Traverse City house rental - This beautiful home has a fire pit with lots of wood, hammocks and lounge chairs
This beautiful home has a fire pit with lots of wood, hammocks and lounge chairs
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Traverse City House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This beautiful home was built in 2007. It offers a large elevated deck to view the 1800 feet of river frontage and enjoy eating on after grilling your meal. A large open floor plan with vaulted ceilings, granite counter tops and solid rustic ash flooring really adds to the charm and beauty of this home. Along with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths, the master bath having a steam shower, it also has a back deck with a hot tub for 8 and a fenced in yard. A complete kitchen is set up for all your culinary needs, and linens and towels are also provided. There is a view to the River from every room in the home except the bathrooms. Wireless internet and cable tv are also provided. There is plenty to do here with the river activities and many, many mile of state land to walk or hike! There are free range chickens that provide eggs free to the guests when they are co-operating. Guide service also available upon request.

I have been an active outdoors person all my life. I enjoy gardening, hikes, animal watching and many more outdoor activities.

Richard purchased this house in 2007

This property is one of the best in the area with many outdoor activities. Close to Traverse City and many tourist hot spots it can't be beat!

I purchased this vacant property in 2005 and camped on it for 2 years on and off to get a feel for the land before I built on it. I believe the location of the home and its surrounding land makes it a great vacation spot for all.

24 Reviews of Property 450793 in Traverse City, Michigan

Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Chicago
5

Exceeds highest expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Having driven through white out conditions our group of six with snowmobiles in tow arrived at 2am. Warm beds were all that were needed at that hour. Once we arrived at the property entrance we sensed this might be something special. As we crossed Richard's bridge over the Boardman River, home now in view,we knew this would be something to talk about in the future! A few minutes earlier all anyone wanted to do was be grateful we survived the drive and hit a bed. Now in spite of it bring 2am...we were ready to kickoff a lobg weekend! The home is nothing short of amazing..decorated to be warm, functional, spacious for at least eight and views of the river that were amazing. In the morning Richard ventured over to welcome us to his home, share some tips and assure us that he would be there for any of our needs. He was and thensome! I doubt that a more gracious host could be found. Richard gave time, energy and more to making sure we had a great weekend. ..a truly great person whom we all look forward to seeing again! Great weekend of snowmobiling. ..great vacation get away! Can't wait to return!
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Girl Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Every year I plan a girl's trip to a new destination. This year we choose Traverse City, MI. Couldn't be happier with this home! The house is awesome and the pictures show as is. There were 8 of us, and we all comfortably stayed in this house for the whole weekend. We went snowboarding, wine tasting, downtown shopping and visited a few restaurants. But mostly we spent time at the house relaxing, talking, and having a great time. We made our dinners at the house, enjoyed the hot tub and hung out in the living room!

Richard was very kind and easy to deal with. He even had the fireplace ready to go with firewood in the house for us to use. House was clean and he kept the driveway plowed for us (very big deal because of the snow storm we had that weekend).

Beautiful setting and quiet area to stay, loved it.... and still close to Traverse City. Will defiently stay here again if we visit the area!!!

Shelby
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Conrad Chicago - couples weekend away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I and our dear friends, another couple, arrived at Richards on Thursday evening for a long weekend of play and R&R in the snow. We made numerous stops on the drive into the property, stunned by the winter beauty and idyllic setting of the home. Awaiting our arrival was host Richard, who had freshly plowed the driveway and had the place warmed up with a bustling fire. We literally squealed in delight by the character of the property, surrounding natural beauty and elegance and simplicity of his home. Our appreciation of our host Richard was further enhanced when we learned he camped on the property for 3 months in order to get familiar with the layout of the land, prior to designing and building the house and approaching bridge with his own hands. You feel that extra love and thoughtfulness throughout every inch of this place. Kitchen is wonderfully equipped for cooking meals in and the space is wonderfully appointed, cozy and extremely clean. Property is extremely private and stunningly gorgeous. We enjoyed fires, made wonderful meals and slept cozily in the house. On the surrounding property, we took evening walks, soaked in the spacious hot tub, snowshoed, snowmobiled and skiied Crystal Mtn. This is a house & property that truly takes your breathe away and for an escape from busy day to day life, I cannot imagine a more perfect place for a winter weekend. We now look forward to seeing the area in another season along with our young children. Thank you Richard for being such a generous host and for the perfect weekend of play and relaxation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Weekend Getaway With The Girls

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
At first I was extremely nervous about renting this cottage considering the fact that this was my first time using Homeaway and that it was such a last minute trip. I was debating between two different houses and I decided to go with Richard's listing simply because he was more friendly via email and the other listing just seemed money hungry. I called Richard explaining to him how I was unsure on how this website worked and he explained the process to me really taking his time. Once we got to the location I was in complete awe the house is so much more beautiful in person and Richard is just the most kind hearted man. He showed us around and explained everything to us and really made sure that if we needed anything we could call him, this really made us feel comfortable. The house was extremely clean and had all new appliances, just breath taking. The only bad thing about out stay was that we did not get to stay long enough!! I definitely plan on coming back in the summer. If you're thinking about coming here you must!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Mount Pleasant MI
5

Beautiful home, quiet setting, awesome time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at Richards exquisite Cabin on the Boardman River over Christmas with friends and family and had an awesome time. Located 15 minutes south of Traverse City, the location is perfect for a variety of activities during every season. We’ve stayed and vacationed in the Traverse City Area over the summer several times, and this place was by far our best experience. The Cabin is beautiful, both in attention to detail in the construction of the home and the décor. With more than adequate space throughout, the Cabin comfortably sleeps 8 in quality beds & linens. Just about every amenity you’d need is there; most notable is the steam shower and outdoor hot tub. The pictures on this website don’t do it justice, the place is much more fabulous in person! We had plenty of things to do on the property, as it borders wooded State land. We hiked in the wood’s every day, played board games, and only ate out one time, as we cooked everyday in the fully appointed kitchen. If you bring your own gear, you can go cross country skiing or go snowmobiling. Richard, our wonderful host, also provides a canoeing service, and we plan on coming back again in the summer. Thanks again for the outstanding experience and memories! Sincerely Greg T, LTC, USA.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Lansing, MI
5

Couldn't have ask for any thing better.

Couldn't have ask for any thing better.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a fantastic house and host. We stayed over the New Years holiday and had a great time! The house had everything we needed to make for a comfortable stay and the owner was very helpful. Could not ask for a more peaceful setting, and the drive into Traverse City, when necessary, was only about 15 minutes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Sandusky, ohio
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed the last week of July, 2013. This house is the best vacation home that I have found in the TC area. We have rented homes up north since 2000, and this is by far the most accurate rental listing I have found. The pictures posted are exactly what you will find on arrival.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

A beautiful place for Thanksgiving in the snow.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed here with family over the Thanksgiving Holiday, and the property was picture postcard perfect with all the snow, the river, and the woods. The house was lovely and very comfortable, exactly as advertised, and the kitchen well equipped. We cooked our big Thanksgiving dinner here with ease, and enjoyed our walks in the snow afterwards before hopping into the hot tub. Richard, the owner, was very helpful, and close by if we needed anything. Traverse City is just a short drive away, and there is a grocery store within easy reach. We were sorry we could not stay longer, and would not hesitate to go back again, either in the winter, or the summer. I can imagine how great it would be in the summer. Thank you Richard, you have a winner here, and I can't imagine anyone being disappointed.
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

PERFECT GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I was more than pleased with my experience at Richard's beautiful cabin in the woods. It's situated on a quiet river with woods surrounding the entire property. The scenic views couldn't be more beautiful. Richard, was by far one of the nicest and down to earth property owners I had ever met! Not only was he completely helpful with recommending places for us to go but he brought us some fresh Trout that he smoked and honestly, I have yet to taste Trout that was as flavorful as the way he prepared it.

The house is beautiful and fully furnished inside. We had 6 people in our group and we had more than enough room. The cabin has a beautiful steam shower that is great after a long adventure outside in the cold! Also, there's a hot tub in case you'd prefer to just warm up outside in while it's snowing. :) All-in-all, this was an indelible experience and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Richard and his hospitality. We definitely recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a beautiful retreat-minutes from Traverse City. Thank you, Richard!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful location on the Boardman River W/Fireplace,Jacuzzi,Steam Shower,Air.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450793vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Chelsea, MI
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I rented Richards house last weekend and it was perfect.
The house itself is very clean, well maintained, and situated on an awesome piece of property.
You can tell that attention was paid to detail in the construction of the home.
My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Because of the short stay we weren't able to take advantage of all this rental has to offer. Richard's hospitality was great and he was quick to respond if anything was needed.
I definitely recommend this house and I plan to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1