauna, gorgeous rolling gardens, sculpture, trees in a very zen environment. Wander around the property at your leisure, meditate in peace, enjoy the flowers, birds, pets and amenities. Situated on the Barva Volcano (extinct) with amazing views of the Central Valley. Cool, comfortable temperatures and amazing mattresses guarantee a good nights sleep. A gorgeous spot to rest and relax.

We are a 50 something Buddhist couple from the US who has lived in Costa Rica since 2003. We live quietly on our gorgeous property and enjoy sharing it with others. This is a rural area, but close to the city. It is cooler up here than much of the country with temps ranging from 60 - 80 degrees.

Wendy Strebe purchased this cottage in 2010

If you are looking for a restful, restorative place to spend some time reading, writing, meditating, seeing the area, wandering around the property, this is a great place. You can drive or take a bus to a small town or the city of Heredia, from our front gate. It is very tranquil up here with amazing views of the valley below and the ocean beyond.

Safe and secure; breathtakingly gorgeous; relaxing; close to canopy tour, coffee tour, Barva Volcano, Poas Volcano, etc. This is the mountain life of Costa Rica, very different from the beach life. Always cool with fresh air and pure spring water. Owner is a vibrational healer and treatments are available: mettavibrationalhealing.com

6 Reviews of Property 450814 in Heredia, Costa Rica

Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
5

Peaceful, energizing sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I spent two weeks at this heavenly place in February, 2014. The cooler climate with the sun shining through a two hour light mist most afternoons was a welcome change from the steamy beach community that we left. Casa Meta has the most comfortable bed we've slept in during our four winters in Costa Rica. The property exceeded our expectations, and every detail in the design and furnishings in this cozy "cabin" has been carefully and effectively planned. The outdoor environment is colorful, lush, and lovingly tended, and I looked forward to warming up like a turtle on the upper deck in the morning with coffee and a book. The view of the Central Valley from the infinity pool is an awesome sight. The property is very private, but just a bus or taxi ride from groceries or shopping in modern Heredia. We feel very fortunate to have spent time at this beautiful place and to have come to know Eric and Wendy, friends that we look forward to seeing again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Denise and Jeff were some of our favorite guests ever. Their joyful natures were a blessing to have around! We do hope they return, as friends!!
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
Sapello, New Mexico
5

Tranquility that creates deep healing & renewal

Tranquility that creates deep healing & renewal
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Here is a place to receive... the sound of the breeze in the trees, the huge double rainbows that light up the sky with the refreshing "hair of the cat" (pelo del gato) mist, the quality of soft light, the Buddha's that live throughout the property, tho' made of stone are alive with mirth & joy...! Every minute I spent here exploring on this magical site, in the cozy guesthouse with its beautiful glassed-in porch & by the salt water infinity pool overlooking a stunning view of the mountains & ocean was filled with discovery & delight. The plantings & gardens are beautiful & there are some magical places to discover hiking the grounds. In the quiet & retreat feeling I went deeply within myself, into places for healing & by the time I left I felt very renewed & refreshed. The hosts were delightfully helpful & friendly & highly sensitive to healthy boundaries. They made me feel so comfortable & welcome. Make sure to book a session with the hostess for her skillful energy healing work. It is well worth making special time to experience. No trip to Costa Rica would be complete without this unique place to stay. I can't wait to be there again!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review, Vicki! We so enjoyed having you here and hope you return! Blessings!!
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
Poulsbo, WA
5

Tranquil paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Loved our stay here which was one of our stops on our honeymoon! Everything is so sustainable, from the container home itself to the glassed in porch made from old diapers. The grounds are gorgeous and the deck on the roof of the house with the hammocks is heavenly. And the bed is to die for! After a week sleeping on an uncomfortable mattress at our previous location, we literally grinned from ear to ear when we crawled in. Owners were very responsive and you can tell they take pride in their property.Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We do try to everything as sustainable as possible. The Lotus House veranda deck and upper deck are made of a product made from recycled diapers. It is a very "green" material.

We also love honeymooners!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
Portland, OR
5

My Barva Bash

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My daughter and I spent a renewing 4 days here simply enjoying the company of one another and the owners/pets of the property. We had both the opportunity for privacy and gatherings. So relaxing. Very peaceful
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
Cahuita, Costa Rica
5

Great mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We liked the amazing modern mountain cabin so much that my husband and I have stayed there on two different occasions. We live in the hot and humid Carribean coast of Costa Rica, so for us it is a great getaway with cooler climate and different vegetation than in our part of the country. The cabin is spacious, extremely clean, and it has everything that you would need. No money spared on the top quatlity mattresses, sheets and towels. There is a nice deck outside the front glass doors and on top of the cabin as well. It is very private from the main house where the great hosts Erich and Wendy live with their family and pets. Grounds and the pool are immaculate and the whole property has a very peaceful feeling. Great place to visit to do nothing or you can visit the nearby volcanos, coffee plantations, waterfalls etc. We can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have always enjoyed having you here, Joe and Chris, and hope you will return soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Mountain Cottage on Estate with gorgeous gardens, saltwater pool, sauna
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450814vbi
011-506-2266-1635
Heredia Costa Rica
Monteverde, Costa Rica
5

Cozy cabin, gorgeous property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The Modern Mountain cabin is an utterly unique delight!
I live in the northwest mountains of Costa Rica, but was called to the Central Valley for work purposes for few days. Deciding that I really wanted to gift myself the opportunity of a retreat during long days of work in the city, I was thrilled to come across this property for rent. Upon my arrival, not only was I surprised at how *perfectly* designed this converted container was, I was thrilled with the property, the views, and how utterly peaceful the surroundings were.
On a warm, sunny day the salt water pool warms up nicely, and the sunset views are gorgeous. Did I mention the homeowners, Wendy and Erich, are gems? They set me right at ease upon my arrival, making sure I had everything I needed to be comfortable - including directions down into the city the next day! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We certainly enjoyed having you here, Karen. Thanks so much for your review!!
Helpful votes: 3/3