Upper East Side studio rental - Entrance to studio apartment from brownstone hall
Entrance to studio apartment from brownstone hall
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Upper East Side Studio Rental Photos and Description
A Serene Studio Retreat In The City That Never Sleeps

The large studio apartment with a kitchenette (featured) is part of a bed and breakfast in a Manhattan brownstone that includes two other rentals: a suite with queen tempur-pedic sofa bed, bath, 3D TV with surround sound system, terrace (and hammock) plus library with aquarium (also $125 per night) and a children's playroom with bunk beds and a youth bed/crib but no en-suite bath (which is $75 per night but never rented solo). A continental breakfast, The New York Times, wifi and cable are included. There is also a heated, year-round indoor pool/jacuzzi and a private garden and fountain (with tree house!)

I am a retired chaplain. I'm very interested in hearing about life in other countries. I love to read - especially fiction that conveys a sense of the interior lives of characters in different cultures.

Judith Mason purchased this studio in 1969

I grew up in the South and missed the natural world when I married a man from New York City and moved here with him. This brownstone with its front, back and terrace gardens enabled me to have a little touch of green serenity in all the hustle and bustle of the Big Apple.

I guess I'm a romantic at heart and prefer a home with the graciousness of the nineteenth century over the hard lines of the 21st.

25 Reviews of Property 450347 in Upper East Side, New York

Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
4

Family's first time in NY

Family's first time in NY
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our stay at this B&B was really good. We were welcomed by Judith and her crew. They were very accomodating about us arriving earlier, and also about moving my car on the day of street cleaning. Breakfast was good!! The pool in the basement was mine and my brother's favorite part of the house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I thoroughly enjoyed having your family and your soon-to-be family, Renata. I hope you come back soon.
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
Kalamazoo, Michigan
5

Mom/daughter week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a fantastic stay here! Judith was so accommodating allowing us to get in early. She had yogurt in the fridge for breakfast. We were on the go so much and Judith was always interested in our adventures. It was very clean & comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Judith.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thank you, Donna. I know my husband would be so happy to have Carlee with all her interest in theatre staying here. Is it the passion for showbiz that gave you two all that energy? I was in awe of all you got in when you were here. Maybe, if you come again, there can be time to enjoy some of his theatre collection as well.
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
5

GREAT home atmosphere in Upper East Side

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My group and I reunion every year across the USA and this year was NYC. We were very pleased with our stay at this property. Much like our time being on the road singing, when we would stay in host homes, this experience was very much like that! Very warm, inviting, and with generous hospitality. Located in the Upper East, with a fantastic restaurant/pizzeria (Lexington Pizzeria and Restaurant ... on the corner of Lexington and 101st), this Brownstone is the ideal location for "living a New York" experience while in the city. The neighborhood was quiet and friendly. Breakfast and coffee each morning was very welcomed after a very comfortable night's sleep. A favorite breakfast was Flagels and Lox ... fantastic New York breakfast! Accommodations were some of the best kept and comfortable in which I've stayed. I can not express enough appreciation for the hospitality and experience with Judith and her staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay in the city! I will be back with my family soon!! :0)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Jason. I hope you do. Your reunion was such fun - for me! Judith
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
Silver Spring, MD
5

Delightful Property and Host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I have stayed there several times, and each experience very enjoyable. Judith is a most gracious and endearing host. Although the space is located in an older brownstone, the property is newly-renovated and updated. It is very convenient to bus and subway transportation access to the rest of Manhattan and outer boroughs. I will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a unique B & B experience in New York City.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Donald. It's always gratifying to have guests who take advantage of the fullness of opportunities a visit to New York City affords. Please come back often!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
5

Very cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved this place and had a lovely time. I especially appreciated that the bathroom was very clean. Judith was very kind and hospitable. I highly reccommend this B&B. Just be mindful that it is pretty far up town but the subway is close by.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you, Icela. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all. It's true that on the subway midtown is only 10 minutes away.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
5

charming property, great hospitality,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Judith and her son Ben who politely and promptly showed us to our rooms, which were very clean and most defiantly very comfortable and spacious we were a party of 8. Finding the property was very easy, only a short 2 to 3 minute walk from the subway, the immediate area was very safe and not at any point did we feel unsafe even when returning late at night. The breakfasts that Judith prepares each morning were traditional and a perfect start for the long day ahead exploring the fantastic city that NYC is.It was a delight to sit and chat with Judith over breakfast she has so many interesting and insightful stories to tell also great tips on places to visit and how to get there. At the end of the day if you have any energy left the spa pool in the basement is a great way to relax all those aching muscles.

a great place to stay far enough from the main part of Manhattan,but very easy and only about 10 minutes by the subway to get to the heart of NYC, A 10 minute walk and you can be in the open space that Central park has to offer
would defiantly recommend to friends and family, and would be the first place i would look for accommodation should i return to New York

thanks again for your hospitality
Owner's Response: And thank you, Carol. Sophie's and Karl's engagement will certainly rank high in the romantic annals of our B&B.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
Albuquerque, NM
5

Fantastic hospitality, style and charm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I can't say enough good things about our stay here! What a beautifully decorated place, combining the best of the old and the new: the feel of the old brownstone, the antiques, the architecture, combined with the beautifully modern bathrooms and lighting. You can feel how much consideration went into every aspect of the B&B. We had eight people and we were all accommodated beautifully, comfortably, and reasonably; it just felt like home. It is a 3 minute walk to the subway so you can get virtually anywhere fast. Judith is a delight and so are her breakfasts, especially the freshly-baked biscuits/scones! (And really good coffee!) Lovely couple of nights, can't wait to come back to NY so we can stay again!
Owner's Response: I hope you do, Jim. And I am grateful for your caring remarks. It feels wonderful to be so appreciated,
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
Thorpe Egham Surrey UK
5

My second attempt!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I must apologise to Judith, I don't know what happened to my first review so I'll start again!
This was our first trip to New York and we couldn't have been in better hands. Both Judith and her son Ben made us very welcome from the beginning. They have a beautiful brownstone which is very homely and comfortable. The apartment is exactly as it is shown in the photos, with a lovely new shower room and beautiful thick, soft fluffy towels! We had a fridge full of goodies on our arrival and fruit, cake or newspapers were left outside our room. Judith is a very warm and perceptive person with some interesting stories to tell. She provided a kettle very quickly when we asked for one, also the number for a taxi and let us use her phone when ours didn't work. She even looked out for us on the morning we departed at the crack of dawn, waving us off from her doorstep!
The apartment is a short walk from the subway, the buses, the galleries and places to eat. We would love to come back one day and will be recommending Judith to anyone wanting to spend time in Manhattan. We wish you well and thank you so much for making the first part of our journey so memorable for all the right reasons. Paul & Melanie
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was wonderful having such interested and interesting guests. And my son-in-law was honored to share his electric tea kettle with someone with a Steve Perryman connection!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
San Jose, CA
5

NY stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Judith was very accomodating and lovely lady....will definitely stay here again....
Owner's Response: I hope you do, Rose - and for longer next time! Judith
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Studio Apartment With Kitchenette
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450347vbi
(347) 857-STAY
Upper East Side Manhattan
Bribie Island, Queensland, Australia
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were a party of two families (4 adults and 4 children aged 7 to 10) travelling to New York from Australia for the first time. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have chosen to stay with Judith at her property. We were easily accommodated at her property, and the kids made full use of the heated downstairs pool and amazing toy room. Electronic games were forgotten as they played with Judith's huge toy collection! The rooms were clean and had all amenities, and even fresh fruit on our arrival. Judith's breakfasts were fantastic and of great variety and a lovely way to start the day, as we chatted with her about life in New York and received plenty of tips and ideas on how to spend our time there. Judith's communication both before and during our stay was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our children were very sad to leave, and still tell us they miss Judith. A higher recommendation I couldn't give!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: And I miss them. They are lovely children. Thank you so much, Dean.
Helpful votes: 2/2