Hope chateau / country house rental - Beautiful Lake View Mountain Getaway
Beautiful Lake View Mountain Getaway
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hope Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Romantic Getaway Chateau / Country House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

The fully furnished romantic and charming Guest house with gardens is approximately 1500 square feet and includes a full master bedroom with an attached full bath, and it's own sliding door out onto the deck overlooking the lake. The parlor room doubles as a second bedroom with a fold out couch. The Guest home has a second full bath as well off the library room. The library room is setup to accommodate one of the FrontGate queen EZ beds when needed. The comfortable feel of the guest home includes a full living room with 46 inch flat screen with DirecTV and DVD player. The Guest home offers guest WiFi privileges. The full kitchen includes both oven, range, and microwave and refrigerator/freezer. The unit has a full laundry room with state of the art washer and dryer and large pantry and closet areas. The living room and dining room both include awesome views of the lake including two sliding doors to the lake and mountain views. There is a separate reading room and library with an extensive collection of literature. The deck has both it's own barbecue and fire pit with a lovely enclosed yard area. The property is private and has a wonderful diversity of wildlife and yet the beach, docks, restaurant, bar, and marina are all only a couple miles away. Your view of the lake and surrounding mountains is considered by long term locals to be as good as it gets. While sitting outside you can hear the sound of the adjacent stream running, and access elk trails from the yard that lead up into the wilderness behind us. The town of Hope has wonderful character and captures what a mountain lakeside village should be. The guest house is connected to our main house where we live, by a lovely atrium corridor that opens into a stone courtyard with fountain overlooking the lake. Hope, Idaho is considered the most beautiful location on Lake Pend Oreille near Sandpoint. Sandpoint has recently been chosen by USA TODAY NEWSPAPER as 'THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SMALL TOWN IN AMERICA'. Sandpoint was chosen primarily because of the beauty of Lake Pend Oreille. We are located directly over Lake Pend Oreille in the town of Hope...which both locals and visitors agree is the most beautiful lake location. It is situated in the panhandle of Idaho and surrounded by three beautiful mountain ranges. British Columbia, Canada is only 58 miles north to the border from the lake. The surrounding region holds some of the most diverse landscape, wildlife, fishery, and natural beauty in North America. The lake environment is considered one of the last pristine large mountain lake regions. Sandpoint is a lovely town on the lake with a population of about 10,000, and offers wonderful art galleries, shopping and excellent dining on the water. Coeur D'Alene is only 46 miles away to the south. The lake climate is very temperate and provides great amounts of locally and naturally grown fruits and vegetables as well as locally caught fish and game. The recreational opportunities are unparalleled. Boating sports, sailing, fishing, hiking, skiing, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, and many more summer and winter lake and mountain activities are available in abundance. You will enjoy the best night of sleep of your life here.

We have spent the last 20 years raising two children near Telluride, Colorado. With the empty nest upon us, we acquired this beautiful property as part of a lifetime dream to live on this particular lake in the mountains of northern Idaho. We are excited to be able to share the magic of this romantic location with others whom might want or need a 'Getaway' to someplace truly special. We invite you to join us in discovering this wonderful place.

Leslie Gleason purchased this chateau / country house in 2012

It represents the best of what lake and mountain living provide and offers both privacy and wildlife but still allows for easy access to near by areas for recreational and more urban activities. The town of Hope nestles along the edge of the lake and is still unspoiled and charming with great locals and lovely setting.

The Guest house decks run the entirety of the building and wrap towards the upper end of the lake providing broad ever changing views of the surrounding mountain ranges and different parts of the lake. There is a lovely courtyard with water fountain separating the Guest house from the balance of the property and providing for excellent privacy for both. The towering pines and diverse plants and flowers surrounding the Guest home make for the 'classic' mountain lake setting. The Guest home has it's own enclosed yard area and the interior has a wonderful charm and romantic feel that creates an authentic 'Getaway' mood. The guest house has a wonderful history in that it is on the site of the original homestead established back in 1910 and retains the nostalgic flavor of the original lake side cottage as it was built on one of the most picturesque locations around the lake.

14 Reviews of Property 450299 in Hope, Idaho

The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
5

Sweet little house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A lot of care was taken in making the house as welcoming and comfortable as possible. The views were gorgeous and the house itself very charming.
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
5

Great Value!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our whole family had a great Thanksgiving here and are planning to come back. The kitchen was well stocked, the house is very tidy and clean, the atmosphere is cozy and the views of the lake are spectacular! Hart and Leslie were more than helpful with recommendations and their availability for questions. We comfortably slept 6 and the dining table was plenty big for games and extra guests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
Calgary AB Canada
5

Perfect!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I can’t say enough about what the owners have done with this property to make you feel at home. Everything and I mean everything that you could possibly have at home you have here and more. We were greeted at our car when we arrived and informed about the home and the wonderful area of Hope. So much to see and do in the area including great restaurants. Make sure to check out Beyond Hope about 5 min away for an amazing view while enjoying a cold beer on a hot day at the beach. We liked the area so much we are seriously considering buying some property to enjoy for years to come. Until we do that we will always stay at this property. Thanks Again!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Heartfelt review

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What an amazing weekend away! We felt like we were coming home, with the wonderful welcome from Leslie and Hart. - You two are fantastic people! We couldn't have asked for a better place for a family getaway.
See you soon,
Kyle, Jenn, & Weston
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
5

Anniversary Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Location easy to find with good directions. The view is better than the pictures on-line, very awesome. It is so private and yet with a great view. The nearby (1-3 miles) recommended restaurants have a lakefront view too! The food was excellent. The house gets a ton of light and views from every room except the second bedroom! Definitely recommend this property! Owners very helpful and cordial.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
5

Absolutely Exceptional!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at the guesthouse was truly amazing. The accommodations were very nice, the views breath taking and our hosts could not have been more gracious. From the wine when we arrived to picking fresh raspberries each morning, Hart and Leslie made our vacation very special. We rode our bikes, explored the area and thoroughly enjoyed swimming in Lake Pend Orielle. The private deck and yard was a great place to barbecue each night and we truly felt like we had our own space. The guesthouse is close enough to Sandpoint to enjoy activities and there are several close restaurants so we found it to be a perfect location. We will definitely return - we loved the guesthouse and genuinely enjoyed meeting Hart and Leslie.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
5

Amazing Location in the Mountains of Northern Idah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It simply does not get any better this. Wonderful views from this spacious and well appointed guest house. You could not wish for anything more. Plenty of activities to partake in around Sand Point and the surrounding countryside. The host/owners are very gracious and accommodating and I have never had cookies as divine as the ones that were served to my wife and I.
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
Ouray Colorado
5

The Perfect Mountain Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our four day stay at this wonderful guest house was almost beyond description. Lovely location with unbelievable views of the lake. The home was furnished and stocked with everything that you could possibly need. Very quiet and peaceful. The hosts were wonderful and really respected your privacy. Would definitely return again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
Colorado
5

Gracious Hosts and Unsurpassed Views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Upon arriving at Lake View Mountain Getaway my husband and I were shocked! Outstanding views welcomed us from the huge deck and every window looking out upon beautiful gardens, framing the enormous Pend Orrielle lake view. We were pleasantly surprised at how large and elegantly furnished our temporary home away from home was without any convenience overlooked ... and then some. The proprietors, Hart and Leslie are gracious and well informed of the various local enjoyments. From the Amish Bakery to a little roadside pub in Clarktown, we were not short of places to go or things to do. If we needed help in asking, Hart or Leslie were there yet if we desired privacy we had this as well. If you are a couple or a family that are looking to get away from it all, search no further. This place is THE one. Lucie and Phil
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Place Over The Lake In The Mountains You Have Always Imagined
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450299vb
+1 970 626 5765
Hope Lake Pend Oreille
Denver, Colorado
5

Gorgeous Views and Extraordinary Accommodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Lakeview Mountain Getaway is the perfect place to re-connect with nature, yourself and your partner. This was our first trip to lake Pend Oreille and we were thrilled with the view and accomodations! We spent many wonderful hours sitting on the deck, taking in the spectacular views and relaxing in Leslie's beautiful gardens. A fountain in the courtyard provided a lovely sound as we sat with our glasses of wine, ever on the look-out for bald eagles - and we were not disappointed!

The living and dining rooms, kitchen and master bedroom all have views of the mountains and lake. The living room is well appointed with comfortable seating and the kitchen is very roomy. The master bedroom has an incredibly comfortable king size bed and lots of room. An added plus is the utility room with washer and dryer.

Hart and Leslie were gracious hosts - offering excellent suggestions for activities and dining in Sandpoint and Coeur d'Alene, as well as making sure we were comfortable. It is evident they love this place and have worked hard to offer a lovely retreat on the lake.

We highly recommend the Lakeview Mountain Getaway. This vacation home with unparalleled views is a great value! We were sad to leave, but we'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful and sincere review!
We look forward to hosting you both again someday.
Hart and Leslie